Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 22

Thread: Dead again

  1. #1
    Member tWiSt3D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Indiana,USA

    Dead again

    Im having the worst luck with this new amd build.I was overclocking tonight all was good.Ran prime for about 10 mins highest temp was 44c all of a sudden pc goes dead.Now it wont turn back on.All parts in this PC are new now.New power supply was put in last Saturday.Any thoughts would be great.I think when I get this thing going again Im selling it and going back to Intel
    CPU: AMD Phenom II x6 1100 T (OC 4 Ghz) 47c Under Load
    Motherboard: Qigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H
    Memory: Corsair XMS 3 4 GiG DDR3 Ram
    Video Card: HIS 6870
    Case: Cooler Master HAF 932 Case
    Power Supply: 850w Thermaltake black widow PSU
    CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212(Push Pull)
    OS: Windows 7 64


  2. #2
    Senior Member trents's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Centralia, WA
    What have you tried? Take all but one memory stick out and reset cmos. Make sure the power supply switch is off before you reset the cmos. Take everything unnecessary out of the rig. Are you sure the PSU isn't dead? Brand new PSUs can die you know. When you push the case panel power button do any lights come on or do fans spin?
    Last edited by trents; 03-08-11 at 09:55 PM.
    CPU: i7 2600k@4.6 ghz
    Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe b3
    Cooler: Swiftech H320
    RAM: 16 (4x4) gb Team Group Vulcan 2400 mhz @ 2176 mhz / 11-13-13-35-2T
    GPU: Sapphire Radeon R9 280X
    Case: NZXT Source 530
    PSU: OCZ 750W
    Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 2x300 gb WD Velociraptors


    Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me". John 14:6

  3. #3
    Member tWiSt3D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Indiana,USA
    I cleared cmos it doesnt have a jumper on the board I took the batt out for a couple mins.Didnt try ram.The fan lights flicker for a sec and thats it.
    Last edited by tWiSt3D; 03-08-11 at 09:54 PM.
    CPU: AMD Phenom II x6 1100 T (OC 4 Ghz) 47c Under Load
    Motherboard: Qigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H
    Memory: Corsair XMS 3 4 GiG DDR3 Ram
    Video Card: HIS 6870
    Case: Cooler Master HAF 932 Case
    Power Supply: 850w Thermaltake black widow PSU
    CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212(Push Pull)
    OS: Windows 7 64


  4. #4
    Senior Member trents's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Centralia, WA
    So, disconnect the main and the auxilliary 12v connectors to the motherboard. Take a paper clip and short between any green and any black wire on the main 24 pin PSU power connector. Case fans should spin continuously now. If they don't, I'd suspect a bad PSU. It sounds like as soon as the PSU capacitors are bled off they aren't being recharged.
    CPU: i7 2600k@4.6 ghz
    Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe b3
    Cooler: Swiftech H320
    RAM: 16 (4x4) gb Team Group Vulcan 2400 mhz @ 2176 mhz / 11-13-13-35-2T
    GPU: Sapphire Radeon R9 280X
    Case: NZXT Source 530
    PSU: OCZ 750W
    Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 2x300 gb WD Velociraptors


    Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me". John 14:6

  5. #5
    Member tWiSt3D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Indiana,USA
    Ok I did that and it came on.Now what lol hey thanks for all your help Im getting stressed out here lol.What going on now any Ideas?
    CPU: AMD Phenom II x6 1100 T (OC 4 Ghz) 47c Under Load
    Motherboard: Qigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H
    Memory: Corsair XMS 3 4 GiG DDR3 Ram
    Video Card: HIS 6870
    Case: Cooler Master HAF 932 Case
    Power Supply: 850w Thermaltake black widow PSU
    CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212(Push Pull)
    OS: Windows 7 64


  6. #6
    Member tWiSt3D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Indiana,USA
    Ok just seen that the cpu fan that plugs into the MB isnt working.I tried another fan and nothing.Hmm could my NB be shot now?I have 2 fans on the cooler on the hyper 212 just seen the main one isnt working so to me something isnt working right on the board.
    CPU: AMD Phenom II x6 1100 T (OC 4 Ghz) 47c Under Load
    Motherboard: Qigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H
    Memory: Corsair XMS 3 4 GiG DDR3 Ram
    Video Card: HIS 6870
    Case: Cooler Master HAF 932 Case
    Power Supply: 850w Thermaltake black widow PSU
    CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212(Push Pull)
    OS: Windows 7 64


  7. #7
    Member EmAn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Ft. Hood Texas
    try swapping out components if you have another system to test out with. Look over your motherboard and look for blown capacitors and blown chips. Smell for burnt electronics. That may help you find out what is going on.
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Asus P5Q-PRO E8400 4050mhz
    Tuniq Tower 120 Crossfire Diamond HD4850's 512mb a piece
    2x2 GB OCZ DDR2 1066 Platinum OCZ GameXStream 600W

    SPC in the US ARMY working on AH-64D Appache Longbow Attack Helicopters
    Yes I work on a $47,000,000 computer that has two jet engines attached to it A LOT of spinning parts and of course... Rockets, GUNS, and Missiles

  8. #8
    Senior Member trents's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Centralia, WA
    Yeah, sounds suspicious for the board. On the other hand, if your CPU cooler fans aren't turning then the board may be set up to power off to protect the cpu. Check the bios to see if there is a setting you can disable so that it will power up without the cpu cooling fan working. Put another fan connected to a molex if necessary to cool the CPU and see if it powers up. That was a pretty stupid piece of advice since you can't get into bios to begin with.
    Last edited by trents; 03-08-11 at 10:56 PM.
    CPU: i7 2600k@4.6 ghz
    Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe b3
    Cooler: Swiftech H320
    RAM: 16 (4x4) gb Team Group Vulcan 2400 mhz @ 2176 mhz / 11-13-13-35-2T
    GPU: Sapphire Radeon R9 280X
    Case: NZXT Source 530
    PSU: OCZ 750W
    Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 2x300 gb WD Velociraptors


    Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me". John 14:6

  9. #9
    Member tWiSt3D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Indiana,USA
    I cant get into bios with it.It only comes on with he paper clip in it.When Iplug everything back up to the board it just flashed all my lights for a sec and thats it.
    CPU: AMD Phenom II x6 1100 T (OC 4 Ghz) 47c Under Load
    Motherboard: Qigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H
    Memory: Corsair XMS 3 4 GiG DDR3 Ram
    Video Card: HIS 6870
    Case: Cooler Master HAF 932 Case
    Power Supply: 850w Thermaltake black widow PSU
    CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212(Push Pull)
    OS: Windows 7 64


  10. #10
    Senior Member trents's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Centralia, WA
    Definitely sounds like a bad motherboard component, probably a bad capacitor. I would RMA it. Can you put the psu in another computer just to test it under load before you RMA the board?
    CPU: i7 2600k@4.6 ghz
    Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe b3
    Cooler: Swiftech H320
    RAM: 16 (4x4) gb Team Group Vulcan 2400 mhz @ 2176 mhz / 11-13-13-35-2T
    GPU: Sapphire Radeon R9 280X
    Case: NZXT Source 530
    PSU: OCZ 750W
    Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 2x300 gb WD Velociraptors


    Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me". John 14:6

  11. #11
    Member tWiSt3D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Indiana,USA
    PSU worked in another system.Well someone point me to a decent board I need one ASAP
    CPU: AMD Phenom II x6 1100 T (OC 4 Ghz) 47c Under Load
    Motherboard: Qigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H
    Memory: Corsair XMS 3 4 GiG DDR3 Ram
    Video Card: HIS 6870
    Case: Cooler Master HAF 932 Case
    Power Supply: 850w Thermaltake black widow PSU
    CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212(Push Pull)
    OS: Windows 7 64


  12. #12
    Senior Member trents's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Centralia, WA
    What's you're price range?
    CPU: i7 2600k@4.6 ghz
    Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe b3
    Cooler: Swiftech H320
    RAM: 16 (4x4) gb Team Group Vulcan 2400 mhz @ 2176 mhz / 11-13-13-35-2T
    GPU: Sapphire Radeon R9 280X
    Case: NZXT Source 530
    PSU: OCZ 750W
    Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 2x300 gb WD Velociraptors


    Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me". John 14:6

  13. #13
    Disabled
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Anywhere but there
    Author Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by tWiSt3D View Post
    PSU worked in another system.Well someone point me to a decent board I need one ASAP
    If you're overclocking I would suggest one with MOSFET heatsinks next time.


    Edit
    After looking at your other threads it's quite possible the old PSU took part of the motherboard with it when it went out. Can't really blame Gigabyte or AMD for whatever else might have been damaged when a 4 year old PSU burned out.

    I'd still stick with heatsinks on the MOSFETs, though ...
    Last edited by QuietIce; 03-09-11 at 09:26 AM.

  14. #14
    Member tWiSt3D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Indiana,USA
    Quote Originally Posted by QuietIce View Post
    If you're overclocking I would suggest one with MOSFET heatsinks next time.


    Edit
    After looking at your other threads it's quite possible the old PSU took part of the motherboard with it when it went out. Can't really blame Gigabyte or AMD for whatever else might have been damaged when a 4 year old PSU burned out.

    I'd still stick with heatsinks on the MOSFETs, though ...
    Yeah I got to thinking about that today that old PSU is probably the cause to this.Like I said in another thread cash is tight so I went with this http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...3ORDER-_-Deals

    I think Im done overclocking for now. I went with another gigabyte I liked that other one even know it wasnt anything fancey,not that this one is but was in my price range at this time.
    CPU: AMD Phenom II x6 1100 T (OC 4 Ghz) 47c Under Load
    Motherboard: Qigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H
    Memory: Corsair XMS 3 4 GiG DDR3 Ram
    Video Card: HIS 6870
    Case: Cooler Master HAF 932 Case
    Power Supply: 850w Thermaltake black widow PSU
    CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212(Push Pull)
    OS: Windows 7 64


  15. #15
    Disabled
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Anywhere but there
    Author Profile
    If you don't OC you won't need the MOSFET coolers.

    If you decide to OC later there are several copper and aluminum sinks out there for them ...

  16. #16
    Senior Member trents's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Centralia, WA
    Anyone who builds systems very often will get a bad part now and then, whether it be AMD or Intel. But I have concers you may repeat your experience until you get another PSU. A lot of people skimp on the foundational things like a good, well-ventilated case, a quality PSU and an efficient CPU cooler and then get frustrated when they try to overclock, blaming it on the CPU or the motherboard.
    CPU: i7 2600k@4.6 ghz
    Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe b3
    Cooler: Swiftech H320
    RAM: 16 (4x4) gb Team Group Vulcan 2400 mhz @ 2176 mhz / 11-13-13-35-2T
    GPU: Sapphire Radeon R9 280X
    Case: NZXT Source 530
    PSU: OCZ 750W
    Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 2x300 gb WD Velociraptors


    Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me". John 14:6

  17. #17
    Member tWiSt3D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Indiana,USA
    Quote Originally Posted by trents View Post
    Anyone who builds systems very often will get a bad part now and then, whether it be AMD or Intel. But I have concers you may repeat your experience until you get another PSU. A lot of people skimp on the foundational things like a good, well-ventilated case, a quality PSU and an efficient CPU cooler and then get frustrated when they try to overclock, blaming it on the CPU or the motherboard.
    I just got this PSU last Saturday surely its ok. I have a HAF Cooler Master case it has great air flow when i was overclocking the cpu I had it at 4.0 ran prime for about 10 mins highest temp was at 44c then bam lights went out.Like i said Im done overclocking I had fun with my Q6600 last year thought Id give it a try on the 1100T.Ill just be glad to get it up and going again.Id probably never get rid of what I have even known its down now.When it was going it screamed through all the games that I play maxed out like a dream.I shouldnt of blamed it on AMD lol just caught up in the moment
    CPU: AMD Phenom II x6 1100 T (OC 4 Ghz) 47c Under Load
    Motherboard: Qigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H
    Memory: Corsair XMS 3 4 GiG DDR3 Ram
    Video Card: HIS 6870
    Case: Cooler Master HAF 932 Case
    Power Supply: 850w Thermaltake black widow PSU
    CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212(Push Pull)
    OS: Windows 7 64


  18. #18
    Senior Member trents's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Centralia, WA
    Sorry about the cheap hardware comments. I got confused with another guy posting on t he forum recently who blew his board who may have blown his board while overclocking with a cheap four-year-old PSU. I hope you won't allow this experience to keep you from trying overclocking again. Let your nerves settle down first.
    Last edited by trents; 03-09-11 at 11:21 PM.
    CPU: i7 2600k@4.6 ghz
    Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe b3
    Cooler: Swiftech H320
    RAM: 16 (4x4) gb Team Group Vulcan 2400 mhz @ 2176 mhz / 11-13-13-35-2T
    GPU: Sapphire Radeon R9 280X
    Case: NZXT Source 530
    PSU: OCZ 750W
    Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 2x300 gb WD Velociraptors


    Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me". John 14:6

  19. #19
    Member tWiSt3D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Indiana,USA
    Quote Originally Posted by trents View Post
    Sorry about the cheap hardware comments. I got confused with another guy posting on t he forum recently who blew his board while overclocking with a cheap four-year-old PSU. I hope you won't allow this experience to keep you from trying overclocking again. Let your nerves settle down first.
    No problem I didnt take it in any bad way Im sitting here looking over that mother board trying to find anything burnt looking no luck at all.I m making things worse I guess wondering and hoping the CPU is ok now lol should be it didnt get hot on me.I always run core temp all the time even in my old Q6600 build.I like watching the temps overclocked or not.
    CPU: AMD Phenom II x6 1100 T (OC 4 Ghz) 47c Under Load
    Motherboard: Qigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H
    Memory: Corsair XMS 3 4 GiG DDR3 Ram
    Video Card: HIS 6870
    Case: Cooler Master HAF 932 Case
    Power Supply: 850w Thermaltake black widow PSU
    CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212(Push Pull)
    OS: Windows 7 64


  20. #20
    Senior Member trents's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Centralia, WA
    Note correction in Post #18.
    CPU: i7 2600k@4.6 ghz
    Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe b3
    Cooler: Swiftech H320
    RAM: 16 (4x4) gb Team Group Vulcan 2400 mhz @ 2176 mhz / 11-13-13-35-2T
    GPU: Sapphire Radeon R9 280X
    Case: NZXT Source 530
    PSU: OCZ 750W
    Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 2x300 gb WD Velociraptors


    Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me". John 14:6

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •