Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2011

    Do you guys use "Let 3D application decide" on the Nvidia control panel?

    I'm assuming that by letting the actual game make the changes, the game will look exactly like how the developers wanted it to look without taxing the performance more than it should.... does forcing AA/AF or high textures in the Nvidia control panel really make the game look any better than the "in-game" options? Will the performance hit be worth the actual graphical improvements?

    For example, in Witcher 2... I'm playing everything on high and it is SO much smoother with having "let 3D app decide" enabled.... and there was no noticeable graphical downgrade at all.

  2. #2
    Vacationing to find my sanity Mutterator
    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Stuck in Maryland...
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    I usually have it on app decide, and occasionally enhance the application.

  3. #3
    Member Marshmallow64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    California
    I have it on app decide as well, it just means you choose the settings in the game or application instead of having the exact same settings or forcing 4AA and such on games without those options.
    :: Gaming Desktop ::
    CPU: AMD Phenom II X6 1055T @ 3.9 Ghz 1.4v | MOBO: MSI 790FX-GD70 AM3
    GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 570 (732/1464/1900) | RAM: 4 GB G-Skill DDR3 1600
    SSD: OCZ Vertex 120 GB | HD1: WD Black 640 GB | HD2: WD Black 2 TB
    SC: Xfi Titanium Fatal1ty | PSU: Corsair HX 620 W
    KB: Saitek Eclipse | MOUSE: Logitech MX 518
    CASE: Antec 1200 | OS: Windows 7 x64
    :: Laptop ::
    MOD: Macbook Pro 13 2011 | CPU: Intel Core i5 @ 2.3 Ghz
    RAM: 4 GB DDR3 1333 | OS: OS X Lion 10.7.2

  4. #4
    Member RADIO_ACTIVE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    I have it on let the app decide as well. I will never force unless it I need to force it, if the app isn't working correctly or the option is unavailible in-game.
    CPU: i7 960 @ 3.8ghz
    MOBO: EVGA x58 SLI
    RAM: gSkill - 6gigs DDR3 1600
    GPU: GALAXY 2x GTX 480 SLI @ 780/1560/2012
    SSD: OCZ Vertex 2 120gig
    PSU: Kingwin 1000w
    CHASIS: Antec 900 two

  5. #5
    Senior Headphone Guru
    TollhouseFrank's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    T3h Intr@tub3z!
    almost always on App Decide, though I have run into games that require you to set it manually because Steam messes up the settings and the game runs WORSE when set to auto, like Dragon Age Origins.

  6. #6
    Member Zantal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Italy, Rome
    i always force AF filtering to 16x vsync and triple buffering. then i set overall quality to high.

    with some games these options may cause graphical glitches or simply do not work.
    some games though do not give you such options or are disabled because there are implementation of these filters that work with other rendering techniques.
    PSU: Enermax Revolution 1250W
    CPU: Intel i7 920 O.C 4.00 Ghz on air 211 X 19
    GRAPHICS: 2X GTX480 @ 900 - 1800 - 2000 on Water
    HAIRDRYER:2X GTX480 =)
    MOTHERBOARD: asus p6t deluxe
    MEMORY: 6gb ddr3 triple channel corsair @ 1700 MHz
    STORAGE: 3 X 300GB Maxtor in raid 0
    Vantage score @ P32257

  7. #7
    Registered Remorse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    UK
    Let the 3D application decide, never really adjust from Nvidia control panel apart from the odd occasion anyway, though I force my VSync off.
    Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-X58-USB3
    Cooler: Akasa Nero AK-967
    CPU: Core i7 930 @ 2.8GHz Stock
    RAM: 6GB Corsair XMS3 1600MHz 9-9-9-24-2T 1.64v
    Graphics Card: EVGA Nvidia GeForce GTX 460 SE 1024MB @ 910MHz
    SSD: Corsair Nova 60GB
    HDDs: 2x Samsung 1TB
    Power Supply: EzCool Ambiance 800W
    OS: Windows 7 Ultimate (64-bit)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •