Results 1 to 18 of 18
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    9

    Question Questions about Overclocking..

    Hello,
    I've joined the forums here cause i have some questions about overclocking and i want to overclock to improve my playing i play the game WarRock and i heard that when u overclock u can shoot ur gun faster empty etc..

    Before i started trying to Overclock my Ghz was 3.1 i'm now on 3.3

    My processor: AMD Phenom II x2 550

    So, anyone got advice for bios settings? I'm beginner in overclocking and could use some help/tips

    I've already downloaded some tools like: AMD OverDrive, EVGA Precision, Everest

    Also when when i open WarRock now (Shooter game) and play I lagg very bad since i've overclocked, why?

    So! Bring it on all the tips 'n info 'n tricks


    Regards,
    Yentl


  2. #2
    Researches Meritless
    LIES for the Front
    Page and Super Mutterator

    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Stuck in Maryland...
    Posts
    45,218
    Welcome!

    It would be helpful to list your system specs (GPU, mobo, etc). But its not going to, "u can shoot ur gun faster empty" as you put it.

    Here are some links that should help you continue your overclocking quest.

    http://www.overclockers.com/forums/s...d.php?t=645425

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    9
    I think that ive found the FSB max: 213?

    Could that be possible cause when i Save 213+ on my PC my PC wont load again and it says Overclocking failed and i need to put it back to 213..

    Thats how i come at 3.3 ghz 200->213 could i get more outta this?

  4. #4
    Researches Meritless
    LIES for the Front
    Page and Super Mutterator

    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Stuck in Maryland...
    Posts
    45,218
    AMD doesnt have FSB its HTT (though same difference).

    Again, list your system specs so we know what you have!! Nobody is going to be able to tell you what your limits are if we dont know what you are working with.

    Read those links in the meantime!

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    9
    NVIDIA GeForce 9500 GT
    AMD Phenom II x2 550
    4GB RAM
    Windows 7 32-bit
    BIOS AMI


    Any suggestions? I've readed the links but i don't get how to do it..

    Look this is what im goaling for: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZHDnPQG3vlc
    Maybe not that fast but thats the idea..
    Last edited by Yentl; 01-24-11 at 10:04 AM.

  6. #6
    Researches Meritless
    LIES for the Front
    Page and Super Mutterator

    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Stuck in Maryland...
    Posts
    45,218
    Im not an AMD guy, so someone else will chime in and help you out. You will likely need to add more volts to the CPU (Vcore) and Northbridge.

    What speed is the ram? Post CPUz screenshots of the memory and SPD tabs please.

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    9
    I'm not sure that this is what u mean but i'll give it a go :P I dont know all the Overclock terms





  8. #8
    Researches Meritless
    LIES for the Front
    Page and Super Mutterator

    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Stuck in Maryland...
    Posts
    45,218
    Those pictures are Red X's to me, but its likely b/c my office is blocking them.

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

  9. #9

  10. #10
    Researches Meritless
    LIES for the Front
    Page and Super Mutterator

    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Stuck in Maryland...
    Posts
    45,218
    I cant see imagshack at work. I can only see them if they are hosted by this site.

    (When typing a post, click advanced, and attach a file, then upload them, next to the paperclip in the post is a dropdown arrow, attach them in the post).

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

  11. #11
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    9
    Name:  Memory.png
Views: 41
Size:  182.8 KB

    Name:  Ghz.png
Views: 44
Size:  321.0 KB


    Here, this is attached

  12. #12
    Researches Meritless
    LIES for the Front
    Page and Super Mutterator

    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Stuck in Maryland...
    Posts
    45,218
    thats not CPUz. Download the program CPUz and post screenshots of the SPD and memory tabs.

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

  13. Thanks!

    Yentl (01-24-11)

  14. #13
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    9
    Name:  Memory.png
Views: 43
Size:  1.85 MB

    Name:  SPD.png
Views: 44
Size:  1.85 MB

    Here, that must be it! :P

  15. #14
    Researches Meritless
    LIES for the Front
    Page and Super Mutterator

    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Stuck in Maryland...
    Posts
    45,218
    You got it! Thanks! You have 1333 memory and its running overclock (1420Mhz) at the moment. You should have a memory multiplier in the bios to lower that. That is the first thing I would do.

    Otherwise, I need to leave this up to the AMD guys.

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

  16. #15
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    9
    I'll wait for some AMD guys that can explain me exactly what to do

  17. #16
    Researches Meritless
    LIES for the Front
    Page and Super Mutterator

    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Stuck in Maryland...
    Posts
    45,218
    Well, this isnt a spoonfeeding environment. I already told you what you need to do. You just need to find that option in your bios and lower it so you are not overclocking the ram. The guides do go into this...

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

  18. #17
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    9
    But i dont know what terms u guy using how to lower things and up things..

    I don't know what all the terms mean in my bios

  19. #18
    Disabled
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Anywhere but there
    Posts
    15,734
    to OCF!


    Quote Originally Posted by Yentl View Post
    But i dont know what terms u guy using how to lower things and up things..

    I don't know what all the terms mean in my bios
    The Phenom II Guide explains a lot of those terms - at least the important ones for OC'ing - and each BIOS is a little different so it's not like we can just say set THIS in your BIOS because THIS may be labeled THAT for you. If we knew what motherboard you had it would help. Manufacturers tend to have their own labeling schemes that kinda' sorta' stay the same.

    Read through the Phenom II Guide and keep your motherboard manual handy. You'll need to learn your BIOS before you can do much of anything.

    http://www.overclockers.com/forums/s...d.php?t=596023

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •