Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 39
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Madrid, Spain

    Newie has a problem with i7-930, hot and slow.

    hello everyone,

    I NEED HELP. A year ago I decided to build my own machine (ga-x58a-ud3r + i7-930 + 12gb ram: 6x2gb Kingston 1600 + gtx480). I havent still tried to overcloked anyting. I use it for rendering 3D images, but Ive noticed that is rendering too slow for my specs.
    So I decided to do a 3dMark vantage test, and the results confirms that my gtx is doing great, but my i7930 is performing less than a half of what is expected to. Then I installed cpu-z and could see that my cores are running at aprox. x14 1800mhz but they are supposed to run at x21 2800mhz. And when I try to render They go down to x9 or x10.
    Im not sure how to view my cores temperature, but in BIOS I can see that they are at 90c.

    I would like to fix this issue, or at least, know if something is wroken so i can change it. Then I would love to try a bit of overcloking, maybe 3,6 or 3,8ghz in order to be able to finnish 3D render much quicker.

    THANK YOU VERY MUCH for your attention, and sorry for my english. Im not sure if this is the correct place for this post, but Im so frustated that I had to try anything.

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    By the way, I forgot to say that my cpu is cooled by air with a standard Intel cooler. And I have a 700w modular PSU.

    PLEASE, I need help with this, Im lost, dont know what to do first.

    THANX!!!

  3. #3
    Member Mjolnir's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    You need to either a; remount your CPU cooler; or b, buy a new one. (If you want to overclock; buying a new one is your only option).

    If you're trying to render and it's dropping the multi; it's also dropping the voltage; it's called throttling. It means your temps are WAY too hot for the CPU to run at full speed/voltage. The CPU/motherboard detects this then downclocks the CPU.

    Where are you located in the world? To give us an idea of what's available for you to buy. =)
    \m/ OverClockers mATX L33T Club \m/
    Motherboard - Asus Z87i Pro
    CPU - Pentium G3258 Unlocked, 4.2ghz @ 1.2v + Noctua U9B-SE2
    RAM - 16GB G Skill Ares 1866CL10
    GPU - EVGA GTX 750 Ti
    Storage - Samsung 840 Pro 256GB + 960Gb Crucial SSD
    Case - Ncase(Lian Li) M1
    PSU - Silverstone SFX 450W Gold Modular
    OS - Windows 8.1
    Peripherals - Leopold FC700R Graphite Brown MX + G700s
    Screen(s) - Dell U2711
    Audio - Audioengine 5+ + Audioengine D1 + Wharfdale SW150 /w Shure SRH 1840 Headphones

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Oh thanks for answering so fast!

    Im in Madrid, Spain. And I have account in alternate.es so I can buy almost anything in a few days I think.

    So what I can see in CPU-Z, that core speed and even the voltage is changing all the time (from 0,912v to 1) is due to high temperatures? I think is the cheapest component of my PC, so I have no problem in buying a new one.

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    So Im going to buy a new cooler to see if my problem is fixed... Any recomendations of CPU coolers for a non-extreme overclocked i7-930?

    I would like to buy a good one, because my machine is frequently left working overnight (rendering 5 to 10 hours), but If the cooler is not very noisy it would be great.

    Thank you in advance

  6. #6
    Member Mjolnir's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    A cheap one would be Hyper 212 Evo. If you can find one. Will grant you a mild overclock easily. For a rendering machine; I wouldn't really go past 3.6ghz. And this cooler will do that for you.

    For more expensive and quiet options.. You're looking at the Thermalright Archon, Thermalright Silver Arrow, Noctua D14, Noctua NH-U12P. (Note; the Noctua D14/Silver Arrow are very very large; they may have issues if you have tall heatspreaders on your RAM or tall heatsinks on your motherboard (Though I've yet to see too many issues with the motherboard type..)
    \m/ OverClockers mATX L33T Club \m/
    Motherboard - Asus Z87i Pro
    CPU - Pentium G3258 Unlocked, 4.2ghz @ 1.2v + Noctua U9B-SE2
    RAM - 16GB G Skill Ares 1866CL10
    GPU - EVGA GTX 750 Ti
    Storage - Samsung 840 Pro 256GB + 960Gb Crucial SSD
    Case - Ncase(Lian Li) M1
    PSU - Silverstone SFX 450W Gold Modular
    OS - Windows 8.1
    Peripherals - Leopold FC700R Graphite Brown MX + G700s
    Screen(s) - Dell U2711
    Audio - Audioengine 5+ + Audioengine D1 + Wharfdale SW150 /w Shure SRH 1840 Headphones

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Thank you for your info.

    First of all, this evening Im trying to buy a good cooler in a shop here in Madrid. They have the noctua U12P, but Im not sure if they have it in stock.

    Ill keep posting any further information. I really hope the cooler is the only issue in my computer.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    First Responders
    -->
    redduc900's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Use either Core Temp or Real Temp to monitor the core temp's while in Windows, and post the results after running Prime for a few minutes. Also open CPU-Z to the CPU tab before and while running Prime, and post the idle and loaded Vcore (Core Voltage).

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Im already in win7 64, with no heavy duty, (no Prime95, not rendering, etc.). And Real Temp is giving me 99-100 in each core. And CPU-Z is giving me a changing Core Voltage from 0.912 to 1.040 aprox.

    Its hot without doing anything, just in windows, or browsing a web.

  10. #10

  11. #11
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Thank you all for your help!!!

    Buying a new one is going to take a few days, because the lack of stock in shops. So Im going to try to remount my intel cooler. I think that with this standard cooler correctly mount I should be able to have normal temps in idle activity, dont you think?

    Ill try it and post results here. At least with luck, Ill be able to work with my pc a few days until I buy a good cooler.

    Thanks a ton!

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    McKinney, TX
    Make sure you have a good thermal compound! Not sure what's available in your area but something like artic silver 5 or equivalent. Read up on how to apply it properly. Lots of threads here.
    Personal Build | HTPC
    CM690 II Advanced | SilverStone PS05B
    Asus M5A97 | MSI 785G-E53
    PhenomII x4 960T BE | PhenomII X2 560 BE
    CM Hyper 212+ | Rosewill RCX-ZAIO-92
    PowerColor PCS+ AXR9 270X| Asus EAH5550
    Corsair CX750M | Antec VP-450
    8GB Corsair Vengeance | 8GB DDR3
    Crucial M4 128GB | No SSD
    Toshiba PH3300U-1I72 3TB | Samsung F3 500GB
    Seagate 320GB 2.5" | None
    LG Blu-ray Writer | Liteon DVD Writer

  13. #13
    Member Mjolnir's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Forget arctic silver 5. It's not horrible. But it's old. And there are better compounds out there that don't require a cure time nor are they conductive..

    Like arctic cooling mx 2/3/4. Noctua NH-1. Prolimatech... Er. Something 1. I can't remember off the top of my head.

  14. #14
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Ok, Im back again, tonight I remounted my intel series cooler, with new thermal compound (not a good one, but the only one I found in a shop near to my office), and I tested my pc again.... YOU WERE RIGHT, now it keeps around 60-65c in idle mode in windows (CPU-Z says that the cores are now in x22 2900mhz), and I was able to redender a 3D image for 20 minutes (same image took 72min yesterday!!!), and temps turned to 90-99, but cores didnt go down from x20-x21 2800mhz...
    I understand that my cpu is ok but, under heavy duty, is reaching the limit, so I really need the new cooler and a good compound, as soon as possible.

    YOU ALL are so kind!, T H A N K Y O U!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


  15. #15
    Member Mjolnir's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Lol Yeah that's still not really an ideal mount.. Definitely buy that new cooler. Most (in fact; all) CPu coolers come with their own Thermal Compound anyway. The Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo is a solid buy for you. And it comes with a small tube of thermal compound. Should be fine for your needs.

    Ps; look up a quick guide on how to apply thermal paste. Your temps still shouldn't reach 90+ rendering.. It's possible you've applied it either too much or too little. (Most likely too much). You really only need a thin layer.. Which you can either dab a small blob in the middle and let the cooler do the rest; or spread it yourself.. Again a thin layer. It's really only to 'fill cracks' I guess.
    \m/ OverClockers mATX L33T Club \m/
    Motherboard - Asus Z87i Pro
    CPU - Pentium G3258 Unlocked, 4.2ghz @ 1.2v + Noctua U9B-SE2
    RAM - 16GB G Skill Ares 1866CL10
    GPU - EVGA GTX 750 Ti
    Storage - Samsung 840 Pro 256GB + 960Gb Crucial SSD
    Case - Ncase(Lian Li) M1
    PSU - Silverstone SFX 450W Gold Modular
    OS - Windows 8.1
    Peripherals - Leopold FC700R Graphite Brown MX + G700s
    Screen(s) - Dell U2711
    Audio - Audioengine 5+ + Audioengine D1 + Wharfdale SW150 /w Shure SRH 1840 Headphones

  16. #16
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Yes, Im buying a good one, Ill have it by next friday or so. And yes, I think Ive used too much compund, not easy because its a bucket, not a samll tube, and I was not sure how to apply it, now Im about to read all the info, to be able to mount it correctly.

    Thanks a lot.

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    McKinney, TX
    The thermal compounds that Mjolnir recommended will be better if you can find one of them. I moved away from AS5 myself and got some Phobya HeGrease but I've got no clue what's available in your area, hence the ever popular AS5 recommendation.

    Also, something that hasn't been asked yet.... What kind of case is this setup in? How many fans do you have installed in your case and where?
    Personal Build | HTPC
    CM690 II Advanced | SilverStone PS05B
    Asus M5A97 | MSI 785G-E53
    PhenomII x4 960T BE | PhenomII X2 560 BE
    CM Hyper 212+ | Rosewill RCX-ZAIO-92
    PowerColor PCS+ AXR9 270X| Asus EAH5550
    Corsair CX750M | Antec VP-450
    8GB Corsair Vengeance | 8GB DDR3
    Crucial M4 128GB | No SSD
    Toshiba PH3300U-1I72 3TB | Samsung F3 500GB
    Seagate 320GB 2.5" | None
    LG Blu-ray Writer | Liteon DVD Writer

  18. #18

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Mickleton NJ
    you should be able to run that chip at stock 2.8ghz with like 1.13 volts, I noticed with my setup it was running warm before I manually set the volts myself for the cpu.. I would try that, set the cpu volt to 1.13 and see what your temps are, then benchmark it, it windows blue screens or locks up, up the volt 1 notch each time, till your 100% stable.

    for some reason the X58A-UD3R was giving my chip the MAX voltage even at stock speeds when I left it at auto.

    The Hyper 212+ or Evo would be a good choice for a budget cooler..
    Mobo ASRock z77 Extreem4
    CPU i7-2600k @ 4.2 1.20v
    CPU HS/F Corsair H-100
    RAM Corsair Veng 12gig DDR3-1600
    GPU EVGA 760 SC Acx
    Storage 2tb HDD
    DVD Samsung BD/DVD/CD
    Inputs Logitech G510 and G700
    Sound Sb X-Fi titanium , TB DX12
    Case Haf X Advanced
    PSU TT TR2 RX 750w
    My Heatware

  19. #19
    Member Mjolnir's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    If you've got a chip like mine you could run stock with 1.1v.. lol. :P.

    I run that when I'm not gaming to conserve power and reduce heat output in my room during summer time, etc.

  20. #20
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Hi guys, thank you for your time and your effort to help me. As I'm new to all of this, I'm not sure if I'm understanding everything you are telling me.

    I don't know almost anything about thermal compounds, but I think I will try the one that comes with the new cooler, because I think that if I buy a good cooler it will come with a good compound, am I wrong? Or should I buy any specific one?

    On the other hand the case I'm using is from my old computer and is an AEROCOOL (not sure about model), all of steel and aluminum, it has the front surface perforated. the psu is located all the way down. It has 2 main fans (i think of 120mm), one is in front, pulling air inwards, and the other is at the back, pushing air out. This case also has three small fans at the door in one side. Any problems about this setting? Should I buy a new case?
    Last edited by EndikaM; 03-18-12 at 12:02 AM.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •