Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1

    Why is Half-Life 2 lagging horribly?

    I just bought a new computer. Dell XPS w/ Intel i7 processor 2.7-3.4Ghz, 8GB RAM, Nvidia gt555M graphics card with 3GB of RAM and Optimus. I should be able to play Half-Life 2 on high settings no problem. However, whenever I get into a situation on the game with someone shooting or anything happening the framerate goes down to below 10! I tried changing the graphics settings to low on everything but the same thing happened again. Why is this happening? I made sure the computer wasn't using the Intel HD graphics card, but it was definitely using the Nvidia so I don't know what could be causing the problem. Does anyone have any ideas? (Also I tried playing the original half-life and it still lagged *********.)

  2. #2
    freakdiablo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    4,200
    Anything running in the background that can be slowing it down (using 100% cpu usage, I doubt anything is using 8gb ram)? Have you run any virus or malware scans?
    Main: MOBO: MSI P67A-G45, CPU: i7 2600k w/ VenX (4.4ghz @ 1.33v), RAM: 2x8gb Kingston HyperX Blu Red Series DDR3 1600, GFX: Galaxy GTX670 GC, PSU: OCZ 1250w ZX, CASE: Corsair 500R, HDD: 120gb Samsung 840, WD 4TB Black
    Quick, Cheap, and Dirty NAS: Sempron 140, Hyper 212+ with 800RPM Scythe Slipstreams, 4gb ram, 5x2tb Hitachis in RAID5, Seasonic SSR-360GP, Antec 300, Biostar Tpower motherboard, APC BR700G UPS, Buffalo WZR-HP-AG300H router (Upgrade in the works)
    Laptop: Lenovo Thinkpad X220 HTPC: Zotac ZBOX AD04-U w/ 6GB Samsung 1333mhz, 64GB Adata Premier Pro SP900
    Protobox-1: Raspberry Pi Mod. B Rev. 2, 2.5" LCD, 12v 1A PSU, Aluminum RatShack project box, GPIO breakout board

    Project 1UP || Interested in the performance of the new AMD AM1 socket? Ask me, I'll test it!
    Bored of games? Nothing good on internet radio or youtube? Dont waste your GHz, find them before they find us. SETI

  3. #3
    Member shard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    You Should Make a Wish!
    Posts
    6,026
    Considering that you have a 555m, I am going to assume you have a laptop.

    Could you check your power settings, and make sure you are running at full power/performance level? Good chance your system is downclocking itself due to a lower power profile.
    Intel i5 2500k @ 4.6ghz
    X-Mystique DDL Surround Soundcard 7.1
    Harman Kardon AVR 135 | JBL E30 Pair | BIC F3 Center | Dayton Reference 12" 4cu ft box
    Gigabyte Z77-D3H
    G. Skill DD3 1600 8gb
    EVGA 670 GTX | Asus VE248H 24" Widescreen LCD
    Corsair 750TX 750w PSU

  4. #4
    freakdiablo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    4,200
    Quote Originally Posted by shard View Post
    Considering that you have a 555m, I am going to assume you have a laptop.

    Could you check your power settings, and make sure you are running at full power/performance level? Good chance your system is downclocking itself due to a lower power profile.
    Could it really be downclocking that much though? (S)He said HL1 is also having problems, and that's definitely playable on my netbook. Even if it's in power saving mode using integrated graphics, it should run just as well if not better than that.
    Main: MOBO: MSI P67A-G45, CPU: i7 2600k w/ VenX (4.4ghz @ 1.33v), RAM: 2x8gb Kingston HyperX Blu Red Series DDR3 1600, GFX: Galaxy GTX670 GC, PSU: OCZ 1250w ZX, CASE: Corsair 500R, HDD: 120gb Samsung 840, WD 4TB Black
    Quick, Cheap, and Dirty NAS: Sempron 140, Hyper 212+ with 800RPM Scythe Slipstreams, 4gb ram, 5x2tb Hitachis in RAID5, Seasonic SSR-360GP, Antec 300, Biostar Tpower motherboard, APC BR700G UPS, Buffalo WZR-HP-AG300H router (Upgrade in the works)
    Laptop: Lenovo Thinkpad X220 HTPC: Zotac ZBOX AD04-U w/ 6GB Samsung 1333mhz, 64GB Adata Premier Pro SP900
    Protobox-1: Raspberry Pi Mod. B Rev. 2, 2.5" LCD, 12v 1A PSU, Aluminum RatShack project box, GPIO breakout board

    Project 1UP || Interested in the performance of the new AMD AM1 socket? Ask me, I'll test it!
    Bored of games? Nothing good on internet radio or youtube? Dont waste your GHz, find them before they find us. SETI

  5. #5
    TiZakit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Doylestown, Ohio
    Posts
    955
    Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Corrupt drivers? I'd reinstall the video drivers from Dell's website.

    CPU: i7-920
    GPU: EVGA GTX 780
    Ram: 6gb Corsair XMS
    SSD: 64gb Crucial M4
    HDD: 3 x 2tb = 4tb RAID 5
    Heatware

  6. #6
    nightelph's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    4,179
    Heatware Profile
    Yah, I don't think its a performance issue. Are any other games suffering fro the issue? A reinstall of the video and chipset drivers couldn't hurt.
    Ivy Quad, Asus Z77
    GTX670, Vertex4 256GB
    Dell 2408WFP, Mackie MR5 Monitors
    Heat

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •