Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    58

    Gigabyte M68MT-D3P No Overclocking AT ALL!

    I bought the motherboard i refer to, for a friend. We wanted to create an ultra low cost PC for gaming.

    We bought a GPU: AMD Radeon Sapphire 5770 and an AMD X3 435 CPU.

    The motherboard as you can see is promoting the above:



    plus that it unlocks the 4th core. Many ultra, ultra, ultra but nothing at all as you will see.

    I thought that it would be a perfect motherboard for low expectations overclocking (i was expecting ~3,5GHz per core in this CPU).

    Nope it is not!!!

    It has NO FSB or MULTIPLIER SETTINGS AVAILABLE!! Yes a 2011 released motherboard can not adjust FSB!!??!

    My older 2008 released MSI K9VGM-V could and this can't!!


    I went in contact with gigabyte and their response was:

    Thank you for your kindly mail and inquiry. About the issue you mentioned, since different models may have different configurations, we are sorry that GA-M68MT-D3P(rev. 3.0) cannot adjust FSB, multiplier etc.

    and if the problem will ever solved on a BIOS update?

    Thank you again for your kindly mail. GA-M68MT-D3P(rev. 3.0) does not support overclock, there will no options of FSB and Multiplier in BIOS.

    Thanks for stealing me Gigabyte......!
    CPU: AMD Athlon II X3 435 (Thermaltake MaxORB Fan) @3.6GHz MOBO: Gigabyte MA790X-DS4 GPU: Gigabyte GTX 460 768MB (Core: 840MHz Memory: 2160MHz) PSU: Trust 570W RAM: Corsair XMS2 DDR2 4GB (4 x 1GB) 800MHz

  2. #2
    Senior DFI Staff RGone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    JAX, Mississauna
    Posts
    9,354
    From the add on Gigabyte's website and from looking other places it seems there was never any mention of the board doing any overclock.

    Perhaps just a case of unrealistic expectations.
    You May Need Help = We Need Info to Help.
    MOBO > Model and Bios version.
    CPU & Cooler > Be Specific.
    MEMORY > Manufacturer & P/N & Size.
    POWER SUPPLY > Manufacturer & Wattage.
    VIDEO CARD > Make/Model/How Many.
    HDDs/Optical drives > How Many? SSD? Raid/No Raid?
    SOUND DEVICE > Onboard or Add-in?
    USB > Usb Devices Plugged to Mobo?
    O/S > Win? SP? Linux?
    Case > Brand/Model/Fans Installed?
    Institute of Level Headed Over Clockers

  3. #3
    Senior Member trents's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Centralia, WA
    Posts
    13,902
    The only performance option on this board is core unlocking. It does not provide a CPU frequency control of any kind. You might try AMD Overdrive but more than likely the overclocking controls will be grayed out/inactive.
    CPU: i7 2600k@4.6 ghz
    Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe b3
    Cooler: Swiftech H320
    RAM: 16 (4x4) gb Team Group Vulcan 2400 mhz @ 2176 mhz / 11-13-13-35-2T
    GPU: Sapphire Radeon 7870
    Case: NZXT Source 530
    PSU: OCZ 750W
    Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 2x300 gb WD Velociraptors


    Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me". John 14:6

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    58
    RGone Please tell me where this motherboard for example (i had in the past) http://www.msi.com/product/mb/K9VGM-V.html#?div=Detail is mentioning anything about overclocking.

    And please find me any other 2011 released mainstream desktop motherboard that doesnt support overclock. Even some HTPC's have options for overclocking with Brazos CPU's!

    This motherboard is 5 years back turnover...
    CPU: AMD Athlon II X3 435 (Thermaltake MaxORB Fan) @3.6GHz MOBO: Gigabyte MA790X-DS4 GPU: Gigabyte GTX 460 768MB (Core: 840MHz Memory: 2160MHz) PSU: Trust 570W RAM: Corsair XMS2 DDR2 4GB (4 x 1GB) 800MHz

  5. #5
    Senior DFI Staff RGone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    JAX, Mississauna
    Posts
    9,354
    What I find will not change the fact that motherboard in current version or previous version has no provisions for changing FSB or Cpu multiplier for the purpose of overclocking. Only ram speed can be changed in current or previous motherboard version.

    From the current and previous mb_manual_ga-m68mt-v.3.0_e.pdf. The manual covers current and previous motherboard version.

    GA-M68MT-D3P << Current release of that Nvidia chipset motherboard.
    GA-M68MT-S2P << Previous release of that Nvidia chipset motherboard.
    AM3 socket motherboard for
    AMD Phenom™ II processor/ AMD Athlon™ II processor
    Copyright
    © 2010 GIGA-BYTE TECHNOLOGY CO., LTD.


    MB Intelligent Tweaker(M.I.T.) for the previous release of that motherboard had no option to overclock the cpu either.
    You May Need Help = We Need Info to Help.
    MOBO > Model and Bios version.
    CPU & Cooler > Be Specific.
    MEMORY > Manufacturer & P/N & Size.
    POWER SUPPLY > Manufacturer & Wattage.
    VIDEO CARD > Make/Model/How Many.
    HDDs/Optical drives > How Many? SSD? Raid/No Raid?
    SOUND DEVICE > Onboard or Add-in?
    USB > Usb Devices Plugged to Mobo?
    O/S > Win? SP? Linux?
    Case > Brand/Model/Fans Installed?
    Institute of Level Headed Over Clockers

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    58
    Dual Bios, Core boost (unlock 4th core), core voltage control, 4+1 phase for cooler motherboard and no FSB adjustment.

    @#!!#!#!@#!@#!@
    CPU: AMD Athlon II X3 435 (Thermaltake MaxORB Fan) @3.6GHz MOBO: Gigabyte MA790X-DS4 GPU: Gigabyte GTX 460 768MB (Core: 840MHz Memory: 2160MHz) PSU: Trust 570W RAM: Corsair XMS2 DDR2 4GB (4 x 1GB) 800MHz

  7. #7
    Senior DFI Staff RGone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    JAX, Mississauna
    Posts
    9,354
    Quote Originally Posted by VeRDe View Post
    @#!!#!#!@#!@#!@
    I hear that...
    You May Need Help = We Need Info to Help.
    MOBO > Model and Bios version.
    CPU & Cooler > Be Specific.
    MEMORY > Manufacturer & P/N & Size.
    POWER SUPPLY > Manufacturer & Wattage.
    VIDEO CARD > Make/Model/How Many.
    HDDs/Optical drives > How Many? SSD? Raid/No Raid?
    SOUND DEVICE > Onboard or Add-in?
    USB > Usb Devices Plugged to Mobo?
    O/S > Win? SP? Linux?
    Case > Brand/Model/Fans Installed?
    Institute of Level Headed Over Clockers

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    85
    Quote Originally Posted by VeRDe View Post
    RGone Please tell me where this motherboard for example (i had in the past) http://www.msi.com/product/mb/K9VGM-V.html#?div=Detail is mentioning anything about overclocking.
    Well, the manual clearly shows fsb and mem voltage adjustability.

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    58
    Even if this is true, manual is inside the package. Not outside.

    Overclocking in 2011 motherboards is (should be) standard...
    CPU: AMD Athlon II X3 435 (Thermaltake MaxORB Fan) @3.6GHz MOBO: Gigabyte MA790X-DS4 GPU: Gigabyte GTX 460 768MB (Core: 840MHz Memory: 2160MHz) PSU: Trust 570W RAM: Corsair XMS2 DDR2 4GB (4 x 1GB) 800MHz

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    85
    Quote Originally Posted by VeRDe View Post
    Even if this is true, manual is inside the package. Not outside.

    Overclocking in 2011 motherboards is (should be) standard...
    But why would you not go to the MFRs site and download the manual to see what the board offers?
    I'm sorry but you just assumed the board allowed OCing and we know what happens when people assume.

  11. #11
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    58
    I (faulty) thought it obvious for a new released motherboard.
    CPU: AMD Athlon II X3 435 (Thermaltake MaxORB Fan) @3.6GHz MOBO: Gigabyte MA790X-DS4 GPU: Gigabyte GTX 460 768MB (Core: 840MHz Memory: 2160MHz) PSU: Trust 570W RAM: Corsair XMS2 DDR2 4GB (4 x 1GB) 800MHz

  12. #12
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    85
    Yeah, I read that some of the MSI boards have no OC ability at all. Read that maybe a month ago, firs time I've ever heard of that, other than OEM rigs.

  13. #13
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    1
    Just joined to reply to this thread. I have the same MB for a cheap HTPC. When in the bios main screen push ctrl F1 and it allows you to access advanced chipset features. IE: FSB adjustment and such.

    Although personally when I enter anything above the stock FSB frequency when I try to boot into windows when it goes to post it says it's in safe mode and to reset the CPU freq. Not sure why this is, because it does appear to let you change the FSB. Anyway thats all

  14. #14
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by VeRDe View Post
    I bought the motherboard i refer to, for a friend. We wanted to create an ultra low cost PC for gaming.

    We bought a GPU: AMD Radeon Sapphire 5770 and an AMD X3 435 CPU.

    The motherboard as you can see is promoting the above:



    plus that it unlocks the 4th core. Many ultra, ultra, ultra but nothing at all as you will see.

    I thought that it would be a perfect motherboard for low expectations overclocking (i was expecting ~3,5GHz per core in this CPU).

    Nope it is not!!!

    It has NO FSB or MULTIPLIER SETTINGS AVAILABLE!! Yes a 2011 released motherboard can not adjust FSB!!??!

    My older 2008 released MSI K9VGM-V could and this can't!!


    I went in contact with gigabyte and their response was:

    Thank you for your kindly mail and inquiry. About the issue you mentioned, since different models may have different configurations, we are sorry that GA-M68MT-D3P(rev. 3.0) cannot adjust FSB, multiplier etc.

    and if the problem will ever solved on a BIOS update?

    Thank you again for your kindly mail. GA-M68MT-D3P(rev. 3.0) does not support overclock, there will no options of FSB and Multiplier in BIOS.

    Thanks for stealing me Gigabyte......!
    It does have a the overclock feature, when on the bios main screen press ctrl & f1 to unlock the hidden menu item when you then enter this the option are there to set the cpu how you want it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •