Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 21

Thread: to DVI or not?

  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2012

    to DVI or not?

    so, i got this monitor that comes with a DVI and VGA input. it didn't come with a DVI cable(is it the standard?). so... is it worth the hassle to go to the city and buy a DVI cable? it's fairly ok now, using VGA.

  2. #2
    Registered Bartuc666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Faroe Islands
    What is the resolution of the monitor?

  3. #3
    mjw21a's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Australia, Brisbane
    DVI will support setting of higher resolutions than VGA. That's the only real difference.
    CPU & HSF: AMD FX-8120 & Noctua NH-D14
    Mobo: Asus M5A97-EVO
    RAM: 16GB (4Gx4) DDR3 2133 G.Skill RipjawZ F3-17000CL11Q-16GBZL
    Storage: 1x 120GB OCZ Vertex II SSD, 1x 250GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1x 1.5TB Samsung Silencer Series HDD
    GFX: 4GB Gigabyte ATI R9 270X OC Edition + Yamakasi Catleap Q270 SE 27" IPS LED LCD
    Audio: Asus Xonar DX, Senheiser CX270 earbuds + BM800 Condenser Microphone
    Case & Lighting: Silverstone Temjin TJ04-E w/ Side Window + Red CCFL's
    PSU: 550W Antec EarthWatts Platinum
    My rig piccies & links

    "Under democracy one party always devotes its chief energies to trying to prove that the other party is unfit to rule - and both commonly succeed, and are right." H.L. MENCKEN

  4. Thanks!

    morinfen (03-19-12)

  5. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    i use it at 1600x900(that's its max resolution) using the supplied VGA cable. i'm not satisfied with some fringing on the text as i see it now. reducing the text size(browser) somewhat makes it clearer though.

  6. #5
    juane414's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Don't buy cables at stores they are way over priced. Get them from Amazon or somewhere online. I recently got a cable from Amazon by Bluerigger that is really solid. I would recommend their cables.

  7. Thanks!

    morinfen (03-22-12)

  8. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    @juane, the question though is whether i'm going to get an improvement or not. if i will just get a slight improvement using digital instead of analog, i think i will just use my current setup.

  9. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Personally I'd go with DVI. To my eyes it's a noticeable improvement.

  10. Thanks!

    morinfen (03-19-12)

  11. #8
    juane414's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by morinfen View Post
    @juane, the question though is whether i'm going to get an improvement or not. if i will just get a slight improvement using digital instead of analog, i think i will just use my current setup.
    That depends on the monitor and the computer that you have. I just got a new monitor recently that has a vgi and a dvi port. My laptop only has vga and hdmi, so initially I was connecting my laptop to the external monitor with a vga cable. I got a lot of interference with the vga connection on my laptop. My laptop's vga port doesn't have the holes for the screw pins which I think help to ground the cable. Without being able to screw in the cable to my laptop I was getting these weird waves going up and down my screen. When I connected the monitor to my desktop using vga it was crystal clear. I ended up getting an hdmi to dvi cable from bluerigger and now the monitor looks great connected to my laptop. In my case, the dvi cable made a big difference in image quality when connected to my laptop. The vga connection looks good with my desktop, but even though I have both PCs set to 1080p the monitor looks better when connected to my laptop.

    Anyway... that's my recent experience with vga and dvi. I personally think it's worth it. Digital connections always look better to me than analog connections. Not everyone thinks the difference is that big of a deal though.

    CPU AMD FX-8320 @ 4.2GHz/240x17.5/1.4v
    Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3
    RAM 16GB (2x8GB) G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 1600 @ 800MHz
    GPU Asus Radeon HD 6850
    SSD Kingston HyperX 3K 120GB
    PSU NZXT Hale82 750W
    Cooler Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus
    Case Cooler Master RC-690 II Advanced
    Folding User Stats

  12. Thanks!

    morinfen (03-19-12)

  13. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Personally I noticed a huge difference going from VGA to DVI with my cheapo acer monitor. With vga it was fuzzy almost blurry, with dvi it is crystal clear.

    Monoprice = good cheap cables
    | ASRock Extreme3 Gen3 | 2500K | G.Skill 2x4Gb DDR3 1600 | Kingston V100 128Gb | EVGA GTX 570 | X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro | OCZ Fatal1ty 550 watt |
    Heatware

  14. Thanks!

    morinfen (03-19-12)

  15. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    thank you guys. i'm buying the cable tomorrow.

  16. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Just for closure, be nice if you post back with feedback after trying the DVI cable.

  17. #12
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    i was kind of looking for a closeup shot of the screen at the same resolutions comparing DVI and VGA but found none... i'll post a macro shot tomorrow.

  18. #13
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    how overpriced is overpriced? i'll be getting it for about 8USD for a 1.5m 24+1 cable.

  19. #14
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    seems like a good price, but compare the final price (add shipping) it to another suggested store. also compare it to something just a little bit longer, just in case you need it in the future. when i bought some cables a couple years ago, sometimes I would even see longer ones for cheaper...supply and demand i guess

  20. #15
    juane414's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by morinfen View Post
    how overpriced is overpriced? i'll be getting it for about 8USD for a 1.5m 24+1 cable.
    That's pretty good. You could probably get one for less but $8 is way better than the $20-40 that you'd pay in a store.

    CPU AMD FX-8320 @ 4.2GHz/240x17.5/1.4v
    Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3
    RAM 16GB (2x8GB) G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 1600 @ 800MHz
    GPU Asus Radeon HD 6850
    SSD Kingston HyperX 3K 120GB
    PSU NZXT Hale82 750W
    Cooler Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus
    Case Cooler Master RC-690 II Advanced
    Folding User Stats

  21. #16
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    so... here's the direct comparison between DVI and VGA





    can you guess which one is digital and which one is analog? i couldn't. the DVI is just a teeny bit sharp compared to VGA but it could be the autofocus of my camera. too lazy to take the DSLR out of the box. i also just took a limited amount (three) of pictures to get this over with.

    the fist picture is the one taken using VGA. here's another view.




    i found out that DVI is still better than VGA because i get interference which is visible when the display is about 80% black. using DVI gets rid of the interference 100%.

    total spent: $7US

  22. #17
    Member with Some Fancy Text Under His Name CompuTamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Brandon Mississippi
    VGA can pick up interference (I get to deal with this with my docking station at my other house for my laptop). VGA also blurs text a little bit at 1080p on my monitors. It's nothing bad, and i probably wouldn't notice if i hadn't run one VGA and one DVI next to each other for a few days, but there difference is there.
    Intel Core i7 C0 @ 4.01GHz with 1.388 vCore ..........................................Intel i7 4500U
    Intel DX58SO Motherboard IOH + QPI @ 1.250 Volts..............................Lenovo Yoga 2 Pro
    Sony Optiarc Blu-Ray Drive.................................................. ...............802.11AC
    8 GB G-Skill Sniper DDR3 1600 @ 1.65 Volts ...........................................8GB DDR3 1600Mhz RAM
    60GB OCZ Solid 3 + 320GB WD Blue+ 1TB WD Green...............................Samsung 250GB SSD
    Antec 900.................................................. .......................................All Metal Body
    BFG GS-650.................................................. .....................................Lenovo Power Brick + 54Whr Battery
    XFX Radeon HD 4850 (660/1060 53C Idle 62C Load) @ 1.31 vCore............Intel HD4400
    Dual Dell E2311H LED 1920x1080.................................................. .......13.6" 3200x1800 Touchscreen
    Windows 7 Ultimate.................................................. ..........................Windows 8.1
    Those specs up there? They're silent. Silence is good. Very good.
    Your Core 2 Quad is based off of the Pentium pro in a few ways.

  23. Thanks!

    morinfen (03-21-12)

  24. #18
    In general, I think it depends on your display adapter and the monitor. I have tested both on a range of monitors...and have seen significant differences.

    And for cables, monoprice.com is the king. I just bought two high-quality 10 foot DVI-D cables there for less than 15 beans.
    Case: Fractal Design Arc Mini (mATX) with 3 x Noiseblocker BlackSilentPro PLPS 120mm PWM
    MB: ASUS Maximus IV Gene-Z / Gen 3
    CPU: i7 2600k @ 4.2
    Cooler: CM Hyper 212 EVO with 2 x XtraFlo 120mm PWM
    RAM: 4 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 1600
    GPU: MSI N570GTX Twin Frozr III OC/PE
    SDD: 256GB Corsair Performance Pro
    HDD: 2 x 2TB Western Digital Caviar Green
    Optical: ASUS DRW-24B1ST
    PSU: Corsair AX750
    OS: Win 7 Pro 64 bit
    System Album

  25. Thanks!

    morinfen (03-21-12)

  26. #19
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    it could be that buying a better VGA cable might have solved my problems since 1600x900 is not that high.

  27. #20
    notJUSTguitar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    MN, USA
    Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Make sure you get a single-link DVI cable if that's what your monitor has....I found out the hard way. I bought 3 DVI cables for $25 online and turns out they are dual-link and i'm unable to use them
    Nevermind...Didn't read every post and didn't think you had gotten it yet
    i7 2600K (56x chip)
    Asus Maximus IV Gene-z/GEN3 Z68
    MSI R7970 Lightning
    8GB G.Skill Sniper 1866Mhz
    Multiple SSDs and TBs of HDDs :)
    OCZ 700W ModXtreme Pro PSU
    Asus VH232H 23" LCD x3 in eyefinity/6036X1080 Resolution
    Retired AMD Rig
    AMD Phenom II 1090T | GIGABYTE GA-MA78GM-US2H (Rev. 1) | XFX Radeon HD6970 | | 4GB Kingston HyperX DDR2 memory running at 1066Mhz | OCZ VERTEX 2 60GB SSD | Multiple SSDs and TBs of HDDs :) | OCZ 700W PSU | HP-Debranded 23" 1080P LCD

  28. Thanks!

    morinfen (03-22-12)

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •