Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 ... LastLast
Results 41 to 60 of 111
  1. #41
    Senior Member Mr Alpha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Ok, I've changed my mind. Metro is horrible. They've broken Start Menu Search. I can no longer access the device manger simple by hitting the windows key, typing "device manager" and hitting enter,

  2. #42
    Premium Member #18 txus.palacios's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Cádiz (Spain)
    Benching Profile Folding Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr Alpha View Post
    Ok, I've changed my mind. Metro is horrible. They've broken Start Menu Search. I can no longer access the device manger simple by hitting the windows key, typing "device manager" and hitting enter,
    No, please, tell me you're joking. So I can no longer run commands just by hitting Win and typing it?...

    Metro just lost a few points. A HUGE FEW points...
    Maximus V Gene | i5-2500k @ 4.5GHz (ekHF) | 16GiB | GTX470 SLI @ 800MHz (ekFC) | m4 128GB | Arch + Win8
    [ more info... ]


    The only sound I want to hear out of my computer (unless I'm gaming or watching a movie) is the hum of my 6000 rpm fan pushing air through my heatsink. - Seebs
    If I turn up dead, somebody make sure they put "should have just benched in the cold" on my tombstone, along with my most recent superpi32m score. - I.M.O.G.
    I didn't go water-cooling for an air-cooling Vcore!! - bluezero5
    I'll rm -rf /yourface/* - thideras

  3. #43
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Hong Kong
    I'm experiencing slight stutters and freezes with Win 8. Anybody else having the same problem?
    CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 840
    CPU Cooler: Stock AMD
    MB: Magic-Pro MP-BA500PRO1 (AMD 890GX+SB850)
    Graphic: XFX HD6850 and MSI HD5450
    Ram: ADATA DDR-3 1333 2x4GB
    PSU: Antec NeoECO 520W
    OS: Win 7 x64

  4. #44
    Premium Member #18 txus.palacios's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Cádiz (Spain)
    Benching Profile Folding Profile
    OK, the problem with the VM was that it seems I downloaded a corrupt ISO. Working like a charm on VMWare Workstation 8 right now.

    And, @MrAlpha, you can still hit the Windows key, type a command, and it'll run it. You have to enable a feature called Show Administrative Tools or something among those lines to be able to hit the Windows key, type something like Device Manager (instead of the command, if you type devmgmt.msc, it ignores that) and run it.

    First impressions are that this will rock on tablets and multitouch AIO systems, but at least, for me, I'll stick with Win7. Win8 Consumer Preview does not include the new filesystem (at least, it formatted my VMWare HDD as NTFS). I hope they release it.

    They use a very similar wallpaper as they used on Win7 RCs, a fish, but this one is like a collage. I like it.
    Maximus V Gene | i5-2500k @ 4.5GHz (ekHF) | 16GiB | GTX470 SLI @ 800MHz (ekFC) | m4 128GB | Arch + Win8
    [ more info... ]


    The only sound I want to hear out of my computer (unless I'm gaming or watching a movie) is the hum of my 6000 rpm fan pushing air through my heatsink. - Seebs
    If I turn up dead, somebody make sure they put "should have just benched in the cold" on my tombstone, along with my most recent superpi32m score. - I.M.O.G.
    I didn't go water-cooling for an air-cooling Vcore!! - bluezero5
    I'll rm -rf /yourface/* - thideras

  5. #45
    C'mon guys it's really made for their $60,000 tabletop computer. That and an idiot to man it. kidding
    Isn't there supposed to be some built-in process of internet activation (like crapple) which supposedly has already been hacked?

    OS's, from my point of view, are nothing but a layer between you and a goal. All these eye candy crap wannabe touch(me elmo)phone interfaces do is tie you physically to something someone else made to take your attention ($'s nice too which then makes you a model slave). Nothing more nothing less. I love how apple likes to come out with new hardware at least twice a year. retarded imho
    Last edited by habbajabba; 03-03-12 at 07:23 AM.
    Intel Northwood @3.06 GHz
    Biostar microatx
    2 GB DDR2 675
    Evga 8400gs
    Samsung 2232GW 2ms 22"
    Altec Lansing 2.1 speakers
    Memorex ext usb burner
    Win7Ult 32bit/Manjaro dualboot
    WD cav blue 320gb
    Samsung F4 2tb
    WD Blue 2tb
    CP850avrlcd ups

  6. #46
    Member mgsickler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Morgantown, WV
    Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by gangaskan View Post
    microsoft thought of that.


    bottom left hand corner if you click you get the start menu, top left your recent apps.


    you can also pin your desktop and any app together, i'm not sure how to do it, but i saw it in a preview.
    I know of the desktop feature in Win 8, but I want it to boot that way without Metro UI at all.

    It is also a big pain not having a start menu and having to go through the Metro UI to find any app.

    Tablet = Yes
    Desktop/Laptop = Terrible and No

    Gaming Rig:
    i7 2700k:Gigabyte GA-Z68XP-UD4:2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1866:EVGA 680 GTX:Cooler Master Silent Pro Gold 1200 Watt:256GB Crucial M4
    heat

  7. #47
    Member aerick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Port Orange FL
    Where's the screenshots? if you don't mind.
    Cooler Master Storm Sniper
    3.2GHz Intel Core i5
    Cooler Master VG GT
    Intel P55 chipset
    6GB DDR3 SDRAM
    1TB SATA hard drive
    DVD+/-RW optical drive
    Sapphire hd 6870
    Genuine Windows 7 Home Premium, 64-bit

  8. #48
    Super Moderator
    Audioaficionado's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Medford, Orygun
    Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    It looks like an effort to unify the UI look for both mobile and desktop users. If the desktop/laptop users without touch screens can't easily disable metro, I see another Vista PR fiasco.
    .....................................My HeatwareMyFAH Stats
    .......................Folding is a marathon, not a sprint © audioaficionado
    Asus Commando, 8GB GSkill 5-5-5-15-2t PC6400, Q6600 @3.0GHz >SMP2+GPU3 FAH 24/7
    Gigabyte DS3, 3GB GSkill 5-5-5-15-2t PC6400, E6400 @3.0GHz
    Asus P5Q PRO Turbo, 4GB GSkill 5-5-5-15-2t PC6400, E6600 @3.0GHz
    Iwill DH800, 2GB OCZ4002048PFDC-K 2.5-3-3-8-1t, Dual 2.4 M0 Xeons 1.5v/880/3300
    Help improve overclockers.com! Get involved!

    You have over 101 signatures and Can't see the classifieds???Click This Link
    Anyone we catch cookie stuffing at this site will be banned on the spot!!

  9. #49
    Member mayagrafix's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Mexico

    Overview

    Here is comprehensive review of Win8 from ZD-Net
    http://www.zdnet.com/blog/bott/windo...;siu-container
    --"Look Dave, I can see you're really upset about this. I honestly think you ought to sit down calmly, take a stress pill and think things over."
    HAL 9000

  10. #50
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Hong Kong
    I can see ppl on XP or Vista, touch screen and tablet users, looking to upgrade would go directly to Win 8. But for present desktop users of Win 7 there is not much of an incentive to upgrade. Why pay for something that is no better than what you already have (Win 7)?
    CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 840
    CPU Cooler: Stock AMD
    MB: Magic-Pro MP-BA500PRO1 (AMD 890GX+SB850)
    Graphic: XFX HD6850 and MSI HD5450
    Ram: ADATA DDR-3 1333 2x4GB
    PSU: Antec NeoECO 520W
    OS: Win 7 x64

  11. #51
    Member nd4spdbh2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Camarillo, CA!
    Quote Originally Posted by Audioaficionado View Post
    It looks like an effort to unify the UI look for both mobile and desktop users. If the desktop/laptop users without touch screens can't easily disable metro, I see another Vista PR fiasco.
    agreed, as many others have said before and will undoubtedly say again.... nice interface on a tablet.... HORRIBLE HORRIBLE interface on a desktop / laptop interface.

    its a good 3 or 4 extra clicks to do the same thing as windows 7. they really need an option to go with a FULL desktop interface, and disable the metro ui.... also the whole i closed out of an app but its still running in the background is just bs... when i close an app i want it closed.

    like audio stated and i have been telling people since i played with the beta.... i have a feeling this is going to be a new vista.
    #12 in the 4ghz core 2 duo club baby! - 52 inches of CRYSIS! - Black Belt Ubercloxx0r -- Heatware
    Main -- Lian Li V2000b -- i7 2700k -- MSI Z68A-GD80 -- 12gb 1600 -- GTX560Ti --Adata 128gb S510 & 2x500gb -- Seasonic S12 600w -- Dell 2209WA
    HTPC -- Silverstone GD05B -- E7200 @ 3.2ghz -- G41-M7 -- 4GB 800mhz -- g210 passive -- 320gb 2.5in WD -- Antec EA 430w -- 52inch Samsung LCD
    Server -- Antec NSK4480B -- E3300 @ 2.5ghz -- ECS G33T-M2 -- 3gb 667mhz -- Onboard Vid -- 500Gb + 1TB hatachi + 1tb WD -- Zalman 400w
    Netbook - Dell Mini 9 - Atom 1.6ghz - 8GB ssd - 2GB pc6400 - WIN 7 PRO!
    Need 4 Speed - BH

  12. #52
    Member Aldakoopa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    North Carolina
    Heatware Profile
    This comes to mind...
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    ......BULLDOZER-|-NOTBULLDOZER
    .FX-4100 CPU i5-4670K
    ASUS Sabretooth 990FX MOBO ASRock Z97 Extreme 6..
    CM Hyper 212+ COOLER CM Hyper 212+
    ...ASUS HD 6850 GPU XFX HD 7850 DD
    .PNY Optima 1333MHz RAM ADATA XPG 1866MHz
    .................Antec 300 CASE Corsair Graphite 600T
    120GB Samsung 830 SSD 120GB Samsung 830
    500GB Seagate SSHD SSHD...............................
    500GB Seagate Barracuda HDD 3TB Seagate NAS............
    .GS600 PSU HX850i

  13. #53
    fcomstoc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Tempe, AZ USA
    Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Just a thought: Windows 95's interface was much different than 3.1
    Windows ME was just crap, I am with you on that one
    Windows Vista looked different then XP
    Windows 8 looks much different than 7

    so my guess is that Windows 8 will be crap but their next version will be brillant.
    Work Machine: MacBook Pro Retina 13in (Late 2013) //8GB Ram//250GB SSD//OSX Mavericks
    Phones: iPhone 5 iOS 7 (Home) / iPhone 4s iOS7 (Work)
    Plex Server/Temp Gaming Machine: Dell Optiplex 780 (Intel Core 2 Duo 3.0GHZ, 8GB DDR3, Nvidia GTX 620) Win 7 Pro
    HTPC: MacBook Pro 13in (Early 2011) - Upgraded to 8GB RAM // OSX Mavericks // Xubuntu 12.04
    Folding User Stats
    root@linux# mv /home /dev/null

  14. #54
    Member
    nooster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Benching Profile
    Realy do not like the new metro interface. It feels clunky and reaks of iOS. I much prefer the layout of old (xp, win7).

    I think over time I would get used to it, however nothing new that interests me.

    Also 1 thing I can't get my head around, where is the shut down option (was in the start menu previously)

  15. #55
    Premium Member #18 txus.palacios's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Cádiz (Spain)
    Benching Profile Folding Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by nooster View Post
    Realy do not like the new metro interface. It feels clunky and reaks of iOS. I much prefer the layout of old (xp, win7).

    I think over time I would get used to it, however nothing new that interests me.

    Also 1 thing I can't get my head around, where is the shut down option (was in the start menu previously)
    Charms menu > Settings > Power > Shut down
    Maximus V Gene | i5-2500k @ 4.5GHz (ekHF) | 16GiB | GTX470 SLI @ 800MHz (ekFC) | m4 128GB | Arch + Win8
    [ more info... ]


    The only sound I want to hear out of my computer (unless I'm gaming or watching a movie) is the hum of my 6000 rpm fan pushing air through my heatsink. - Seebs
    If I turn up dead, somebody make sure they put "should have just benched in the cold" on my tombstone, along with my most recent superpi32m score. - I.M.O.G.
    I didn't go water-cooling for an air-cooling Vcore!! - bluezero5
    I'll rm -rf /yourface/* - thideras

  16. #56
    Member Aldakoopa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    North Carolina
    Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by nooster View Post
    Also 1 thing I can't get my head around, where is the shut down option (was in the start menu previously)
    On the front of your computer.
    ......BULLDOZER-|-NOTBULLDOZER
    .FX-4100 CPU i5-4670K
    ASUS Sabretooth 990FX MOBO ASRock Z97 Extreme 6..
    CM Hyper 212+ COOLER CM Hyper 212+
    ...ASUS HD 6850 GPU XFX HD 7850 DD
    .PNY Optima 1333MHz RAM ADATA XPG 1866MHz
    .................Antec 300 CASE Corsair Graphite 600T
    120GB Samsung 830 SSD 120GB Samsung 830
    500GB Seagate SSHD SSHD...............................
    500GB Seagate Barracuda HDD 3TB Seagate NAS............
    .GS600 PSU HX850i

  17. #57
    gangaskan's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Lorain, ohio
    Quote Originally Posted by txus.palacios View Post
    No, please, tell me you're joking. So I can no longer run commands just by hitting Win and typing it?...

    Metro just lost a few points. A HUGE FEW points...

    you can. i just tried it, however, "device manager" is not in the list of commands you can type. if its pinned in the start menu apps, it should be fine.

    commands like control panel, cmd, etc will work for the most part.



    i've been actively using build 8250, and so far, i'm impressed. a few things aren't compatible, like older hyper V servers, and some RSAT items. but nonetheless, its been pretty good for me so far as a "beta" is concerned.


    people think that metro is fully designed for the tablet enviorment, but really, they've incorporated a few things to lower its frustration on a pc. and i put start8 on and i've been happy (using full metro for the start menu though myself, just used to having that dammed button there )
    Main Rig: [Silverstone TJ06 painted hammer black] [Intel E6550 3.2 ghz 1.35v ] [4 gigs Gskil] [Asus P5k Premium Wifi/ap] [Soundblaster Audiguy ZS platinum] [ATI 3560 pro] [enhiem 1250 pump, Swiftech Storm, primoflex tubing, mcres micro, maze 4 gpu block][ Windows Vista x64 Ultimate sp1]
    HTPC: [LianLI V300B] [Opty 165 1.88 ghz] [Thermalright XP90] [2 gb OCZ Platinum DDR400] [Soundblaster X-FI Xtreme Music] [8600GT Stock] [Windows Vista Home Premium sp1]
    Server: [Rocketfish Tower] [c2d E6600][Scythe Ninja Jr] [4 gigs Gskil ddr2 800][ATI X850XT ] [Windows Vista B]
    Network: Cisco 851W uptime: forever
    Heatware

  18. #58
    Member Alaric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    US
    I haven't bothered with "fixing" the Metro UI. I already decided to stick with Win 7. I downloaded a couple utilities from Major Geeks and Win 8 didn't know what to open the setup with. The files were _exe , so I tried adding the file association to explorer and failed. After some head scratching I tried the blatantly obvious and changed the file names to .exe and they ran with no issues. I tend to overlook the obvious sometimes.
    Overall I'm finding Win 8 to just be a pain in the @$$ to navigate and use. The Developer Preview was a lot better (for me). Unless I'm missing something really big , I smell another Vista in the new OS. It may be using fewer resources in hardware , but it seems to require more of my personal resources-not what I'm looking for in software. On the plus side , Windows 9 should be a winner!

    It looks like most of the reviews are focusing on the Metro Mess , love it or hate it. That tells me the main body isn't newsworthy. Anybody find anything it does better than 7?

  19. #59
    Member FX4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Quote Originally Posted by mgsickler View Post
    All my partitions are there, however it wont give me a choice to boot to windows 7. Anyone else experience this?
    I have a tool for doing this. I actually found it reading this website when my W7 install would not boot after a fatal crash. I'll try to remember to get you the name in the morning.
    i7 2600
    Nvidia GTX 560ti
    Cosair 600 watt Gamer PSU
    Intel DZ68BC MB
    16 GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 1866
    2 TB WD Black Caviar HD
    Intel 311 20 Gig SSD cache
    Noctua CPU Cooler NH-U9B SE2
    Noctua CPU Cooler NH-U9B SE2
    Dual Samsung S23A350H monitors
    Logitech diNovo Edge keyboard
    Windows 7 64 bit Home Premium

  20. #60
    Member FX4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Quote Originally Posted by Aldakoopa View Post
    This comes to mind...
    Well not to mess things up but Win 2k was a very good release and this skips the entire NT line that turned into Win2k, XP,...
    i7 2600
    Nvidia GTX 560ti
    Cosair 600 watt Gamer PSU
    Intel DZ68BC MB
    16 GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 1866
    2 TB WD Black Caviar HD
    Intel 311 20 Gig SSD cache
    Noctua CPU Cooler NH-U9B SE2
    Noctua CPU Cooler NH-U9B SE2
    Dual Samsung S23A350H monitors
    Logitech diNovo Edge keyboard
    Windows 7 64 bit Home Premium

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •