Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002

    Unhappy Overclocking 1 GHZ Duron to 1.24 - HELP!

    I flashed the bios with the OC bios. I can overclock at 112/112
    (1.12 GHZ) but I can not boot at 124/124. I saw someone on the
    CPU database just overclocked at 124/124 with only closing the bridge to up the voltage to 1.85 - I did that. What could be holding me back ?

    My system is: K7S5A (System is a CPU Builder's kit from Sam's)
    1 GHZ Morgan Duron
    128 or 256 P133 memory (tried both)
    300w KeyMouse Electronics PX-300W Rev 2.03 PS
    S3 Savage 4 32 MB AGP Video Card
    CPU fan with Artic Silver Compound

    What should be my settings in BIOS for memory,etc. ??
    PLEASE help - I want to make 1.2 GHZ OR I will be forced to by
    another Shuttle A31 for $80 - (DDR though)

    Thank-you in advance.

  2. #2
    Member Tithulta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, TN
    When you say you can not boot at 124/124 what exactly do you mean.

    No Post?...or is it posting and then hanging while booting up to windows?

    Also check you PSU if you can and see what your voltages are. It could be underpowered or something like that.

    Good Luck
    Future APU system; Coming soon
    AM3 3.6ghz x4 975 4gb ddr3 1600
    AM2 Tricore 2.4ghz 2gb ddr2 800
    A64 3000+ 2 systems 939
    tforce 6100's w/2gb ddr400
    7600gs and 2 3650's
    Heatware

  3. #3
    Member Dragonbud's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Orange County, California
    I had the same problem, would not post at 124/124 using generic pc133's, however when i used pc2400xms corsair ddr's...booted with no probs...
    I'm curious if anyone has ever posted on pc133's?

  4. #4
    Senior Lawyer-clocker flounder43's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Minneapolis
    It is either the memory or the psu, I think.

  5. #5
    Originally posted by Dragonbud
    I had the same problem, would not post at 124/124 using generic pc133's, however when i used pc2400xms corsair ddr's...booted with no probs...
    I'm curious if anyone has ever posted on pc133's?
    Dragonbud, YES, I have. Posted just fine at 124/124 with pc133. But check this out. I put in pc100, and it still posted and runs just fine at 124/124.

    Ivflyer, and everyone else for that matter,

    If you find the answer to this PLEASE let me know. Here's my experience, and, I'm sorry to say, it offers you not much help.

    I have 2 k7s5a boards, both with 1 GHz morgan core durons.
    Both have bridges connected to max out the core voltage.
    Both have the same hsf, thermaltake volcano 5.

    The first one had 256 meg pc133, generic, and a 300 watt power supply. It works at 124/124 with absolutely no problem.

    The other one had 128 meg generic pc100 and a 200 watt power supply and would not go over 112/112. It would post, but get windows errors.

    So, I thought, it's probably not enough power, so I put in a 300 watt power supply. The other one is working with a 300 watt power supply. Well, it got further, but still had windows errors.

    So, I figure it must be the pc100 ram. So I swap the ram between the 2. The one working at 124/124 gets the 128 meg pc100 and the one working at 112/112 gets the 256 meg pc133. Guess what. Made absolutely NO DIFFERENCE! The one still works just fine at 124/124. The other will not work above 112/112.

    Explain that to me. It's obviously not the ram.

    The 300 watt power supply I stuck in the one running at 112/112 is good. It came out of a tbird 1.4 @ 1.533 box (133 * 11.5). So that shouldn't be the problem. But it's the last thing left to check/do. I already swapped that ram. Maybe I should swap the power supplies and see what happens, but I suspect the result will be the same.

    Maybe one just has the YATTA curse? Perhaps a little chicken blood would do the trick.
    Life is real! Life is earnest! And the grave is not its goal;
    Dust thou art, to dust returneth, Was not spoken of the soul.

    Lives of great men all remind us We can make our lives sublime,
    And, departing, leave behind us Footprints on the sands of time;

    Footprints, that perhaps another, Sailing o'er life's solemn main,
    A forlorn and shipwrecked brother, Seeing, shall take heart again.

    Let us, then, be up and doing, With a heart for any fate;
    Still archieving, still pursuing, Learn to labor and to wait.
    ~Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

  6. #6
    Oh, yeah, side note. The 200 watt power supply is running the 1.4 @ 1.4 tbird just fine, and it has an AGP video card.

    The 2 duron boxes have 4 meg pci video cards.

    Correction, they are 2 meg video cards. ATI mach64. But they are not exactly the same.
    Last edited by NedClocker; 03-05-02 at 11:41 AM.
    Life is real! Life is earnest! And the grave is not its goal;
    Dust thou art, to dust returneth, Was not spoken of the soul.

    Lives of great men all remind us We can make our lives sublime,
    And, departing, leave behind us Footprints on the sands of time;

    Footprints, that perhaps another, Sailing o'er life's solemn main,
    A forlorn and shipwrecked brother, Seeing, shall take heart again.

    Let us, then, be up and doing, With a heart for any fate;
    Still archieving, still pursuing, Learn to labor and to wait.
    ~Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

  7. #7
    Here's another thought. I wish I could get a 24% oc out of my 1.4 tbirds.

    1.4 * 1.24 = 1.736

    That would be a wonderful oc.
    Life is real! Life is earnest! And the grave is not its goal;
    Dust thou art, to dust returneth, Was not spoken of the soul.

    Lives of great men all remind us We can make our lives sublime,
    And, departing, leave behind us Footprints on the sands of time;

    Footprints, that perhaps another, Sailing o'er life's solemn main,
    A forlorn and shipwrecked brother, Seeing, shall take heart again.

    Let us, then, be up and doing, With a heart for any fate;
    Still archieving, still pursuing, Learn to labor and to wait.
    ~Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

  8. #8
    Well, I did it. I figured out what was holding it back. Both durons are at 1.24 now.

    But, since obviously no one is interested, I'll spare you details.
    Life is real! Life is earnest! And the grave is not its goal;
    Dust thou art, to dust returneth, Was not spoken of the soul.

    Lives of great men all remind us We can make our lives sublime,
    And, departing, leave behind us Footprints on the sands of time;

    Footprints, that perhaps another, Sailing o'er life's solemn main,
    A forlorn and shipwrecked brother, Seeing, shall take heart again.

    Let us, then, be up and doing, With a heart for any fate;
    Still archieving, still pursuing, Learn to labor and to wait.
    ~Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

  9. #9
    Senior Member Gnufsh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    June Lake, California
    What was it? I think I'm going to get one of these boards...

    Please, please tell us (I've been in suspense ever since I first read this post 15 minutes ago...)
    Lost access to the classifieds? Look here.
    Forum Policies
    Sig Rules

    "Men occasionally stumble over the truth, but most of them pick themselves up and hurry off as if nothing ever happened."
    -Sir Winston Churchill

  10. #10
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Please Nedclocker let me know what you fiquired out to get 124 - I AM INTERESTED !!

    Thank-you

  11. #11
    Senior Punk Kendan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Dark side of hell
    If I am not mistaken it was the video card holding him back.
    Hello:sn:

  12. #12
    Shadow рс's after me!!! Tismedt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Suisun City Ca. I love this Town
    I also am interested as I have one of those boards on the way right now. Should be here tomorrow I hope. Let us know.

  13. #13
    Shadow рс's after me!!! Tismedt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Suisun City Ca. I love this Town
    I dont think it was the vid card. I have a gf2ti 64ddr in mine and I have the same problem. I am using 512 2100 Generic. I have not raised the vcore yet. I'll try that now.

  14. #14
    Member Loud's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Lynchburg, Virgina
    Originally posted by NedClocker
    Well, I did it. I figured out what was holding it back. Both durons are at 1.24 now.

    But, since obviously no one is interested, I'll spare you details.
    The late great Sam Kennison
    AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHGH!
    I want to know! Pleeeeeeeeeeeeeease ... ?

  15. #15
    Originally posted by Loud
    I want to know! Pleeeeeeeeeeeeeease ... ?
    Sure. I take it that you picked up one or two. Good deal.
    One of them went 1.24, no problem. The other one didn't - I tried swaping out everything that you would normally think of. Then I got a new vid card for the one at 1.24, so I figured I'd try putting that vid card in the 1.12. Boom - right straight up to 1.24 with no problem. Go figure.
    BUT, it didn't last. The next morning when I got up, it had the BSOD. Yep, it died. Can't get it to go back to 1.24 again, even w/ 400 watt Antec ps. Go figure. Any more questions, ask. I will try to help. Good luck.

  16. #16
    Member Loud's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Lynchburg, Virgina
    Originally posted by NedClocker

    Sure. I take it that you picked up one or two. Good deal.
    One of them went 1.24, no problem. The other one didn't - I tried swaping out everything that you would normally think of. Then I got a new vid card for the one at 1.24, so I figured I'd try putting that vid card in the 1.12. Boom - right straight up to 1.24 with no problem. Go figure.
    BUT, it didn't last. The next morning when I got up, it had the BSOD. Yep, it died. Can't get it to go back to 1.24 again, even w/ 400 watt Antec ps. Go figure. Any more questions, ask. I will try to help. Good luck.
    Yep ... two sitting right here <pat pat> waiting for my pocketbook to catch up to memory prices.

    So ... what sort of vid card is in the fast box? Any possible 'splaination for the different behavior? Do you think it's the MoBo or the vid cards?

    Inquiring minds want to know!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •