Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 42
  1. #21
    Benching Senior on Siesta
    Premium Member #8


    Brolloks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Land of Long Horns
    Posts
    7,508
    Thanks Mark...and Matt

  2. #22
    Member MarkS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    631
    It looks like a good board, although I am not too impressed with the heat sink design. I would be embarrassed for someone to see that in my possession. Those "bullets" really do look like metal crayons. I would probably just remove them and water cool the chipset and mosfets. Still, I'm waiting for a dual-CPU board...

  3. #23
    Special Member ★ madhatter256's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    CFL
    Posts
    2,256
    And I thought the gigabyte "sniper" series motherboards had tacky heatsinks...

    It makes the board look like a gimmick.

  4. #24
    Senior Member
    nzaneb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Northern Indiana
    Posts
    3,562
    Quote Originally Posted by MarkS View Post
    Still, I'm waiting for a dual-CPU board...
    You'll need an SR3 and Xeon CPU's for that little venture.
    N-Zane-B
    Forging the way for Overclockers.com World Domination
    Join us on the benching team
    !


  5. #25
    Premium Member #5


    bmwbaxter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Hamilton, Ontario
    Posts
    3,601
    Quote Originally Posted by MarkS View Post
    Still, I'm waiting for a dual-CPU board...
    Quote Originally Posted by nzaneb View Post
    You'll need an SR3 and Xeon CPU's for that little venture.
    I believe the x79 one is going to be called SRX not SR3

    they posted an article about some stuff EVGA has at CES and they have a picture of the SRX in it. it looks sexy
    SSD > PCMark 05
    freeagent - Torture is watching all these 2600k's kicking my rig in the mosfets

  6. #26
    Member MarkS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    631
    Ah. I am not going to spend the money on two Xeon CPUs.

  7. #27
    Senior Member
    nzaneb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Northern Indiana
    Posts
    3,562
    Quote Originally Posted by MarkS View Post
    Ah. I am not going to spend the money on two Xeon CPUs.
    Unfortunately only Xeon CPU's have the ability to communicate with eachother in a Dual CPU setup, and not all Xeon CPU's are even capable of it.

    Starting with Nehalem you had Gainestown and Beckton; then you had the Westmere line with Westmere-EP and Westmere-EX, that were capable. Xeon grade: Clarkdale, Lynnfield, Bloomfield, Jasper Forest, Gulftown... all incapable.
    N-Zane-B
    Forging the way for Overclockers.com World Domination
    Join us on the benching team
    !


  8. #28
    Member MarkS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    631
    I was unaware of that. The performance of a dual-CPU setup just doesn't justify the price of Xeon CPUs. At least not in my case.

  9. #29
    Member DigitalMonkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    406
    Does anyone know the wattage and voltage of each 4-pin PWM output on this mobo?
    Project Akachi Coming Soon...

  10. #30
    Researches Meritless
    LIES for the Front
    Page and Super Mutterator

    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Stuck in Maryland...
    Posts
    45,776
    Its usually not much... I cant imagine more than 1A(12W) would be safe to put on a mobo fan header... but I could be wrong on this robust board.

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

  11. #31
    Member DigitalMonkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    406
    Quote Originally Posted by EarthDog View Post
    Its usually not much... I cant imagine more than 1A(12W) would be safe to put on a mobo fan header... but I could be wrong on this robust board.
    The reason why I asked is because I wanted to connect some MCP35X pumps via PMW.
    Project Akachi Coming Soon...

  12. #32
    Researches Meritless
    LIES for the Front
    Page and Super Mutterator

    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Stuck in Maryland...
    Posts
    45,776
    Not sure I would do that.. those are over 1A. I will email the MSI rep and ask as I dont see it listed anywhere. I will report back for you.

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

  13. #33
    5up3r m0d3r4t0r
    Overclockers.com Editor

    MattNo5ss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    AL
    Posts
    8,667
    The pumps only use the PWM and sense wires to connect to the motherboard, they use a 4pin Molex for power. So, you should be good.
    i7 4770K | ASRock Z87M OC Formula | 2x8GB Crucial Ballistix DDR3-1600 8-8-8-24 1.35v | EVGA GTX780 SC ACX | ASUS Xonar Essence STX | 256GB OCZ Vertex 4 | SeaSonic SS-1000XP
    Pentium G3258 | ASUS Z87I-Deluxe | 2x8GB Crucial Ballistix DDR3-1600 8-8-8-24 1.35v | 50GB OCZ Vertex 2

    My Overclockers.com Articles | HWBot Profile | Heatware (99-0-0)

    Projects: Copper-Framed, MDF Station | PVC-Framed, MDF Station | Custom Cascade Cart/Case | Untitled TJ07 Build


  14. #34
    Member DigitalMonkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    406
    The pumps will be connected to 4-pin molex for power and the pwm will be used for monitoring the pump speed.
    Project Akachi Coming Soon...

  15. #35
    Researches Meritless
    LIES for the Front
    Page and Super Mutterator

    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Stuck in Maryland...
    Posts
    45,776
    Oh... heh... well, now that is clear (sorry dont own that pump, though you were powering it over a PWM). Like MattNo said, shouldnt be an issue as that is just an RPM signal essentially.

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

  16. #36
    Member DigitalMonkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    406
    Im just being cautious, just making sure I dont up my mobo once I get it.
    Project Akachi Coming Soon...

  17. #37
    Senior Member
    Hardass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    S.W. Florida.
    Posts
    2,967
    Great review, but I would expect no less from you.
    Folding User Stats

  18. Thanks!

    Brolloks (01-18-12)

  19. #38
    Member DigitalMonkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    406
    Will this mobo ever come to the US?
    Project Akachi Coming Soon...

  20. #39
    TheQuadFather's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Hampshire, England
    Posts
    1,115
    those heatsinks.. i never thought the old msi big bang design was bad, i like the switch to black but the thing about bullets and ammo cartridges like on the assassin boards from gigabyte need to go.
    This is not the signature you are looking for.

    Please Fold For Team32!

  21. #40
    Benching Senior on Siesta
    Premium Member #8


    Brolloks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Land of Long Horns
    Posts
    7,508
    Quote Originally Posted by DigitalMonkey View Post
    Will this mobo ever come to the US?
    Good question, will ask the MSI rep

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •