Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Member Pvt.Dancer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Wilsonville, OR

    Blu-ray backup software

    Hey guys,

    Iv been searching a little bit but while i search I wanted to get some opinions on ways to start backing up my collection. I was looking at Sly soft's set of programs but they don't do Blu-ray's at this time except anyDVD HD which I'm not sure it would be worth getting along side a program to do the actual backups.

    so any ways thanks for the suggestions!

    EDIT: Though I did just realize that Any DVD HD rips blu-rays.
    Last edited by Pvt.Dancer; 02-28-12 at 11:06 PM.
    Main Rig
    Mobo: ASUS Maximus IV Extreme CPU: Intel I7 2600K @ 4.8 GHZ Vcore 1.48 Cooling: Custom water cooling 3x120 rad, EK supreme HF full copper, EK 150 basic res, Koolance PMP-450 High-flow Pump RAM:16GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2300 GFX: ASUS GTX 690 PSU: Corsair HX 850 Case: Corsair 800D

    Server
    CPU: 2x Xeon x5550 Memory: 48GB DDR3 1333 ECC REG 8x QR HDD's: 3x 15k SAS 350GB Raid 5 & 3x 7200 RPM SAS 1TB Raid 5

  2. #2
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    I would suggest getting MakeMKV for the rip and Handbrake for the compression. MakeMKV works very good compared to every other program I've ever used to rip DVD/Bluray to disks. Select what you want and hit go. It is just that simple. When I get enough Bluray disks that I need to do another round of reading in, I'm buying the program.

    For Handbrake, I can feed in a queue of videos, mash the go button and let it run. For DVDs, I use a "constant quality" of 20 (higher quality) and I get 0.92 gb per movie average (out of 251). For Bluray, I use a "constant quality" of 22 (lesser quality) and I get 3.39 gb per movie average (out of 31). The reason you use lower quality is because the resolution is higher. I don't accept any visible/audible loss in quality and I cannot tell the difference between the original and the compressed.
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  3. Thanks!

    txus.palacios (02-29-12)

  4. #3
    Premium Member #18 txus.palacios's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Cádiz (Spain)
    Benching Profile Folding Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by thideras View Post
    I would suggest getting MakeMKV for the rip and Handbrake for the compression. MakeMKV works very good compared to every other program I've ever used to rip DVD/Bluray to disks. Select what you want and hit go. It is just that simple. When I get enough Bluray disks that I need to do another round of reading in, I'm buying the program.

    For Handbrake, I can feed in a queue of videos, mash the go button and let it run. For DVDs, I use a "constant quality" of 20 (higher quality) and I get 0.92 gb per movie average (out of 251). For Bluray, I use a "constant quality" of 22 (lesser quality) and I get 3.39 gb per movie average (out of 31). The reason you use lower quality is because the resolution is higher. I don't accept any visible/audible loss in quality and I cannot tell the difference between the original and the compressed.
    ^This.
    Maximus V Gene | i5-2500k @ 4.5GHz (ekHF) | 16GiB | GTX470 SLI @ 800MHz (ekFC) | m4 128GB | Arch + Win8
    [ more info... ]


    The only sound I want to hear out of my computer (unless I'm gaming or watching a movie) is the hum of my 6000 rpm fan pushing air through my heatsink. - Seebs
    If I turn up dead, somebody make sure they put "should have just benched in the cold" on my tombstone, along with my most recent superpi32m score. - I.M.O.G.
    I didn't go water-cooling for an air-cooling Vcore!! - bluezero5
    I'll rm -rf /yourface/* - thideras

  5. #4
    Member Pvt.Dancer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Wilsonville, OR
    I'm trying out both of them (any DVD\Make MKV) just to see which one i like better. though Make MKV has me won over so far I like how it works... and the price!

    Edit: Though one thing i was thinking about is future updates. How long has Make MKV been around? and are they going to be there for future support if they put in a new encryption to block us from making copies? I know that sly soft has been around for a while but eek the price!
    Main Rig
    Mobo: ASUS Maximus IV Extreme CPU: Intel I7 2600K @ 4.8 GHZ Vcore 1.48 Cooling: Custom water cooling 3x120 rad, EK supreme HF full copper, EK 150 basic res, Koolance PMP-450 High-flow Pump RAM:16GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2300 GFX: ASUS GTX 690 PSU: Corsair HX 850 Case: Corsair 800D

    Server
    CPU: 2x Xeon x5550 Memory: 48GB DDR3 1333 ECC REG 8x QR HDD's: 3x 15k SAS 350GB Raid 5 & 3x 7200 RPM SAS 1TB Raid 5

  6. #5
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    I can't find it for sure, but it looks to be right around when Bluray was released. They have a version history section, but not all of them have dates.
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  7. #6
    Member Pvt.Dancer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Wilsonville, OR
    I just like having support lol just in case but so far their the clear choice between the two of them.
    Main Rig
    Mobo: ASUS Maximus IV Extreme CPU: Intel I7 2600K @ 4.8 GHZ Vcore 1.48 Cooling: Custom water cooling 3x120 rad, EK supreme HF full copper, EK 150 basic res, Koolance PMP-450 High-flow Pump RAM:16GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2300 GFX: ASUS GTX 690 PSU: Corsair HX 850 Case: Corsair 800D

    Server
    CPU: 2x Xeon x5550 Memory: 48GB DDR3 1333 ECC REG 8x QR HDD's: 3x 15k SAS 350GB Raid 5 & 3x 7200 RPM SAS 1TB Raid 5

  8. #7
    Member Pvt.Dancer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Wilsonville, OR
    Thideras have you had any issues with stability with hand break? it seems to crash alot for me. it doesn't do it during the compression but when it launches.
    Main Rig
    Mobo: ASUS Maximus IV Extreme CPU: Intel I7 2600K @ 4.8 GHZ Vcore 1.48 Cooling: Custom water cooling 3x120 rad, EK supreme HF full copper, EK 150 basic res, Koolance PMP-450 High-flow Pump RAM:16GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2300 GFX: ASUS GTX 690 PSU: Corsair HX 850 Case: Corsair 800D

    Server
    CPU: 2x Xeon x5550 Memory: 48GB DDR3 1333 ECC REG 8x QR HDD's: 3x 15k SAS 350GB Raid 5 & 3x 7200 RPM SAS 1TB Raid 5

  9. #8
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    I've never had an issue when the program launches. I would delete what you have now and re-download it. If that doesn't work, try the second-newest version.

    I have had issues with the Windows version deciding to suddenly stop when rending very large videos. I had to get the nightly release to fix that issue, but this was awhile back. Now, I just use it in Linux and it works perfectly.
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  10. #9
    Member Pvt.Dancer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Wilsonville, OR
    I noticed it happens alot after i select the video file which is a .mkv when i select the settings i saved as a preset it freezes every time. ill try a reinstall though i started compressing a video lol ill try a reinstall after this though. Thanks
    Main Rig
    Mobo: ASUS Maximus IV Extreme CPU: Intel I7 2600K @ 4.8 GHZ Vcore 1.48 Cooling: Custom water cooling 3x120 rad, EK supreme HF full copper, EK 150 basic res, Koolance PMP-450 High-flow Pump RAM:16GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2300 GFX: ASUS GTX 690 PSU: Corsair HX 850 Case: Corsair 800D

    Server
    CPU: 2x Xeon x5550 Memory: 48GB DDR3 1333 ECC REG 8x QR HDD's: 3x 15k SAS 350GB Raid 5 & 3x 7200 RPM SAS 1TB Raid 5

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •