Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Long Island, NY

    Question Samsung TV (no picture, but sound)

    Came home, turned on tv, watched it for about ten minutes until the picture vanished, but I could still hear the sound.

    Checked connections, wasn't it.
    Tried other outlets, wasn't it.

    I can faintly see something moving in the background despite the picture being pitch black.

    I'm assuming something is royally ed up.


    Has anyone experienced this before?

    I'm a graduate student paying off student loans, so, am I completely screwed now that my 40" TV doesn't work?

  2. #2
    Buried The Hatchet
    Lived to Tell the Tale
    Theocnoob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Canada- We only have 1 road.
    Sounds like the backlight is kerput if you can still see an image.
    Did you call tech support? Samsung TVs seem to die after not too long due to capacitors going on them. Usually just change the caps and theyre good for years.
    Look up to see the ridiculous stuff I say. Look down to see my PC's

    500R*2600K@4.7*MaxiumusIVExtreme*Intel510 120GB*WDVelociraptor 150GB*8GB1600*GTX980*HX850*Win7-Gamer
    PS08*5150@stock*AM1B-ITX*Force LS 120GB*WD 250GB*4GB1600*TPLink Wifi PCIE*CX500*Win8.1-Mom's PC
    P100*G3258@4.4*Z97 Anniversary*WD Blue 1TB*TPLink Wifi PCIE*4GB1600*500B*Win8.1-HTPC
    HP A4-5000 based touchscreen 15.6" notebook-Travel PC
    iPad 2- Mom's tablet
    ASUS netbook - worthless paperweight

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    I unplugged the TV for five hours today, as I heard this can sometimes help. I came home ~8 hours later, plugged in the TV. It ran smooth for about ~4 hours, but now it's blacking out again.


  4. #4
    Buried The Hatchet
    Lived to Tell the Tale
    Theocnoob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Canada- We only have 1 road.
    What you need to find out then is why it helps? If it's a known issue people must know the culprit. I'm sure something needs replacing in there but knowing what would reduce your cost. I guess you're out of warranty at this point? If you're still under mfg warranty that'd be covered. They usually have service centers for Panasonic/Sony/Samsung etc in major cities. You can probably drive it to one.
    Look up to see the ridiculous stuff I say. Look down to see my PC's

    500R*2600K@4.7*MaxiumusIVExtreme*Intel510 120GB*WDVelociraptor 150GB*8GB1600*GTX980*HX850*Win7-Gamer
    PS08*5150@stock*AM1B-ITX*Force LS 120GB*WD 250GB*4GB1600*TPLink Wifi PCIE*CX500*Win8.1-Mom's PC
    P100*G3258@4.4*Z97 Anniversary*WD Blue 1TB*TPLink Wifi PCIE*4GB1600*500B*Win8.1-HTPC
    HP A4-5000 based touchscreen 15.6" notebook-Travel PC
    iPad 2- Mom's tablet
    ASUS netbook - worthless paperweight

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    I actually work for Best Buy and I do have it under warranty for replacement/repair. However, the turn around time is ~2 weeks currently and I was trying to look for a solution that I might be able to accomplish myself.

    Thanks for all the advice.

  6. #6
    Member Randyman...'s Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Houston, TX
    This sounds like it might be a different issue, but Samsungs have a well-known issue with 3-5 caps in the PSU section (these caps "bulge" and effectively quit working). The symptoms for this are generally that the TV takes longer and longer to TURN ON, and eventually won't turn on at all (repeated clicking, but the unit never actually powers on). This happened to me personally and to a buddy at work - replacing the 3-5 caps in the PSU did the trick (mine has been going strong for well over 18 months after the fix).

    Your issue sounds a bit different, though. Does your TV take a while to turn on accompanied with repeated clicks before coming to life? Seems like your issue is isolated to the backlight itself or the backlight driver circuitry, but the PSU is certainly a possible culprit, too.

    Randy V - Audio-Dude/Musician/PC Guru/Crazy Guy

    PC#1 (Main Rig) : Lian Li PC-V1010 / P8Z68-V-GEN3 / 3750K @ 4.5GHz + Ven-X / 16GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 / HD5770 "XXX" 1GB / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / (6x) 2TB 5K3000 on Areca ARC1222 in RAID-6 / Seasonic X660 PSU / 2407WFP-HC / RME "Multiface" 38 Ch. Audio I/O / Dynaudio AIR-15 + AIR-BASE-2 Studio Monitors
    PC#2 (Realtime DAW) : Lian-Li PC-K65B / Sabertooth X79 / i7-3820 @ 4.8GHz + TRUE / 8GB RipJaws DDR3-2133 / HD6570 / 120GB Intel 520 / 4x 1TB on Areca ARC-1210 in RAID-5 / RME "HDSPe MADI" 128 Channel Audio I/O / 2x SSL AlphaLink MADI AX / 48 Mic Inputs + Fully-discrete Mic Preamps + 4260Watt PA System with 5x 18" JBL Subs :-)
    NAS#1: NSC-800 ITX Case / Asus P8H61-ITX / i3-2120 / (8x) 1TB 7200.12's in RAID-6 on Areca ARC-1220 Card
    NAS#2: 12TB ReadyNAS Ultra-4+ / (4x) 3TB 5K3000's
    And 7 other i7/i5/C2D/C2Q PC's

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    The TV is nearing ~3 years old.

    The TV is usually on ~18 hours a day. My dog gets really upset if she doesn't have some background noise.

    The TV powers on just fine, but after a while, the picture fill fade to black, and I can only hear sound. Unplugging the TV, letting it sit there for ~15 minutes, and replugging it in usually fixes it for roughly ~6 hours.

    I can only assume it's getting old since it runs so much.

  8. #8
    Now 6GHz or Bust!
    4GHZ_or_bust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    18 hours a day for 3 years is quite a lot, especially if cheap parts were used in the manufacture of your TV. It does sound like bad cap or possibly bad solder join if it works while cooled down but fails after its warmed up.

    Unless you're good with basic electronics repair and can identify and replace bad caps, you're better off letting Best Buy deal with it.
    space for rent

  9. #9
    Member
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    USA (Springfield, Vermont)
    Bad caps in LCD screen units are not just a Samsung thing.

    It appears to be common with LCDs, especially ones made in 2006.

    I would go here:

    http://www.badcaps.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=30
    Asus Maximus II Gene- Core 2 Quad Q6600 SLACR @ 3.3 Ghz (367x9.0)

    Where I come from "Z97" is a radio station
    -ICH10R
    - eVGA GeForce GT 640-Antec VP-450


    " holy cow!! you find a rat in there too!?!?!? " -turbohans
    "Reinstall winders." -jivetrky
    "I think I am going to need another coke before I start this up." -cadman420
    "Soon Windows will be 50 gb! lololol" -Tokae
    "NOT FOR SALE IN CALIFORNIA."

  10. #10
    Member Randyman...'s Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Wow - An entire forum dedicated to Bad Caps! I'm just glad I figured this out myself before I paid some dude $200 to fix it (plus a few weeks of turn-around time!) . $8 in caps from my local Fry's (105*C caps) and 2 hours did the trick for me. Mine is also close to 3 years old and is on for a good ~10 hours a day - and the cap fix is still holding up after 18 months (my initial issue appeared after 18 months, 6 months after the warranty ran out ).

    Randy V - Audio-Dude/Musician/PC Guru/Crazy Guy

    PC#1 (Main Rig) : Lian Li PC-V1010 / P8Z68-V-GEN3 / 3750K @ 4.5GHz + Ven-X / 16GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 / HD5770 "XXX" 1GB / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / (6x) 2TB 5K3000 on Areca ARC1222 in RAID-6 / Seasonic X660 PSU / 2407WFP-HC / RME "Multiface" 38 Ch. Audio I/O / Dynaudio AIR-15 + AIR-BASE-2 Studio Monitors
    PC#2 (Realtime DAW) : Lian-Li PC-K65B / Sabertooth X79 / i7-3820 @ 4.8GHz + TRUE / 8GB RipJaws DDR3-2133 / HD6570 / 120GB Intel 520 / 4x 1TB on Areca ARC-1210 in RAID-5 / RME "HDSPe MADI" 128 Channel Audio I/O / 2x SSL AlphaLink MADI AX / 48 Mic Inputs + Fully-discrete Mic Preamps + 4260Watt PA System with 5x 18" JBL Subs :-)
    NAS#1: NSC-800 ITX Case / Asus P8H61-ITX / i3-2120 / (8x) 1TB 7200.12's in RAID-6 on Areca ARC-1220 Card
    NAS#2: 12TB ReadyNAS Ultra-4+ / (4x) 3TB 5K3000's
    And 7 other i7/i5/C2D/C2Q PC's

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •