Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Disabled
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    The Shire

    WHy does my ping suck?

    I get good ping to websites through command line-- 30ms or so, but I get awful ping in many games, like SC2 and BFBC2. BC2 often shows me over 100ms. Sometimes more.

    My LAN controller is the Intel controller on the Rampage III Formula. Router is a BEFSR41 Lynksis wired. Live in a building. 11th floor. Built 2 or 3 years ago. Downloads are fast at 2.5-3MB/s and speedtest reads me @ 25mbit/s

    what's up?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Miami, FL
    I play battlefield bc 2 and it's really hard for me to get pings lower than 100. I think it's just the game since when I play L4D2 i get 30ms. I play sc2 too and never had issues with it.

    Just trust speed test. What's the upload results? Game pings are not always related to the quality of your connection (I have comcast 50mbps). Try different servers.
    CPU: Intel I7-3770k @ 4.5 | MB: Asrock Z77 Extreme 6
    VGA: 2 x Gigabyte GTX 770 4GB OC SLI | Memory: Corsair 32GB 1866Hz
    OS Drive: 2 x Samsung 840 250GB Raid 0 | Storage Drive: 2 x Seagate 2TB 7200rmp 64MB Raid 0
    Power Supply: Seasonic Gold 850W | Case: NZXT 810 Switch | Cooling: Swiftech H220
    Monitor: Dell U2713HM 2560x1440p | Sound: Sound Blaster Z
    Keyboard
    : Logitech G710+ | Mouse: Logitech G500 | Pad: Steelseries 9HD
    Headphones: Sennheiser PC 350 SE | Desktop Speakers: M-Audio Studiophile AV40

  3. #3
    Special Member ★ madhatter256's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    CFL
    Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    SC2 and BFBC2 use a centralized server that is almost always filled with connections. 100 ping is good.

    I've always had 'high' ping in the battlefield games (since 1942) and had low ping in CS Servers. So I just dealt with it..

  4. #4
    Member DreamerBrian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Seattle
    You could always play COD and get fast latency since no one plays :P
    Yayer.

  5. #5
    Member tom10167's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Phoenix. YOUR HAIR IS GOOD TO EAT
    Quote Originally Posted by Theocnoob View Post
    Live in a building. 11th floor. Built 2 or 3 years ago.
    Sick, have any pictures?

    Anyways, never played the game but can you filter for servers in your general location? I know I get bad pings out here in Phoenix when I game at 7 am and it's just because all the populated servers are on the East coast.

    Hope you get it solved!

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    DaveHCYJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    San Diego
    Its not always your end thats the problem, it could just be the servers on the other end, or the route through the internet to get to them. Nothing you can do about distance, unless they have a geographically closer server you can connect to.

    Main Rig
    i5 2500K @ 4.4GHz 1.296v | Noctua NH-D14 | Asus P8P67 Deluxe | 2x4GB g.skill DDR3-1600 7-8-7-24
    Gigabyte GTX570 OC | Intel 330 120GB, 2x1TB WD Blue | SeaSonic X-650 | Coolermaster ATCS 840

    Server
    C2Duo E6600 @2.4GHz | stock cooling | Asus P5 Deluxe | 4x1GB Corsair XMS DDR2-800
    EVGA 8800GTS | 500GB Seagate, 2TB WD Green, 1TB WD Green | SeaSonic S12II 520 | Coolermaster ATCS 201


  7. #7
    Premium Member #21


    Jmtyra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Dallas/Fort-Worth
    Author Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile
    You could do a trace route (tracert) to see where the latency is spiking.
    Then again, as others have said, it's probably due to the centralized server you are accessing.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •