Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Hates Trashcans
    LOVES GRAMMER
    Theocnoob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Canada. Eh?
    Posts
    9,540

    What is cpu package temp?

    core temperature is the temp of the die.
    Tcase is the temperacure of the IHS?
    What is package temp? The temp of the actual silicon slap the CPU lives on?

    CPUID reads it higher than my core temp so curious.

  2. #2
    Glorious Leader I.M.O.G.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Rootstown, OH
    Posts
    25,172
    Only reading I would pay attention to is the core temperature.

    Tcase is the temp at the center of the IHS.

    No idea what package temp is, or if there's actually a separate probe to actually read that setting or if its a calculated value.

    Subbed to see what others say.
    The OC Forums Way
    We are a team. We are a community. We are a fellowship made strong by mutual respect and shared dedication to the task of enriching all who come here.
    The OC Forums Thank You Thread
    Put your computer to work for our OC Forum Teams!
    Try out our POST TEMPLATES, they save you time answering common questions!

    I spend half my money on CPUs, GPUs, and Liquid Nitrogen. The other half I waste.

  3. #3
    Hates Trashcans
    LOVES GRAMMER
    Theocnoob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Canada. Eh?
    Posts
    9,540
    Quote Originally Posted by I.M.O.G. View Post
    Only reading I would pay attention to is the core temperature.

    Tcase is the temp at the center of the IHS.

    No idea what package temp is, or if there's actually a separate probe to actually read that setting or if its a calculated value.

    Subbed to see what others say.
    I imagine it is indeed Tcase then. What else could it be?

  4. #4
    5up3r m0d3r4t0r
    Overclockers.com Editor

    MattNo5ss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    AL
    Posts
    8,655
    Socket temp maybe

    I haven't heard of package temp either...
    i7 3770K | ASUS Maximus V Gene | 4x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3-1600 9-9-9-24 | EVGA GTX780 SC ACX | 256GB OCZ Vertex 4 | SeaSonic SS-1000XP

    My Overclockers.com Articles | HWBot Profile | Heatware (98-0-0)

    Projects: Copper-Framed, MDF Station | PVC-Framed, MDF Station | Custom Cascade Cart/Case | Untitled TJ07 Build

  5. #5
    Senior Member


    Bobnova's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Humboldt
    Posts
    20,950
    I would guess that it's the socket temp. That's just a guess, though.
    Maybe a sensor on the bottom of the CPU (intel) along with all the little caps?
    "Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe." -- Einstein (maybe)

    Thinking about an Asus motherboard? Think again.

    How to check your PSU with a multimeter.

    17bXw5t51rEBXGavJFMJsC8g7HQgThUGc7

  6. #6
    Hates Trashcans
    LOVES GRAMMER
    Theocnoob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Canada. Eh?
    Posts
    9,540
    Quote Originally Posted by Bobnova View Post
    I would guess that it's the socket temp. That's just a guess, though.
    Maybe a sensor on the bottom of the CPU (intel) along with all the little caps?

    Perhaps. So my socket is getting 80F at points.. That can't be the best thing in the universe...

  7. #7
    5up3r m0d3r4t0r
    Overclockers.com Editor

    MattNo5ss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    AL
    Posts
    8,655
    80F is very cool, only 26.6C. Nothing to worry about.

    My ambient temp is that high at times...
    i7 3770K | ASUS Maximus V Gene | 4x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3-1600 9-9-9-24 | EVGA GTX780 SC ACX | 256GB OCZ Vertex 4 | SeaSonic SS-1000XP

    My Overclockers.com Articles | HWBot Profile | Heatware (98-0-0)

    Projects: Copper-Framed, MDF Station | PVC-Framed, MDF Station | Custom Cascade Cart/Case | Untitled TJ07 Build

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •