Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Member with Some Fancy Text Under His Name CompuTamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Brandon Mississippi

    Using phone SIM in Laptop

    Hey guys.

    So, that AT&T forum is useless. They won't reply to anything about anything.

    If i pull the SIM card out of my phone (with "unlimited" data), and put it into my laptop, i should be able to connect to AT&T's data network, right?
    Intel Core i7 C0 @ 4.01GHz with 1.388 vCore ..........................................Intel i7 4500U
    Intel DX58SO Motherboard IOH + QPI @ 1.250 Volts..............................Lenovo Yoga 2 Pro
    Sony Optiarc Blu-Ray Drive.................................................. ...............802.11AC
    8 GB G-Skill Sniper DDR3 1600 @ 1.65 Volts ...........................................8GB DDR3 1600Mhz RAM
    60GB OCZ Solid 3 + 320GB WD Blue+ 1TB WD Green...............................Samsung 250GB SSD
    Antec 900.................................................. .......................................All Metal Body
    BFG GS-650.................................................. .....................................Lenovo Power Brick + 54Whr Battery
    XFX Radeon HD 4850 (660/1060 53C Idle 62C Load) @ 1.31 vCore............Intel HD4400
    Dual Dell E2311H LED 1920x1080.................................................. .......13.6" 3200x1800 Touchscreen
    Windows 7 Ultimate.................................................. ..........................Windows 8.1
    Those specs up there? They're silent. Silence is good. Very good.
    Your Core 2 Quad is based off of the Pentium pro in a few ways.

  2. #2
    Member DreamerBrian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Seattle
    I assume that if your laptop was using the same technology to connect to the wireless network as your phone is then you should have no problem. The SIM card is merely your unique identifier to the ISP.

    Brian
    Yayer.

  3. #3
    Member with Some Fancy Text Under His Name CompuTamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Brandon Mississippi
    I'm on AT&T, so i was mostly worried about them not letting it connect since that SIM is for a phone.

    The card i'm getting is a Sierra Wireless HSPDA+ modem, that supports everything down to EDGE, so i would assume it supports AT&T.
    Intel Core i7 C0 @ 4.01GHz with 1.388 vCore ..........................................Intel i7 4500U
    Intel DX58SO Motherboard IOH + QPI @ 1.250 Volts..............................Lenovo Yoga 2 Pro
    Sony Optiarc Blu-Ray Drive.................................................. ...............802.11AC
    8 GB G-Skill Sniper DDR3 1600 @ 1.65 Volts ...........................................8GB DDR3 1600Mhz RAM
    60GB OCZ Solid 3 + 320GB WD Blue+ 1TB WD Green...............................Samsung 250GB SSD
    Antec 900.................................................. .......................................All Metal Body
    BFG GS-650.................................................. .....................................Lenovo Power Brick + 54Whr Battery
    XFX Radeon HD 4850 (660/1060 53C Idle 62C Load) @ 1.31 vCore............Intel HD4400
    Dual Dell E2311H LED 1920x1080.................................................. .......13.6" 3200x1800 Touchscreen
    Windows 7 Ultimate.................................................. ..........................Windows 8.1
    Those specs up there? They're silent. Silence is good. Very good.
    Your Core 2 Quad is based off of the Pentium pro in a few ways.

  4. #4
    ~(o)-(0)~'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Qc, Canada
    should work, but worst case scenario can't you just tether your phone to your computer somehow?
    - Gamer: 3570k, 16gb Corsair 1866, 5770, 120gb SSD
    - Backup Gamer: Phenom II x4 955 @ 4.0ghz, 16GB Kingston KVR 1333, 120gb SSD, 6650HD
    - File Server: E8400 @ 3.6, 4gig DDR2-800 2x2TB, 2x1TB RAID1, 1x250gb System drive -
    - PfSense 2.0: Dual P2-400mhz 512mb pc133, 4gb Cf card

  5. #5
    Member with Some Fancy Text Under His Name CompuTamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Brandon Mississippi
    My phone got stolen, and that's murderous to the battery on the computer. That's what i've been doing, and just plugging my phone into my computer cuts the battery life by about an hour and 45 minutes. I figure if i'm going to pay for tethering for an iPhone anyway, i might as well just open a data line to the laptop. I'm hoping to just trade the SIM around though.
    Intel Core i7 C0 @ 4.01GHz with 1.388 vCore ..........................................Intel i7 4500U
    Intel DX58SO Motherboard IOH + QPI @ 1.250 Volts..............................Lenovo Yoga 2 Pro
    Sony Optiarc Blu-Ray Drive.................................................. ...............802.11AC
    8 GB G-Skill Sniper DDR3 1600 @ 1.65 Volts ...........................................8GB DDR3 1600Mhz RAM
    60GB OCZ Solid 3 + 320GB WD Blue+ 1TB WD Green...............................Samsung 250GB SSD
    Antec 900.................................................. .......................................All Metal Body
    BFG GS-650.................................................. .....................................Lenovo Power Brick + 54Whr Battery
    XFX Radeon HD 4850 (660/1060 53C Idle 62C Load) @ 1.31 vCore............Intel HD4400
    Dual Dell E2311H LED 1920x1080.................................................. .......13.6" 3200x1800 Touchscreen
    Windows 7 Ultimate.................................................. ..........................Windows 8.1
    Those specs up there? They're silent. Silence is good. Very good.
    Your Core 2 Quad is based off of the Pentium pro in a few ways.

  6. #6
    Member DreamerBrian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Seattle
    Nice to see that you're MacGuyver'ing a bad situation into a good one!
    Yayer.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Heatware Profile
    This doesn't directly answer your question, but my friend who is with T-mobile, managed to get his phone SIM card into the IPAD. He had to physically trim the plastic casing on the sim card, to make it fit a microSIM slot, but it did work. The ipad worked without any issues and since its a data only device, it might be a glimmer of hope for you. I personally watched him go through the process. If the laptop has a normal SIM slot, I would definetly try it.
    ___________________________________________
    2560x1600

  8. #8
    Member with Some Fancy Text Under His Name CompuTamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Brandon Mississippi
    Quote Originally Posted by noxqzs View Post
    This doesn't directly answer your question, but my friend who is with T-mobile, managed to get his phone SIM card into the IPAD. He had to physically trim the plastic casing on the sim card, to make it fit a microSIM slot, but it did work. The ipad worked without any issues and since its a data only device, it might be a glimmer of hope for you. I personally watched him go through the process. If the laptop has a normal SIM slot, I would definetly try it.
    That makes things look pretty good for me. I would assume that if i just connected my laptop to the same APN that my phone connects to for data service, that it should work. I'm just trying to get an idea of what all i'll have to do.
    Intel Core i7 C0 @ 4.01GHz with 1.388 vCore ..........................................Intel i7 4500U
    Intel DX58SO Motherboard IOH + QPI @ 1.250 Volts..............................Lenovo Yoga 2 Pro
    Sony Optiarc Blu-Ray Drive.................................................. ...............802.11AC
    8 GB G-Skill Sniper DDR3 1600 @ 1.65 Volts ...........................................8GB DDR3 1600Mhz RAM
    60GB OCZ Solid 3 + 320GB WD Blue+ 1TB WD Green...............................Samsung 250GB SSD
    Antec 900.................................................. .......................................All Metal Body
    BFG GS-650.................................................. .....................................Lenovo Power Brick + 54Whr Battery
    XFX Radeon HD 4850 (660/1060 53C Idle 62C Load) @ 1.31 vCore............Intel HD4400
    Dual Dell E2311H LED 1920x1080.................................................. .......13.6" 3200x1800 Touchscreen
    Windows 7 Ultimate.................................................. ..........................Windows 8.1
    Those specs up there? They're silent. Silence is good. Very good.
    Your Core 2 Quad is based off of the Pentium pro in a few ways.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •