Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011

    Exclamation 3DMark BenchMark major problem HD5870

    Hey guys, i'm in desperate need of help. I recently built a rig as a much needed upgrade (this isn't the first pc i have built). My specs are:

    Crosshair IV Formula mobo
    1100T Thuban AMD processor
    Sapphire Radeon HD5870 graphics card
    4gb ripjaw ram 1600mhz
    60gb vertex 2 ssd
    700w psu
    Viewsonic 28inch monitor with 1900x1200 res.


    So the problem is that i found that when i played ANY games, i would have a slight lag, enough to annoy me, and on black ops it was terrible. This just doesn't happen on the built that i have right? So i decided to get a benchmark so i know whats going on etc. My graphics score came to a shocking score of 1384, my physics score came to a very average 4947, my total score being 1746.

    This just isn't right, my computer should be getting well over 10,000, shouldn't it? I have ALL of my drivers up to date, i even bought a program that checks and installs any that i don't have. Please can someone give me a heads up as to what i've done, could it be an error with connections or something? Thanks guys.

  2. #2
    5up3r m0d3r4t0r
    Overclockers.com Editor

    MattNo5ss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    AL
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    to OCForums!

    What 3DMark software did you run, and at what settings?
    i7 4770K | ASRock Z87M OC Formula | 2x8GB Crucial Ballistix DDR3-1600 8-8-8-24 1.35v | EVGA GTX780 SC ACX | ASUS Xonar Essence STX | 256GB OCZ Vertex 4 | SeaSonic X750
    Pentium G3258 | ASUS Z87I-Deluxe | 2x8GB Crucial Ballistix DDR3-1600 8-8-8-24 1.35v | 5x2TB RAIDZ | Corsair CX430

    My Overclockers.com Articles | HWBot Profile | Heatware (101-0-0)

    Projects: Copper-Framed, MDF Station | PVC-Framed, MDF Station | Custom Cascade Cart/Case | Untitled TJ07 Build


  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Hey, thanks for the quick reply, i ran 3DMark 11, ( i am very inexperienced with this software ), and ran on extreme settings, it says X1535 as my score, is that honestly what i should be getting? thanks

  4. #4
    5up3r m0d3r4t0r
    Overclockers.com Editor

    MattNo5ss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    AL
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Run the Performance setting, that's the standard for 3DMark software. It will make it easier to compare.
    i7 4770K | ASRock Z87M OC Formula | 2x8GB Crucial Ballistix DDR3-1600 8-8-8-24 1.35v | EVGA GTX780 SC ACX | ASUS Xonar Essence STX | 256GB OCZ Vertex 4 | SeaSonic X750
    Pentium G3258 | ASUS Z87I-Deluxe | 2x8GB Crucial Ballistix DDR3-1600 8-8-8-24 1.35v | 5x2TB RAIDZ | Corsair CX430

    My Overclockers.com Articles | HWBot Profile | Heatware (101-0-0)

    Projects: Copper-Framed, MDF Station | PVC-Framed, MDF Station | Custom Cascade Cart/Case | Untitled TJ07 Build


  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Ok so i ran the performance test which only tests at 1280x720, and i got P4309, my graphics card got 4205, but shouldnt i be getting a better result than this anyway?

  6. #6
    5up3r m0d3r4t0r
    Overclockers.com Editor

    MattNo5ss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    AL
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    By comparing on 3DMark's website, it looks like you are right where you should be for a 1100T/HD5870 system.

    Name:  Capture.JPG
Views: 80
Size:  26.9 KB
    i7 4770K | ASRock Z87M OC Formula | 2x8GB Crucial Ballistix DDR3-1600 8-8-8-24 1.35v | EVGA GTX780 SC ACX | ASUS Xonar Essence STX | 256GB OCZ Vertex 4 | SeaSonic X750
    Pentium G3258 | ASUS Z87I-Deluxe | 2x8GB Crucial Ballistix DDR3-1600 8-8-8-24 1.35v | 5x2TB RAIDZ | Corsair CX430

    My Overclockers.com Articles | HWBot Profile | Heatware (101-0-0)

    Projects: Copper-Framed, MDF Station | PVC-Framed, MDF Station | Custom Cascade Cart/Case | Untitled TJ07 Build


  7. #7
    Vacationing to find my sanity Mutterator
    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Stuck in Maryland...
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Compare your results with others at the orb with similar systems...

    But that looks about right.

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

  8. #8
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    But my mate has a gtx275 and it performs better than mine, not with comparison on a benchmark, but in terms of lag. He can play crysis maxed out with mods and he doesnt lag, whereas i get lag if i try and use mods. In honesty then, is the graphics card i bought ? What do you think i need to upgrade so that i can play games without lag on maxed settings. I'm not a fanatic about fps, but i don't like to see lag when i've spent a fair amount of cash on my system ae. thanks

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Author Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by MattSharp View Post
    But my mate has a gtx275 and it performs better than mine, not with comparison on a benchmark, but in terms of lag. He can play crysis maxed out with mods and he doesnt lag, whereas i get lag if i try and use mods. In honesty then, is the graphics card i bought ? What do you think i need to upgrade so that i can play games without lag on maxed settings. I'm not a fanatic about fps, but i don't like to see lag when i've spent a fair amount of cash on my system ae. thanks
    Do you have a second graphics card (physx) on your system? Did you install the latest drivers? Did you mess around with the oc settings? How high does the temp go when you play games. Did you play around with the AA settings in CCC. I played around with it and made it 16x filtering and 8x AA highest quality and I noticed lag on nba 2k11 with my 6970.

  10. #10
    d20 in a jacket

    ChanceCoats123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Illinois
    Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Since Crysis is one of the games that detects your graphics settings and then sets the performance settings, I bet that your settings are just too high. Try running at your resolution and set the lowest in-game graphics settings. If those play smoothly, raise the settings one level at a time until you can't play smoothly anymore. Then drop to the last level that worked.
    Ed - "Aight it's pulling down... Thing is really tuned for LN2 though."
    This is the team you are looking for...
    I accept Bitcoins!

  11. #11
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Toronto
    Can you just run fraps and see what FPS you are getting in game?
    Case: Haf 932
    MB : Asus P6T
    CPU I7 920 D0 2.66 @ 3.5Ghz (21x167) at 1.2v
    Cooling: Noctua Nh d14
    RAM: Corsair Dominator 1600 6GB
    GPU: 2x XFX 5770's
    PSU: Corsair Hx1000w
    SSD: 1 64 Gb G.Skill Falcon (OS/Programs)
    HDD: 2x 500gb WD Black Raid0 (Games/Storage). 2 TB WD Green (Storage)
    OS: Win 7 ultimate

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •