Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 44
  1. #21
    Disabled
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Anywhere but there
    Posts
    15,734
    IMOG, I agree. I guess I couldn't figure out why that information was included at all since there's no further reference to it.

    Hopefully we won't get too many people asking if their NB chipset voltage is too high ...

  2. #22
    Glorious Leader I.M.O.G.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Rootstown, OH
    Posts
    25,172
    Write a better version and we can publish it. Other than that, isn't it a good thing to tell people an approximate base and tell them where to get the specific information for their processor? The information is all there, and you need to know the base numbers before you start overclocking.
    The OC Forums Way
    We are a team. We are a community. We are a fellowship made strong by mutual respect and shared dedication to the task of enriching all who come here.
    The OC Forums Thank You Thread
    Put your computer to work for our OC Forum Teams!
    Try out our POST TEMPLATES, they save you time answering common questions!

    I spend half my money on CPUs, GPUs, and Liquid Nitrogen. The other half I waste.

  3. #23
    Disabled
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Anywhere but there
    Posts
    15,734
    Quote Originally Posted by I.M.O.G. View Post
    Other than that, isn't it a good thing to tell people an approximate base and tell them where to get the specific information for their processor? The information is all there, and you need to know the base numbers before you start overclocking.
    The information about chipset voltage is misleading for anyone using an IGP chipset and there are no links to the chipset information.
    Last edited by QuietIce; 02-28-11 at 06:26 PM.

  4. #24
    Glorious Leader I.M.O.G.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Rootstown, OH
    Posts
    25,172
    I see what you are saying finally, sorry. Your point is good.
    The OC Forums Way
    We are a team. We are a community. We are a fellowship made strong by mutual respect and shared dedication to the task of enriching all who come here.
    The OC Forums Thank You Thread
    Put your computer to work for our OC Forum Teams!
    Try out our POST TEMPLATES, they save you time answering common questions!

    I spend half my money on CPUs, GPUs, and Liquid Nitrogen. The other half I waste.

  5. #25
    Member Peeved Kitten's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    Posts
    530
    DOLK!!!! You the man!
    System: Darkside
    CPU: AMD Phenom X6 1090T Thuban BE @ 4.2 ghz 27c max temp
    Cooling: EK supreme LT MCP655 Bitspower 150 inline RES magicool 1080 extreme radiator
    Motherboard: Asus Crosshair IV Formula BIOS 1209
    Video cards: MSI AMD 6970 950/1450mhz @ 61c max temp
    Ram: G. Skill Ripjaws 8-8-8-22-31 @ 1600 8GB (4x2gb DIMMs)
    Hard-drives: Adata 32GB SSD Startup Drive 500GB Western Digital Black Data drive.
    Power supply: Rosewill Xtreme Series RX950-D-B 950W

    My Mentor told me: It means unless you move the computer, I have to move programs. What you did is good thing.

    Rather than explain I think I will rewrite the programs.

  6. #26
    I once overclocked an Intel
    in a nightmare and
    it was HORRIBLE Senior



    OCF's Plaything
    Dolk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    St. Louis MO
    Posts
    5,779
    I did take a relook at this the other day Quite. You are right, the voltage for the NB with an IGP based board is 1.3v. We should change it to reflect properly. There should also be a link to the Thermal papers near the specifications, people have been directed to that page for more information.


    My ego is on an infinite plane level, but only finite in nature.
    (╯v)╯︵ ┻━┻
    currently has .2738428927348 internets
    create your own rules to find the answer
    be proud of the pink stars
    Earthdog: New codename for SB for extreme overclockers... BLEH.



  7. #27
    Disabled
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Anywhere but there
    Posts
    15,734
    Quote Originally Posted by Dolk View Post
    There should also be a link to the Thermal papers near the specifications, people have been directed to that page for more information.
    I think it was a great idea to include links to the processor specs! Just remember that Tech Doc #43375 doesn't have any chipset information in it ...

  8. #28
    Member Marshmallow64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    California
    Posts
    2,380
    Good stuff as usual.
    :: Gaming Desktop ::
    CPU: AMD Phenom II X6 1055T @ 3.9 Ghz 1.4v | MOBO: MSI 790FX-GD70 AM3
    GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 570 (732/1464/1900) | RAM: 4 GB G-Skill DDR3 1600
    SSD: OCZ Vertex 120 GB | HD1: WD Black 640 GB | HD2: WD Black 2 TB
    SC: Xfi Titanium Fatal1ty | PSU: Corsair HX 620 W
    KB: Saitek Eclipse | MOUSE: Logitech MX 518
    CASE: Antec 1200 | OS: Windows 7 x64
    :: Laptop ::
    MOD: Macbook Pro 13 2011 | CPU: Intel Core i5 @ 2.3 Ghz
    RAM: 4 GB DDR3 1333 | OS: OS X Lion 10.7.2

  9. #29
    turbohans's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    n43, w86
    Posts
    1,548
    Quote Originally Posted by EarthDog View Post
    Almost?

    It goes to google. It doesnt work.
    LOL Well it was the first link on google though.

    Very very nice article though, I plan on showing this to my cousin that just built himself his first AMD setup.
    This message was printed on 100% recycled electrons
    i7-2600k@4.6ghz(1.380v), 16gb Corsair DDR3, Asus P8P67 Deluxe, gtx465, 3x500gb WD's
    "It does not take knowledge to be genius, it takes a different way of thinking..."
    And if you think about it too hard you will wonder why you did.
    Build your computer Overclock it! find a cure.
    Don't like looking out dirty windows? Live life without walls; Learn how to build an operating system
    F@H - ExtremeOC

  10. #30
    TheQuadFather's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Hampshire, England
    Posts
    1,115
    i noticed in the end, you used folding at home as an example for a stress test, if i remember correctly they stress especially not to use it as one as sending back naff calculations from an unstable O.C will/can mess things up.
    This is not the signature you are looking for.

    Please Fold For Team32!

  11. #31
    Member Douken's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    1,740
    Finally haha, awesome guide. I read it completely like 3 times.
    Main Rig RIP
    BioStar TF7025-M2 AM2 X2 4000+ @ 2.6GHz| 2x1GB Patriot DDR2 800 @750MHz| 8800GT @ 666-980 | X-Fi Xtreme Music| 596GB | PC Power & Cooling Silencer 470W

    Main Rig
    MSI 880GM-E41| AM3 Phenom II 640| 2x2GB G Skill Rip Jaws DDR3 1333 | Radeon HD 5670 | 596GB | Rosewill 500W


    Imran Tam from EVE Online said once, "if your sausage looked anything like that, you should have checked the expiration date."

  12. #32
    Registered andrethaiss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    23
    Thanks for the guide, just oc'd my phenom ii x4 from 2.8- 3.0 and seems pretty good so far, ive always been terrified by the blue bios screen, so i rarely venture there, thanks for the help!
    Last edited by andrethaiss; 03-15-11 at 03:44 PM.

  13. #33
    I once overclocked an Intel
    in a nightmare and
    it was HORRIBLE Senior



    OCF's Plaything
    Dolk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    St. Louis MO
    Posts
    5,779
    @ andrethaiss

    Be a man, make that chip scream
    (╯v)╯︵ ┻━┻
    currently has .2738428927348 internets
    create your own rules to find the answer
    be proud of the pink stars
    Earthdog: New codename for SB for extreme overclockers... BLEH.



  14. #34
    Registered andrethaiss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    23
    Quote Originally Posted by Dolk View Post
    @ andrethaiss

    Be a man, make that chip scream
    Trust me, last time i tried to overclock a cpu, it didnt go to well lol
    CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 925 O.C (3.0 ghz)
    GPU: ATI XFX 5770 (930/1300 O.C)
    MOBO: ASUS M4A785-M
    RAM: 4GB PNY DDR2
    HDD: 1TB Caviar Black 64MB/ 7200RPM
    COOLER: ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
    FANS: 4x120mm, 2x40mm, 1x80mm
    PSU: EagleTech VoltasX 500w
    MOUSE: Logitech MX518 // KEYBOARD: Saitek Eclispe II
    MONITOR: Acer G20
    5h

  15. #35

    Member
    cold.nut's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    1,138
    great guide Dolk ! this helped me out a lot back in my days of Deneb.


    "If you aren't having fun, then you're doing it wrong!"

  16. #36
    Registered ToRpEdA667's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    96

    Talking

    Thanks for the guide mate ists brilliant even a guy like me who came bck to gaming desktop after 4 yrs of ps3 can learn and understand things easy.
    you rock man

  17. #37
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1

    Smile Thank You very Much

    Have Just Buit a beast (1100T BE on a Gigabyte GA890FXA07U mobo) and wamnt to try overclocking it but didnt know where to start. Good to know the Tj Max as I couldnt find it anywhere and Core-temp set the alarm for 71DegC.
    Could have been nasty I think.

    Thanks again, will keep you posted on progress.

  18. #38
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    4

    A bit confused

    theoretically speaking (based on this info) if I want my 1100t to 4.0ghz. I would need to set fsb to 211, set multipliers of CPU to 19, nb to 12 as well as htt to 12. with NB volt to 1.250. and steadily increase my CPU voltage as needed?

  19. #39
    Fronting as a Mod Member
    Seebs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Sunshine State
    Posts
    3,412
    Quote Originally Posted by Sinsational View Post
    theoretically speaking (based on this info) if I want my 1100t to 4.0ghz. I would need to set fsb to 211, set multipliers of CPU to 19, nb to 12 as well as htt to 12. with NB volt to 1.250. and steadily increase my CPU voltage as needed?
    That would be one way to go at it. Yes. I would suggest you start with lower volts on the CPU-NB... something like 1.175 and see if you get good results. I've run 1.250V on the CPU-NB in the past, but I was pushing the frequency on it past 2700MHz... I think you could get the 211x12=2532 frequency with a bit less volts which will in turn lower your overall core temperature a bit.

    Daily Driver: GA-890FXA-UD5 - Ph II X6 1090T - 16GB DDR3 1333MHz - MSI R9 280X Gaming Edition/HD 5670/HD6570 - Venomous X Black + G1238B12BBZP-00 - TX850V2 - CM 690 II Advanced
    Join the "Benching Team" - We have secret sauce! - OptyTrooper: GPUs are for burning not playing games anyway
    Kona on League of Legends: This game sits about as well with me as a gallon of prune juice does, and the results are just as nasty.
    I done got Pinked...

    Be sure to pre-tin everything (even soldered stuff!) with leaded solder. None of the RoHS junk. You want good old fashioned toxic heavy metals. ~ Bobnova

  20. #40
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by xXSebaSXx View Post
    That would be one way to go at it. Yes. I would suggest you start with lower volts on the CPU-NB... something like 1.175 and see if you get good results. I've run 1.250V on the CPU-NB in the past, but I was pushing the frequency on it past 2700MHz... I think you could get the 211x12=2532 frequency with a bit less volts which will in turn lower your overall core temperature a bit.

    Thank you for your reply. yes, think I'll start lower and move up as needed. I'm going to give it a go this weekend! Thanks again.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •