Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 72

Thread: New headset

  1. #21
    mjw21a's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Australia, Brisbane
    Yeah, kind of worrying that there's electrical noise running right through the case isn't it? It got worse when I installed my new FX-8120. It's ALMOST a case to move to USB output, though not quite. The Xonar DX still rocks in games.
    CPU & HSF: AMD FX-8120 & Noctua NH-D14
    Mobo: Asus M5A97-EVO
    RAM: 16GB (4Gx4) DDR3 2133 G.Skill RipjawZ F3-17000CL11Q-16GBZL
    Storage: 1x 120GB OCZ Vertex II SSD, 1x 250GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1x 1.5TB Samsung Silencer Series HDD
    GFX: 4GB Gigabyte ATI R9 270X OC Edition + Yamakasi Catleap Q270 SE 27" IPS LED LCD
    Audio: Asus Xonar DX, Senheiser CX270 earbuds + BM800 Condenser Microphone
    Case & Lighting: Silverstone Temjin TJ04-E w/ Side Window + Red CCFL's
    PSU: 550W Antec EarthWatts Platinum
    My rig piccies & links

    "Under democracy one party always devotes its chief energies to trying to prove that the other party is unfit to rule - and both commonly succeed, and are right." H.L. MENCKEN

  2. #22
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Quote Originally Posted by mjw21a View Post
    Yeah, kind of worrying that there's electrical noise running right through the case isn't it? It got worse when I installed my new FX-8120. It's ALMOST a case to move to USB output, though not quite. The Xonar DX still rocks in games.
    Keep in mind that you power supply grounds your case. So it's kinda normal to have that kind of noise on the case. The unfortunate part is that this noise is transmitted to your motherboard and there's not much you can do about that. A dedicated card will be better shielded against that and of course USB eliminates it completely.

    Please keep in mind that usb isn't that great either. I've tried a few USB solutions (2 usb headsets, a set of usb speakers, the headphone ports of 2 different keyboards that are transfered through USB, all different brands, reproduced on 3 different mobos) and I always get the same issue. If you overload your USB host, you'll end up with dropped data "packets" and your USB sound device will probably adopt one of 3 solutions : play a silence, play white noise or duplicate the last received packet. This means crackles and pops, lost sound or something that doesn't sound right.

    This happened mostly while gaming or watching a movie and the only other USB devices were my razer mouse and a logitech keyboard. Sometimes I had a bluetooth dongle for my headset (useful for skype) and it simply happened much more often.

  3. #23
    mjw21a's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Australia, Brisbane
    Not too worried. So long as something is playing its not noticeable. I think its a testament to how good the Turtle Beach headset is that these sounds come through so loud and clear when nothing is playing.... Both an up and downside all at the same time
    CPU & HSF: AMD FX-8120 & Noctua NH-D14
    Mobo: Asus M5A97-EVO
    RAM: 16GB (4Gx4) DDR3 2133 G.Skill RipjawZ F3-17000CL11Q-16GBZL
    Storage: 1x 120GB OCZ Vertex II SSD, 1x 250GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1x 1.5TB Samsung Silencer Series HDD
    GFX: 4GB Gigabyte ATI R9 270X OC Edition + Yamakasi Catleap Q270 SE 27" IPS LED LCD
    Audio: Asus Xonar DX, Senheiser CX270 earbuds + BM800 Condenser Microphone
    Case & Lighting: Silverstone Temjin TJ04-E w/ Side Window + Red CCFL's
    PSU: 550W Antec EarthWatts Platinum
    My rig piccies & links

    "Under democracy one party always devotes its chief energies to trying to prove that the other party is unfit to rule - and both commonly succeed, and are right." H.L. MENCKEN

  4. #24
    mjw21a's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Australia, Brisbane
    Hmmmm, I'm now wondering whether I can use optical out to a headphone pre amp.... That would definitely solve the problem. Sound quality would be great.

    EDIT: Looking at one of these from China. Should fix my problem: http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/GAMAX-Min...item3cc0831a77
    Last edited by mjw21a; 04-04-12 at 10:33 PM.
    CPU & HSF: AMD FX-8120 & Noctua NH-D14
    Mobo: Asus M5A97-EVO
    RAM: 16GB (4Gx4) DDR3 2133 G.Skill RipjawZ F3-17000CL11Q-16GBZL
    Storage: 1x 120GB OCZ Vertex II SSD, 1x 250GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1x 1.5TB Samsung Silencer Series HDD
    GFX: 4GB Gigabyte ATI R9 270X OC Edition + Yamakasi Catleap Q270 SE 27" IPS LED LCD
    Audio: Asus Xonar DX, Senheiser CX270 earbuds + BM800 Condenser Microphone
    Case & Lighting: Silverstone Temjin TJ04-E w/ Side Window + Red CCFL's
    PSU: 550W Antec EarthWatts Platinum
    My rig piccies & links

    "Under democracy one party always devotes its chief energies to trying to prove that the other party is unfit to rule - and both commonly succeed, and are right." H.L. MENCKEN

  5. #25
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Quote Originally Posted by mjw21a View Post
    Hmmmm, I'm now wondering whether I can use optical out to a headphone pre amp.... That would definitely solve the problem. Sound quality would be great.
    Yeah that would be the optimal solution but an expensive one.

  6. #26
    mjw21a's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Australia, Brisbane
    Just bought one off eBay for $50 shipped. Will let everyone know how it sounds once it arrives.
    CPU & HSF: AMD FX-8120 & Noctua NH-D14
    Mobo: Asus M5A97-EVO
    RAM: 16GB (4Gx4) DDR3 2133 G.Skill RipjawZ F3-17000CL11Q-16GBZL
    Storage: 1x 120GB OCZ Vertex II SSD, 1x 250GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1x 1.5TB Samsung Silencer Series HDD
    GFX: 4GB Gigabyte ATI R9 270X OC Edition + Yamakasi Catleap Q270 SE 27" IPS LED LCD
    Audio: Asus Xonar DX, Senheiser CX270 earbuds + BM800 Condenser Microphone
    Case & Lighting: Silverstone Temjin TJ04-E w/ Side Window + Red CCFL's
    PSU: 550W Antec EarthWatts Platinum
    My rig piccies & links

    "Under democracy one party always devotes its chief energies to trying to prove that the other party is unfit to rule - and both commonly succeed, and are right." H.L. MENCKEN

  7. #27
    Great headphones can make all the difference! Loving my Sennheiser HD 650s with the Essence ST
    Intel Core i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz @1.315V
    MSI Z87 XPower
    Corsair H100i Push/Pull
    G.Skill Trident X 8GB DDR3 2400MHz XMP 2 @1.65V
    EVGA SuperNova G2 1300W
    nVidia GTX 660 Ti DirectCU II 3-way SLI
    Benq XL2420TX
    Samsung 840 Pro 256GB
    Sennheiser HD 650
    Xigmatek Elysium
    Logitech G500 on Razer Scarab
    Leopold Otaku MX Cherry Red PS2

  8. #28
    mjw21a's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Australia, Brisbane
    Its electrical noise running through the case and main board causing this problem. The better the headphones the clearer you can hear this noise. The only way to get rid of it is digital to an external amp. My Turtle Beach Ear Force P11 headset already sounds amazing, and you really can't blame it for the signal being fed into it.

    I see the only true fix to this issue as using optical out, at which point I'll remove my Xonar DX and use the onboard optical out instead.
    Last edited by mjw21a; 04-05-12 at 12:00 AM.

  9. #29
    Finally picked it up today.. gonna try the game and chat sounds.. see if it really works
    CPU: Intel i5 2500k
    MOBO: Asus P8Z68 V-Pro/ Gen 3
    RAM: 8GB (4x2) Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600MHz
    GPU: ASUS GTX 560 Ti 448 Cores SLI
    PSU: 760W Seasonic x760 Gold
    HDD: 120 GB Corsair Force GT SSD ; 2TB Western Digital Caviar Green
    Case: Corsair Carbide 500R
    OS: 64 bit Windows 7 Home Premium

  10. #30
    Don't know how to sort out the Voice volume and the game volume.. seems to only be controlled by the voice one.
    CPU: Intel i5 2500k
    MOBO: Asus P8Z68 V-Pro/ Gen 3
    RAM: 8GB (4x2) Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600MHz
    GPU: ASUS GTX 560 Ti 448 Cores SLI
    PSU: 760W Seasonic x760 Gold
    HDD: 120 GB Corsair Force GT SSD ; 2TB Western Digital Caviar Green
    Case: Corsair Carbide 500R
    OS: 64 bit Windows 7 Home Premium

  11. #31
    Senior Member Knufire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Terre Haute, IN
    Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Even though it's technically not a "headset", the Thermaltake Isurus are getting rave reviews on Head-Fi. I grabbed a pair myself, didn't know a gaming marketed product could sound this good.

    Easily matches the quality of my Carcharias, which are much more expensive.
    i7-920 3.8 Ghz | Venomous-X w/ Panaflo HS | Sapphire Vapor-X 4890
    EVGA X58 SLI LE | 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600 | 500GB Samsung OEM | Rosewill 850w | Thermaltake Armor Series | OCZ Vertex 2 60GB

    Secondary Rig:
    CM Elite 430 | A8-3870K stock | Radeon HD 6670 | 500GB WD Caviar Blue | 4GB G.SKILL DDR3-1333 | ASUS A55


  12. #32
    mjw21a's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Australia, Brisbane
    Quote Originally Posted by Bigbaddie View Post
    Don't know how to sort out the Voice volume and the game volume.. seems to only be controlled by the voice one.
    You have to set up your soundcard as your default output device, and in your chat program (Teamspeak, Mumble, Ventrillo whatever) you select Turtle Beach sound which utilizes its USB audio.
    CPU & HSF: AMD FX-8120 & Noctua NH-D14
    Mobo: Asus M5A97-EVO
    RAM: 16GB (4Gx4) DDR3 2133 G.Skill RipjawZ F3-17000CL11Q-16GBZL
    Storage: 1x 120GB OCZ Vertex II SSD, 1x 250GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1x 1.5TB Samsung Silencer Series HDD
    GFX: 4GB Gigabyte ATI R9 270X OC Edition + Yamakasi Catleap Q270 SE 27" IPS LED LCD
    Audio: Asus Xonar DX, Senheiser CX270 earbuds + BM800 Condenser Microphone
    Case & Lighting: Silverstone Temjin TJ04-E w/ Side Window + Red CCFL's
    PSU: 550W Antec EarthWatts Platinum
    My rig piccies & links

    "Under democracy one party always devotes its chief energies to trying to prove that the other party is unfit to rule - and both commonly succeed, and are right." H.L. MENCKEN

  13. #33
    i don't have an sc.. so would that be a problem?
    CPU: Intel i5 2500k
    MOBO: Asus P8Z68 V-Pro/ Gen 3
    RAM: 8GB (4x2) Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600MHz
    GPU: ASUS GTX 560 Ti 448 Cores SLI
    PSU: 760W Seasonic x760 Gold
    HDD: 120 GB Corsair Force GT SSD ; 2TB Western Digital Caviar Green
    Case: Corsair Carbide 500R
    OS: 64 bit Windows 7 Home Premium

  14. #34
    mjw21a's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Australia, Brisbane
    Quote Originally Posted by Bigbaddie View Post
    i don't have an sc.. so would that be a problem?
    You'll have an integrated one. Realtec probably

  15. #35
    They already are my default output and input.. so something's wrong here.
    CPU: Intel i5 2500k
    MOBO: Asus P8Z68 V-Pro/ Gen 3
    RAM: 8GB (4x2) Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600MHz
    GPU: ASUS GTX 560 Ti 448 Cores SLI
    PSU: 760W Seasonic x760 Gold
    HDD: 120 GB Corsair Force GT SSD ; 2TB Western Digital Caviar Green
    Case: Corsair Carbide 500R
    OS: 64 bit Windows 7 Home Premium

  16. #36
    mjw21a's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Australia, Brisbane
    Quote Originally Posted by Bigbaddie View Post
    They already are my default output and input.. so something's wrong here.
    No, you don't want the Turtle Beach to be your default output. You want your onboard sound to be your default output.

    You set you chat software to use the output and input to the Turtle Beach headset, whereas you're supplosed to have the Windows default set the the onboard audio, which is most likely a Realtec.

    This will allow you to control volumes for chat and game audio independently.
    CPU & HSF: AMD FX-8120 & Noctua NH-D14
    Mobo: Asus M5A97-EVO
    RAM: 16GB (4Gx4) DDR3 2133 G.Skill RipjawZ F3-17000CL11Q-16GBZL
    Storage: 1x 120GB OCZ Vertex II SSD, 1x 250GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1x 1.5TB Samsung Silencer Series HDD
    GFX: 4GB Gigabyte ATI R9 270X OC Edition + Yamakasi Catleap Q270 SE 27" IPS LED LCD
    Audio: Asus Xonar DX, Senheiser CX270 earbuds + BM800 Condenser Microphone
    Case & Lighting: Silverstone Temjin TJ04-E w/ Side Window + Red CCFL's
    PSU: 550W Antec EarthWatts Platinum
    My rig piccies & links

    "Under democracy one party always devotes its chief energies to trying to prove that the other party is unfit to rule - and both commonly succeed, and are right." H.L. MENCKEN

  17. #37
    There seems to be a problem though. I use speakers and when i open realtek and test the speakers.. only 2 seems to "work". But when i play music it's fine. I'm using Logitech z506 and all the cables connect to the woofer.

    Also I dont know which one to use.


    Cant seem to get music working by using any of the other 2 digital outputs.
    CPU: Intel i5 2500k
    MOBO: Asus P8Z68 V-Pro/ Gen 3
    RAM: 8GB (4x2) Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600MHz
    GPU: ASUS GTX 560 Ti 448 Cores SLI
    PSU: 760W Seasonic x760 Gold
    HDD: 120 GB Corsair Force GT SSD ; 2TB Western Digital Caviar Green
    Case: Corsair Carbide 500R
    OS: 64 bit Windows 7 Home Premium

  18. #38
    mjw21a's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Australia, Brisbane
    You need to configure the speakers in Windows as it has no way to tell which are surround speakers. Windows defaults to stereo (2 speakers). A quick Google will find the solution to this

  19. #39
    It's so strange.. I have the same config as my brother's computer and it works perfectly on his.

    The output, input, etc. so strange
    CPU: Intel i5 2500k
    MOBO: Asus P8Z68 V-Pro/ Gen 3
    RAM: 8GB (4x2) Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600MHz
    GPU: ASUS GTX 560 Ti 448 Cores SLI
    PSU: 760W Seasonic x760 Gold
    HDD: 120 GB Corsair Force GT SSD ; 2TB Western Digital Caviar Green
    Case: Corsair Carbide 500R
    OS: 64 bit Windows 7 Home Premium

  20. #40
    mjw21a's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Australia, Brisbane
    But when you click on configure/properties etc, what does it say. Is it saying stereo (2.0) or surround (5.1). You will need to change that manually. Likewise, whenever oyu want to use your headset it should change to reflect that you're using the front panel.
    CPU & HSF: AMD FX-8120 & Noctua NH-D14
    Mobo: Asus M5A97-EVO
    RAM: 16GB (4Gx4) DDR3 2133 G.Skill RipjawZ F3-17000CL11Q-16GBZL
    Storage: 1x 120GB OCZ Vertex II SSD, 1x 250GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1x 1.5TB Samsung Silencer Series HDD
    GFX: 4GB Gigabyte ATI R9 270X OC Edition + Yamakasi Catleap Q270 SE 27" IPS LED LCD
    Audio: Asus Xonar DX, Senheiser CX270 earbuds + BM800 Condenser Microphone
    Case & Lighting: Silverstone Temjin TJ04-E w/ Side Window + Red CCFL's
    PSU: 550W Antec EarthWatts Platinum
    My rig piccies & links

    "Under democracy one party always devotes its chief energies to trying to prove that the other party is unfit to rule - and both commonly succeed, and are right." H.L. MENCKEN

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •