Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Member Chris_F's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio

    Can't mount SATA disk

    I'm using Mint 10 and I have two hard drives. One which contains both my Linux partition and my Windows 7 partition, and one which contains a single NTFS partition.

    All partitions on sda are showing up correctly and are automatically mounted, but I can't mount the 2nd disk. sdb shows up in /dev, but sdb1 does not.

    dmesg | grep sdb
    Code:
    [    2.298354] sd 3:0:0:0: [sdb] 312581808 512-byte logical blocks: (160 GB/149 GiB)
    [    2.298648] sd 3:0:0:0: [sdb] Write Protect is off
    [    2.298652] sd 3:0:0:0: [sdb] Mode Sense: 00 3a 00 00
    [    2.298782] sd 3:0:0:0: [sdb] Write cache: enabled, read cache: enabled, doesn't support DPO or FUA
    [    2.299355]  sdb: sdb1
    [    2.307194] sd 3:0:0:0: [sdb] Attached SCSI disk
    lshw -C disk
    Code:
      *-disk:0                
           description: ATA Disk
           product: WDC WD5001AALS-0
           vendor: Western Digital
           physical id: 0
           bus info: scsi@2:0.0.0
           logical name: /dev/sda
           version: 01.0
           serial: WD-WCASYC128292
           size: 465GiB (500GB)
           capabilities: partitioned partitioned:dos
           configuration: ansiversion=5 signature=7ac74741
      *-disk:1
           description: ATA Disk
           product: WDC WD1600AAJS-0
           vendor: Western Digital
           physical id: 1
           bus info: scsi@3:0.0.0
           logical name: /dev/sdb
           version: 01.0
           serial: WD-WCAV33631644
           size: 149GiB (160GB)
           capabilities: partitioned partitioned:dos
           configuration: ansiversion=5 signature=d9a4d61e
      *-cdrom
           description: DVD-RAM writer
           product: BDDVDRW GGC-H20L
           vendor: HL-DT-ST
           physical id: 0.0.0
           bus info: scsi@4:0.0.0
           logical name: /dev/cdrom
           logical name: /dev/cdrw
           logical name: /dev/dvd
           logical name: /dev/dvdrw
           logical name: /dev/scd0
           logical name: /dev/sr0
           version: 1.03
           capabilities: removable audio cd-r cd-rw dvd dvd-r dvd-ram
           configuration: ansiversion=5 status=nodisc
    fdisk /dev/sdb
    Code:
    Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sdb1               1       19458   156288000    7  HPFS/NTFS
    There is nothing about sdb in fstab. Anyone have any clue about what I should do?
    Last edited by Chris_F; 02-28-11 at 07:47 PM.

    CPU: Intel Core i5 750 @ 4.0GHz 200x20
    Motherboard: MSI P55-GD65 LGA 1156
    Memory: OCZ Platinum DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 8GB
    Graphics: MSI GeForce GTX 760 @ 1215MHz/3206MHz
    HDD: Western Digital Caviar Black 500GB, Toshiba 3.0TB
    OS: Windows 7 x64

  2. #2
    Senior Member overclocking at the speed of plaid Enablingwolf's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Old Brooklyn, OH
    I am a bit rusty on the issue.... As in, I am on Windows and going on memory.


    You can locate a util in the repos. Since Mint and Ubuntu use the same repos. It should be there... It is call mount manager.
    http://www.ubuntugeek.com/mount-mana...artitions.html
    It can help locate and mount errant/stubborn partitions.

    Been ages since I used it. But it was wonderful when I did. Worked great, for writing to the fstab and makin things work..


    No one ever expects Aloysius Snuffleupagus








  3. #3
    Member Chris_F's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Ok, in mountmanager it lists sdb with one partition also named sdb with a file system of type isw_raid_member. I was using this disk in RAID at one point before I started using it as a single disk. Windows 7 has no problems accessing it.

    How can I fix this without destroying the data on the disk?

    CPU: Intel Core i5 750 @ 4.0GHz 200x20
    Motherboard: MSI P55-GD65 LGA 1156
    Memory: OCZ Platinum DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 8GB
    Graphics: MSI GeForce GTX 760 @ 1215MHz/3206MHz
    HDD: Western Digital Caviar Black 500GB, Toshiba 3.0TB
    OS: Windows 7 x64

  4. #4
    ASCII Moderator
    Overclockers.com Lead Editor

    splat's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philly
    Author Profile
    whats the output of
    Code:
    # fdisk -l /dev/sdb
    ______________________________/\/\__________________/\/\_____
    _______/\/\/\/\__/\/\/\/\____/\/\____/\/\/\______/\/\/\/\/\__
    ____/\/\/\/\____/\/\__/\/\__/\/\________/\/\______/\/\_______
    _________/\/\__/\/\/\/\____/\/\____/\/\/\/\______/\/\________
    __/\/\/\/\____/\/\________/\/\/\__/\/\/\/\/\____/\/\/\_______
    _____________/\/\___________
    once you clock you can't go stock
    [RHCSA, RHCE] || articles || folding stats || overclockers last.fm group


  5. #5
    I don't know much about mint... is ntfs-3g or the equivalent installed? And what happens when you just try to mount /dev/sdb itself, manually?
    :w saves

    Folding User Stats

  6. #6
    Senior Member overclocking at the speed of plaid Enablingwolf's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Old Brooklyn, OH
    Quote Originally Posted by Chris_F View Post
    Ok, in mountmanager it lists sdb with one partition also named sdb with a file system of type isw_raid_member. I was using this disk in RAID at one point before I started using it as a single disk. Windows 7 has no problems accessing it.

    How can I fix this without destroying the data on the disk?
    Software RAID? What level.


    No one ever expects Aloysius Snuffleupagus








  7. #7
    Member dropadrop's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Finland
    How where you mounting it? Did you try from the command line specifying the filesystem type by hand?

  8. #8
    Member Chris_F's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Quote Originally Posted by splat View Post
    whats the output of
    Code:
    # fdisk -l /dev/sdb
    Code:
    Disk /dev/sdb: 160.0 GB, 160041885696 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 19457 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0xd9a4d61e
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sdb1               1       19458   156288000    7  HPFS/NTFS
    Quote Originally Posted by ${freak} View Post
    I don't know much about mint... is ntfs-3g or the equivalent installed? And what happens when you just try to mount /dev/sdb itself, manually?
    Yes, I have 2 NTFS partitions on sda that mount fine. mount /dev/sdb gives an error "mount: unknown filesystem type 'isw_raid_member"

    Quote Originally Posted by Enablingwolf View Post
    Software RAID? What level.
    It was used in RAID10, but like I said, its not being used that way any more.

    Quote Originally Posted by dropadrop View Post
    How where you mounting it? Did you try from the command line specifying the filesystem type by hand?
    I get:

    Code:
    NTFS signature is missing.
    Failed to mount '/dev/sdb': Invalid argument
    The device '/dev/sdb' doesn't seem to have a valid NTFS.
    Maybe the wrong device is used? Or the whole disk instead of a
    partition (e.g. /dev/sda, not /dev/sda1)? Or the other way around?

    CPU: Intel Core i5 750 @ 4.0GHz 200x20
    Motherboard: MSI P55-GD65 LGA 1156
    Memory: OCZ Platinum DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 8GB
    Graphics: MSI GeForce GTX 760 @ 1215MHz/3206MHz
    HDD: Western Digital Caviar Black 500GB, Toshiba 3.0TB
    OS: Windows 7 x64

  9. #9
    Member Chris_F's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Problem resolved.

    Code:
    sudo dmraid -rE /dev/sdb
    cleared the raid metadata and did the trick.

    CPU: Intel Core i5 750 @ 4.0GHz 200x20
    Motherboard: MSI P55-GD65 LGA 1156
    Memory: OCZ Platinum DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 8GB
    Graphics: MSI GeForce GTX 760 @ 1215MHz/3206MHz
    HDD: Western Digital Caviar Black 500GB, Toshiba 3.0TB
    OS: Windows 7 x64

  10. #10
    Senior Member overclocking at the speed of plaid Enablingwolf's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Old Brooklyn, OH
    Glad you got it resolved.

    Could you please set the [Solved] tag on the topic.


    No one ever expects Aloysius Snuffleupagus








Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •