Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 27

Thread: VID in a Dell?

  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2011

    VID in a Dell?

    I have a Dimension 9200 E6600 (2.4ghz) overclocked to 2.8. I would like to his 3.2. Temperature is not an issue. However, its startup and maximum voltage are 1.35v. I cannot find a way to read the current voltage. I've tried so many programs -_- Has anyone had any luck reading voltage on a Dell or in a locked bios whatsoever? Also, what kind of risk am I taking by overclocking blind to the voltage like this? Anything I can't recover from? Thanks.
    Last edited by RobMonty1987; 08-03-11 at 02:50 PM.

  2. #2
    Researches Meritless
    LIES for the Front
    Page and Super Mutterator

    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Stuck in Maryland...
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    DL a program called CPUz and that will tell you.

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

  3. #3
    Member jmdixon85's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Cumbria (UK)
    Why did you start another thread in the PSU section? Your original thread would have been fine.

    The program I linked to "CPU-Z" Should tell you the correct Vcore that your chip is currently running at.

    It may change very slighty according to system load, but it is impossible to increase the Vcore on your system due to the locked BIOS

    Just so you know:

    The VID is the voltage that the CPU manufacturer (Intel in your case) has set to ensure the CPU runs 100% stable at the stock speed.
    Main System/File Server/IP-Fire Router
    CPU: I2500K @ 4.7Ghz (H2o cooled)//AMD Athlon 215 x2/Celeron 1.1Ghz
    Mainboard: AsRock Z77 Extreme 4/Gigabyte 78LMT-USB3/Gigabyte GA-C847N
    RAM: 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz/12GB DDR3 1333Mhz//2GB DDR2
    Video: 2x nVidia GTX660 3GB sli/Radeon 3000//iGPU
    HDD: 256GB SSD (System)/WD VR 300GB(Games)/ 80GB HDD (TV Recordings)/WD VRaptor 160GB (Sytem), Maxtor 80GB (Sys Backup), 5x 1TB (RAID5 Data)/3TB (Backup) HighpointRR 3520 RAID Card/160GB
    PSU: Corsair TX-M 750W/Enermax 495W//FSP 300W
    Case: Coolermaster HAF932/CM Cosmos S/
    Audio: Toslink -> Pioneer VSX-820-K (Dolby TrueHD/DTS Master Audio)
    i7/i5/i3 Overclocking Guide/Intel Core2 overclocking guide/AMD AM2 overclocking Guide

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Sorry, haha. I was actually about to post in the original thread saying thanks and restating my question here because I felt the topic changed and just wanted to abide by the rules ><

    I have CPU-Z, but the core VID does not change from 1.35v. It reads that before I start, and after I reach 2.8 without change. So where can I read current voltage in CPU-Z? Thanks... I've never had to worry about voltage before.

  5. #5
    Member jmdixon85's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Cumbria (UK)
    No problem. This thread belongs in the CPU>Intel forum though...no biggy though. Thats what mods are for.

    As I have said in a system such as yours the Vcore isn't expected to change. It looks lie 2.8Ghz is you limit I'm afraid.
    Main System/File Server/IP-Fire Router
    CPU: I2500K @ 4.7Ghz (H2o cooled)//AMD Athlon 215 x2/Celeron 1.1Ghz
    Mainboard: AsRock Z77 Extreme 4/Gigabyte 78LMT-USB3/Gigabyte GA-C847N
    RAM: 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz/12GB DDR3 1333Mhz//2GB DDR2
    Video: 2x nVidia GTX660 3GB sli/Radeon 3000//iGPU
    HDD: 256GB SSD (System)/WD VR 300GB(Games)/ 80GB HDD (TV Recordings)/WD VRaptor 160GB (Sytem), Maxtor 80GB (Sys Backup), 5x 1TB (RAID5 Data)/3TB (Backup) HighpointRR 3520 RAID Card/160GB
    PSU: Corsair TX-M 750W/Enermax 495W//FSP 300W
    Case: Coolermaster HAF932/CM Cosmos S/
    Audio: Toslink -> Pioneer VSX-820-K (Dolby TrueHD/DTS Master Audio)
    i7/i5/i3 Overclocking Guide/Intel Core2 overclocking guide/AMD AM2 overclocking Guide

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Ok, well let me clarify about something. I haven't tried to go any higher than 2.8 yet. I ran P95 for 12 hours with no problems. I'm curious why you say I've hit my limit. I didn't mean to imply that I am having problems going past 2.8, but is there something you see specifically with my setup that would limit me to that speed? Also, what are the risks (and likelihood) of increasing the FSB further without knowing the voltage?

  7. #7
    Member jmdixon85's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Cumbria (UK)
    It was your first post in your original thread that made me think that. You said your research turned up that many users couldn't go over 2.8Ghz (or something similar) on the same system.

    Most risks when overclocking are from increasing the Vcore. Since you can't do that your system will simply freeze or fail to boot/post if you push it to far. There is virtually no chance that you could do any damage to the CPU.
    Main System/File Server/IP-Fire Router
    CPU: I2500K @ 4.7Ghz (H2o cooled)//AMD Athlon 215 x2/Celeron 1.1Ghz
    Mainboard: AsRock Z77 Extreme 4/Gigabyte 78LMT-USB3/Gigabyte GA-C847N
    RAM: 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz/12GB DDR3 1333Mhz//2GB DDR2
    Video: 2x nVidia GTX660 3GB sli/Radeon 3000//iGPU
    HDD: 256GB SSD (System)/WD VR 300GB(Games)/ 80GB HDD (TV Recordings)/WD VRaptor 160GB (Sytem), Maxtor 80GB (Sys Backup), 5x 1TB (RAID5 Data)/3TB (Backup) HighpointRR 3520 RAID Card/160GB
    PSU: Corsair TX-M 750W/Enermax 495W//FSP 300W
    Case: Coolermaster HAF932/CM Cosmos S/
    Audio: Toslink -> Pioneer VSX-820-K (Dolby TrueHD/DTS Master Audio)
    i7/i5/i3 Overclocking Guide/Intel Core2 overclocking guide/AMD AM2 overclocking Guide

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Crashing is the only thing I have to watch out for if my temps are ok? That is what I wanted to hear, cool. Well, dixon, you have been incredibly helpful. I guess I will now attempt 3.2, assuming my temps stay low. Any final recommendations?

  9. #9
    Member jmdixon85's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Cumbria (UK)
    Just keep an eye on those temps my friend. But at stock Vcore even that shouldn't be a worry.

    I would say try keep it under 60c at full load (prime95) 70c absolute tops! Good luck
    Main System/File Server/IP-Fire Router
    CPU: I2500K @ 4.7Ghz (H2o cooled)//AMD Athlon 215 x2/Celeron 1.1Ghz
    Mainboard: AsRock Z77 Extreme 4/Gigabyte 78LMT-USB3/Gigabyte GA-C847N
    RAM: 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz/12GB DDR3 1333Mhz//2GB DDR2
    Video: 2x nVidia GTX660 3GB sli/Radeon 3000//iGPU
    HDD: 256GB SSD (System)/WD VR 300GB(Games)/ 80GB HDD (TV Recordings)/WD VRaptor 160GB (Sytem), Maxtor 80GB (Sys Backup), 5x 1TB (RAID5 Data)/3TB (Backup) HighpointRR 3520 RAID Card/160GB
    PSU: Corsair TX-M 750W/Enermax 495W//FSP 300W
    Case: Coolermaster HAF932/CM Cosmos S/
    Audio: Toslink -> Pioneer VSX-820-K (Dolby TrueHD/DTS Master Audio)
    i7/i5/i3 Overclocking Guide/Intel Core2 overclocking guide/AMD AM2 overclocking Guide

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Thanks a ton, you've been very helpful.

  11. #11
    Member jmdixon85's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Cumbria (UK)
    No problem Don't forget the thank you button at the bottom of my posts

    Let us know how it goes
    Main System/File Server/IP-Fire Router
    CPU: I2500K @ 4.7Ghz (H2o cooled)//AMD Athlon 215 x2/Celeron 1.1Ghz
    Mainboard: AsRock Z77 Extreme 4/Gigabyte 78LMT-USB3/Gigabyte GA-C847N
    RAM: 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz/12GB DDR3 1333Mhz//2GB DDR2
    Video: 2x nVidia GTX660 3GB sli/Radeon 3000//iGPU
    HDD: 256GB SSD (System)/WD VR 300GB(Games)/ 80GB HDD (TV Recordings)/WD VRaptor 160GB (Sytem), Maxtor 80GB (Sys Backup), 5x 1TB (RAID5 Data)/3TB (Backup) HighpointRR 3520 RAID Card/160GB
    PSU: Corsair TX-M 750W/Enermax 495W//FSP 300W
    Case: Coolermaster HAF932/CM Cosmos S/
    Audio: Toslink -> Pioneer VSX-820-K (Dolby TrueHD/DTS Master Audio)
    i7/i5/i3 Overclocking Guide/Intel Core2 overclocking guide/AMD AM2 overclocking Guide

  12. #12
    Researches Meritless
    LIES for the Front
    Page and Super Mutterator

    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Stuck in Maryland...
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    GAH, this is the problem with double posting.. no clue wth is going on in that other thread.

    If you cant/dont change your voltage it wont change in CPUz. CPUz is dynamic with voltage changes.

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

  13. #13
    Member jmdixon85's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Cumbria (UK)
    Quote Originally Posted by EarthDog View Post
    GAH, this is the problem with double posting.. no clue wth is going on in that other thread.

    If you cant/dont change your voltage it wont change in CPUz. CPUz is dynamic with voltage changes.
    Amen to that

    But hes new and I think hes learning

    Hell, cant say I'm supprised with some of the other computer related sites and there lack of moderating.

    He will soon get used to this being his 2nd home
    Main System/File Server/IP-Fire Router
    CPU: I2500K @ 4.7Ghz (H2o cooled)//AMD Athlon 215 x2/Celeron 1.1Ghz
    Mainboard: AsRock Z77 Extreme 4/Gigabyte 78LMT-USB3/Gigabyte GA-C847N
    RAM: 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz/12GB DDR3 1333Mhz//2GB DDR2
    Video: 2x nVidia GTX660 3GB sli/Radeon 3000//iGPU
    HDD: 256GB SSD (System)/WD VR 300GB(Games)/ 80GB HDD (TV Recordings)/WD VRaptor 160GB (Sytem), Maxtor 80GB (Sys Backup), 5x 1TB (RAID5 Data)/3TB (Backup) HighpointRR 3520 RAID Card/160GB
    PSU: Corsair TX-M 750W/Enermax 495W//FSP 300W
    Case: Coolermaster HAF932/CM Cosmos S/
    Audio: Toslink -> Pioneer VSX-820-K (Dolby TrueHD/DTS Master Audio)
    i7/i5/i3 Overclocking Guide/Intel Core2 overclocking guide/AMD AM2 overclocking Guide

  14. #14
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Sorry for switching threads guys ><

    Anyway, here are the fruits of labor so far:



    Gonna sit here for a while and stress test. So far idle I am at 23c and max load about 45c. Oh and yes, I am new to overclocking. Sorry for all the questions, I'm sure you get worse. If its any consolation, I did do a great amount of research on the topic for weeks before I asked any questions or even thought of trying anything. Thrilled that I'm successful. This machine was my first to practice on before I build a new rig, but I think I might just keep it for side projects now since it isn't half bad anymore

    Thanks alot for your help

  15. #15
    Member jmdixon85's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Cumbria (UK)
    Well done

    Thats a decent overclock considering you are stuck at stock volts.

    Run Prime95 for an hour or two and push onwards if all is good I wouldn't expect to much more at stock volts though.
    Main System/File Server/IP-Fire Router
    CPU: I2500K @ 4.7Ghz (H2o cooled)//AMD Athlon 215 x2/Celeron 1.1Ghz
    Mainboard: AsRock Z77 Extreme 4/Gigabyte 78LMT-USB3/Gigabyte GA-C847N
    RAM: 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz/12GB DDR3 1333Mhz//2GB DDR2
    Video: 2x nVidia GTX660 3GB sli/Radeon 3000//iGPU
    HDD: 256GB SSD (System)/WD VR 300GB(Games)/ 80GB HDD (TV Recordings)/WD VRaptor 160GB (Sytem), Maxtor 80GB (Sys Backup), 5x 1TB (RAID5 Data)/3TB (Backup) HighpointRR 3520 RAID Card/160GB
    PSU: Corsair TX-M 750W/Enermax 495W//FSP 300W
    Case: Coolermaster HAF932/CM Cosmos S/
    Audio: Toslink -> Pioneer VSX-820-K (Dolby TrueHD/DTS Master Audio)
    i7/i5/i3 Overclocking Guide/Intel Core2 overclocking guide/AMD AM2 overclocking Guide

  16. #16
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Thanks! All seems well with it. One more question and I'll be done, I promise

    Is there any possibility I could use this pin-mod along with my current overclock (w/ ClockGen) to go even faster? Or would that produce the same results as what I am doing now? Or should they just not be used together?

    I am shooting for the stars here, right down to the Arctic Silver.

  17. #17
    Researches Meritless
    LIES for the Front
    Page and Super Mutterator

    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Stuck in Maryland...
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    You are going to be voltage limited so using that application wont help as you are not limited by FSB or what your bios can do.

    The Song Remains the Same.

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

  18. #18
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Wait... I thought the whole reason my voltage was not able to be increased was because my bios is locked and I am limited by what it can do? Not to be contradictory, just trying to understand... This page here also states the reason for the mod is if you cannot adjust the voltage. Thanks

  19. #19
    Member jmdixon85's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Cumbria (UK)
    Quote Originally Posted by RobMonty1987 View Post
    Thanks! All seems well with it. One more question and I'll be done, I promise

    Is there any possibility I could use this pin-mod along with my current overclock (w/ ClockGen) to go even faster? Or would that produce the same results as what I am doing now? Or should they just not be used together?

    I am shooting for the stars here, right down to the Arctic Silver.
    Nope. Never heard of that pin-mod.

    But even if it works it still doesn't increase your Vcore. And thats needed at 3ghz+

    I would call it a day and be very happy with the overclock you have
    Main System/File Server/IP-Fire Router
    CPU: I2500K @ 4.7Ghz (H2o cooled)//AMD Athlon 215 x2/Celeron 1.1Ghz
    Mainboard: AsRock Z77 Extreme 4/Gigabyte 78LMT-USB3/Gigabyte GA-C847N
    RAM: 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz/12GB DDR3 1333Mhz//2GB DDR2
    Video: 2x nVidia GTX660 3GB sli/Radeon 3000//iGPU
    HDD: 256GB SSD (System)/WD VR 300GB(Games)/ 80GB HDD (TV Recordings)/WD VRaptor 160GB (Sytem), Maxtor 80GB (Sys Backup), 5x 1TB (RAID5 Data)/3TB (Backup) HighpointRR 3520 RAID Card/160GB
    PSU: Corsair TX-M 750W/Enermax 495W//FSP 300W
    Case: Coolermaster HAF932/CM Cosmos S/
    Audio: Toslink -> Pioneer VSX-820-K (Dolby TrueHD/DTS Master Audio)
    i7/i5/i3 Overclocking Guide/Intel Core2 overclocking guide/AMD AM2 overclocking Guide

  20. #20
    Member jmdixon85's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Cumbria (UK)
    Quote Originally Posted by RobMonty1987 View Post
    Wait... I thought the whole reason my voltage was not able to be increased was because my bios is locked and I am limited by what it can do? Not to be contradictory, just trying to understand... This page here also states the reason for the mod is if you cannot adjust the voltage. Thanks
    Sorry but I've never heard or seen of this done. So I cant comment.
    Main System/File Server/IP-Fire Router
    CPU: I2500K @ 4.7Ghz (H2o cooled)//AMD Athlon 215 x2/Celeron 1.1Ghz
    Mainboard: AsRock Z77 Extreme 4/Gigabyte 78LMT-USB3/Gigabyte GA-C847N
    RAM: 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz/12GB DDR3 1333Mhz//2GB DDR2
    Video: 2x nVidia GTX660 3GB sli/Radeon 3000//iGPU
    HDD: 256GB SSD (System)/WD VR 300GB(Games)/ 80GB HDD (TV Recordings)/WD VRaptor 160GB (Sytem), Maxtor 80GB (Sys Backup), 5x 1TB (RAID5 Data)/3TB (Backup) HighpointRR 3520 RAID Card/160GB
    PSU: Corsair TX-M 750W/Enermax 495W//FSP 300W
    Case: Coolermaster HAF932/CM Cosmos S/
    Audio: Toslink -> Pioneer VSX-820-K (Dolby TrueHD/DTS Master Audio)
    i7/i5/i3 Overclocking Guide/Intel Core2 overclocking guide/AMD AM2 overclocking Guide

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •