Results 1 to 19 of 19
  1. #1
    Member

    torin3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Seeing how many GPUs I can cram in one box
    Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile

    -bigadv memory question for ChasR (or anyone else willing to chime in)

    The new memory I've gotten for my 4-way classified seems to be working well to restore my overclock. However, I noticed I'm running 11-11-11-29 1T. The ram can run about this speed a 7-8-7-24 2T. Would I be better off to change to 2T and tighten up the timings? I'm running about 1800mzh on the ram.
    Last edited by torin3; 03-21-11 at 01:31 PM.
    Please fold for Team 32!
    System to be updated soon
    My Heat
    Folding User Stats
    BTC: 12CMeZKPnCg7nV5vgP57vSjSyshrMm67Tk

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    ChasR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Atlanta
    Folding Profile
    This is 2133 MHz ram? If it is, I'd try tightening the timings at 1T and see how low you can go. I'd think you could run close to spec timings at 1T with the ram underclocked.

    All ppd from friends and family. Many thanks to HayesK for his support and congrats on being the #1 Folder on Team 32. Special thanks to ChrisC and ColinC


    Folding User Stats

  3. #3
    Member

    torin3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Seeing how many GPUs I can cram in one box
    Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by ChasR View Post
    This is 2133 MHz ram? If it is, I'd try tightening the timings at 1T and see how low you can go. I'd think you could run close to spec timings at 1T with the ram underclocked.
    Actually it is 1600 Mhz ram. The modules that Onefstsnake recommended.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231335

    And it looks like my memory is a bit off. It is supposed to be 7-8-7-24 2T at 1600 Mhz. It is 1.5V and I'm running it at 1.62V.

    I've been letting the timings go on auto. I can probably get them tighter, but I was wondering if dropping them to 2T would be that much of a handicap.
    Please fold for Team 32!
    System to be updated soon
    My Heat
    Folding User Stats
    BTC: 12CMeZKPnCg7nV5vgP57vSjSyshrMm67Tk

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    ChasR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Atlanta
    Folding Profile
    I haven't done any testing on the effects of command rate on folding performance. I would think you could do better than 11-11-11 though.

    All ppd from friends and family. Many thanks to HayesK for his support and congrats on being the #1 Folder on Team 32. Special thanks to ChrisC and ColinC


    Folding User Stats

  5. #5
    Senior Fold-a-holic
    harlam357's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    @Home... Folding@Home
    Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Humm... yeah, I think most kits XMP profile (or better) is rated at 2T. Gosh, I haven't run 1T in anything since my old 939 setups. Memory is so fast (and inherently the most flakey piece in a system) that it's the last thing I want to really fool with in a rig. However, I think when DDR2/3 memory is run at JEDEC specs it is capable of running 1T based on the JEDEC SPD.

    EDIT: Opps... sorry, my name is not ChasR.

  6. #6
    Very Welcoming Senior
    Premium Member #11

    'Cuda340's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Folding@Home
    Folding Profile
    I was under the impression that going from Command Rate T2 -> T1 was like tightening the CAS Latency by one........(In terms of performance) Say from 9-9-9 to 8-9-9

    I have not done any testing.......
    Last edited by 'Cuda340; 03-21-11 at 01:11 PM.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    ChasR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Atlanta
    Folding Profile
    My RipJawsX 2133 has an XMP rating of 9-10-9-28 2T, per G. Skill and 9-11-9-29-1T per CPU-Z. The ASUS p8p67 pro reads that as 9-10-9-27-2T for some reason. In CPU-Z command rate is blank for the JDEC SPD speeds. So what does that mean? Beats Me.

    I'll see about doing some testing. It would be a lot easier if it didn't take so long to complete a frame. On regular SMP, clicking off frames in 3:00 or less, it doesn't take long to get results. At 22:00+/frame, I forget what I'm doing, before I get results. .

    All ppd from friends and family. Many thanks to HayesK for his support and congrats on being the #1 Folder on Team 32. Special thanks to ChrisC and ColinC


    Folding User Stats

  8. #8
    Member

    torin3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Seeing how many GPUs I can cram in one box
    Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by harlam357 View Post
    EDIT: Opps... sorry, my name is not ChasR.
    No problem. I've edited the title. I just wanted to catch ChasR's attention, since it was his comments that got me looking at my memory as the reason my frame times were slower than other people with 12threads at the same clock speed.

    I'm now getting about 61K ppd or around 21-22min tpf with my current ram speed and 4.28Ghz.

    I think I'll try and tighten them up to 9-9-9-26 1T (and bump the juice a bit, 1.65v probably) and see how that does.
    Please fold for Team 32!
    System to be updated soon
    My Heat
    Folding User Stats
    BTC: 12CMeZKPnCg7nV5vgP57vSjSyshrMm67Tk

  9. #9
    Very Welcoming Senior
    Premium Member #11

    'Cuda340's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Folding@Home
    Folding Profile
    So far i have not had any DDR3 that did not run "T1" at whatever it's rated speed was..........(All were triple channel kits)

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    ChasR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Atlanta
    Folding Profile
    On bandwidth benchmarks command rate can make a measured difference of up to 25% in bandwidth. In the real world of applications, that's usually only 2 to 3%, the same as reducing latency by one tick, as you point out. How it relates to folding, I will one day find out. It may be impossible to make myself perform a scientific test, using the same frames of the same WU because I'd lose too many ppd. We may have to settle on an unscientific test, but that may not mean anything if we're looking at a 1 or two percent difference.

    All ppd from friends and family. Many thanks to HayesK for his support and congrats on being the #1 Folder on Team 32. Special thanks to ChrisC and ColinC


    Folding User Stats

  11. #11

    Member
    freeagent's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Winnipeg!
    Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    I actually have a triple set of some gskills that only run at 2T

    From my observations playing around with my current setup, I get strong performance with a high bclk (191-196bclk) with my ram at 7-7-7-20. If I go to say 200, and run the ram at 1600 8-8-8-24 performace tapers off noticeably, until I get the mem speed up to around 1750mhz at 8-8-8-24 wich gives me a slightly lower latency then at say 1560 at 7-7-7.
    Intel Xeon x5690 E.S. @ 4209mhz, 1.32v/4800mhz, 1.55v
    Corsair H100/2x 38x120 Panaflo @ 60%
    Asus Rampage III Formula @ 200/3608/3608
    3x2GB STT Chrome @ 1600mhz 6-6-6-20 1T, 1.65v
    Asus GTX 580 Matrix Platinum @ 900/1100 1.1v
    Intel 520/WD Black
    Auzentech Prelude
    Thermaltake SP850M
    Fractal Design Define R4

  12. #12

    onefstsnake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Fburg, VA
    9-9-9-24-2T @ 1829mhz and 1.65v
    7-8-7-24-1T @ 1700mhz and 1.65v

    The top was just a quick and dirty setup. Both using the same ram that you have.
    "there was a puddle of water around the socket when I started." -I.M.O.G.
    Join the Benching Team
    Gaming/Benching/Folding Rig
    Asus Rampage III Formula**i7 950 @ 4.2ghz**6GB G.Skill Pi
    GTX470**2x1TB WD Black**256GB Samsung 830 SSD**Antec 1200w
    Wifes Gaming/Folding Rig
    Gigabyte GA-EX58A-UD3R**i7 920 @ 3.8ghz**6GB G.Skill Pi
    GTX260**2x1TB WD Black**640GB WD Black**Antec 750w

    MY HEAT

  13. #13
    Member

    torin3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Seeing how many GPUs I can cram in one box
    Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    9-9-9-26 1T 1746Mhz right now. Seems to be handling it fine.

    Though I'm wondering why the board won't boot at 173 bclk. Boots fine at 172 bclk, and I can move it up after I'm in windows.
    Please fold for Team 32!
    System to be updated soon
    My Heat
    Folding User Stats
    BTC: 12CMeZKPnCg7nV5vgP57vSjSyshrMm67Tk

  14. #14

    onefstsnake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Fburg, VA
    blk hole?

    My r3e couldnt run 226-230 but could run 235
    "there was a puddle of water around the socket when I started." -I.M.O.G.
    Join the Benching Team
    Gaming/Benching/Folding Rig
    Asus Rampage III Formula**i7 950 @ 4.2ghz**6GB G.Skill Pi
    GTX470**2x1TB WD Black**256GB Samsung 830 SSD**Antec 1200w
    Wifes Gaming/Folding Rig
    Gigabyte GA-EX58A-UD3R**i7 920 @ 3.8ghz**6GB G.Skill Pi
    GTX260**2x1TB WD Black**640GB WD Black**Antec 750w

    MY HEAT

  15. #15
    Member

    torin3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Seeing how many GPUs I can cram in one box
    Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Well, I'm now at 9-9-9-26 1T at 1 lower on bclk and I'm getting 20:40 frame times when the system is idle.

  16. #16

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    PA
    Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    At 1742mhz you should atleast be able to run 8-9-8-24-1t on stock voltage, and could most likely run 7-8-7-24-1t with 1.65v.

    Whats your north bridge and QPI multipliers at? Make sure they aren't too high and causing instability.
    Whats your VTT at? With ram speed at 1700+ I would imagine you'd need atleast 1.25v VTT if not 1.30, in that area, to be stable.

  17. #17
    Member

    torin3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Seeing how many GPUs I can cram in one box
    Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by 87dtna View Post
    At 1742mhz you should atleast be able to run 8-9-8-24-1t on stock voltage, and could most likely run 7-8-7-24-1t with 1.65v.

    Whats your north bridge and QPI multipliers at? Make sure they aren't too high and causing instability.
    Whats your VTT at? With ram speed at 1700+ I would imagine you'd need atleast 1.25v VTT if not 1.30, in that area, to be stable.
    I'll have to wait until I get home to check the multis, but I believe my VTT is 1.35V.
    Please fold for Team 32!
    System to be updated soon
    My Heat
    Folding User Stats
    BTC: 12CMeZKPnCg7nV5vgP57vSjSyshrMm67Tk

  18. #18
    Member

    torin3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Seeing how many GPUs I can cram in one box
    Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Ok, I forgot to check the other settings when I was rebooting today, but I'm now at 8-8-8-24, and I can get to 174bclk with it before Intel burntest/linpack fails. I'm at 1.65V in bios and 1.67V reported for RAM memory.

    Should I up the voltage a bit? I'll know in the morning how it compares to 9-9-9-26 at 179bclk. I was getting 20:37 TPF when the computer was idle.
    Please fold for Team 32!
    System to be updated soon
    My Heat
    Folding User Stats
    BTC: 12CMeZKPnCg7nV5vgP57vSjSyshrMm67Tk

  19. #19
    Member

    torin3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Seeing how many GPUs I can cram in one box
    Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    20:50 TPF. But it is 150 Mhz slower.
    Please fold for Team 32!
    System to be updated soon
    My Heat
    Folding User Stats
    BTC: 12CMeZKPnCg7nV5vgP57vSjSyshrMm67Tk

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •