• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Another 4P budget build

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Posidon42

Project "POWAH"

Meet project POWAH. This is my first attempt at getting back into folding after a number of years off. I just couldn't resist the pure power/$ available in these servers.

Here are the details:
Motherboard: Supermicro H8QGi+-F $663.13
Processors: 4x Opteron 6128s $100/ea (ebay, from seller microtechcomp, just made an offer and he accepted it.)
Memory: G.Skill ripjaws 8gb, 4x2gb, DDR3 1333, CAS7 $239.96
Heatsinks: 4x CoolerMaster Hyper 212+ total $95 from Amazon (the price is up to $25.39 now, but they were $23.75 when I bought them.)
Power supply: AX750 $75 (bought here on the forums)

Total $1473.09

Will post some pictures later but I am leaving for a business trip very early tomorrow morning, so I probably won't get any chance to play with it until this weekend. At least it looks good sitting in my living room!

I didn't end up using the server case, so I took the pictures out. Right now it is sitting in my basement being a very good space heater.

After a couple days of leaving it stock, I spent some time reviewing the overclocking instructions here. My little 6128's have been running for most of the week at 2.3Ghz. I just upped them to 2.4 tonight to see how they will do. I have no intent on frying anything, but relatively free performance is always good.

Pictures are available on some of the following pages.

There might be a project "Mo Powah" coming soon...

Last edited:
Grats! It would be EPIC if you got a photo op with the UPS guy! These things wouldn't happen with out the men and women in uniform (Them postal peeps that is :p ) running logistics on our behalf! LOL!

Everything's coming together - and those are great prices! :clap: