Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: 16Gig kits

  1. #1
    "The Expert" Archer0915's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    East Carolina University Grad School
    Posts
    4,792
    People that buy OEM systems think Linux was a Charlie Brown character, a registry is something you see at target to buy shower gifts, RAM is a Dodge truck and a hard drive is DC at rush hour.
    Current Active Fleet:
    Daily Driver i7 3740QM T530
    Work Rig/networked backup - i7 4770K@4.4, 24GB Ram, 7850 GFX Bedroom PC - i7 870 @ 3.4, 16GB Ram, 6670 GFX
    Home School PC (kids) SB Celery @1.6, 4GB Ram, On Chip GFX Living Room HTPC - E-450@1.9 GHz, 4GB Ram
    Game Rig (kids)- 3570K@4.7, 12GB Ram, 465GTX + 9800GT (PhysX) using intel SRT
    Test Bed - In flux

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Omaha
    Posts
    187
    If you got the email with code BTEKGHB37
    you get another 10% off that $135 shipped for 16gb of ddr3 1600 ripjaws nice.
    Asrock P67 ex6
    16gb gskill ram
    100gb ssd vertex 2
    640 black
    Zotac gtx 480 amp 865/2100
    bluray/dvdburner
    corsair hx850psu
    nzxt tempest evo
    Intel 2500k at 4.4

  3. #3
    Member creecher's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    New Orleans area
    Posts
    291
    will these work in an i7 1366 platform, or only a p67? this is a stupid good deal, just wondering if i should get em
    HAL 10000

    i7 920 @ 4.3 GHZ 24/7
    ASUS P6X58D Premium | GTX 770 4gb SLI
    6gb (3x2) DOMINATOR GT 1600 7-7-7-20
    HAF 932 w/ 8 R4's | 750-HX
    Megahalem Shadow

    'MY HEARTS BEATIN!! MY HANDS ARE SHAKEIN'!!! BUT IM STILL SHOOTIN!! IM STILL GETTIN KILLS LIKE BOOM! HEAD SHOT!!! BOOM! HEAD SHOT!!!' - Doug

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Omaha
    Posts
    187
    Quote Originally Posted by creecher View Post
    will these work in an i7 1366 platform, or only a p67? this is a stupid good deal, just wondering if i should get em
    You would only use 3 of them but they should work fine.
    Asrock P67 ex6
    16gb gskill ram
    100gb ssd vertex 2
    640 black
    Zotac gtx 480 amp 865/2100
    bluray/dvdburner
    corsair hx850psu
    nzxt tempest evo
    Intel 2500k at 4.4

  5. #5
    joedymueller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Northern Virginia
    Posts
    972
    you could use all of them, they just wont be triple channel.

    These are Quad Channel. So im not sure if they will run in triple if you only use 3? Anyone know?
    Folding / Main
    i7 920 D0 @ 3.2GHz(Dummy OC) - Windows 7 -
    6Gigs OCZ PC3-15000 Reaper
    EVGA X58 SLI
    Corsair HX1000
    GTX 480

    Folding User Stats

  6. #6
    Member nd4spdbh2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Camarillo, CA!
    Posts
    9,213
    if u use 3... ull be just fine and run tripple channel.... if u use all 4 in a 1366 setup it will go down to dual channel.

    btw i love how they make it seem like the ram + the flash drive is like discounted... when its the same price.
    #12 in the 4ghz core 2 duo club baby! - 52 inches of CRYSIS! - Black Belt Ubercloxx0r -- Heatware
    Main -- Lian Li V2000b -- i7 2700k -- MSI Z68A-GD80 -- 12gb 1600 -- GTX560Ti --Adata 128gb S510 & 2x500gb -- Seasonic S12 600w -- Dell 2209WA
    HTPC -- Silverstone GD05B -- E7200 @ 3.2ghz -- G41-M7 -- 4GB 800mhz -- g210 passive -- 320gb 2.5in WD -- Antec EA 430w -- 52inch Samsung LCD
    Server -- Antec NSK4480B -- E3300 @ 2.5ghz -- ECS G33T-M2 -- 3gb 667mhz -- Onboard Vid -- 500Gb + 1TB hatachi + 1tb WD -- Zalman 400w
    Netbook - Dell Mini 9 - Atom 1.6ghz - 8GB ssd - 2GB pc6400 - WIN 7 PRO!
    Need 4 Speed - BH

  7. #7
    Member SteveLord's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    5,217
    Less than a year ago...it cost $700+ for a 4x4 kit of DDR3 1333 for my office rig.

    That same kit is now $199. lol
    "There are two kinds of pain. The sort of pain that makes you strong,
    or useless pain. The sort of pain that's only suffering. I have no
    patience for useless things."

    __________________

  8. #8
    joedymueller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Northern Virginia
    Posts
    972
    So higher Channel ram will run the best it mode can? Quad will run in triple and dual. triple can run in dual?

    btw i love how they make it seem like the ram + the flash drive is like discounted... when its the same price.
    thats what marketing and people not paying attention will do.
    Folding / Main
    i7 920 D0 @ 3.2GHz(Dummy OC) - Windows 7 -
    6Gigs OCZ PC3-15000 Reaper
    EVGA X58 SLI
    Corsair HX1000
    GTX 480

    Folding User Stats

  9. #9
    Likes Popcorn petteyg359's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    5,679
    Quote Originally Posted by joedymueller View Post
    So higher Channel ram will run the best it mode can? Quad will run in triple and dual. triple can run in dual?
    Anything can run in anything. Triple channel requires a multiple of 3 populated slots. Dual channels requires a multiple of 2.

    Would've jumped on this but I've never had anything but horrible luck with G.Skill
    ASRock 990FX Extreme9 - FX-8350 - 32GiB 1600 Crucial low-profile 1.35v - 7970 3GiB - 8.1 Pro x64 / Gentoo amd64 - AX760
    Dell XPS 15 L502x - i7 2760QM - 16GiB 1600 - GT 540M 2GiB - 7 Pro x64 / Gentoo amd64 - Agility 4 512GB

    [GB ≠ GiB] [MB ≠ MiB] [kB ≠ kiB] [1000 ≠ 1024] [Giga ≠ gram] [Mega ≠ milli] [Kelvin ≠ kilo] [Byte ≠ bit]
    "Apparently, Plaintiff believes that he could sue an egg company for fraud for labeling a carton of 12 eggs a “dozen,” because some bakers would view a “dozen” as including 13 items." - Western Digital 2006
    Folding User Stats

  10. #10
    joedymueller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Northern Virginia
    Posts
    972
    ... so 3 dual channel ram will run at triple channel? i dont think thats how it works. does it?
    Folding / Main
    i7 920 D0 @ 3.2GHz(Dummy OC) - Windows 7 -
    6Gigs OCZ PC3-15000 Reaper
    EVGA X58 SLI
    Corsair HX1000
    GTX 480

    Folding User Stats

  11. #11
    Member JonSimonzi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Providence, RI
    Posts
    2,207
    Quote Originally Posted by joedymueller View Post
    ... so 3 dual channel ram will run at triple channel? i dont think thats how it works. does it?
    The ram itself isn't "dual-channel" or "tri-channel". Those terms just mean how many channels are handled on the motherboard. A ram stick is a ram stick. "Dual channel" ram just comes with 2 or 4 sticks, and "tri-channel" ram comes with 3 or 6 sticks.
    Gigabyte Sniper M3 - i7 2700K - Corsair H80
    Asus GTX780 DCII - Dell U2712HM & Dell U2212HM
    16GB G.Skill Sniper - 256GB Crucial M4 - 3TB Hitachi 7K3000
    Silverstone ST65F-G - Silverstone SG10
    Heatware

  12. #12
    Researches Meritless
    LIES for the Front
    Page and Super Mutterator

    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Stuck in Maryland...
    Posts
    45,556
    Exactly ^^. Its on the mobo dude!

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

  13. #13
    Likes Popcorn petteyg359's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    5,679
    Quote Originally Posted by JonSimonzi View Post
    The ram itself isn't "dual-channel" or "tri-channel". Those terms just mean how many channels are handled on the motherboard. A ram stick is a ram stick. "Dual channel" ram just comes with 2 or 4 sticks, and "tri-channel" ram comes with 3 or 6 sticks.
    Just go with a server board and a nice common multiple of both 2 and 3 (and 4 and 6 for future-proofing ) - 48
    ASRock 990FX Extreme9 - FX-8350 - 32GiB 1600 Crucial low-profile 1.35v - 7970 3GiB - 8.1 Pro x64 / Gentoo amd64 - AX760
    Dell XPS 15 L502x - i7 2760QM - 16GiB 1600 - GT 540M 2GiB - 7 Pro x64 / Gentoo amd64 - Agility 4 512GB

    [GB ≠ GiB] [MB ≠ MiB] [kB ≠ kiB] [1000 ≠ 1024] [Giga ≠ gram] [Mega ≠ milli] [Kelvin ≠ kilo] [Byte ≠ bit]
    "Apparently, Plaintiff believes that he could sue an egg company for fraud for labeling a carton of 12 eggs a “dozen,” because some bakers would view a “dozen” as including 13 items." - Western Digital 2006
    Folding User Stats

  14. #14
    Honeybadger Moderator cw823's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    6,666
    Link goes to newegg's shell shocker which is a mobo combo, assuming this is expired then?
    I can explain it to you, but I cannot understand it for you

    honeybadger moderator smacks the **** out of people that cause issues in the classified section

    Heatware: cw823
    Paypal: paypal @ cw823 dot com

    Adak - My spreader bar was shaped using a pair of vise grips, a hammer, and the tow receiver on my pick up

    Support your forum:
    http://www.newegg.com/

  15. #15
    Member FishDog3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Santa Barbara, CA
    Posts
    377
    I think they just changed the "Shell Shocker" article.

    G.Skill still appears to have 4x4 sets on sale here
    And direct link
    I7-920
    5850
    6G DDR3

  16. #16
    Premium Member #10
    clash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Canyon,Tx.
    Posts
    991
    I only need 2 sticks and i will be all full... who wants to go halvsies on the G.skill!
    i7 2600k @ 4.5
    ASRock Z77 Extreme4
    Corsair Vengeance 4x8
    Mushkin Chronos 120
    XFX 7950 BE 1050/1500
    Rosewill Lightning-1000 PSU

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •