Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011

    Help with 6850 and BC2

    Hello everyone, I recently purchased an MSI Radeon 6850 it runs flawlessly on everything except Battlefield Bad Company 2 (the main game I got this for), I'm only getting 15-20 fps and real bad stutters, I was wondering if you guys could help me out with this, any info would be appreciated, oh, and I'm using the latest catalyst driver

    System Specs:
    650w CoolerMaster PSU
    Pentium Dual Core 1.8
    2 gigs Ram
    6850 Radeon
    Vista 32 bit

  2. #2
    Member bda1967's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ohio
    Heatware Profile
    I think your CPU is choking your GPU. BC2 is more of a CPU dependant game optimized for quad core CPU's. What resolution are you playing at? EDIT: Oh sorry for being rude. 2EDIT: You could benefit from more RAM too. 4 gigs should be your target even though you have a 32 bit OS, meaning you will only see up to 4GB max of system RAM including video memory.
    Last edited by bda1967; 01-29-11 at 12:15 PM.
    i5 2500K @ 4.3GHz - Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 - 8GB DDR3-1600 G. Skill PC3-12800
    Diamond HD 7970 - OCZ Agility 3 240 GB SSD / (2) 500GB HDD's storage - HAF X - Hyper 212 Plus
    Fatality Pro X-FI - Cooler Master 850 watt psu - Windows 7 Ultimate 64
    Athlon II X4 635 Propus @ 3.6GHz - MA770T-UD3P - 4GB G. Skill DDR3-1600 PC3-12800
    Sapphire HD 4870 - 320 GB HDD - Modified HP case - Nirvana NV120
    BFG GS 550 watt psu - Windows 7 Ultimate 64
    FX-4100 @ 4.2GHz - Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3 - 8GB Kingston DDR3 1600
    XFX HD6870 - 320 GB HDD - Antec 900 - Hyper 212 Plus
    Corsair CX500 - Windows 7 Pro 64

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Yes I agree on the cpu, it's killing me, and an upgrade is coming soon; but the card I had before this was a gt 220 and it would run the game at 25-30 fps and was playable, it's not even playable with the 6850

    1280x1024 is the resolution
    Last edited by greenchevy33; 01-29-11 at 12:29 PM.

  4. #4
    Member bda1967's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ohio
    Heatware Profile
    What drivers are you using? Try 11.1 and turn all settings to low in the game.
    i5 2500K @ 4.3GHz - Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 - 8GB DDR3-1600 G. Skill PC3-12800
    Diamond HD 7970 - OCZ Agility 3 240 GB SSD / (2) 500GB HDD's storage - HAF X - Hyper 212 Plus
    Fatality Pro X-FI - Cooler Master 850 watt psu - Windows 7 Ultimate 64
    Athlon II X4 635 Propus @ 3.6GHz - MA770T-UD3P - 4GB G. Skill DDR3-1600 PC3-12800
    Sapphire HD 4870 - 320 GB HDD - Modified HP case - Nirvana NV120
    BFG GS 550 watt psu - Windows 7 Ultimate 64
    FX-4100 @ 4.2GHz - Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3 - 8GB Kingston DDR3 1600
    XFX HD6870 - 320 GB HDD - Antec 900 - Hyper 212 Plus
    Corsair CX500 - Windows 7 Pro 64

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Yea I'm using the 11.1 drivers and all the settings are on low with bloom and hsao both off, no aa, no af; and it still performs as if it's epileptic

  6. #6
    Member bda1967's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ohio
    Heatware Profile
    Is 1280x1024 your highest resolution? Try changing resolution. Did you completely uninstall the nvidia drivers and run Driver Sweeper in the safe mode before you installed 11.1 drivers?
    i5 2500K @ 4.3GHz - Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 - 8GB DDR3-1600 G. Skill PC3-12800
    Diamond HD 7970 - OCZ Agility 3 240 GB SSD / (2) 500GB HDD's storage - HAF X - Hyper 212 Plus
    Fatality Pro X-FI - Cooler Master 850 watt psu - Windows 7 Ultimate 64
    Athlon II X4 635 Propus @ 3.6GHz - MA770T-UD3P - 4GB G. Skill DDR3-1600 PC3-12800
    Sapphire HD 4870 - 320 GB HDD - Modified HP case - Nirvana NV120
    BFG GS 550 watt psu - Windows 7 Ultimate 64
    FX-4100 @ 4.2GHz - Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3 - 8GB Kingston DDR3 1600
    XFX HD6870 - 320 GB HDD - Antec 900 - Hyper 212 Plus
    Corsair CX500 - Windows 7 Pro 64

  7. #7
    Mr. Scott Theocnoob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Pink Team HQ
    Pentium D overclocks really well. Might want to put it to the wall before you upgrade and see if it is satisfactory. Even then you could get away with a cheap upgrade- find a Q6600 for 40 bucks or something.. Assuming that your motherboard is a good overclocker and natively or through a bios update will support four core.
    #Pink Team! Theocnoob/Gabby1019/Manu2b/BobbyBubbleHead join us!

    500R*2600K@4.7*MaxiumusIVExtreme*Intel510*WDVeloci raptor*8GB1600*GTX980*HX850

  8. #8
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Yes 1280x1024 is the highest res I can choose from, ran driversweep, cleaned out all the old nvidia stuff I had before i installed the new drivers;
    I've tried to OC the cpu but my bios is locked

  9. #9
    Member bda1967's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ohio
    Heatware Profile
    I'm afraid that you are a candidate for an immediate upgrade ASAP. What is your budget?
    i5 2500K @ 4.3GHz - Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 - 8GB DDR3-1600 G. Skill PC3-12800
    Diamond HD 7970 - OCZ Agility 3 240 GB SSD / (2) 500GB HDD's storage - HAF X - Hyper 212 Plus
    Fatality Pro X-FI - Cooler Master 850 watt psu - Windows 7 Ultimate 64
    Athlon II X4 635 Propus @ 3.6GHz - MA770T-UD3P - 4GB G. Skill DDR3-1600 PC3-12800
    Sapphire HD 4870 - 320 GB HDD - Modified HP case - Nirvana NV120
    BFG GS 550 watt psu - Windows 7 Ultimate 64
    FX-4100 @ 4.2GHz - Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3 - 8GB Kingston DDR3 1600
    XFX HD6870 - 320 GB HDD - Antec 900 - Hyper 212 Plus
    Corsair CX500 - Windows 7 Pro 64

  10. #10
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    *sigh* Well I was planning to upgrade anyway, probably around 500-600$ budget; been looking at the AMD 6 core cpu, any thoughts on that? or should I get one of the new i series cpus? give me some input guys it would be greatly apprieciated

    *edit* Hey at least I already have a brand new psu and video card :S

  11. #11
    Member bda1967's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ohio
    Heatware Profile
    Well 6 cores are nice for certain things but gaming isn't one of them. With a $600 budget and you already have the psu and video card, I can throw someting together. Are you reusing Vista 32 bit?
    i5 2500K @ 4.3GHz - Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 - 8GB DDR3-1600 G. Skill PC3-12800
    Diamond HD 7970 - OCZ Agility 3 240 GB SSD / (2) 500GB HDD's storage - HAF X - Hyper 212 Plus
    Fatality Pro X-FI - Cooler Master 850 watt psu - Windows 7 Ultimate 64
    Athlon II X4 635 Propus @ 3.6GHz - MA770T-UD3P - 4GB G. Skill DDR3-1600 PC3-12800
    Sapphire HD 4870 - 320 GB HDD - Modified HP case - Nirvana NV120
    BFG GS 550 watt psu - Windows 7 Ultimate 64
    FX-4100 @ 4.2GHz - Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3 - 8GB Kingston DDR3 1600
    XFX HD6870 - 320 GB HDD - Antec 900 - Hyper 212 Plus
    Corsair CX500 - Windows 7 Pro 64

  12. #12
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    No I won't be reusing Vista 32-bit, and I would like to get a board with 2 pci-e slots for future(possible) crossfiring

  13. #13
    Member bda1967's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ohio
    Heatware Profile
    Try this setup:

    MB: $135 GIGABYTE GA-H67A-UD3H

    CPU: $225 Intel Core i5-2500K

    RAM: $65 G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB

    CASE: $100 COOLER MASTER HAF 922

    CPU COOLER: $30 COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 Plus

    So far what I have listed is about $555 and you could reuse your HDD or get a newer one for about $60. You can also upgrade to a SSD say a 30GB for your OS and use your HDD for storage. You are reusing your GPU and PSU so that about covers it I think.

    EDIT: Oh I calculated with no OS so you'll need to add another $110 or so for Win 7 64 bit.

    EDIT2: I just noticed that the MB I picked has CrossfireX at 16x and 4x which isn't that great so you would have to spend more for one at (8x, 8x) in Crossfire. It's hard to get all of the goodies with a lower budget so you would really have to do your research.
    Last edited by bda1967; 01-29-11 at 01:59 PM.
    i5 2500K @ 4.3GHz - Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 - 8GB DDR3-1600 G. Skill PC3-12800
    Diamond HD 7970 - OCZ Agility 3 240 GB SSD / (2) 500GB HDD's storage - HAF X - Hyper 212 Plus
    Fatality Pro X-FI - Cooler Master 850 watt psu - Windows 7 Ultimate 64
    Athlon II X4 635 Propus @ 3.6GHz - MA770T-UD3P - 4GB G. Skill DDR3-1600 PC3-12800
    Sapphire HD 4870 - 320 GB HDD - Modified HP case - Nirvana NV120
    BFG GS 550 watt psu - Windows 7 Ultimate 64
    FX-4100 @ 4.2GHz - Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3 - 8GB Kingston DDR3 1600
    XFX HD6870 - 320 GB HDD - Antec 900 - Hyper 212 Plus
    Corsair CX500 - Windows 7 Pro 64

  14. #14
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Well after some research and pricing, I ended up getting this
    http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...563&CatId=4910

    Can't wait til it gets here

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •