Page 1 of 5 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 85

Thread: Mouse Lag!

  1. #1
    Registered Herminator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012

    Mouse Lag!

    Hi, I reformatted my computer I while a go. Since then I've experienced mouse lag, especially in games. Sometimes it stutters but it's mostly just a tiny bit after, both in the click and when i move the mouse. It's not much but it's very annoying.
    These are the things I've tried:
    Downloaded drivers for the mouse.
    -Turned off Vsync in games.
    -Turned off Vsync on the graphics card in CCC.
    -I've of course turned off mouse acceleration in windows.
    -Turned the settings all the way down in games, almost no difference.
    -Tried another mouse and mouse pad.
    -Switched back to an old graphics card
    -Tried taken out 2 gigs of ram.
    -Reformatted my computer again.
    -Reinstalled graphics card drivers.
    -Reinstalled mouse drivers
    -Tried other mouse drivers.
    -Resetted BIOS by taking the out the cmos battery and putting it in again.
    Nothing of those things worked.
    I've searched every forum and now I'm out of ideas.
    My computer specs:
    Operating system: w7 ultimate 64-bit
    Processor: AMD Phenom 9850 Quad-Core processor (4 CPUs), ~2.5GHz
    Memory: 6 GB RAM
    Graphics card: AMD Radeon 6870

    Please help me!

    (I don't know if this is in the right category, move it if you'd like)

    //Herminator
    Last edited by redduc900; 03-03-12 at 12:40 PM. Reason: Moved to General Hardware

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    First Responders
    -->
    redduc900's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Portland, OR
    It might help us to know the make and model of mouse. And without knowing the model of motherboard, and assuming it has a PS/2 port for the mouse, have you tried plugging the mouse into that port via a USB to PS/2 adapter?

  3. #3
    Registered Herminator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    The mouse is a X-718F. My motherboard is a Gigabyte GA-MA790X-UD3P. It has got a PS/2 port for the mouse and I've tried it with an adapter. I've tried with the adapter but I couldn't get the mouse to work when i tried it

  4. #4
    Registered Herminator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    The temperature of my cpu when I don't do nothing is around 60 celsius or 140 fahrenheit. I also experience some very bad fps when I play minecraft for example, about 30-40. My friends has around 100 or more.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    First Responders
    -->
    redduc900's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Portland, OR
    With the mouse plugged into the PS/2 port, you couldn't get the mouse to work where... in the BIOS, Windows, or both?

  6. #6
    Registered Herminator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    I got it to work now. It didn't make any difference.
    Is there anything else I can do to solve the problem?
    Last edited by Herminator; 03-03-12 at 02:25 PM.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    OnDborder's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    HOT 'n Arizona
    Quote Originally Posted by Herminator View Post
    The temperature of my cpu when I don't do nothing is around 60 celsius or 140 fahrenheit. I also experience some very bad fps when I play minecraft for example, about 30-40. My friends has around 100 or more.
    Welcome to the Forum! http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.php?t=491697
    60 at idle?
    That's pretty high.
    What do you have your cpu voltage set at?
    What cooling are you using for the cpu?
    Don't use 3 slots for the memory. Use 1,2, or 4.
    Did you try switching the memory in slots 1/2 to 3/4?
    Run a diagnostic on the harddrive. Which ever one is on the hdd website.
    Run a diagnostic on the memory. Memtest is recommended..
    Last edited by OnDborder; 03-04-12 at 12:54 AM.
    You're capable of such beautiful dreams, and such horrible nightmares.


    Asrock z77xtr6/3770k..........MSI p67a-GD55/2600k
    CORSAIR Vengeance 16gb.......4gigZ Corsair
    Gigabyte 290s crossfire ...........HIS 280x crossfired
    X-Fi Elite Pro.........................H2O cooling
    600gb Raptor/256ssd3..... .......40 Kingston ssd
    Siverstone 1500wt'r.....................Corsair1000HX

    MyHeat

  8. #8
    Registered Herminator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Today when I started up my computer the temperature was around 45.
    The voltage is set at 1.050 V.
    I'm using a normal cpu fan for it. The one that came with it. With thermal grease on it (if I understand the question right).
    I use all the slots for the memory. So should I switch so the ones sitting in 1/2 are placed in 3/4 and vice versa?
    I did a short generic test on my hdd. Both partitions on my harddrive passed but my External hdd didn't.
    I did a diagnostic on the memory with Memtest. I didn't really understand it so here's a picture of when it was done:

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    OnDborder's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    HOT 'n Arizona
    So you are using 6gb of ram,as stated in the first post, in 4 slots? 2x2/2x1 sticks? Make sure you use ram that matches.
    Still at 45 idle is a little warm at 1.05. That doesn't give you room to oc much..You might want to reseat hs/f and re-apply thermal paste. Not too much now.
    You might want to run the memtest through more than 1 pass though.
    You're capable of such beautiful dreams, and such horrible nightmares.


    Asrock z77xtr6/3770k..........MSI p67a-GD55/2600k
    CORSAIR Vengeance 16gb.......4gigZ Corsair
    Gigabyte 290s crossfire ...........HIS 280x crossfired
    X-Fi Elite Pro.........................H2O cooling
    600gb Raptor/256ssd3..... .......40 Kingston ssd
    Siverstone 1500wt'r.....................Corsair1000HX

    MyHeat

  10. #10
    Registered Herminator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    I have now tried some things according your last post.
    I use 2x2/2x1 sticks. The 2x1 sticks are of a different brand but I've tried to take them out and that didn't make any difference.
    I also changed the place of my 2x2 sticks to the two other slots. No difference.
    I also changed the thermal paste.
    What the hell is wrong?

  11. #11
    Premium Member #13

    wagex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    newkirk, oklahoma
    Benching Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile
    id get a new mouse, a couple cheap mice i have laying around here have the same issue, also cheap wireless ones are bad not saying your is cheap, just saying that it could be having some issues.
    rig-NZXT source 210 elite --serv-- norco 270 2u-------------------htpc-apex htpc case------lan rig lian-li pc-q07
    2500k 4.5ghz 1.3v------------------ opteron 2419 6-core-------------------i3-2120-------------i5-2400
    p67-ud4 ------------------------------ h8dmi-2 --------------------------- gigabyte h61-----------foxconn h61
    8gb gskill ripjaws 2x4 1600 ------4x4gb samsung ddr2 ECC ------1x2gb ddr3 1600-------2x4gb ddr3 1600 ripjaws
    xfx r9-280x black ----------------- onboard ---------------------------------HD 5450-------------GTX 750TI SC
    corsair hx850-------------------------antec vp-450------------------275w came with case------ corsair 430M
    custom loop --------------------------socket f 2u passive --------------stock intel cooler-------lenovo 1155 hs w 4500rpm pwm delta
    win 7x64------------------------------server 2012 r2 datacenter----------win 7 64 bit-----------win 7 x64
    steam user name : Wagex (you happy bro?) HEAT
    "You can't get magical Harry Potter temps with big overclocks, PHYSICS has a lot to do with it." -conumdrum

  12. #12
    Registered Herminator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Quote Originally Posted by wagex View Post
    id get a new mouse, a couple cheap mice i have laying around here have the same issue, also cheap wireless ones are bad.
    I've already tried a different mouse. The mouse I tried was a pretty good one also. So I don't really think that's the problem

  13. #13
    Premium Member #13

    wagex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    newkirk, oklahoma
    Benching Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by Herminator View Post
    I've already tried a different mouse. The mouse I tried was a pretty good one also. So I don't really think that's the problem
    what monitor are you using?
    rig-NZXT source 210 elite --serv-- norco 270 2u-------------------htpc-apex htpc case------lan rig lian-li pc-q07
    2500k 4.5ghz 1.3v------------------ opteron 2419 6-core-------------------i3-2120-------------i5-2400
    p67-ud4 ------------------------------ h8dmi-2 --------------------------- gigabyte h61-----------foxconn h61
    8gb gskill ripjaws 2x4 1600 ------4x4gb samsung ddr2 ECC ------1x2gb ddr3 1600-------2x4gb ddr3 1600 ripjaws
    xfx r9-280x black ----------------- onboard ---------------------------------HD 5450-------------GTX 750TI SC
    corsair hx850-------------------------antec vp-450------------------275w came with case------ corsair 430M
    custom loop --------------------------socket f 2u passive --------------stock intel cooler-------lenovo 1155 hs w 4500rpm pwm delta
    win 7x64------------------------------server 2012 r2 datacenter----------win 7 64 bit-----------win 7 x64
    steam user name : Wagex (you happy bro?) HEAT
    "You can't get magical Harry Potter temps with big overclocks, PHYSICS has a lot to do with it." -conumdrum

  14. #14
    Registered Herminator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Quote Originally Posted by wagex View Post
    what monitor are you using?
    I'm using a Philips 22" monitor.
    I don't think the monitor is the problem because I've had the same problem on my 32" full-hd LG TV too.

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    OnDborder's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    HOT 'n Arizona
    Maybe a program running in the background?
    You get lag in everything or mostly gaming?
    If everything, try running in safe mode or "diagnostic startup". If you don't know how to get there,, go to start>search all programs>type in "msconfig"> general tab-diagnostic startup(or boot tab-"safe boot").
    You're capable of such beautiful dreams, and such horrible nightmares.


    Asrock z77xtr6/3770k..........MSI p67a-GD55/2600k
    CORSAIR Vengeance 16gb.......4gigZ Corsair
    Gigabyte 290s crossfire ...........HIS 280x crossfired
    X-Fi Elite Pro.........................H2O cooling
    600gb Raptor/256ssd3..... .......40 Kingston ssd
    Siverstone 1500wt'r.....................Corsair1000HX

    MyHeat

  16. #16
    Registered Herminator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    It's mostly in gaming. I did a diagnostic startup and tried minecraft but the lag was still there

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    OnDborder's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    HOT 'n Arizona
    And you didn't have any problems before you reformatted the first time?
    You're capable of such beautiful dreams, and such horrible nightmares.


    Asrock z77xtr6/3770k..........MSI p67a-GD55/2600k
    CORSAIR Vengeance 16gb.......4gigZ Corsair
    Gigabyte 290s crossfire ...........HIS 280x crossfired
    X-Fi Elite Pro.........................H2O cooling
    600gb Raptor/256ssd3..... .......40 Kingston ssd
    Siverstone 1500wt'r.....................Corsair1000HX

    MyHeat

  18. #18
    Premium Member #13

    wagex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    newkirk, oklahoma
    Benching Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by Herminator View Post
    I'm using a Philips 22" monitor.
    I don't think the monitor is the problem because I've had the same problem on my 32" full-hd LG TV too.
    well tv's have worse input lag than monitors so you will deffinately have it there.
    rig-NZXT source 210 elite --serv-- norco 270 2u-------------------htpc-apex htpc case------lan rig lian-li pc-q07
    2500k 4.5ghz 1.3v------------------ opteron 2419 6-core-------------------i3-2120-------------i5-2400
    p67-ud4 ------------------------------ h8dmi-2 --------------------------- gigabyte h61-----------foxconn h61
    8gb gskill ripjaws 2x4 1600 ------4x4gb samsung ddr2 ECC ------1x2gb ddr3 1600-------2x4gb ddr3 1600 ripjaws
    xfx r9-280x black ----------------- onboard ---------------------------------HD 5450-------------GTX 750TI SC
    corsair hx850-------------------------antec vp-450------------------275w came with case------ corsair 430M
    custom loop --------------------------socket f 2u passive --------------stock intel cooler-------lenovo 1155 hs w 4500rpm pwm delta
    win 7x64------------------------------server 2012 r2 datacenter----------win 7 64 bit-----------win 7 x64
    steam user name : Wagex (you happy bro?) HEAT
    "You can't get magical Harry Potter temps with big overclocks, PHYSICS has a lot to do with it." -conumdrum

  19. #19
    Member FX4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    I developed a mouse lag issue after an unrelated driver install. In my case I performed a rollback and solved the issue.
    i7 2600
    Nvidia GTX 560ti
    Cosair 600 watt Gamer PSU
    Intel DZ68BC MB
    16 GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 1866
    2 TB WD Black Caviar HD
    Intel 311 20 Gig SSD cache
    Noctua CPU Cooler NH-U9B SE2
    Noctua CPU Cooler NH-U9B SE2
    Dual Samsung S23A350H monitors
    Logitech diNovo Edge keyboard
    Windows 7 64 bit Home Premium

  20. #20
    Registered Herminator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Quote Originally Posted by OnDborder View Post
    And you didn't have any problems before you reformatted the first time?
    Nope I hadn't...

    Quote Originally Posted by FX4 View Post
    I developed a mouse lag issue after an unrelated driver install. In my case I performed a rollback and solved the issue.
    How do I do that?

Page 1 of 5 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •