Page 11 of 34 FirstFirst ... 10 11 12 21 ... LastLast
Results 201 to 220 of 670
  1. #201
    Vacationing to find my sanity Mutterator
    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Stuck in Maryland...
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Confidence... dig deep and grab some more.

    We are here to help... DO IT!

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

  2. #202
    sp33dball's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    California
    SETI Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by dazedcrazy View Post
    I've gone up as far as 1.40v (afraid to go any higher) and even lowered the multiplier down to 4.0Ghz and it still dies when i run any sort of a stress test
    Are you using the stock cooler, or do you have an aftermarket cpu cooler? It's possible to OC the SB chips with the stock, but I wouldn't suggest it and may also relate to your instability issues.

    I think I was able to get about 4.2~4.4 stable (when I had a 2500k) with the stock cooler, but was having some crazy high temps under load.
    Gigabyte P67A-UD4-B3 ....... ....... Intel i7-2600k (4.8/1.38v, water)
    G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3 9-9-9-24/1.35v @1600 (2x4GB)
    EVGA GeForce GTX 560 Ti 1GB (950/1800, water)
    Corsair TX750-M
    OCZ Solid 3 60GB SSD (SATA III) ...... Seagate Barracuda 1TB (SATA III)


  3. #203
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Quote Originally Posted by sp33dball View Post
    Are you using the stock cooler, or do you have an aftermarket cpu cooler? It's possible to OC the SB chips with the stock, but I wouldn't suggest it and may also relate to your instability issues.

    I think I was able to get about 4.2~4.4 stable (when I had a 2500k) with the stock cooler, but was having some crazy high temps under load.
    I've got a Prolimatech Megahalems heatsink with fan that is cooling the CPU, temps arent the problem as they never go above 68c, i can get it to 4.5Ghz and play a few games and do the normal stuff but as soon i stress test it the PC blue screens or just restarts

  4. #204
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Louisiana
    Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    next time it bsod's on ya copy down the error number
    example if u get the 0x00000101 its more voltage needed.
    so look next time and post it may lead to your problem...
    _____________
    HAF-X (Nvidia Edition)
    i7 2600k (4.5-24/7 1.32v, 5.4)
    Asus P8Z68 V Pro
    16GB Corsair Vengence (4x4)
    1000 Watt CM Silent Pro
    Corsair H100
    EVGA 780 TI SC W/ ACX
    Samsung 840 EVO 1TB
    120 GB OCZ Vertex 3 Max IOP
    600 GB WD Velociraptor 10k

  5. #205
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    San Deigo, CA
    Heatware Profile
    I've got a quick question, I got a stable oc for 4.5ghz and 1.350v. I wanted to see what it needs to run 5.0ghz. I was able to pass 5 runs of IBT with no errors and max temp on one of my highest core was 73*c at 1.385v in bios. I had my LLC at LV6 for the Gigabyte z68x-ud3h-b3

    My question was, when I put the manual volts in bios at 1.385v and when I boot into windows and start latest version of CpuZ, at idle, it shows my Volts at 1.48x. But as soon as I start the IBT, it drops down to 1.38v. Is this normal?

    Also, is 1.385v too high for 5ghz?

    My Cooling:
    EK supreme HF for CPU
    EK FC4890 for the XFX 4890 gxf card
    XSPC RX240 rad with 2x 38mm delta fans in push
    D5 vario w/ x-top v2 as pump top
    400mm EK Res

  6. #206
    Buried The Hatchet
    Lived to Tell the Tale
    Theocnoob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Canada- We only have 1 road.
    Quote Originally Posted by radi4fun View Post
    I've got a quick question, I got a stable oc for 4.5ghz and 1.350v. I wanted to see what it needs to run 5.0ghz. I was able to pass 5 runs of IBT with no errors and max temp on one of my highest core was 73*c at 1.385v in bios. I had my LLC at LV6 for the Gigabyte z68x-ud3h-b3

    My question was, when I put the manual volts in bios at 1.385v and when I boot into windows and start latest version of CpuZ, at idle, it shows my Volts at 1.48x. But as soon as I start the IBT, it drops down to 1.38v. Is this normal?

    Also, is 1.385v too high for 5ghz?

    My Cooling:
    EK supreme HF for CPU
    EK FC4890 for the XFX 4890 gxf card
    XSPC RX240 rad with 2x 38mm delta fans in push
    D5 vario w/ x-top v2 as pump top
    400mm EK Res
    You're seeing a higher voltage due to load line calibration and the way that particular board/bios handles it (are you on the lastest bios?). 1.48v is in the 'I'd worry zone' however 1.385 is not. If you can hold 5Ghz stable at about 1.42v or less under load there's little or no danger to the CPU degradation wise. You need to mess around with LLC in order to get your non-load voltage lower. I'm unfamiliar with this board's bios, so I can't help much beyond that.

    One possibitlity which is often still stable is to allow the system to speedstep frequency and voltage so that under no load you'd be perhaps 2.8Ghz and 1.29v and then jump up to the desired load voltage when load is applied. Not all boards play nice this way but it is a possible solution. You do need to get that 1.48v out of the way as it is too high. If it were intentional and you were just looking to go to the wall and didn't care about the CPU long term go for it but that isn't the case afaik.

    Keep in mind that 5Ghz isn't necessary for you to actually see a big performance increase vs say 4.7 or 4.8 which your CPU could handle at lower voltages. JM2C HTH.

  7. #207
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    United Kingdom

    Smile Great Guide

    I was looking at the guide you guys created and I was stumped before as I had looked at several other guides for OC my i5 2500k. And previous guides i've used in the past have been a little vague on how to OC especially when your dealing with voltages. But with this guide you've broke it down for me step by step. I think its the best by far beginner OC guides for running these series of processors:

    Here's my Rig that I've OC to 4.5Ghz:
    Case: Silverstone RV03
    CPU: i5 2500k
    Cooler: Notua-DH14
    Mobo:GA-Z68XP-UD3 Bios F9d beta
    Memory: Kingston Hyper X 8gb DDR3 4x 2GB sticks
    GPU: Gainward GTX 570 Golden Sample
    HDD: Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
    PSU: Corsair GS 600w

    I've followed the steps with the LLC being level 5, the only thing i tweaked was the VCore which was defaulted to 1.33. As at boot up I could not get windows to be stable as i would get a constant BSOD. So i changed the vcore to 1.38 and kept the Cas settings and voltages for my memory on auto as the underclocking to 1.5v with my sticks at stock 1.6v they would bsod. So i left them on auto and xmp on disabled but changed the 1600mhz which is listed on my sticks.

    After that i then went straight into prime 95 blend test last night running for the first 6hrs here's the results:

    prime blend test temps 60c running vcore 1.06v @ 6hrs by NitrousX123, on Flickr


    As you can see CPU is at 1.44v Max seeing as there were no BSOD and the temps are within the good temps thanks to the cooler. With that i thought i should let it continue running whilst i go to work, i left it running 7:45am this morning:

    prime 95 blend test running 16 hrs 1.06v vcore CPU 1.43v by NitrousX123, on Flickr


    Now after running for 16hrs this evening at 18:30 is the final result on prime, im really impressed as how stable the chip has been on this mobo. Temps were not going above 64c non stop and the cpu voltage had'nt budged at all. As i was so happy with the results to clarify that my chip is stable i went to run intel burn test:


    intel burnintest results by NitrousX123, on Flickr

    I set ibt to 10 tests to see if i could push it further than what was suggested, then left the memory allocation on default which was using approx 6gb of my 8gb of ram. Max temp here was 72c, but it did'nt reach any higher than that the cpu is 1.44 the max.

    Seeing as my clocks are stable at this voltage. How should i go about lowering the voltage? Should I raise the LLC to level 6 or lower the vcore to say about 1.36v and see where i go with all the cores running at full load in prime 95?

  8. #208
    Quote Originally Posted by NitrousX View Post
    I was looking at the guide you guys created and I was stumped before as I had looked at several other guides for OC my i5 2500k. And previous guides i've used in the past have been a little vague on how to OC especially when your dealing with voltages. But with this guide you've broke it down for me step by step. I think its the best by far beginner OC guides for running these series of processors:

    Here's my Rig that I've OC to 4.5Ghz:
    Case: Silverstone RV03
    CPU: i5 2500k
    Cooler: Notua-DH14
    Mobo:GA-Z68XP-UD3 Bios F9d beta
    Memory: Kingston Hyper X 8gb DDR3 4x 2GB sticks
    GPU: Gainward GTX 570 Golden Sample
    HDD: Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
    PSU: Corsair GS 600w

    I've followed the steps with the LLC being level 5, the only thing i tweaked was the VCore which was defaulted to 1.33. As at boot up I could not get windows to be stable as i would get a constant BSOD. So i changed the vcore to 1.38 and kept the Cas settings and voltages for my memory on auto as the underclocking to 1.5v with my sticks at stock 1.6v they would bsod. So i left them on auto and xmp on disabled but changed the 1600mhz which is listed on my sticks.

    After that i then went straight into prime 95 blend test last night running for the first 6hrs here's the results:

    prime blend test temps 60c running vcore 1.06v @ 6hrs by NitrousX123, on Flickr


    As you can see CPU is at 1.44v Max seeing as there were no BSOD and the temps are within the good temps thanks to the cooler. With that i thought i should let it continue running whilst i go to work, i left it running 7:45am this morning:

    prime 95 blend test running 16 hrs 1.06v vcore CPU 1.43v by NitrousX123, on Flickr


    Now after running for 16hrs this evening at 18:30 is the final result on prime, im really impressed as how stable the chip has been on this mobo. Temps were not going above 64c non stop and the cpu voltage had'nt budged at all. As i was so happy with the results to clarify that my chip is stable i went to run intel burn test:


    intel burnintest results by NitrousX123, on Flickr

    I set ibt to 10 tests to see if i could push it further than what was suggested, then left the memory allocation on default which was using approx 6gb of my 8gb of ram. Max temp here was 72c, but it did'nt reach any higher than that the cpu is 1.44 the max.

    Seeing as my clocks are stable at this voltage. How should i go about lowering the voltage? Should I raise the LLC to level 6 or lower the vcore to say about 1.36v and see where i go with all the cores running at full load in prime 95?
    Personally, I have my cpu 100% stable with these settings:

    4.5 GHz core

    1.295 Vcore

    Speedstep ON(2 phases) 1.6 GHz and 4.5 GHz. When CPU usage is over 20%, it kicks up to 4.5 GHz.

    All extra phases off.

    Overspeed protection off

    Execute Disable Bit Enabled

    Intel Virtu tech Enabled(z68)

    Intel VT-D Tech Disabled(not only internal)

    Limit CPUID Maximum=Disabled

    Power Tech Disabled(Important! was unstable before disabling this option, leaves voltages at one static setting.)

    Long Duration Power limit(W)= 200

    Long Duration Maintained(ms)= 1000

    The rest is default settings(on MSI Z68a-GD65(B3))

    -------------------------------------------------------------

    Temps never exceed 60C, even under 5 instances of P95 under maximum heat mode. Using Xigmatek Gaia. I could push this thing higher, but I have no need to, as voltages needed would exceed 1.38Vcore. I stress tested it at 5 GHz with 1.47 Vcore Stable, but temps were exceeding 80C, with that high of a voltage and temp, would be severe degradation. for a .5 GHz gain, just wasn't worth it.
    CPU:------------Intel Core I5 2500k@4.5 Ghz 1.295Vcore
    Motherboard:-MSI Z68A-GD65(B3)
    Memory:-------2x4gb G.skill Ripjaws X DDR3 1600 CL8's@ 8-8-8-24
    Power Supply:Kingwin Lazer Gold series 850w
    Video Card:---EVGA GTX 770
    Case:-----------NZXT Phantom Full White
    HDD:------------Western Digital Caviar 250GB/Western Digital Caviar Black 1tb

  9. #209
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    United Kingdom
    So you have your Chip running on to cores then, so does it feel faster or more the same when it was running 4 cores? I see why your temps are lower than mine though, due to not having all the cores on

  10. #210
    Vacationing to find my sanity Mutterator
    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Stuck in Maryland...
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    I see 4 cores all around in this thread (not two)? At least, the last person that posted...Who are you talking to?

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

  11. #211
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    United Kingdom
    oh sorry i was talking to suppressor

  12. #212
    Vacationing to find my sanity Mutterator
    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Stuck in Maryland...
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    As far as I can tell he is also on 4 cores (though I cant really tell as he doesnt have pictures nor did I see a mention of 2 cores)...

    To answer the question though, 2 cores are as fast as 4 cores (for those applications that dont use more than 2 cores).

    Wait wait wait.. I think I see... Are you talking where he says SPEEDSTEP/PHASES? That is awfully awkward wording. I never saw an option in any motherboard where you can change the number of 'phases' in speedstep, nor did I know of a specific load % where it ramps up...never paid attention though.

    'Extra Phases' Im guessing he means the sleep states (C1/C3/C6, etc). Phases is normally a term associated with the power delivery system of a motherboard. For example, board "A" has a 12 phase PWM. He will have to chime in to clarify what he is talking about though. But looking at the context, I think its sleep states and speedstep not the number of active cores.

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

  13. #213
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Yeah i was confused to I know about the power phases their the capcitor caps on the mobo that turn on/off depending on the load on the chip. Hopefully he clarifies it

  14. #214
    Yeah, was refering to C states. I only have C1 and C6 on, sorry for the late reply. All 4 cores running. Those settings were read off of MSI Control Center(I use it to view if settings applied from bios/uefi)

    HWMON doesn't show the third place over on voltages, so it jumps in between 1.29 and 1.30, Screen shots will come in a sec.

    One Final update. Bios used in this is American Megatrends Version 22.2, or M.2 could be a good OC bios...idk.

    SS:



    Not entirely sure why its 4500.1, It jumps around from 4500.4 to 4499.7. The voltage jump arounds coincide with this too, which is why I'm stumped, but not caring. It works, temps are fine, just a little quirk I guess.

    *Edit* No longer am I running under 60C...I never updated to Win7 SP1, so I was getting literally half of my cpu power...WOO! New load temps are irritating, but stable. 68C on intel burn test, 117 Gflops speed, as opposed to the 63 I was getting before...will update as I stability test this new found power.
    Last edited by Suppressor1137; 01-20-12 at 04:27 AM.
    CPU:------------Intel Core I5 2500k@4.5 Ghz 1.295Vcore
    Motherboard:-MSI Z68A-GD65(B3)
    Memory:-------2x4gb G.skill Ripjaws X DDR3 1600 CL8's@ 8-8-8-24
    Power Supply:Kingwin Lazer Gold series 850w
    Video Card:---EVGA GTX 770
    Case:-----------NZXT Phantom Full White
    HDD:------------Western Digital Caviar 250GB/Western Digital Caviar Black 1tb

  15. #215
    Vacationing to find my sanity Mutterator
    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Stuck in Maryland...
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Thats normal Supp...all of it. If you dont like the clocks jumping, disable spread spectrum. Voltages, there is nothing you can do about that.

    What does SP1 have to do with half of your computing power? What are you trying to say now?

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

  16. #216
    SP1 enables the use of the AVX Instruction set for SB processors. Essentially, I wasn't at its full capacity is all..Now I am.
    CPU:------------Intel Core I5 2500k@4.5 Ghz 1.295Vcore
    Motherboard:-MSI Z68A-GD65(B3)
    Memory:-------2x4gb G.skill Ripjaws X DDR3 1600 CL8's@ 8-8-8-24
    Power Supply:Kingwin Lazer Gold series 850w
    Video Card:---EVGA GTX 770
    Case:-----------NZXT Phantom Full White
    HDD:------------Western Digital Caviar 250GB/Western Digital Caviar Black 1tb

  17. #217
    Vacationing to find my sanity Mutterator
    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Stuck in Maryland...
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    ahh, ok...Thanks for clearing that comment up. You use a lot of FP operation applications I guess.

    .

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

  18. #218
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    United Kingdom
    yeah thanks again suppressor, @ earthdog what do you think of my setup see my screen shots above. Do you think i should see wether i can lower voltage lower, if so so should i stay on llc level 5 or switch to something different?
    Case: Silverstone Raven RV03
    CPU: i5 2500k oc 4.5Ghz
    Cooler: Notua-DH14
    Mobo: Gigabyte GA-Z68XP-UD3
    GPU: Gainward GTX 570 SLi
    SDD: Intel 520 Cherryville 120Gb
    HDD: Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB, Seagate Barracuda 3TB, Samsung M3 1TB
    Memory: Corsair Vengeance oc 1600mhz 8GB DDR3 2x 4 sticks
    PSU: Corsair HX1000W

  19. #219
    lower it in increments of .005 voltage to be on the safe side. It might be your mobo just needing extra juice, but More voltage=More Heat. If you can lower voltages, you decrease heat AND lengthen its lifespan.

    The range I would shoot for is 1.3-1.385 for 4.5 GHz. DEF stay below 1.4...for me that meant a 10C increase.

    If all else fails, A temp limit would be 80C under unrealistic loads, and you should be good for daily 24/7 use.

    I started at 4.5 GHz @ 1.35 VCore, try from there.
    CPU:------------Intel Core I5 2500k@4.5 Ghz 1.295Vcore
    Motherboard:-MSI Z68A-GD65(B3)
    Memory:-------2x4gb G.skill Ripjaws X DDR3 1600 CL8's@ 8-8-8-24
    Power Supply:Kingwin Lazer Gold series 850w
    Video Card:---EVGA GTX 770
    Case:-----------NZXT Phantom Full White
    HDD:------------Western Digital Caviar 250GB/Western Digital Caviar Black 1tb

  20. #220
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    United Kingdom
    i've tried that the hwmonitor says that the cpu vcore is 1.20v but it bsod.
    And thats when I put the memory into XMP mode running at 1600mhz.
    I have a gut feeling it could be to do with my memory as the stock voltage is 1.6v and i've heard recently that SB chips do fair well with 1.6v memory much.
    And for me to get to 4.5ghz i have type in 1.37 on the vcore for it to run stable.
    Case: Silverstone Raven RV03
    CPU: i5 2500k oc 4.5Ghz
    Cooler: Notua-DH14
    Mobo: Gigabyte GA-Z68XP-UD3
    GPU: Gainward GTX 570 SLi
    SDD: Intel 520 Cherryville 120Gb
    HDD: Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB, Seagate Barracuda 3TB, Samsung M3 1TB
    Memory: Corsair Vengeance oc 1600mhz 8GB DDR3 2x 4 sticks
    PSU: Corsair HX1000W

Page 11 of 34 FirstFirst ... 10 11 12 21 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •