Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    58

    Internal HDD I/O device error.

    Hi I have a Western Digital Caviar Black WD1002FAEX internal hard drive. I have had it for about six months and it ran with no issues, I use a SSD for my windows installation with everything else being installed to this drive. Recently I have been receiving "error: the request could not be performed because of an I/O device error." I ran a diagnostic tool provided from WD and it fixed some bad sectors but I am still having problems. If I run a game or watch a movie off the drive my computer will freeze and I receive "Windows explorer has stopped working." I can copy files to and from the drive with no issue but if I try to read and write at the same time I get the I/O error message. What can I do? Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    31,342
    Run HDTune (Download link), screenshot the Health tab and post it here.

    Backup your data immediately, as well. If you can't back up the system now, shut it down until you can.
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    58
    Quote Originally Posted by thideras View Post
    Run HDTune (Download link), screenshot the Health tab and post it here.

    Backup your data immediately, as well. If you can't back up the system now, shut it down until you can.
    It gives almost no information.

    Name:  rsz_2011-05-18_13-22-56_878.jpg
Views: 4773
Size:  308.4 KB

  4. #4
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    31,342
    That is odd. Is this drive plugged directly into the motherboard via a SATA cable?

    I would also try the WD tools, which should be available for download on their website. This will let you run a quick test on the drive to see if it has problems.
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    58
    Quote Originally Posted by thideras View Post
    That is odd. Is this drive plugged directly into the motherboard via a SATA cable?

    I would also try the WD tools, which should be available for download on their website. This will let you run a quick test on the drive to see if it has problems.
    Its plugged in via a Rosewill Sata3 cable, I ran the diagnostic tool off WD website and it said it repaired bad sectors but its still having issues.

  6. #6
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    31,342
    Is it making any odd noises? If so, RMA. If it isn't, use a different cable on a different port or try it in another computer.

    If that still fails, back up the data and RMA the drive.
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  7. #7
    High Speed Senior deathman20's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Where the Cheese Heads Live
    Posts
    14,978
    That is really strange.

    Defiantly back up the drive ASAP or if you can't avoid powering it up til you can get a drive to copy the data off.
    Then RMA the drive, they might be able to cross ship drives if necessary (deposit has to be put down).
    -=The Gamer=-
    MSI Z68A-GD65 (G3) | i5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz | 1.3875V | 28C Idle / 65C Load (LinX)
    8Gig G.Skill Ripjaw PC3-12800 9-9-9-24 @ 1600Mhz w/ 1.5V | TR Ultra eXtreme 120 w/ 2 Fans
    Asus DCUII R9 290 1075/1300 w/ 1.05V GPU | 36C Idle / 75C Load | 128/256GB Crucial M4 SSD's / 512GB Samsung 840 Pro
    BitFenix Shinobi Window Case | SilverStone DA750 | Dell 2405FPW 24" Screen
    -=The Server=-
    Synology DS1511+ | Dual Core 1.8Ghz CPU | 30C Idle / 38C Load
    3 Gig PC2-6400 | 4x Samsung F4 2TB Raid5 | 1x Samsung F4 2TB
    Heat

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    58
    Quote Originally Posted by thideras View Post
    Is it making any odd noises? If so, RMA. If it isn't, use a different cable on a different port or try it in another computer.

    If that still fails, back up the data and RMA the drive.
    It is making no noise. I just switched Sata cables and ports, now my computer isn't associating any of my programs to the drive because it was drive D now it is drive G. I went into Disk Management and it won't let me change the drive name to D, is there a way to change every file to now use G? Other than that the issue with the I/O error is completely gone and the drive is moving much much faster.

    Name:  HDTune_Health_WDC_WD1002FAEX-00Z3A0.png
Views: 4736
Size:  65.5 KB
    Last edited by mets111; 05-18-11 at 11:01 PM.

  9. #9
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    31,342
    Reassign the drive letter in disk management.
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    58
    Quote Originally Posted by thideras View Post
    Reassign the drive letter in disk management.
    It will not let me i can choose every letter except C D or E.

  11. #11
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    31,342
    Is something using it already? It sounds like another drive (DVD?) got switched to it. You will have to unassign it from the existing device and assign it back to the original.
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  12. #12
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    58
    Quote Originally Posted by thideras View Post
    Is something using it already? It sounds like another drive (DVD?) got switched to it. You will have to unassign it from the existing device and assign it back to the original.
    Ahhh, GENIUS! Thank You Sooo Much all is well!

  13. #13
    High Speed Senior deathman20's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Where the Cheese Heads Live
    Posts
    14,978
    Glad its working again.
    -=The Gamer=-
    MSI Z68A-GD65 (G3) | i5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz | 1.3875V | 28C Idle / 65C Load (LinX)
    8Gig G.Skill Ripjaw PC3-12800 9-9-9-24 @ 1600Mhz w/ 1.5V | TR Ultra eXtreme 120 w/ 2 Fans
    Asus DCUII R9 290 1075/1300 w/ 1.05V GPU | 36C Idle / 75C Load | 128/256GB Crucial M4 SSD's / 512GB Samsung 840 Pro
    BitFenix Shinobi Window Case | SilverStone DA750 | Dell 2405FPW 24" Screen
    -=The Server=-
    Synology DS1511+ | Dual Core 1.8Ghz CPU | 30C Idle / 38C Load
    3 Gig PC2-6400 | 4x Samsung F4 2TB Raid5 | 1x Samsung F4 2TB
    Heat

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •