Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst ... 2 3
Results 41 to 55 of 55
  1. #41
    Insatiably Malcontent
    Senior Member
    johan851's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    8,372
    Very interesting.
    ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 | 2500K @ 4.6GHz | 2x4GB Samsung DDR3 | GTX 750 Ti 2GB
    120GB Crucial M4 | 2x 2TB Samsung F4 | Seasonic S12 600w
    y2 DAC --> Custom M^3 --> Custom LM3875 ChipAmp --> Modula MTs
    Dual Dell 2007WFP | Watercooled

  2. #42
    Premium Member #5


    bmwbaxter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Hamilton, Ontario
    Posts
    3,599
    Quote Originally Posted by Evilsizer View Post
    if newegg pics do hold true i found my gem! as far as the IC goes they are the same but seem to have different location manufacturing, im guessing by the difference in the top and lower numbers/letters. the main thing is the K4B section, now the interesting part the pic i posted is from SO-DIMMs at the same stock speed/timings@1.35v. while it isnt that big of a deal since you cant oc laptops, it is good for smaller boards. that still have some ocing features but use so-dimms.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820147090
    very nice. are you atleast able to tighten timings with cputweaker or a program of the like?

    because even at stock speeds I was able too tighten timings to 7-8-7-20-1t. but that was 1.5v I am curious as to if the so-DIMM IC's can muster any increase.
    SSD > PCMark 05
    freeagent - Torture is watching all these 2600k's kicking my rig in the mosfets

  3. #43
    Senior Fourm Spammer

    Evilsizer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Austin,Texas
    Posts
    18,651
    on the current sodimm's in my i3 330m, it will do 7-6-6 but i can not change first cas in cpu tweaker

    Intel G3258@4.2ghz | Asrock Z97M OC Formula | Galaxy GTX660 GC | PM840 Pro 128GB, PM830 FDE 250GB | SilverStone ST45SF
    i3 370M | Jetway NF98 | 2x2gig DDR3-1066 | pico 120WI | Asus GT630 2GB (GK208) |
    intel i5 2450M


    "I Love To Camp!"
    "Commensing Shock Therapy!"
    I'm jonnyGURU of jonnyGURU.com and we don't overload PSU's - JonnyGURU

    HeatWare

  4. #44
    BugFreak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,010
    Everything is in and running. I have started with everything set to auto except for memory at 1.5v and 1T. It booted right up to 9,9,9,24 1T

    I will be tweaking the timings and speeds for the next couple days and will post as I go so let me know some tests you guys want on them.
    AMD Phenom 1055T @ 3.4
    ASUS M4A89TD Pro
    Mushkin Redline 996999 PC31600 7,8,7,24 1T
    MSI R290 @ 1000/1250
    Monsta 240, MCP 655, UT60 360, XSPC Rasa, ek R290X Acetel


    "Those who would sacrifice a little freedom for a little order, will lose both, and deserve neither." - Thomas Jefferson

  5. #45
    Insatiably Malcontent
    Senior Member
    johan851's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    8,372
    Quote Originally Posted by BugFreak View Post
    Everything is in and running. I have started with everything set to auto except for memory at 1.5v and 1T. It booted right up to 9,9,9,24 1T

    I will be tweaking the timings and speeds for the next couple days and will post as I go so let me know some tests you guys want on them.
    You could just try the speeds and timings from the review.
    ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 | 2500K @ 4.6GHz | 2x4GB Samsung DDR3 | GTX 750 Ti 2GB
    120GB Crucial M4 | 2x 2TB Samsung F4 | Seasonic S12 600w
    y2 DAC --> Custom M^3 --> Custom LM3875 ChipAmp --> Modula MTs
    Dual Dell 2007WFP | Watercooled

  6. #46
    BugFreak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,010
    Sure, state the obvious why don't ya. BTW here is a shot of my chips.

    EDIT 1: So far the 7,8,7,20 is not stable. I can get into Windows fine but Super PI 32m fails on the first round. I even upped them to 1.6v. 2T and 1T changed nothing as well.

    EDIT 2: In an attempt to be lazy I was hoping to keep everything as my sig states and pop in the ram which has not worked. I have since put everything else to stock and so far seem to be more stable at 7,8,7,20 1T. I'll repost after I get some speeds worth posting.
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by BugFreak; 12-19-11 at 07:34 PM.
    AMD Phenom 1055T @ 3.4
    ASUS M4A89TD Pro
    Mushkin Redline 996999 PC31600 7,8,7,24 1T
    MSI R290 @ 1000/1250
    Monsta 240, MCP 655, UT60 360, XSPC Rasa, ek R290X Acetel


    "Those who would sacrifice a little freedom for a little order, will lose both, and deserve neither." - Thomas Jefferson

  7. #47
    Insatiably Malcontent
    Senior Member
    johan851's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    8,372
    They're OOS now. Of course.
    ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 | 2500K @ 4.6GHz | 2x4GB Samsung DDR3 | GTX 750 Ti 2GB
    120GB Crucial M4 | 2x 2TB Samsung F4 | Seasonic S12 600w
    y2 DAC --> Custom M^3 --> Custom LM3875 ChipAmp --> Modula MTs
    Dual Dell 2007WFP | Watercooled

  8. #48
    BugFreak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,010
    Update: After setting everything back to stock I still can't get the pc stable at 7,8,7,20 T1 1600. It did pass Memtest+ at 7,8,7,20 1T 1333 all night though. So far I have tried up to 1.65v to try and get it stable but tests 4 or 5 fail every time.

    My other settings are:
    cpu- 2800
    cpuv- 1.475v
    cpu/nb- 1.25
    vdda- 2.5v
    nbv- 1.2
    nb1.8- 1.8
    htv 1.2
    sbv 1.10

    I realize the volts might be high for stock but they are what the pc has ran stable with sig speeds for months so I just left them as is. Let me know any thoughts or ideas on getting it stable and I'll give them a shot.

    Current settings I am testing are below.
    Attached Images Attached Images    
    AMD Phenom 1055T @ 3.4
    ASUS M4A89TD Pro
    Mushkin Redline 996999 PC31600 7,8,7,24 1T
    MSI R290 @ 1000/1250
    Monsta 240, MCP 655, UT60 360, XSPC Rasa, ek R290X Acetel


    "Those who would sacrifice a little freedom for a little order, will lose both, and deserve neither." - Thomas Jefferson

  9. #49
    Insatiably Malcontent
    Senior Member
    johan851's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    8,372
    That's disappointing. I'd be interested in the higher bandwidth tests too, since that's what SB seems to like.
    ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 | 2500K @ 4.6GHz | 2x4GB Samsung DDR3 | GTX 750 Ti 2GB
    120GB Crucial M4 | 2x 2TB Samsung F4 | Seasonic S12 600w
    y2 DAC --> Custom M^3 --> Custom LM3875 ChipAmp --> Modula MTs
    Dual Dell 2007WFP | Watercooled

  10. #50
    Premium Member #5


    bmwbaxter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Hamilton, Ontario
    Posts
    3,599
    I was also running on an i7 870 that has been known to have a very stong IMC. try running a higher speed see if you can get atleast 1800mhz @ 9-9-9-24.

    also is your system able to do 1600mhz @ 8-8-8-20?
    SSD > PCMark 05
    freeagent - Torture is watching all these 2600k's kicking my rig in the mosfets

  11. #51
    BugFreak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,010
    I was just able to get through a couple passes of Memtest at 8,8,7,24 1600 so I am going to start playing with the speed to see if I can get anything. I'm trying to keep the faith but it is fading quickly.

    johan I'll try and get higher bandwidths going but this setup is only confirmed stable at 1600 and is an AMD after all. I'll repost in a bit.
    AMD Phenom 1055T @ 3.4
    ASUS M4A89TD Pro
    Mushkin Redline 996999 PC31600 7,8,7,24 1T
    MSI R290 @ 1000/1250
    Monsta 240, MCP 655, UT60 360, XSPC Rasa, ek R290X Acetel


    "Those who would sacrifice a little freedom for a little order, will lose both, and deserve neither." - Thomas Jefferson

  12. #52
    BugFreak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,010
    Well after multiple settings and tests I can't get the system stable with these sticks in. Based on the voltages above does anyone have some input on what could be changed to make it a little more stable? Otherwise I am going to call these a dud.
    AMD Phenom 1055T @ 3.4
    ASUS M4A89TD Pro
    Mushkin Redline 996999 PC31600 7,8,7,24 1T
    MSI R290 @ 1000/1250
    Monsta 240, MCP 655, UT60 360, XSPC Rasa, ek R290X Acetel


    "Those who would sacrifice a little freedom for a little order, will lose both, and deserve neither." - Thomas Jefferson

  13. #53
    Premium Member #5


    bmwbaxter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Hamilton, Ontario
    Posts
    3,599
    Are they listed on your motherboards qualified vendors list?

  14. #54
    Insatiably Malcontent
    Senior Member
    johan851's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    8,372
    A bit of a resurrect, but I finally grabbed some of this RAM to replace my Mushkin. Most DDR3 doesn't overclock worth crap beyond its rated specs, and all I was able to do with my Mushkin was to go from 9-9-9 1T to 8-9-8 1T at 1600MHz with a voltage bump.

    I've been playing with the Samsung this morning. All the dual channel kits are sold about, but I grabbed two individual 4GB sticks. I got a clean pass of Memtest86+ at 2133MHz, 10-11-10-27 1T @ 1.47v. I'm running a Prime95 blend now. Pretty awesome stuff!
    ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 | 2500K @ 4.6GHz | 2x4GB Samsung DDR3 | GTX 750 Ti 2GB
    120GB Crucial M4 | 2x 2TB Samsung F4 | Seasonic S12 600w
    y2 DAC --> Custom M^3 --> Custom LM3875 ChipAmp --> Modula MTs
    Dual Dell 2007WFP | Watercooled

  15. #55
    Member Rattle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Home... again
    Posts
    8,356
    Running these at 2000 9-9-9-24 1T @ 1.55v 24/7 here
    Z87-GD65 | 4770k | H100 | 16gb Sammy 30nm 1866 | GTX780 SC | Xonar Essence Stx | BIC DV62si | ATH AD700 | 550d | AX850 | VG24QE | 840pro 256gb | 5tb | CherryReds | m60 | Func1030 |

    HEAT

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst ... 2 3

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •