Page 15 of 253 FirstFirst ... 5 14 15 16 25 65 115 ... LastLast
Results 281 to 300 of 5044

Thread: Bitcoin

  1. #281
    freakdiablo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Here
    Gah, price drops just as I decide to get back into it and find a miner that actually works . With a bit of trickery and luck though I should be adding a 7950 at the least to my desktop and moving the 5850 to a dedicated miner in the coming weeks. Hopefully price goes back up by then.
    Main: MOBO: MSI P67A-G45, CPU: i7 2600k w/ VenX (4.4ghz @ 1.33v), RAM: 2x8gb Kingston HyperX Blu Red Series DDR3 1600, GFX: Galaxy GTX670 GC, PSU: OCZ 1250w ZX, CASE: Corsair 500R, HDD: 120gb Samsung 840, WD 4TB Black
    Quick, Cheap, and Dirty NAS: Sempron 140, Hyper 212+ with 800RPM Scythe Slipstreams, 4gb ram, 5x2tb Hitachis in RAID5, Seasonic SSR-360GP, Antec 300, Biostar Tpower motherboard, APC BR700G UPS, Buffalo WZR-HP-AG300H router (Upgrade in the works)
    Laptop: Lenovo Thinkpad X220 HTPC: Zotac ZBOX AD04-U w/ 6GB Samsung 1333mhz, 64GB Adata Premier Pro SP900
    Protobox-1: Raspberry Pi Mod. B Rev. 2, 2.5" LCD, 12v 1A PSU, Aluminum RatShack project box, GPIO breakout board

    Project 1UP || Interested in the performance of the new AMD AM1 socket? Ask me, I'll test it!
    Bored of games? Nothing good on internet radio or youtube? Dont waste your GHz, find them before they find us. SETI

  2. #282
    d20 in a jacket

    ChanceCoats123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Illinois
    Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by freakdiablo View Post
    Gah, price drops just as I decide to get back into it and find a miner that actually works . With a bit of trickery and luck though I should be adding a 7950 at the least to my desktop and moving the 5850 to a dedicated miner in the coming weeks. Hopefully price goes back up by then.
    The price has been steadily increasing since the $1 or so drop roughly a week ago. It's in an upward trend right now.
    Ed - "Aight it's pulling down... Thing is really tuned for LN2 though."
    This is the team you are looking for...
    I accept Bitcoins!

  3. #283
    freakdiablo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Here
    Quote Originally Posted by ChanceCoats123 View Post
    The price has been steadily increasing since the $1 or so drop roughly a week ago. It's in an upward trend right now.
    Ah, good to know. Would have been just my luck to finally take this seriously just as it was dying out

    On a side note, dunno if this has been asked already, but anyone have any idea how to get CGMiner running in CPU mode? I have it running in GPU mode only, and I know GPUs are more efficient for this type of thing, just wanted to see how my i7 handles it. Tried the --enable-cpu flag that's listed in both the readme and the thread on their site, comes back "unrecognized option". Also doesn't seem to be listed when bringing up the --help menu. When using --disable-gpu, it says there's nothing that can be used for mining. Did they drop support for cpu mining or is there something I'm missing?
    Main: MOBO: MSI P67A-G45, CPU: i7 2600k w/ VenX (4.4ghz @ 1.33v), RAM: 2x8gb Kingston HyperX Blu Red Series DDR3 1600, GFX: Galaxy GTX670 GC, PSU: OCZ 1250w ZX, CASE: Corsair 500R, HDD: 120gb Samsung 840, WD 4TB Black
    Quick, Cheap, and Dirty NAS: Sempron 140, Hyper 212+ with 800RPM Scythe Slipstreams, 4gb ram, 5x2tb Hitachis in RAID5, Seasonic SSR-360GP, Antec 300, Biostar Tpower motherboard, APC BR700G UPS, Buffalo WZR-HP-AG300H router (Upgrade in the works)
    Laptop: Lenovo Thinkpad X220 HTPC: Zotac ZBOX AD04-U w/ 6GB Samsung 1333mhz, 64GB Adata Premier Pro SP900
    Protobox-1: Raspberry Pi Mod. B Rev. 2, 2.5" LCD, 12v 1A PSU, Aluminum RatShack project box, GPIO breakout board

    Project 1UP || Interested in the performance of the new AMD AM1 socket? Ask me, I'll test it!
    Bored of games? Nothing good on internet radio or youtube? Dont waste your GHz, find them before they find us. SETI

  4. #284
    d20 in a jacket

    ChanceCoats123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Illinois
    Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Oddd. You might want to try a second miner (possibly poclbm) for cpumining. I'm pretty sure it supports the cpu a bit better. I've never tried though.

    A positive note for my mining, today I got my mining rig to recognize the cards I have in my 1x PCI-e slots! Now I just need more powa!!! I wish I had the money to buy a kilowatt or higher PSU. It would be so much easier than jumping one.
    Ed - "Aight it's pulling down... Thing is really tuned for LN2 though."
    This is the team you are looking for...
    I accept Bitcoins!

  5. #285
    freakdiablo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Here
    Quote Originally Posted by ChanceCoats123 View Post
    Oddd. You might want to try a second miner (possibly poclbm) for cpumining. I'm pretty sure it supports the cpu a bit better. I've never tried though.

    A positive note for my mining, today I got my mining rig to recognize the cards I have in my 1x PCI-e slots! Now I just need more powa!!! I wish I had the money to buy a kilowatt or higher PSU. It would be so much easier than jumping one.
    Well settled on the Ufasoft bitcoin miner since I didn't have any luck with poclbm. Seems to do even gpu mining a touch better than cgminer. Still use cgminer when I'm at my desktop though since I haven't found a way to tone down the priority of ufasofts gpu mining and I don't like lag when I'm simply browsing the web

    Congrats on getting the other cards to work. One of these days I got to see if I have enough parts to throw together a second computer for this. Already have my old Q9550, motherboard, and some DDR2 memory. Planning on upgrading the PSU and getting a couple 7950s/7970s for my desktop, so I may end up throwing my current psu and 5850 onto that with an old hdd and a copy of linux. This gets addicting.
    Main: MOBO: MSI P67A-G45, CPU: i7 2600k w/ VenX (4.4ghz @ 1.33v), RAM: 2x8gb Kingston HyperX Blu Red Series DDR3 1600, GFX: Galaxy GTX670 GC, PSU: OCZ 1250w ZX, CASE: Corsair 500R, HDD: 120gb Samsung 840, WD 4TB Black
    Quick, Cheap, and Dirty NAS: Sempron 140, Hyper 212+ with 800RPM Scythe Slipstreams, 4gb ram, 5x2tb Hitachis in RAID5, Seasonic SSR-360GP, Antec 300, Biostar Tpower motherboard, APC BR700G UPS, Buffalo WZR-HP-AG300H router (Upgrade in the works)
    Laptop: Lenovo Thinkpad X220 HTPC: Zotac ZBOX AD04-U w/ 6GB Samsung 1333mhz, 64GB Adata Premier Pro SP900
    Protobox-1: Raspberry Pi Mod. B Rev. 2, 2.5" LCD, 12v 1A PSU, Aluminum RatShack project box, GPIO breakout board

    Project 1UP || Interested in the performance of the new AMD AM1 socket? Ask me, I'll test it!
    Bored of games? Nothing good on internet radio or youtube? Dont waste your GHz, find them before they find us. SETI

  6. #286
    d20 in a jacket

    ChanceCoats123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Illinois
    Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    The most beautiful thing I've seen all day (other than my girlfriend).





    Don't judge the cardboard and shenanigans going on. I need to get a kilowatt psu so I can stop having to short these. >___> And I'm space limited so...
    Ed - "Aight it's pulling down... Thing is really tuned for LN2 though."
    This is the team you are looking for...
    I accept Bitcoins!

  7. #287
    freakdiablo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Here
    Quote Originally Posted by ChanceCoats123 View Post
    The most beautiful thing I've seen all day
    NSFW warning before posting pics of naked hardware please

    But really, are those top two cards mounted on PCIe risers or something?
    Main: MOBO: MSI P67A-G45, CPU: i7 2600k w/ VenX (4.4ghz @ 1.33v), RAM: 2x8gb Kingston HyperX Blu Red Series DDR3 1600, GFX: Galaxy GTX670 GC, PSU: OCZ 1250w ZX, CASE: Corsair 500R, HDD: 120gb Samsung 840, WD 4TB Black
    Quick, Cheap, and Dirty NAS: Sempron 140, Hyper 212+ with 800RPM Scythe Slipstreams, 4gb ram, 5x2tb Hitachis in RAID5, Seasonic SSR-360GP, Antec 300, Biostar Tpower motherboard, APC BR700G UPS, Buffalo WZR-HP-AG300H router (Upgrade in the works)
    Laptop: Lenovo Thinkpad X220 HTPC: Zotac ZBOX AD04-U w/ 6GB Samsung 1333mhz, 64GB Adata Premier Pro SP900
    Protobox-1: Raspberry Pi Mod. B Rev. 2, 2.5" LCD, 12v 1A PSU, Aluminum RatShack project box, GPIO breakout board

    Project 1UP || Interested in the performance of the new AMD AM1 socket? Ask me, I'll test it!
    Bored of games? Nothing good on internet radio or youtube? Dont waste your GHz, find them before they find us. SETI

  8. #288
    d20 in a jacket

    ChanceCoats123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Illinois
    Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    They are. I'm using a Gigabyte 790FXT-UD5P motherboard which only has 2 16x pcie slots. I grabbed pair of 1x to 1x adapters with the backs were cut open so a 16x card can fit and then shorted a couple of pins so Windows would see them. After 3 days of work I finally got it all working. They are currently mining away.
    Ed - "Aight it's pulling down... Thing is really tuned for LN2 though."
    This is the team you are looking for...
    I accept Bitcoins!

  9. #289
    freakdiablo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Here
    Not bad. You're a bit more serious about than I plan to be, lol.
    Main: MOBO: MSI P67A-G45, CPU: i7 2600k w/ VenX (4.4ghz @ 1.33v), RAM: 2x8gb Kingston HyperX Blu Red Series DDR3 1600, GFX: Galaxy GTX670 GC, PSU: OCZ 1250w ZX, CASE: Corsair 500R, HDD: 120gb Samsung 840, WD 4TB Black
    Quick, Cheap, and Dirty NAS: Sempron 140, Hyper 212+ with 800RPM Scythe Slipstreams, 4gb ram, 5x2tb Hitachis in RAID5, Seasonic SSR-360GP, Antec 300, Biostar Tpower motherboard, APC BR700G UPS, Buffalo WZR-HP-AG300H router (Upgrade in the works)
    Laptop: Lenovo Thinkpad X220 HTPC: Zotac ZBOX AD04-U w/ 6GB Samsung 1333mhz, 64GB Adata Premier Pro SP900
    Protobox-1: Raspberry Pi Mod. B Rev. 2, 2.5" LCD, 12v 1A PSU, Aluminum RatShack project box, GPIO breakout board

    Project 1UP || Interested in the performance of the new AMD AM1 socket? Ask me, I'll test it!
    Bored of games? Nothing good on internet radio or youtube? Dont waste your GHz, find them before they find us. SETI

  10. Thanks!

    ChanceCoats123 (02-27-12)

  11. #290
    d20 in a jacket

    ChanceCoats123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Illinois
    Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    1300mhash/sec isn't too shabby. Really, I just like big numbers.
    Ed - "Aight it's pulling down... Thing is really tuned for LN2 though."
    This is the team you are looking for...
    I accept Bitcoins!

  12. #291
    freakdiablo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Here
    Quote Originally Posted by ChanceCoats123 View Post
    1300mhash/sec isn't too shabby. Really, I just like big numbers.
    Lol, well you're putting about 4 times as much as my 5850 and 2600k combined. Makes sense.

    Update: Just ordered a new PSU in an "for the love of all that is holy, what have I done?" moment thanks to the newegg leap year sale. Now that I got 3/4s of a mining computer together, just need a decent GPU. Have an 8800GT somewhere, but looking at the bitcoin.it wiki hardware comparison the 8800s don't do much better than my i7 alone. May have to wait on bringing my q9550 system online until something that's worth it comes along.

    Update 2: Good: Finally finished my first bitcoin last night. Bad: Something in my desktop died Hoping it's the PSU (had it both GPU and CPU mining straight through the weekend, most strain I put on it in a while) since I haven't put the new one in yet.
    Last edited by freakdiablo; 03-05-12 at 11:34 AM.
    Main: MOBO: MSI P67A-G45, CPU: i7 2600k w/ VenX (4.4ghz @ 1.33v), RAM: 2x8gb Kingston HyperX Blu Red Series DDR3 1600, GFX: Galaxy GTX670 GC, PSU: OCZ 1250w ZX, CASE: Corsair 500R, HDD: 120gb Samsung 840, WD 4TB Black
    Quick, Cheap, and Dirty NAS: Sempron 140, Hyper 212+ with 800RPM Scythe Slipstreams, 4gb ram, 5x2tb Hitachis in RAID5, Seasonic SSR-360GP, Antec 300, Biostar Tpower motherboard, APC BR700G UPS, Buffalo WZR-HP-AG300H router (Upgrade in the works)
    Laptop: Lenovo Thinkpad X220 HTPC: Zotac ZBOX AD04-U w/ 6GB Samsung 1333mhz, 64GB Adata Premier Pro SP900
    Protobox-1: Raspberry Pi Mod. B Rev. 2, 2.5" LCD, 12v 1A PSU, Aluminum RatShack project box, GPIO breakout board

    Project 1UP || Interested in the performance of the new AMD AM1 socket? Ask me, I'll test it!
    Bored of games? Nothing good on internet radio or youtube? Dont waste your GHz, find them before they find us. SETI

  13. #292
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Puyallup, WA
    This bitcoin thing is pretty interesting just started and using the GUIMINER. I hear the diablominer is faster but can't figure out how to get it or use it

  14. #293
    d20 in a jacket

    ChanceCoats123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Illinois
    Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    There are a lot of variables that the speed depends on. The card series, clocks, driver, SDK, operating system, miner and flags. It all takes a little fine tuning to get just right.
    Ed - "Aight it's pulling down... Thing is really tuned for LN2 though."
    This is the team you are looking for...
    I accept Bitcoins!

  15. #294
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Puyallup, WA
    Anyone able to help me set up diablominer for windows 7 I can't figure out how to launch the program and am feeling pretty dumb right now. GUIminer using -polcbm is giving me lag issues so would like to try diablominer

  16. #295
    d20 in a jacket

    ChanceCoats123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Illinois
    Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    No idea on how to get diablo running. If you change your mind and want to give CGminer a try, let me know.
    Ed - "Aight it's pulling down... Thing is really tuned for LN2 though."
    This is the team you are looking for...
    I accept Bitcoins!

  17. #296
    Member
    trekky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    MI
    Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    i have a question about my 6950
    its only is getting about 192MH/s on cgminer
    but when i look online it says a 6950 should get around 250-350MH/s
    why am i getting 50-150 less MH/s?
    is it because im running windows 7?
    current AGP cards-2 boxes (yes boxes)

    "Sarcasm does not have a TCP/IP protocol, so it didn't get routed to my computer." -thideras
    Heat

  18. #297
    Senior Member


    Bobnova's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Humboldt
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile
    Driver version and SDK version make a big difference.
    If you can find the 2.1 SDK that will help a lot.
    "Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe." -- Einstein (maybe)

    Thinking about an Asus motherboard? Think again.

    How to check your PSU with a multimeter.

    17bXw5t51rEBXGavJFMJsC8g7HQgThUGc7

  19. #298
    Member
    trekky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    MI
    Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    so 2.1 is the best for mining?
    + will this affect any of my games?
    i know my drivers for my card is 12.1
    SDK i think is 2.6 but im downloading 2.5 i will look for 2.1
    current AGP cards-2 boxes (yes boxes)

    "Sarcasm does not have a TCP/IP protocol, so it didn't get routed to my computer." -thideras
    Heat

  20. #299
    Member
    Scout's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    SDK 2.1 if the best for mining and I don't think it will effect your games its gonna take some experimenting to maximize you Mhash's.
    This is my 6950 mining hope it helps some.
    Driver 12.3
    SDK 2.1


  21. #300
    Member
    trekky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    MI
    Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    when installing 12.3 drivers should i install AMD APP SDK runtime?
    EDIT without installing it makes CGminer say "All devices disabled, Cannot mine!"


    + i have tryed 2.1 alot and it is not working
    i have uninstalled both drivers and SDK then did a reinstall
    still mining at 192 ( if i put my In to 9 i get 204)



    double EDIT i most be missing some1 2.5 is doing the same 192-204mh/s
    Last edited by trekky; 04-13-12 at 12:11 PM.
    current AGP cards-2 boxes (yes boxes)

    "Sarcasm does not have a TCP/IP protocol, so it didn't get routed to my computer." -thideras
    Heat

Page 15 of 253 FirstFirst ... 5 14 15 16 25 65 115 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •