Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2011

    Internal HDD I/O device error.

    Hi I have a Western Digital Caviar Black WD1002FAEX internal hard drive. I have had it for about six months and it ran with no issues, I use a SSD for my windows installation with everything else being installed to this drive. Recently I have been receiving "error: the request could not be performed because of an I/O device error." I ran a diagnostic tool provided from WD and it fixed some bad sectors but I am still having problems. If I run a game or watch a movie off the drive my computer will freeze and I receive "Windows explorer has stopped working." I can copy files to and from the drive with no issue but if I try to read and write at the same time I get the I/O error message. What can I do? Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Run HDTune (Download link), screenshot the Health tab and post it here.

    Backup your data immediately, as well. If you can't back up the system now, shut it down until you can.
    Desktop: AsRock X99 WS | 5820k | 32 GB G.Skill | GTX 1080 | Intel 750 NVME 400GB & 1 TB Samsung Evo | Windows 3.1 | 6x 2560x1440 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 256 GB Samsung Pro | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | ESXi
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 256 GB Samsung Pro | ESXi
    Router: Biostar A68N-5000 | Silverstone ITX case | 15w pull | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New) | Desktop Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Quote Originally Posted by thideras View Post
    Run HDTune (Download link), screenshot the Health tab and post it here.

    Backup your data immediately, as well. If you can't back up the system now, shut it down until you can.
    It gives almost no information.

    Name:  rsz_2011-05-18_13-22-56_878.jpg
Views: 7751
Size:  308.4 KB

  4. #4
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    That is odd. Is this drive plugged directly into the motherboard via a SATA cable?

    I would also try the WD tools, which should be available for download on their website. This will let you run a quick test on the drive to see if it has problems.
    Desktop: AsRock X99 WS | 5820k | 32 GB G.Skill | GTX 1080 | Intel 750 NVME 400GB & 1 TB Samsung Evo | Windows 3.1 | 6x 2560x1440 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 256 GB Samsung Pro | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | ESXi
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 256 GB Samsung Pro | ESXi
    Router: Biostar A68N-5000 | Silverstone ITX case | 15w pull | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New) | Desktop Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Quote Originally Posted by thideras View Post
    That is odd. Is this drive plugged directly into the motherboard via a SATA cable?

    I would also try the WD tools, which should be available for download on their website. This will let you run a quick test on the drive to see if it has problems.
    Its plugged in via a Rosewill Sata3 cable, I ran the diagnostic tool off WD website and it said it repaired bad sectors but its still having issues.

  6. #6
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Is it making any odd noises? If so, RMA. If it isn't, use a different cable on a different port or try it in another computer.

    If that still fails, back up the data and RMA the drive.
    Desktop: AsRock X99 WS | 5820k | 32 GB G.Skill | GTX 1080 | Intel 750 NVME 400GB & 1 TB Samsung Evo | Windows 3.1 | 6x 2560x1440 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 256 GB Samsung Pro | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | ESXi
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 256 GB Samsung Pro | ESXi
    Router: Biostar A68N-5000 | Silverstone ITX case | 15w pull | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New) | Desktop Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  7. #7
    High Speed Senior deathman20's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Where the Cheese Heads Live
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    That is really strange.

    Defiantly back up the drive ASAP or if you can't avoid powering it up til you can get a drive to copy the data off.
    Then RMA the drive, they might be able to cross ship drives if necessary (deposit has to be put down).
    -=The Gamer=-
    ASRock Extreme6 | i7 6700k @ 4.5Ghz @ 1.25V | TR Ultra eXtreme 120 w/ 2 Fans / 22C Idle / 51C Load | 16GB G.Skill Ripjaw DDR4-3000 CL14 @ 3200Mhz CL14 w/ 1.35V
    Asus DCUII R9 290 1075/1300 w/ 1.05V GPU | 840Pro 512GB / 850EVO 1TB | EVGA SuperNova 750 G2 | BitFenix Shinobi Window Case | Samsung UD590 28" 4k
    -=Old Timer / Fun Machine=-
    MSI Z68A-GD65 (G3) | i5 2500k @ 3.5Ghz @ 1.25V | Stock Cooler / 32C Idle / 60C Load | 8Gig G.Skill Ripjaw DDR3-1600 CL9 @ 1600Mhz w/ 1.5V
    Intel HD 3000 | 850EVO 250GB / Crucial M3 128GB | SilverStone DA750 | SilverStone | Dell 2405FPW
    -=The Server=-
    Synology DS1511+ | Dual Core 1.8Ghz CPU | 30C Idle / 38C Load | 3GB PC2-6400 | 4x Samsung F4 2TB Raid5 | 1x Samsung F4 2TB Backup
    Heat

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Quote Originally Posted by thideras View Post
    Is it making any odd noises? If so, RMA. If it isn't, use a different cable on a different port or try it in another computer.

    If that still fails, back up the data and RMA the drive.
    It is making no noise. I just switched Sata cables and ports, now my computer isn't associating any of my programs to the drive because it was drive D now it is drive G. I went into Disk Management and it won't let me change the drive name to D, is there a way to change every file to now use G? Other than that the issue with the I/O error is completely gone and the drive is moving much much faster.

    Name:  HDTune_Health_WDC_WD1002FAEX-00Z3A0.png
Views: 7699
Size:  65.5 KB
    Last edited by mets111; 05-19-11 at 12:01 AM.

  9. #9
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Reassign the drive letter in disk management.
    Desktop: AsRock X99 WS | 5820k | 32 GB G.Skill | GTX 1080 | Intel 750 NVME 400GB & 1 TB Samsung Evo | Windows 3.1 | 6x 2560x1440 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 256 GB Samsung Pro | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | ESXi
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 256 GB Samsung Pro | ESXi
    Router: Biostar A68N-5000 | Silverstone ITX case | 15w pull | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New) | Desktop Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Quote Originally Posted by thideras View Post
    Reassign the drive letter in disk management.
    It will not let me i can choose every letter except C D or E.

  11. #11
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Is something using it already? It sounds like another drive (DVD?) got switched to it. You will have to unassign it from the existing device and assign it back to the original.
    Desktop: AsRock X99 WS | 5820k | 32 GB G.Skill | GTX 1080 | Intel 750 NVME 400GB & 1 TB Samsung Evo | Windows 3.1 | 6x 2560x1440 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 256 GB Samsung Pro | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | ESXi
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 256 GB Samsung Pro | ESXi
    Router: Biostar A68N-5000 | Silverstone ITX case | 15w pull | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New) | Desktop Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  12. #12
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Quote Originally Posted by thideras View Post
    Is something using it already? It sounds like another drive (DVD?) got switched to it. You will have to unassign it from the existing device and assign it back to the original.
    Ahhh, GENIUS! Thank You Sooo Much all is well!

  13. #13
    High Speed Senior deathman20's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Where the Cheese Heads Live
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Glad its working again.
    -=The Gamer=-
    ASRock Extreme6 | i7 6700k @ 4.5Ghz @ 1.25V | TR Ultra eXtreme 120 w/ 2 Fans / 22C Idle / 51C Load | 16GB G.Skill Ripjaw DDR4-3000 CL14 @ 3200Mhz CL14 w/ 1.35V
    Asus DCUII R9 290 1075/1300 w/ 1.05V GPU | 840Pro 512GB / 850EVO 1TB | EVGA SuperNova 750 G2 | BitFenix Shinobi Window Case | Samsung UD590 28" 4k
    -=Old Timer / Fun Machine=-
    MSI Z68A-GD65 (G3) | i5 2500k @ 3.5Ghz @ 1.25V | Stock Cooler / 32C Idle / 60C Load | 8Gig G.Skill Ripjaw DDR3-1600 CL9 @ 1600Mhz w/ 1.5V
    Intel HD 3000 | 850EVO 250GB / Crucial M3 128GB | SilverStone DA750 | SilverStone | Dell 2405FPW
    -=The Server=-
    Synology DS1511+ | Dual Core 1.8Ghz CPU | 30C Idle / 38C Load | 3GB PC2-6400 | 4x Samsung F4 2TB Raid5 | 1x Samsung F4 2TB Backup
    Heat

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •