Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    5

    Overclocking a dell laptop?

    Hey all,
    I would like to know if there is a way to overclock a locked-BIOS laptop such as a dell inspirion 1564. I have tried ATI tray tools, rivatuner, gpu clock and msi afterburner all to no avail, when I open such a program the clocks are either already shown to be maxed or some message or the other pops up saying that the clock speed is unadjustable.
    I have an extra cooling pad under the laptop at all times while gaming so heat is less of an issue (it's still a dangerous I know). I have a mobility 4330 gpu in the laptop and I'm using windows 7 64 if that matters.
    thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Researches Meritless
    LIES for the Front
    Page and Super Mutterator

    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Stuck in Maryland...
    Posts
    45,545
    setFSB would be the first place I would look for overclocking the CPU. But oyu need to find the PLL for your board in order for it to work.

    As you know, its not a good idea to overclock a laptop, but at least you have an extra cooler in there.

    Wait are you only looking ot overclock the video card? Not sure about that one.

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    5
    yea should've been more clear about that sry, I mean to only overclock my gpu

  4. #4
    juane414's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    1,652
    Have you downloaded a new video driver?

    I wrote up a guide for overclocking laptop GPUs a while ago. I haven't updated it for Windows 7 but there shouldn't be much of a difference. Try following my guide and see how far it gets you. That's what I used on my Dell XPS and it worked just fine.
    http://www.overclockers.com/forums/s...d.php?t=601209

    CPU AMD FX-8320 @ 4.2GHz/240x17.5/1.4v
    Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3
    RAM 16GB (2x8GB) G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 1600 @ 800MHz
    GPU Asus Radeon HD 6850
    SSD Kingston HyperX 3K 120GB
    PSU NZXT Hale82 750W
    Cooler Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus
    Case Cooler Master RC-690 II Advanced
    Folding User Stats

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    186
    I was able to overclock the HD4330 on an HP. You do need modified drivers to do that by my understanding. I forget the site I went to, but the HD4330, once overclocked, can actually handle BFBC2 on low settings slightly better (higher FPS) then SLI 8800GTs on high settings.

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    9
    I managed to overclock my Mobility Radeon 3650 from:
    Engine Clock: 600MHz - 735MHz OC
    Memory Clock: 500MHz - 615MHz OC

    I am currently uploading a videoguide on how to overclock a Mobility Radeon I will post it here as soon as it's uploaded!

  7. #7
    juane414's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    1,652
    Quote Originally Posted by juane414 View Post
    Have you downloaded a new video driver?

    I wrote up a guide for overclocking laptop GPUs a while ago. I haven't updated it for Windows 7 but there shouldn't be much of a difference. Try following my guide and see how far it gets you. That's what I used on my Dell XPS and it worked just fine.
    http://www.overclockers.com/forums/s...d.php?t=601209
    This is where I get my video drivers from:
    http://www.laptopvideo2go.com/drivers

    CPU AMD FX-8320 @ 4.2GHz/240x17.5/1.4v
    Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3
    RAM 16GB (2x8GB) G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 1600 @ 800MHz
    GPU Asus Radeon HD 6850
    SSD Kingston HyperX 3K 120GB
    PSU NZXT Hale82 750W
    Cooler Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus
    Case Cooler Master RC-690 II Advanced
    Folding User Stats

  8. #8
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    9
    Videoguide on how to overclock a Mobility Radeon Card is uploaded now! Here you go

  9. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    5
    thanks grubbluck will try and post results soon

    Edit: so I tried it and it works great no overheating (just 1 degree!) with an increase of 200 MHz in the clock speed and about 150 in the memory (that's all it would let me go ). Just one gripe: I have now hit the artifact wall it seems and can no longer continue OC'ing while stable. Can I adjust the voltage of the card to overcome this or is that just overkill? and if I can how may I do that exactly? rivatuner does not allow me to temper with the voltages. thanks a bunch guys for the help
    Last edited by Kasrawy; 05-17-11 at 10:31 AM.

  10. #10
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    9
    That sounds really good, glad I could help you.

    Volt mod might be possible, haven't thought of it.
    But I don't think you will get so much better performance either way, but why not try... it's fun

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •