Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 24
  1. #1
    Member iaacp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Glendora CA
    Posts
    1,052

    "CD/DVD Drive Device Driver missing" when clean installing Windows 7

    Hey guys,

    I am doing a build for a friend. After installing all components and trying to install Windows 7 with SP1, after clicking install I get a pop up screen that says

    "A required cd/dvd drive device driver is missing. If you have a driver floppy disc, cd, dvd, or USB flash drive, please insert it now."

    The DVD drive I'm trying to use is an LG gh22ns50.

    Now, after various searches, it seems this problem mostly occurs to people that are trying to use multiple hard drives or disc drives (like in RAID), and the issue isn't always related to the DVD drive at all. All I could find on LG's website were firmware updates, which as far as I can tell need to be used while actually on the desktop or something.

    Can anyone help me out? It's driving me crazy.
    PSU: Corsair 650W T2 V2
    GPU: EVGA GTX 560 Ti SC (1GB)
    CPU: i5 2500K
    RAM: 8GB (4x2) G.Skill Ripjaws 1600
    Storage: SanDisk Extreme 240GB SSD - OCZ Vertex 3 120GB - WD Caviar Blue 500GB 7200 RPM
    Mobo: Gigabyte Z68

    Steam - iaacp

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    789
    The OS does not have the required sata drivers with which to recognize and therefore use your sata lg burner. Here is a link where you can get them. They will work from a flash drive or floppy.
    http://www.siliconimage.com/support/...32&cat=3&os=10

    Also here is a link for the lg's latest firmware (sep 2010).
    http://www.firmwarehq.com/LG/GH22NS50/files.html

    You should also run this (sptd) after you get the os installed.
    http://www.duplexsecure.com/downloads
    All my drives are native satas. My OS disk came with multiple versions of the Silicon Image Serial ATA driver which is what you need to recognize your burner at the F6 prompt.
    Last edited by habbajabba; 04-24-11 at 12:22 AM.
    Intel Northwood @3.06 GHz
    Biostar microatx
    2 GB DDR2 675
    Evga 8400gs
    Samsung 2232GW 2ms 22"
    Altec Lansing 2.1 speakers
    Memorex ext usb burner
    Win7Ult 32bit/Manjaro dualboot
    WD cav blue 320gb
    Samsung F4 2tb
    WD Blue 2tb
    CP850avrlcd ups

  3. #3
    Member iaacp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Glendora CA
    Posts
    1,052
    Quote Originally Posted by habbajabba View Post
    The OS does not have the required sata drivers with which to recognize and therefore use your sata lg burner. Here is a link where you can get them. They will work from a flash drive or floppy.
    http://www.siliconimage.com/support/...32&cat=3&os=10

    Also here is a link for the lg's latest firmware (sep 2010).
    http://www.firmwarehq.com/LG/GH22NS50/files.html

    You should also run this (sptd) after you get the os installed.
    http://www.duplexsecure.com/downloads
    All my drives are native satas. My OS disk came with multiple versions of the Silicon Image Serial ATA driver which is what you need to recognize your burner at the F6 prompt.
    I tried the "* SiI 3132 64-bit Windows BASE Driver" and it didn't work. Was it the wrong one?
    PSU: Corsair 650W T2 V2
    GPU: EVGA GTX 560 Ti SC (1GB)
    CPU: i5 2500K
    RAM: 8GB (4x2) G.Skill Ripjaws 1600
    Storage: SanDisk Extreme 240GB SSD - OCZ Vertex 3 120GB - WD Caviar Blue 500GB 7200 RPM
    Mobo: Gigabyte Z68

    Steam - iaacp

  4. #4
    Member iaacp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Glendora CA
    Posts
    1,052
    Does anyone know if it could possibly be another issue? Or if I indeed grabbed the wrong driver?
    PSU: Corsair 650W T2 V2
    GPU: EVGA GTX 560 Ti SC (1GB)
    CPU: i5 2500K
    RAM: 8GB (4x2) G.Skill Ripjaws 1600
    Storage: SanDisk Extreme 240GB SSD - OCZ Vertex 3 120GB - WD Caviar Blue 500GB 7200 RPM
    Mobo: Gigabyte Z68

    Steam - iaacp

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    ILLINOIS
    Posts
    105
    def sounds like a driver issue. Thats weird! Usually this is hdd's only

  6. #6
    Member iaacp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Glendora CA
    Posts
    1,052
    Is it possible it could be a hdd driver error? I've never had to install drivers for an hdd.
    PSU: Corsair 650W T2 V2
    GPU: EVGA GTX 560 Ti SC (1GB)
    CPU: i5 2500K
    RAM: 8GB (4x2) G.Skill Ripjaws 1600
    Storage: SanDisk Extreme 240GB SSD - OCZ Vertex 3 120GB - WD Caviar Blue 500GB 7200 RPM
    Mobo: Gigabyte Z68

    Steam - iaacp

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    ILLINOIS
    Posts
    105
    in your Bios, try turning off the IDE emulation for SATA drives, and try installing again, let me know if that helped, and check to see if its in AHCI mode.

    One last thing.... check to see that the CD/DVD drive is first boot device, and HD is second.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    789
    I have no idea what the mobo needs without knowing what it is capable of. You never said any specifics and I assume your sig is not the one.
    These should be applicable choices

    Which you can find using this page.
    http://www.siliconimage.com/support/
    My OS has all these in it's driver folder.
    SI3112.sys
    SI3112r.sys
    SI3114.sys
    SI3114r.sys
    Si3114r5.sys
    SI3124.sys
    Si3124r5.sys
    SI3132.sys
    Si3132r5.sys (r = raid)
    I have 4 sata300 ports on a pci-x 1.0 mobo and would assume the 3124's are what I'm using.
    Last edited by habbajabba; 04-27-11 at 10:42 PM.
    Intel Northwood @3.06 GHz
    Biostar microatx
    2 GB DDR2 675
    Evga 8400gs
    Samsung 2232GW 2ms 22"
    Altec Lansing 2.1 speakers
    Memorex ext usb burner
    Win7Ult 32bit/Manjaro dualboot
    WD cav blue 320gb
    Samsung F4 2tb
    WD Blue 2tb
    CP850avrlcd ups

  9. #9
    Senior Member Know Nuttin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    7,898
    Did you try another disk, or installing from USB flash drive?
    AMD Phenom II X4 965BE, Asus M5A88-V Evo, 8GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3-1600 , Coolermaster Hyper212+, OCZ Vertex Plus 60GB, Seagate 7200.11 500GB, Antec EA-380
    Lenovo X200, P8400 C2D, 8GB, 120GB OCZ Vertex 3.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    ILLINOIS
    Posts
    105
    Yeah worse case you can do USB install ^ ^ ^

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    789
    Simplest thing to do is swap the sata dvd drive with a standard ide one, if you have one. Once booted then swap back and simply use one of the silicon drivers above as appropriate. I find it reprehensible that the most widely used OS in the world has yet to figure out how to add proper drivers for, what is now, standard hardware on every new pc.
    Intel Northwood @3.06 GHz
    Biostar microatx
    2 GB DDR2 675
    Evga 8400gs
    Samsung 2232GW 2ms 22"
    Altec Lansing 2.1 speakers
    Memorex ext usb burner
    Win7Ult 32bit/Manjaro dualboot
    WD cav blue 320gb
    Samsung F4 2tb
    WD Blue 2tb
    CP850avrlcd ups

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    ILLINOIS
    Posts
    105
    Some motheboards dont have IDE though (well most modern ones anyways)

  13. #13
    Member iaacp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Glendora CA
    Posts
    1,052
    I think I'm going to try installing from a USB. Do I just need to stick the iso onto my usb stick? I've honestly never done it any other way than from a disc.
    PSU: Corsair 650W T2 V2
    GPU: EVGA GTX 560 Ti SC (1GB)
    CPU: i5 2500K
    RAM: 8GB (4x2) G.Skill Ripjaws 1600
    Storage: SanDisk Extreme 240GB SSD - OCZ Vertex 3 120GB - WD Caviar Blue 500GB 7200 RPM
    Mobo: Gigabyte Z68

    Steam - iaacp

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    ILLINOIS
    Posts
    105
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mwX9cmJ8BoM


    Quote Originally Posted by iaacp View Post
    I think I'm going to try installing from a USB. Do I just need to stick the iso onto my usb stick? I've honestly never done it any other way than from a disc.

  15. #15
    Member iaacp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Glendora CA
    Posts
    1,052
    Quote Originally Posted by Know Nuttin View Post
    Did you try another disk, or installing from USB flash drive?
    Quote Originally Posted by habbajabba View Post
    I have no idea what the mobo needs without knowing what it is capable of. You never said any specifics and I assume your sig is not the one.
    These should be applicable choices

    Which you can find using this page.
    http://www.siliconimage.com/support/
    My OS has all these in it's driver folder.
    SI3112.sys
    SI3112r.sys
    SI3114.sys
    SI3114r.sys
    Si3114r5.sys
    SI3124.sys
    Si3124r5.sys
    SI3132.sys
    Si3132r5.sys (r = raid)
    I have 4 sata300 ports on a pci-x 1.0 mobo and would assume the 3124's are what I'm using.
    This is the motherboard: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813138303

    Like I said though, I'm going to just try installing from a USB.
    PSU: Corsair 650W T2 V2
    GPU: EVGA GTX 560 Ti SC (1GB)
    CPU: i5 2500K
    RAM: 8GB (4x2) G.Skill Ripjaws 1600
    Storage: SanDisk Extreme 240GB SSD - OCZ Vertex 3 120GB - WD Caviar Blue 500GB 7200 RPM
    Mobo: Gigabyte Z68

    Steam - iaacp

  16. #16
    Member iaacp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Glendora CA
    Posts
    1,052
    Quote Originally Posted by MKOIS View Post
    Cool, I'll try that. I have both a burned dvd (legal copy) and the iso on this computer. I'll be back in a bit to let you know how it turned out.
    PSU: Corsair 650W T2 V2
    GPU: EVGA GTX 560 Ti SC (1GB)
    CPU: i5 2500K
    RAM: 8GB (4x2) G.Skill Ripjaws 1600
    Storage: SanDisk Extreme 240GB SSD - OCZ Vertex 3 120GB - WD Caviar Blue 500GB 7200 RPM
    Mobo: Gigabyte Z68

    Steam - iaacp

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    ILLINOIS
    Posts
    105
    Awesome ,good luck dude!

  18. #18
    Member SteveLord's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    5,217
    I've had this before and only way I got around it was doing it via USB....if I remember. It's a more common problem than people think, but YMMV on a solution unfortunately.
    "There are two kinds of pain. The sort of pain that makes you strong,
    or useless pain. The sort of pain that's only suffering. I have no
    patience for useless things."

    __________________

  19. #19
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    ILLINOIS
    Posts
    105
    Something similar like this happened to me about 4-5 days ago. Windows install was mad because hdd wasnt set as default boot

    even tho it was set as second boot device (not exactly same issue he has) but just another wierd Microsoft problem

  20. #20
    Senior Member Know Nuttin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    7,898
    I've only ever gotten this error when I tried to do a vlite on the installation files. Otherwise, USB or DVD has always worked.
    AMD Phenom II X4 965BE, Asus M5A88-V Evo, 8GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3-1600 , Coolermaster Hyper212+, OCZ Vertex Plus 60GB, Seagate 7200.11 500GB, Antec EA-380
    Lenovo X200, P8400 C2D, 8GB, 120GB OCZ Vertex 3.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •