Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1

    Dual Monitor question

    So i'm running a GTX560 448 Cores. Wondering if i could run a dual monitor setup gaming on one and browsing the web/watching videos on the other?

    TIA
    CPU: Intel i5 2500k
    MOBO: Asus P8Z68 V-Pro/ Gen 3
    RAM: 8GB (4x2) Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600MHz
    GPU: ASUS GTX 560 Ti 448 Cores SLI
    PSU: 760W Seasonic x760 Gold
    HDD: 120 GB Corsair Force GT SSD ; 2TB Western Digital Caviar Green
    Case: Corsair Carbide 500R
    OS: 64 bit Windows 7 Home Premium

  2. #2
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    I'm doing that as I type this post. Games that run fullscreen you will not be able to do this with as it will minimize the game if you select another window. You could watch a video, since that doesn't require interaction once playing.
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  3. #3
    Hmm so im guessing that you need to use window mode then.. Might work out thanks.
    CPU: Intel i5 2500k
    MOBO: Asus P8Z68 V-Pro/ Gen 3
    RAM: 8GB (4x2) Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600MHz
    GPU: ASUS GTX 560 Ti 448 Cores SLI
    PSU: 760W Seasonic x760 Gold
    HDD: 120 GB Corsair Force GT SSD ; 2TB Western Digital Caviar Green
    Case: Corsair Carbide 500R
    OS: 64 bit Windows 7 Home Premium

  4. #4
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Windowed or Fullscreen windowed. The latter looks like fullscreen, but you can do whatever you want with other windows. That is what I use for Rift/WoW.
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  5. #5
    Member Neuromancer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Tau'ri
    Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    How do you do the "full screen windowed"?
    All rants I produce are sole property of 127.0.0.1.
    10 types of people understand binary.
    Suck iiiiiitttttttttt. -Shawn Spencer
    Linux is the stepchild of the OS world. "You told me to set 192.168.0.266 ip address", okay >>>Kernel PANIC - Me

  6. #6
    Member Mpegger's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    NYC
    Heatware Profile
    Game has to support it, though there is a program that is supposed to force other programs (games) to display in full screen window mode, even borderless. It doesn't work with every game though, so a huge YMMV is to be said about it. Tried it once for a game I wanted to run full screen window borderless and it didn't work. I'll see if I can find it, as I did download it a long time ago. Not sure if it been updated at all since then.
    Main: NZXT Switch 810 | ASRock Z97 Extreme4 | i7 4790K| 32GiB | 780Ti
    ESXi Server: Lackrack Enterprise Edition | Dell R710 | 2 x Xeon X5570 | 96GiB | 14(28)TB ZFS-Raid10

    -----------------------------
    [GB ≠ GiB] [MB ≠ MiB] [kB ≠ kiB]
    "Apparently, Plaintiff believes that he could sue an egg company for fraud for labeling a carton of 12 eggs a “dozen,” because some bakers would view a “dozen” as including 13 items." - Western Digital 2006

    "One World, One Web, One Program" - Microsoft
    "Ein Volk, Ein Reich, Ein Führer" - Hitler

    (Microsucks) Avatar and quote on loan from AntmanMike
    Heatware

  7. #7
    Member Neuromancer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Tau'ri
    Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    I just run full screen and alt+tab out of the game when i need to access second game.

    Really handy on modern warfare single player on the parts of the game where you cant do anything for a few minutes. You just have to wait till the action starts. (Program continues to run in background and I can hear it so I know when to alt+tab back to it).

    Note that SOME games, on Nvidia will blackout the second monitor. I dont know why, I just recently switched to using my 580 instead of my AMD card.
    All rants I produce are sole property of 127.0.0.1.
    10 types of people understand binary.
    Suck iiiiiitttttttttt. -Shawn Spencer
    Linux is the stepchild of the OS world. "You told me to set 192.168.0.266 ip address", okay >>>Kernel PANIC - Me

  8. #8
    ****.. Im just wondering if my card can suppot it. I heard about the blacking out of second monitor so thats why i was curious.
    CPU: Intel i5 2500k
    MOBO: Asus P8Z68 V-Pro/ Gen 3
    RAM: 8GB (4x2) Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600MHz
    GPU: ASUS GTX 560 Ti 448 Cores SLI
    PSU: 760W Seasonic x760 Gold
    HDD: 120 GB Corsair Force GT SSD ; 2TB Western Digital Caviar Green
    Case: Corsair Carbide 500R
    OS: 64 bit Windows 7 Home Premium

  9. #9
    man /dev/goat \dev\goat's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    South Carolina
    Heatware Profile
    if you play games like rift/wow/eq that support fullscreen-windowed mode, its a joy being able to watch tv/movies/youtube/ocforums on the second monitor. Or look up the quest youre on, or space out and let your group wipe cause youre reading about earwax on wikipedia.

    Even if you cant use it during a couple of the games you play, its totally worth having dual monitors. You wont go back to single monitor afterwards
    Watercooled (build log)
    i7-2600k 5ghz 1.5v -- 2x MSI GTX570 SLI
    8gb Samsung LV -- Silverstone Raven RV02
    128gb Crucial m4 -- 240gb mushkin chronos -- 60gb mushkin chronos -- 8tb server
    Corsair TX850 -- Dell u2711 2560x1440

  10. #10
    Member Neuromancer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Tau'ri
    Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    I use dual monitors ALL of the time. Not just gaming. Im playing modern warfare 1 right now its running in the background during that long car ride after the prolouge

    But I run multiple browsers tabs, IM, Media player, and a handful of other apps
    All rants I produce are sole property of 127.0.0.1.
    10 types of people understand binary.
    Suck iiiiiitttttttttt. -Shawn Spencer
    Linux is the stepchild of the OS world. "You told me to set 192.168.0.266 ip address", okay >>>Kernel PANIC - Me

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •