Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 77
  1. #1

    My 2600k overclock so far, need some help

    Alright guys, so far I managed to OC my 2600k to 4.2 ghz with vcore of 1.33. Its stable using intel burn test. I have a question. On cpu-z when my cpu starts to clock down to 1.6ghz due to it being idle, the core voltage stays at around 1.3volts. When the vcore was on auto settings before the OC, it would usually go down to like 1.2. Is there anyway to set it to clock down vcore automatically but set a max limit?

  2. #2
    Senior DFI Staff RGone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    JAX, Mississauna
    Posts
    9,357
    They probably cannot help you due to insufficient information about your system. You do not even tell them what motherboard is in use. Different brands and models of motherboard will require a different procedure most likely.
    You May Need Help = We Need Info to Help.
    MOBO > Model and Bios version.
    CPU & Cooler > Be Specific.
    MEMORY > Manufacturer & P/N & Size.
    POWER SUPPLY > Manufacturer & Wattage.
    VIDEO CARD > Make/Model/How Many.
    HDDs/Optical drives > How Many? SSD? Raid/No Raid?
    SOUND DEVICE > Onboard or Add-in?
    USB > Usb Devices Plugged to Mobo?
    O/S > Win? SP? Linux?
    Case > Brand/Model/Fans Installed?
    Institute of Level Headed Over Clockers

  3. #3
    Senior Member Knufire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Terre Haute, IN
    Posts
    13,219
    Try switching the LLC option. It would either be labeled as Load Line Calibration (LLC) or VDroop control.
    i7-920 3.8 Ghz | Venomous-X w/ Panaflo HS | Sapphire Vapor-X 4890
    EVGA X58 SLI LE | 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600 | 500GB Samsung OEM | Rosewill 850w | Thermaltake Armor Series | OCZ Vertex 2 60GB

    Secondary Rig:
    CM Elite 430 | A8-3870K stock | Radeon HD 6670 | 500GB WD Caviar Blue | 4GB G.SKILL DDR3-1333 | ASUS A55


  4. #4
    Sorry for the system specs. I am using a gigabyte z68 ud4-b3 mobo, with 8gb 1600 ram, corsair hydro h60 cooler, and 750watt psu. I don't have any experience with LLC options, could you please provide a little more detail about it? I really appreciate the help

  5. #5
    Some further details. Bios version of the mobo is F5, memory is corsair vengeance at 9-9-9-24 timings, psu is corsair tx-750, gpu is evga 560ti (1024mb at 810 shader), using corsair force gt 120gb ssd, windows 7 ultimate 64 bit

  6. #6
    Senior Member Knufire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Terre Haute, IN
    Posts
    13,219
    It's just on or off. Voltage tends to droop when the CPU is under load, it's a natural tendency. This option smooths out the droop to try to keep it constant. Other then that option, I don't think anything in the BIOS will dynamically change the CPU voltage.
    i7-920 3.8 Ghz | Venomous-X w/ Panaflo HS | Sapphire Vapor-X 4890
    EVGA X58 SLI LE | 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600 | 500GB Samsung OEM | Rosewill 850w | Thermaltake Armor Series | OCZ Vertex 2 60GB

    Secondary Rig:
    CM Elite 430 | A8-3870K stock | Radeon HD 6670 | 500GB WD Caviar Blue | 4GB G.SKILL DDR3-1333 | ASUS A55


  7. #7
    I'm just worried about running my cpu at 1.3ish volts constantly. Is it safe to do so? Also one note, I find that the voltage reading on cpu-z and HWinfo are different, which HWinfo giving me higher readings. An example would be @ 4ghz on auto vcore setting, HWinfo will read 1.37v and cpu-z will read 1.27. I know that software voltage readings aren't the most reliable, but which one should I trust more?
    System specs
    Cpu- i7 2600k @ 4.5 GHz
    Mobo- Gigabyte z68-ud4-b3 @ F5 bios version
    RAM- Corsair Vengeance 1600 @ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
    GPU- EVGA 560ti
    Cooler- Corsair Hydro H60
    PSU- Corsair TX-750watts
    SSD- Corsair Force GT 120gb
    HDD- WD Caviar Black 1TB

  8. #8
    Senior Member Knufire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Terre Haute, IN
    Posts
    13,219
    Is this reading while at idle or under full load (Prime95, OCCT)?
    i7-920 3.8 Ghz | Venomous-X w/ Panaflo HS | Sapphire Vapor-X 4890
    EVGA X58 SLI LE | 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600 | 500GB Samsung OEM | Rosewill 850w | Thermaltake Armor Series | OCZ Vertex 2 60GB

    Secondary Rig:
    CM Elite 430 | A8-3870K stock | Radeon HD 6670 | 500GB WD Caviar Blue | 4GB G.SKILL DDR3-1333 | ASUS A55


  9. #9
    Yes those readings are on automatic vcore while running intel burn test at 20 cycles on high stress.
    System specs
    Cpu- i7 2600k @ 4.5 GHz
    Mobo- Gigabyte z68-ud4-b3 @ F5 bios version
    RAM- Corsair Vengeance 1600 @ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
    GPU- EVGA 560ti
    Cooler- Corsair Hydro H60
    PSU- Corsair TX-750watts
    SSD- Corsair Force GT 120gb
    HDD- WD Caviar Black 1TB

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Massachusetts USA
    Posts
    182
    Gigabyte calls LLC "Multi Step Load Line" and has several settings, rather than on/off. Try 5. Someone did a graph of the various values, 1 through 10, under idle to load, and basically 5 was pretty good at creating something approaching a flat line (same voltage all of the time). Less = some droop, and more = increased voltage over your base setting under load.
    Intel i5-2500K @ 4.4GHz 1.335, MSI APS, no LLC, PLL enabled, speed step on, all C-states enabled
    MSI Z68A-GD55 (G3)
    Corsair Vengeance 8GB 9-9-9-24-1T @ stock
    Gigabyte GV-N580UD-15I GTX 580 1.5GB
    Cooler Master 932 HAF, Antec HCG 750 PS, Corsair H60 water cooler
    2x Samgung 830 256GB SSD->512GB RAID0 (SATA3), 2TB Hitachi 5400 RPM HDD (SATA3)
    Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1

  11. #11
    Benching Team Leader
    Grabbed Senior
    Janus67's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Ohio State
    Posts
    12,168
    Unless something has been changed in the latest version of CPU-Z (possible, I do not know) but CPU-Z for gigabyte sandy bridge boards wasn't reporting the proper voltage for Vcore, it was displaying VTT or something I believe (but it wasn't the vcore).
    Haswell Benching and Gaming: ASRock Z87 OC Formula : Intel i7 4770k w/ Phanteks PH-TC14 : 8GB 2x4GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-2666 : MSI, XFX, and Sapphire R9 290X
    Other Components: Samsung 840 Evo 500GB SSD : 2TB Hitachi : Silverstone Strider Gold 1250W and Seasonic Platinum 1000W : Auria EQ276W 2560x1440


    Folding User Stats

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Massachusetts USA
    Posts
    182
    Correct, Cpu-Z shows Vtt in the "CPU Core" slot, and the actual CPU voltage in the "CPU" slot.
    Intel i5-2500K @ 4.4GHz 1.335, MSI APS, no LLC, PLL enabled, speed step on, all C-states enabled
    MSI Z68A-GD55 (G3)
    Corsair Vengeance 8GB 9-9-9-24-1T @ stock
    Gigabyte GV-N580UD-15I GTX 580 1.5GB
    Cooler Master 932 HAF, Antec HCG 750 PS, Corsair H60 water cooler
    2x Samgung 830 256GB SSD->512GB RAID0 (SATA3), 2TB Hitachi 5400 RPM HDD (SATA3)
    Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1

  13. #13
    So is it okay to be running a stable 1.33 volts even when your cpu idles down to 1.6ghz? I tried the multi step and it helps with higher overclocks along with enabling pll. But I was originally looking for a way to auto clock down voltage when it is not needed, because I was worried about running 1.3+ volts 24/7. If anyone can reassure me that it's generally safe to run voltages at that level constantly then I'll be golden with my 4.2 ghz OC and can shoot for the 4.5
    System specs
    Cpu- i7 2600k @ 4.5 GHz
    Mobo- Gigabyte z68-ud4-b3 @ F5 bios version
    RAM- Corsair Vengeance 1600 @ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
    GPU- EVGA 560ti
    Cooler- Corsair Hydro H60
    PSU- Corsair TX-750watts
    SSD- Corsair Force GT 120gb
    HDD- WD Caviar Black 1TB

  14. #14
    Benching Team Leader
    Grabbed Senior
    Janus67's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Ohio State
    Posts
    12,168
    Do you have c1e (and the other c-states) turned on in the BIOS? if I remember correctly they are the features that drop down the voltage in combination with speedstep.
    Haswell Benching and Gaming: ASRock Z87 OC Formula : Intel i7 4770k w/ Phanteks PH-TC14 : 8GB 2x4GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-2666 : MSI, XFX, and Sapphire R9 290X
    Other Components: Samsung 840 Evo 500GB SSD : 2TB Hitachi : Silverstone Strider Gold 1250W and Seasonic Platinum 1000W : Auria EQ276W 2560x1440


    Folding User Stats

  15. #15
    Yes my c states are enabled. Perhaps I should OC and let my computer idle down after 10 min or so?
    System specs
    Cpu- i7 2600k @ 4.5 GHz
    Mobo- Gigabyte z68-ud4-b3 @ F5 bios version
    RAM- Corsair Vengeance 1600 @ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
    GPU- EVGA 560ti
    Cooler- Corsair Hydro H60
    PSU- Corsair TX-750watts
    SSD- Corsair Force GT 120gb
    HDD- WD Caviar Black 1TB

  16. #16
    Senior Member jason4207's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Concord, NC
    Posts
    8,476
    I think you have to use GB's Touch BIOS app to see the actual vcore on GB mobos.
    MAIN RIG: 3570K @ 4.5GHz 1.272v H100i Extreme4-Z77 8GB-G.Skill @ 2200MHz 9-11-11-28 1.60v CM_430-Elite
    GTX670_DCuII_TOP @ 1358/7244 1.212v Xplosion-DTS 256GB-Samsung_830 1TB-Black Seasonic_X-750
    27.5"-1200P-LCD Z5500-5.1 || PLV-Z4_720P_Projector_95" Paradigm_6.1_DTS-ES
    G9_Mouse Logitech_Illuminated_KB Logitech_G27_Wheel+Microsim_Racing_Pod ***HEAT***

    GAMING HTPC: i3-550 @ 4.5GHz 1.35v H70 MSI_H55M-ED55 4GB-G.Skill @ 1875MHz 7-9-7-23 1T
    GTS450 @ 970/1940/2100 240GB_Sandisk_Extreme 640GB_Blue Corsair_CX430
    Panny 42S2 1080P Plasma

    unRAID FILE SERVER: E5200-M0 @ 2GHz 0.856v MSIP43Neo3-F 4GB-Corsair @ 800MHz CM590 Antec550W
    19TB-Parity_Protected_Storage / 1TB-Cache / 2TB-Parity / 10x2TB 2x1TB


  17. #17
    Ok something odd happened. I tried overclocking to 4.2 at 1.325 volts, run intel burn test 20 times, and let the computer go idle after it was done, to see if it would clock itself down. C states were enabled. I left the room and came back to see me computer asleep. I tried to wake it up but it wouldnt even post. I finally got it running again after powering it down for 5 min or so. Perhaps not enough voltage?
    System specs
    Cpu- i7 2600k @ 4.5 GHz
    Mobo- Gigabyte z68-ud4-b3 @ F5 bios version
    RAM- Corsair Vengeance 1600 @ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
    GPU- EVGA 560ti
    Cooler- Corsair Hydro H60
    PSU- Corsair TX-750watts
    SSD- Corsair Force GT 120gb
    HDD- WD Caviar Black 1TB

  18. #18
    Also i set the multi step to level 4
    System specs
    Cpu- i7 2600k @ 4.5 GHz
    Mobo- Gigabyte z68-ud4-b3 @ F5 bios version
    RAM- Corsair Vengeance 1600 @ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
    GPU- EVGA 560ti
    Cooler- Corsair Hydro H60
    PSU- Corsair TX-750watts
    SSD- Corsair Force GT 120gb
    HDD- WD Caviar Black 1TB

  19. #19
    Benching Team Leader
    Grabbed Senior
    Janus67's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Ohio State
    Posts
    12,168
    Do you have CPU Pll Overvoltage turned on in the BIOS? If so, it won't let you resume from sleep mode properly.

    Also, if you want to check the idling thing make sure the change the power savings features in Windows to disable sleep for the time-being.
    Haswell Benching and Gaming: ASRock Z87 OC Formula : Intel i7 4770k w/ Phanteks PH-TC14 : 8GB 2x4GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-2666 : MSI, XFX, and Sapphire R9 290X
    Other Components: Samsung 840 Evo 500GB SSD : 2TB Hitachi : Silverstone Strider Gold 1250W and Seasonic Platinum 1000W : Auria EQ276W 2560x1440


    Folding User Stats

  20. #20
    Senior Member Knufire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Terre Haute, IN
    Posts
    13,219
    Someone here once said that there's a glitch where SB's crash at high OC when they clock back down to idle.

    Try disabling all C-states and speedstep options and see if it's still stable?
    i7-920 3.8 Ghz | Venomous-X w/ Panaflo HS | Sapphire Vapor-X 4890
    EVGA X58 SLI LE | 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600 | 500GB Samsung OEM | Rosewill 850w | Thermaltake Armor Series | OCZ Vertex 2 60GB

    Secondary Rig:
    CM Elite 430 | A8-3870K stock | Radeon HD 6670 | 500GB WD Caviar Blue | 4GB G.SKILL DDR3-1333 | ASUS A55


Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •