Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2010

    Crosshair Formula IV + FX-4170

    Hey guys, the rig I'm currently working with is;

    Asus Crosshair Formula IV
    AMD FX-4170
    Corsair H70
    8GB OCZ Reaper HPC 1600 @ 1.9v (4x2GB)
    MSI HD5970
    Cooler Master Silent Pro Gold 1000W
    Cooler Master HAF X

    First things first, the motherboard is using a beta BIOS (v3027) in order to support the bulldozer CPU. With this beta there are a number of options missing from the BIOS.

    From the manual;

    3.3.10 CPU & NB Voltage Mode [Offset]
    Allows you to set the CPU & CPU/NB Voltage Mode. Different sub-items appear according to the CPU & NB Voltage Mode item setting. Configuration options: [Offset] [Manual]

    CPU Offset Voltage [Auto]
    This item appears only when you set the CPU & NB Voltage Mode item to [Offset] and allows you to set the CPU Offset voltage. The values range from 0.006250V to 0.700000V with a 0.006250V interval.CPU/NB Offset Voltage [Auto]
    This item appears only when you set the CPU & NB Voltage Mode item to [Offset] and allows you to set the CPU/NB Offset voltage. The values range from 0.006250V to 0.700000V with a 0.006250V interval.

    CPU Voltage [Auto]
    This item appears only when you set the CPU & NB Voltage Mode item to
    [Manual] and allows you to set a fixed CPU voltage.

    CPU/NB Voltage [Auto]
    This item appears only when you set the CPU & NB Voltage Mode item to
    [Manual] and allows you to set a fixed CPU/NB voltage.


    Currently the "CPU & NB Voltage Mode" option is missing, which in turn means the CPU and CPU/NB Voltage options are missing, thus means the only way I can set CPU voltage is via the "CPU Offset Voltage" which I'll be honest, I don't fully understand.

    I have disabled cool and quiet, turbo core, ai tweaker, etc and set everything to manual.

    With the following settings I've achieved a stable 4.8GHz;

    CPU Multiplier: 24
    HT: 2600
    CPU/NB: 2600
    CPU Offset Voltage: 0.100000
    NB Voltage: 1.175
    HT Voltage: 1.275

    Prime95 runs for a couple of hours without any dropped workers and gaming seems perfectly stable but I have a few oddities;

    1) The machine boots at 1.5v VCORE, but then drops to 1.488v according to HWMonitor and CPU-Z. When stress testing it increases to 1.52 which brings the full load temps up to around 56C, I don't seem to be able to fix the voltage.
    2) When trying to run 5GHz (25x200) it seems the above fluctuations cause the Prime95 worker processors to fail or the machine to blue screen.
    3) Despite the NB voltage being set at 1.175 the board appears to allow it to run up to 1.25 according to its own voltage monitor and also HWMonitor.

    I would love to hear if anyone else has this motherboard with a Bulldozer CPU or any advice on how to proceed from here.

    Thanks
    RIG #1 - Asus Sabertooth R2.0 || AMD FX8350 Black Edition || Thermaltake Water 2.0 Extreme ||GSkill F3-2400C10-8GTX 2400MHz (2x8GB) || Corsair Force 3 120GB || Gigabyte GTX680 || Antec HCG-620 PSU || Coolermaster HAF 922 Case || Windows 8.1 Pro

    RIG #2 - Asus Crosshair IV Extreme || AMD Phenom II 1100T Black Edition || Corsair H70 CPU Cooler ||OCZ DDR3 2000Mhz Dual Channel RAM (2x4GB) || OCZ Vertex 2 160GB SSD || XFX HD5970 4GB || Coolermaster 1000W PSU || Coolermaster HAF-X Case || Windows 7 Home Premium (x64)

  2. #2
    Member {PGA}AfterShock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    same mobo with same bios but diff cpu though the methods are all the same. since your chip will run at 1.488v you want that as your target voltage so in your bios next to the cpu offset it should show your cpu voltage. you want to use the + or - depending on if your higher or lower than your target voltage so if your cpu voltage shows 1.5 you would change the mode to - and raise the amount of offset a little bit then save and reboot then go back into the bios to see where your at and adjust as needed, also make sure you have LLC enabled for both cpu and cpu/nb this will prevent the voltage from dropping below your target level and LLC will provide a slight voltage boost under heavy loads so in prime you should be somewhere around 1.5v but shouldn't have the huge fluctuations that you have now.

    I have to say for whatever reason they decided to use offsets instead of keying numbers in directly it was a stupid decision and very unnecessary since it changes nothing in terms of the end result.
    AMD FX-8350 4.5ghz 1.368v
    cpu/nb freg 2400mhz 1.20v
    HT Freq 2600mhz 1.2v
    Corsair H100 <Res Mod>
    Asus Sabertooth 990fx
    2x8 GB G-Skill Sniper ddr3 1866 9-10-9-38 1T 1.5v

    EVGA GTX 770 SC 4GB
    256GB Samsung 840 Pro
    468gig SAMSUNG HD400LJ
    NXXT Switch 810
    Corsair GS800 PSU

  3. #3
    Senior Member trents's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Centralia, WA
    Quote Originally Posted by MediaJunky View Post
    Hey guys, the rig I'm currently working with is;

    Asus Crosshair Formula IV
    AMD FX-4170
    Corsair H70
    8GB OCZ Reaper HPC 1600 @ 1.9v (4x2GB)
    MSI HD5970
    Cooler Master Silent Pro Gold 1000W
    Cooler Master HAF X

    First things first, the motherboard is using a beta BIOS (v3027) in order to support the bulldozer CPU. With this beta there are a number of options missing from the BIOS.

    From the manual;

    3.3.10 CPU & NB Voltage Mode [Offset]
    Allows you to set the CPU & CPU/NB Voltage Mode. Different sub-items appear according to the CPU & NB Voltage Mode item setting. Configuration options: [Offset] [Manual]

    CPU Offset Voltage [Auto]
    This item appears only when you set the CPU & NB Voltage Mode item to [Offset] and allows you to set the CPU Offset voltage. The values range from 0.006250V to 0.700000V with a 0.006250V interval.CPU/NB Offset Voltage [Auto]
    This item appears only when you set the CPU & NB Voltage Mode item to [Offset] and allows you to set the CPU/NB Offset voltage. The values range from 0.006250V to 0.700000V with a 0.006250V interval.

    CPU Voltage [Auto]
    This item appears only when you set the CPU & NB Voltage Mode item to
    [Manual] and allows you to set a fixed CPU voltage.

    CPU/NB Voltage [Auto]
    This item appears only when you set the CPU & NB Voltage Mode item to
    [Manual] and allows you to set a fixed CPU/NB voltage.


    Currently the "CPU & NB Voltage Mode" option is missing, which in turn means the CPU and CPU/NB Voltage options are missing, thus means the only way I can set CPU voltage is via the "CPU Offset Voltage" which I'll be honest, I don't fully understand.

    I have disabled cool and quiet, turbo core, ai tweaker, etc and set everything to manual.

    With the following settings I've achieved a stable 4.8GHz;

    CPU Multiplier: 24
    HT: 2600
    CPU/NB: 2600
    CPU Offset Voltage: 0.100000
    NB Voltage: 1.175
    HT Voltage: 1.275

    Prime95 runs for a couple of hours without any dropped workers and gaming seems perfectly stable but I have a few oddities;

    1) The machine boots at 1.5v VCORE, but then drops to 1.488v according to HWMonitor and CPU-Z. When stress testing it increases to 1.52 which brings the full load temps up to around 56C, I don't seem to be able to fix the voltage. This may be due to Load Line Calibration (LLC). LLC may be active and hidden or there may be a manual adjustment. My Asus board has this for both the CPU voltage and the CPUNB voltage.
    2) When trying to run 5GHz (25x200) it seems the above fluctuations cause the Prime95 worker processors to fail or the machine to blue screen.
    3) Despite the NB voltage being set at 1.175 the board appears to allow it to run up to 1.25 according to its own voltage monitor and also HWMonitor.

    I would love to hear if anyone else has this motherboard with a Bulldozer CPU or any advice on how to proceed from here.

    Thanks
    CPU: i7 2600k@4.6 ghz
    Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe b3
    Cooler: Swiftech H320
    RAM: 16 (4x4) gb Team Group Vulcan 2400 mhz @ 2176 mhz / 11-13-13-35-2T
    GPU: Sapphire Radeon R9 280X
    Case: NZXT Source 530
    PSU: OCZ 750W
    Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 2x300 gb WD Velociraptors


    Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me". John 14:6

  4. #4
    Buried The Hatchet
    Lived to Tell the Tale
    Theocnoob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Canada- We only have 1 road.
    You sure your 1600Mhz RAM is 1.9V? I've never seen DDR3 desktop modules over 1.65
    Look up to see the ridiculous stuff I say. Look down to see my PC's

    500R*2600K@4.7*MaxiumusIVExtreme*Intel510 120GB*WDVelociraptor 150GB*8GB1600*GTX980*HX850*Win7-Gamer
    PS08*5150@stock*AM1B-ITX*Force LS 120GB*WD 250GB*4GB1600*TPLink Wifi PCIE*CX500*Win8.1-Mom's PC
    P100*G3258@4.4*Z97 Anniversary*WD Blue 1TB*TPLink Wifi PCIE*4GB1600*500B*Win8.1-HTPC
    HP A4-5000 based touchscreen 15.6" notebook-Travel PC
    iPad 2- Mom's tablet
    ASUS netbook - worthless paperweight

  5. #5
    Senior Memory Guru
    Premium Member #19



    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Poznan, Poland
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile SETI Profile Rosetta Profile
    many early DDR3 were 1.8-1.9V like Micron, Samsung or Qimonda IC
    http://ramlist.i4memory.com/ddr3/

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Hey guys, thanks for all your replies.

    Does LLC need to be set to Enable or Auto and what is the difference on this board?

    I won't see the machine now until next week but will make a few adjustments and see if I can't get the rig running a stable 5GHz, are there any other suggestions on how to achieve this?

    Thanks again.
    RIG #1 - Asus Sabertooth R2.0 || AMD FX8350 Black Edition || Thermaltake Water 2.0 Extreme ||GSkill F3-2400C10-8GTX 2400MHz (2x8GB) || Corsair Force 3 120GB || Gigabyte GTX680 || Antec HCG-620 PSU || Coolermaster HAF 922 Case || Windows 8.1 Pro

    RIG #2 - Asus Crosshair IV Extreme || AMD Phenom II 1100T Black Edition || Corsair H70 CPU Cooler ||OCZ DDR3 2000Mhz Dual Channel RAM (2x4GB) || OCZ Vertex 2 160GB SSD || XFX HD5970 4GB || Coolermaster 1000W PSU || Coolermaster HAF-X Case || Windows 7 Home Premium (x64)

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Quote Originally Posted by Theocnoob View Post
    You sure your 1600Mhz RAM is 1.9V? I've never seen DDR3 desktop modules over 1.65
    Its early DDR3 OCZ Reaper HPC. On OCZ site the specification actually says 1.7v but on the modules themselves, it says 7-7-7-24 @ 1.9v.

    Thanks
    RIG #1 - Asus Sabertooth R2.0 || AMD FX8350 Black Edition || Thermaltake Water 2.0 Extreme ||GSkill F3-2400C10-8GTX 2400MHz (2x8GB) || Corsair Force 3 120GB || Gigabyte GTX680 || Antec HCG-620 PSU || Coolermaster HAF 922 Case || Windows 8.1 Pro

    RIG #2 - Asus Crosshair IV Extreme || AMD Phenom II 1100T Black Edition || Corsair H70 CPU Cooler ||OCZ DDR3 2000Mhz Dual Channel RAM (2x4GB) || OCZ Vertex 2 160GB SSD || XFX HD5970 4GB || Coolermaster 1000W PSU || Coolermaster HAF-X Case || Windows 7 Home Premium (x64)

  8. #8
    Senior Member trents's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Centralia, WA
    Quote Originally Posted by MediaJunky View Post
    Hey guys, thanks for all your replies.

    Does LLC need to be set to Enable or Auto and what is the difference on this board?

    I won't see the machine now until next week but will make a few adjustments and see if I can't get the rig running a stable 5GHz, are there any other suggestions on how to achieve this?

    Thanks again.
    That's a good question. The best way to tell what effect each setting will have in the real world is to try each one and note the effect it has on CPU vcore both at idle in Windows and under load as compared to what you set vcore to in bios. HWMonitor is a good program to check this.
    CPU: i7 2600k@4.6 ghz
    Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe b3
    Cooler: Swiftech H320
    RAM: 16 (4x4) gb Team Group Vulcan 2400 mhz @ 2176 mhz / 11-13-13-35-2T
    GPU: Sapphire Radeon R9 280X
    Case: NZXT Source 530
    PSU: OCZ 750W
    Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 2x300 gb WD Velociraptors


    Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me". John 14:6

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •