Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 36
  1. #1
    Member Kohta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Zebulon, North Carolina
    Posts
    615

    GTX 580 Lightning in Sli

    Well i decided to crack open the second GPU anyway, i wanted to run some tests but i can't get SLi to enable... it's giving me a box to close programs but the box is empty. Hurray.
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Heatware: http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=76821
    Intel Core i7-2600K 4.5ghz @ 1.35v
    GIGABYTE GA P67A UD5
    G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 2133
    EVGA GTX 560 Ti 448 Classified Ultra
    Corsair AX 1200w Professional Series
    Noctua NH-D14
    Corsair Force 120GB SSD

  2. #2
    Member Kohta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Zebulon, North Carolina
    Posts
    615
    wow never mind, screw this, i uninstalled/reinstalled the driver and now none of my game sor benchmarks will launch, SLi is a pain in the ass compared to Crossfire, as bad as ATi drivers have been atleast Crossfire is plug n' Play.

    Error...


    After Error


    And worst yet, 5 of my games/benchmarks it won't even start up, i get some CPU.GPU usage briefly and then it just idles back and nothing happends, i tried disabling Anti-virus, and reinstalling everything, already been at this for a couple hours, sending it back, i don't need SLi anyway, and i hope to god i never do after this.

    The only games that run are the one's that don't require SLi or won't run in SLi, basically, the free to play or not-very GPU tasking games.
    Last edited by Kohta; 10-22-11 at 07:40 PM.
    Heatware: http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=76821
    Intel Core i7-2600K 4.5ghz @ 1.35v
    GIGABYTE GA P67A UD5
    G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 2133
    EVGA GTX 560 Ti 448 Classified Ultra
    Corsair AX 1200w Professional Series
    Noctua NH-D14
    Corsair Force 120GB SSD

  3. #3
    Member
    Techjesse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    908
    I'm running MSI GTX 580 Lightning's and have no problems what so ever. You might want to see how many background Processes your running via the Task Manager and close some of them. TJ
    Intel Core i7 3930K - Asus Rampage IV Extreme - Mushkin Redline 16GB 2133 - PowerColor R9 280x TriFire - WD 1TB Black x3 - Intel 530 180GB SSD - LG Blue Ray Burner - I-Inc 28" 1920X1200 - Logitech G105 - Tt eSPORTS THERON USB Wired Laser 5600 dpi Gaming Mouse - EVGA SuperNOVA 1300 G2 PSU - CaseLabs ST10 - Win 7 Ult. SP1 64bit

    RayStorm HP CPU block, RX360 V3 Triple Radiator, Alphacool "Full copper" Monsta 480 80mm thick and 10 FPI, 120mm CM R4 red fans 19dBa @ 2000RPM, XSPC Photon 170 Tube Glass Cylinder Reservoir / Pump Combo (D5 Vario), Monsoon G1/4″ to 7/16″ Compression Fittings, PrimoChill PrimoFlex Advanced LRT Tubing 7/16"ID x 5/8" OD, EK-FC R9 280X CSQ series water blocks, EVGA SuperNOVA 1300 G2 PSU - CaseLabs Merlin ST10 Case planning stage :) Build Log http://www.overclockers.com/forums/s...d.php?t=748131

    http://valid.canardpc.com/cache/banner/id59x7-4.png

  4. #4
    Member Kohta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Zebulon, North Carolina
    Posts
    615
    I didn't realize i had to put a bridge on both prongs, i thought the other 2 were for 3 and 4 way SLi. Atleast with AMD/ATi's line up that's how it works. I'll try that.
    Heatware: http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=76821
    Intel Core i7-2600K 4.5ghz @ 1.35v
    GIGABYTE GA P67A UD5
    G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 2133
    EVGA GTX 560 Ti 448 Classified Ultra
    Corsair AX 1200w Professional Series
    Noctua NH-D14
    Corsair Force 120GB SSD

  5. #5
    Researches Meritless
    LIES for the Front
    Page and Super Mutterator

    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Stuck in Maryland...
    Posts
    45,556
    You dont...AFAIK. I think that setup picture above is wrong (but functioning apparently). SLI is just as PnP as Crossfire. You just somehow ran in to an issue.

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

  6. #6
    Member Kohta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Zebulon, North Carolina
    Posts
    615
    Quote Originally Posted by EarthDog View Post
    You dont...AFAIK. I think that setup picture above is wrong (but functioning apparently). SLI is just as PnP as Crossfire. You just somehow ran in to an issue.
    Took it back out of the box and plugged both bridges up, and it ran with no issues.

    3DMark11 P:12166
    http://3dmark.com/3dm11/2059275?show...B-NrHew6HNerhw

    I will shutdown, remove one and try again just for the sake of the argument though.
    12156 the second time around, there is no difference. Now my only question is, does that sound about right for the rig in my sig. with 2x GTX 580's
    Last edited by Kohta; 10-23-11 at 09:25 AM.
    Heatware: http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=76821
    Intel Core i7-2600K 4.5ghz @ 1.35v
    GIGABYTE GA P67A UD5
    G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 2133
    EVGA GTX 560 Ti 448 Classified Ultra
    Corsair AX 1200w Professional Series
    Noctua NH-D14
    Corsair Force 120GB SSD

  7. #7
    Researches Meritless
    LIES for the Front
    Page and Super Mutterator

    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Stuck in Maryland...
    Posts
    45,556
    Try it on both connections. I know for ahamstring fact you don't need both.

  8. #8
    Member Kohta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Zebulon, North Carolina
    Posts
    615
    Quote Originally Posted by EarthDog View Post
    Try it on both connections. I know for ahamstring fact you don't need both.
    You mean do another single bridge run on the other connector?

    Also, my top card get 10c hotter, pretty big difference and they have about an inch and a half of clearance.
    Heatware: http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=76821
    Intel Core i7-2600K 4.5ghz @ 1.35v
    GIGABYTE GA P67A UD5
    G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 2133
    EVGA GTX 560 Ti 448 Classified Ultra
    Corsair AX 1200w Professional Series
    Noctua NH-D14
    Corsair Force 120GB SSD

  9. #9
    Benching Team Leader
    Grabbed Senior
    Janus67's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Ohio State
    Posts
    12,173
    The heat difference even with the inch and a half is expected, if they were touching it would be even worse (unfortunately). I'm glad to see that it appears to be working, but yeah, try it with the other connector, maybe one of the connectors is broken/or something and it is really only running through the one anyway.
    Haswell Benching and Gaming: ASRock Z87 OC Formula : Intel i7 4770k w/ Phanteks PH-TC14 : 8GB 2x4GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-2666 : MSI, XFX, and Sapphire R9 290X
    Other Components: Samsung 840 Evo 500GB SSD : 2TB Hitachi : Silverstone Strider Gold 1250W and Seasonic Platinum 1000W : Auria EQ276W 2560x1440


    Folding User Stats

  10. #10
    Member Kohta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Zebulon, North Carolina
    Posts
    615
    P:12135 on the second prong, single bridge, so performance is pretty much the same. Still debating weather to keep it or not.
    Heatware: http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=76821
    Intel Core i7-2600K 4.5ghz @ 1.35v
    GIGABYTE GA P67A UD5
    G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 2133
    EVGA GTX 560 Ti 448 Classified Ultra
    Corsair AX 1200w Professional Series
    Noctua NH-D14
    Corsair Force 120GB SSD

  11. #11
    Benching Team Leader
    Grabbed Senior
    Janus67's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Ohio State
    Posts
    12,173
    Try running the Unigene heaven benchmark as well to see what kind of numbers that you get.

    To be honest though, try the games that you plan on playing for the most part, ignoring crazy high resolutions a single 580 should be plenty.
    Haswell Benching and Gaming: ASRock Z87 OC Formula : Intel i7 4770k w/ Phanteks PH-TC14 : 8GB 2x4GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-2666 : MSI, XFX, and Sapphire R9 290X
    Other Components: Samsung 840 Evo 500GB SSD : 2TB Hitachi : Silverstone Strider Gold 1250W and Seasonic Platinum 1000W : Auria EQ276W 2560x1440


    Folding User Stats

  12. #12
    Member Kohta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Zebulon, North Carolina
    Posts
    615
    Downloading the Unigen Heaven Benchmark now, forgot all about that one.

    I'm running a single monitor at 1920x1080 and so far this is what iv'e jotted down.

    Final Fantasy XIV
    1920x1080 Completely Maxed/Highest Detail 16x QCSAA
    Single GTX 580 Stock - Memory usage: 1988 MB - Avg. 23fps
    SLi 2x GTX 580 Stock - Memory usage: 2088 MB - Avg. 54fps

    Aion
    1920x1080 All settings Highest/Enabled
    Single GTX 580 Stock @ Starter area - Memory usage: 875 MB - Avg. 50fps (I don't know why this sucks so bad, i'm thinking it isn't optimized very well)
    SLi 2x GTX 580 Stock @ Starter area - Memory usage: 507 x2 MB - Avg. 63fps - I play this one the most i don't know why the frame rate sucks so bad, my 5970 stock had no problem with it.

    I did a Siege in Aion the other night with a single GTX 580 and got 27fps, this is terrible because my 5970 at the same settings got a solid 40-50 and nothing below that at any time.

    I'm re-installing GTA IV since i mess around in that right much.

    Speaking of GTA IV, Steam has a deal right now where you can get All the GTA games for $13, GTA 1, GTA 2, GTA 3, GTA Vice City, San Andreas, GTA IV, and the expansion Episodes from Liberty City, all for $13, not a bad deal IMO, I ended up buying them again since i didn't have any of the others.
    Heatware: http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=76821
    Intel Core i7-2600K 4.5ghz @ 1.35v
    GIGABYTE GA P67A UD5
    G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 2133
    EVGA GTX 560 Ti 448 Classified Ultra
    Corsair AX 1200w Professional Series
    Noctua NH-D14
    Corsair Force 120GB SSD

  13. #13
    Member Kohta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Zebulon, North Carolina
    Posts
    615
    Ran Unigen Heaven Benchmark on the default settings 1920x1080 and i tried saving the benchmark results to the desktop but once i exited i couldn't find it, anyway i got an average of 104 fps, that much i remember.

    Here we go, ran it again and saved it.
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by Kohta; 10-23-11 at 10:52 AM.
    Heatware: http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=76821
    Intel Core i7-2600K 4.5ghz @ 1.35v
    GIGABYTE GA P67A UD5
    G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 2133
    EVGA GTX 560 Ti 448 Classified Ultra
    Corsair AX 1200w Professional Series
    Noctua NH-D14
    Corsair Force 120GB SSD

  14. #14
    Member Kohta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Zebulon, North Carolina
    Posts
    615
    So now i run into a dilemma, I would feel bad for refunding it at this point since iv'e opened it, even though in my games it would make very little difference, (~20% gain) but there is no way i can fit my Sound Card in there with both of them.

    I -can- get it under the first card, but it's so close that just slightly placing my finger on the heat pipes of the card makes it grind against the sound card, after alittle bit of heat/time it seems to sag alittle and start making the grinding noise against,, yes, it is that close, plus, it makes it more difficult to cool, unless you guys see something i don't, i either lose a GU or lose my sound card, the sound card makes a pretty big difference in sound clarity, don't really wanna have to buy another motherboard, but it seems that might be the case.

    The PCIe slot at the bottom is a X4 slot, which will make both cards run x4, which would allow me to put the sound card in, but, i run into a problem, for some reason, the Antec 1200 case i have won't let me slide the back of the card in all the way, the tab hits the back of the case because of how the case is designed and the only fix i can think of for that, is to bend it over, but even then i don't think it's going to solve my issue, the sound card doesn't fit in the PCIe 2.0 slot because its pins are situated to far forward.
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by Kohta; 10-23-11 at 12:20 PM.
    Heatware: http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=76821
    Intel Core i7-2600K 4.5ghz @ 1.35v
    GIGABYTE GA P67A UD5
    G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 2133
    EVGA GTX 560 Ti 448 Classified Ultra
    Corsair AX 1200w Professional Series
    Noctua NH-D14
    Corsair Force 120GB SSD

  15. #15
    Member Kohta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Zebulon, North Carolina
    Posts
    615
    More pictures to show how close it is. It's like i have to keep spending more money every time i spend money old lady isn't liking this.
    Attached Images Attached Images    
    Heatware: http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=76821
    Intel Core i7-2600K 4.5ghz @ 1.35v
    GIGABYTE GA P67A UD5
    G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 2133
    EVGA GTX 560 Ti 448 Classified Ultra
    Corsair AX 1200w Professional Series
    Noctua NH-D14
    Corsair Force 120GB SSD

  16. #16
    Member Kohta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Zebulon, North Carolina
    Posts
    615
    GTA IV maxed out gives me about 30 FPS, only using 55% per GPU so it's not working to well.
    Last edited by Kohta; 10-23-11 at 02:30 PM.
    Heatware: http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=76821
    Intel Core i7-2600K 4.5ghz @ 1.35v
    GIGABYTE GA P67A UD5
    G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 2133
    EVGA GTX 560 Ti 448 Classified Ultra
    Corsair AX 1200w Professional Series
    Noctua NH-D14
    Corsair Force 120GB SSD

  17. #17
    Benching Team Leader
    Grabbed Senior
    Janus67's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Ohio State
    Posts
    12,173
    Yeah GTAIV from what I understand really doesn't do well with a multi-gpu setup (from reading about the various graphics improvement packages (ENB I think they are called)).

    So it looks like the card is working, but just not giving you the performance that you are looking for. I would see if you could return the card w/o a 15-20% restocking fee, otherwise may want to give a try at the classies to see if you can put it in between those marks.

    Here's some numbers in a thread that I posted a month or so ago, it is mainly for comparison between 1.5 and 3.0 gb cards, but also has SLI numbers.
    http://www.overclockers.com/forums/s...d.php?t=684954
    Haswell Benching and Gaming: ASRock Z87 OC Formula : Intel i7 4770k w/ Phanteks PH-TC14 : 8GB 2x4GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-2666 : MSI, XFX, and Sapphire R9 290X
    Other Components: Samsung 840 Evo 500GB SSD : 2TB Hitachi : Silverstone Strider Gold 1250W and Seasonic Platinum 1000W : Auria EQ276W 2560x1440


    Folding User Stats

  18. #18
    Member Kohta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Zebulon, North Carolina
    Posts
    615
    Quote Originally Posted by Janus67 View Post
    Yeah GTAIV from what I understand really doesn't do well with a multi-gpu setup (from reading about the various graphics improvement packages (ENB I think they are called)).

    So it looks like the card is working, but just not giving you the performance that you are looking for. I would see if you could return the card w/o a 15-20% restocking fee, otherwise may want to give a try at the classies to see if you can put it in between those marks.

    Here's some numbers in a thread that I posted a month or so ago, it is mainly for comparison between 1.5 and 3.0 gb cards, but also has SLI numbers.
    http://www.overclockers.com/forums/s...d.php?t=684954
    Yeah iv'e seen that and a few othe rcomparisons from some deep looking and while many of them claim to have equal performance, i do have one game that likes to have 2000 MB +/- and with my matrix i have a real bad issue with that, GTA IV took only 1300 MB which is fine for the benchmark but after getting into the game MSI Afterburner was showing almost 1800 MB of memory usage and the cores on the GTX 580's are only taxed to 50%, so at that point it would be unoptimized, now if it was using 99% and still crappy frame rates or using more than 2800 MB then i could understand, but thats ok, i'll look around for some patches and see what i can find, Aion on the other hand i am worried about, the VRAM usage is low, but the cores are using 99% on both and the frame rates are horrible, they are worse than the 5970 and that's what worries me, a game developed with CUDA in mind is doing worse than a ATI 5000 card.
    Heatware: http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=76821
    Intel Core i7-2600K 4.5ghz @ 1.35v
    GIGABYTE GA P67A UD5
    G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 2133
    EVGA GTX 560 Ti 448 Classified Ultra
    Corsair AX 1200w Professional Series
    Noctua NH-D14
    Corsair Force 120GB SSD

  19. #19
    Member
    Techjesse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    908
    Hey Kohta, The pic I posted of my MSI GTX 580 Lightnings has two SLI Bridges, I run both when the all Dip switches are on, although you only need one in enable SLI. If you can mount a High CFM fan at the end of your cards your temps will drop 5c-10c. When I was running 3 Way SLI I mounted the fan at the end of my cards (se pic) Works great. TJ
    Last edited by Techjesse; 10-23-11 at 05:08 PM.
    Intel Core i7 3930K - Asus Rampage IV Extreme - Mushkin Redline 16GB 2133 - PowerColor R9 280x TriFire - WD 1TB Black x3 - Intel 530 180GB SSD - LG Blue Ray Burner - I-Inc 28" 1920X1200 - Logitech G105 - Tt eSPORTS THERON USB Wired Laser 5600 dpi Gaming Mouse - EVGA SuperNOVA 1300 G2 PSU - CaseLabs ST10 - Win 7 Ult. SP1 64bit

    RayStorm HP CPU block, RX360 V3 Triple Radiator, Alphacool "Full copper" Monsta 480 80mm thick and 10 FPI, 120mm CM R4 red fans 19dBa @ 2000RPM, XSPC Photon 170 Tube Glass Cylinder Reservoir / Pump Combo (D5 Vario), Monsoon G1/4″ to 7/16″ Compression Fittings, PrimoChill PrimoFlex Advanced LRT Tubing 7/16"ID x 5/8" OD, EK-FC R9 280X CSQ series water blocks, EVGA SuperNOVA 1300 G2 PSU - CaseLabs Merlin ST10 Case planning stage :) Build Log http://www.overclockers.com/forums/s...d.php?t=748131

    http://valid.canardpc.com/cache/banner/id59x7-4.png

  20. #20
    bennoculus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    SoFla/Indiana
    Posts
    1,616
    Wow, great idea and creativity, Techjesse!
    JOIN THE BENCHING TEAM!
    Core i5 2500K @ 5962MHz (DICE Cooling)
    P8P67-DELUXE
    4GB GSkill RipJawsX 2133MHz, 7-9-8-24
    2xGTX580 Matrix SLI
    90GB OCZ Agility 2 SSD
    VenomousX
    Windows 7 Ultimate - SP1
    OptyTrooper: "Be warned though overclocking is a drug."

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •