Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    13

    Can I overclock my AMD Phenom II X6 1035t ?

    Can I overclock my AMD Phenom II X6 1035t, running in a ACER M3400 ?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    First Responders
    redduc900's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    16,747
    Yes, w/ SetFSB. The M3400 utilizes the ICS9LPRS475BGLF clock generator, the same as the HP Pavilion P6537C/P6520F/P6610F/P6612P series, all of which SetFSB supports.

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by redduc900 View Post
    Yes, w/ SetFSB. The M3400 utilizes the ICS9LPRS475BGLF clock generator, the same as the HP Pavilion P6537C/P6520F/P6610F/P6612P series, all of which SetFSB supports.
    Can you tell me what to change/what to do ?
    As I have no idea, are you sure doing this wont brick my computer ?

  4. #4
    Member dtrunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Kailua-Kona, HI
    Posts
    885
    almost all computers can be overclocked; it's a matter of how much. Safe? Break things? depends. If you add a 5-10% overclock, it should be stable and have little to no effect on the life of the hardware. Beyond that, you'll need proper cooling and stability test to get 15-25% overclock.

    you should read this, amazing. http://www.overclockers.com/forums/s...d.php?t=596023
    CASE: HAF - X BUILD PICS
    PSU: Cooler Master 850W Silent
    CPU: Intel i5 3570k @ 4.0ghz 1.17v
    Custom Water Cooling Loop - XSPC RX360 w/ Swiftech Helix 120s Pull- Alphacool Monsta 140 w/ 2x Bgear Blaster 140 push/pull
    - EK Suprm HF CPU Block - XSPC RezTop on MCP350 pump -Tubed in Black n coiled in RED
    GPU: EVGA GTX680 HydroCopper @1201 GPU / 6110 Mem
    MOBO: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
    MEMORY: Corsair Vengeance 2x4GB DDR3 @ 2133 9-11-10 1.5v
    HD: OCZ Agility3 SATAIII 120gb : 3TB 7200rpm SATAII 64mb cache

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by dtrunk View Post
    almost all computers can be overclocked; it's a matter of how much. Safe? Break things? depends. If you add a 5-10% overclock, it should be stable and have little to no effect on the life of the hardware. Beyond that, you'll need proper cooling and stability test to get 15-25% overclock.

    you should read this, amazing. http://www.overclockers.com/forums/s...d.php?t=596023
    so for a normal computer overclocking is useless with out a good cooling system ?
    I just want to make my Phenom at peak performance but keeping to safe and not damaging the computer components or the computer its self.
    I just want my computer to be a little faster. Does upping the Ghz make it faster ? and is that safe ?
    Last edited by O n y x; 04-01-12 at 12:42 PM.

  6. #6
    Member dtrunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Kailua-Kona, HI
    Posts
    885
    you can get an extra 5-10% on the stock cooler; and with simply adding like 20 clicks to the FSB (front side bus). You should however look in to CPUZ Hardware Monitor software, run this 24/7 and monitor the core temps and other temps. Im not sure on the 1035t, but you need to look around and confirm, but for my PHII 925 the sweet spot is below 55 degree C. with aftermarket cooling (hyper212) my temps dropped 20-15C (quite worth the $40); as i'm almost getting an extra 1ghz of speed.
    CASE: HAF - X BUILD PICS
    PSU: Cooler Master 850W Silent
    CPU: Intel i5 3570k @ 4.0ghz 1.17v
    Custom Water Cooling Loop - XSPC RX360 w/ Swiftech Helix 120s Pull- Alphacool Monsta 140 w/ 2x Bgear Blaster 140 push/pull
    - EK Suprm HF CPU Block - XSPC RezTop on MCP350 pump -Tubed in Black n coiled in RED
    GPU: EVGA GTX680 HydroCopper @1201 GPU / 6110 Mem
    MOBO: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
    MEMORY: Corsair Vengeance 2x4GB DDR3 @ 2133 9-11-10 1.5v
    HD: OCZ Agility3 SATAIII 120gb : 3TB 7200rpm SATAII 64mb cache

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by dtrunk View Post
    you can get an extra 5-10% on the stock cooler; and with simply adding like 20 clicks to the FSB (front side bus). You should however look in to CPUZ Hardware Monitor software, run this 24/7 and monitor the core temps and other temps. Im not sure on the 1035t, but you need to look around and confirm, but for my PHII 925 the sweet spot is below 55 degree C. with aftermarket cooling (hyper212) my temps dropped 20-15C (quite worth the $40); as i'm almost getting an extra 1ghz of speed.
    How much extra Ghz could I get on a stock cooler ? I wanna get atleast 3.0Ghz, atm, my cpu gets 2.6Ghz, would 5%-10% increase it to 3.0 ?
    And how can I do this ? (20 click to FSB ) and is it simple ? Can you link me to a tut

  8. #8
    Member dtrunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Kailua-Kona, HI
    Posts
    885
    the problem is all PC manufactures thought it would be fun to use different terminology... DOH! this is a learning process. yes, jumping up the FSB by about 20 clicks maybe all you need to do; but you need to double check settings in CPUZ, heat in hw monitor and test stability in Prime95

    This means you NEED to read this guide... http://www.overclockers.com/forums/s...d.php?t=596023 you NEED to boot up in to your BIOS and look around, find the settings you can change, see what they're named, and see what affect they have. you NEED to seach OC.com for your mobo and others to see what settings these people have changed. you NEED at least HWmonitor/CPUZ/prime95 for monitoring settings/heat and testing stability. <--- from all this, you should easily be able to find that 10% your stock cooler would allow.
    CASE: HAF - X BUILD PICS
    PSU: Cooler Master 850W Silent
    CPU: Intel i5 3570k @ 4.0ghz 1.17v
    Custom Water Cooling Loop - XSPC RX360 w/ Swiftech Helix 120s Pull- Alphacool Monsta 140 w/ 2x Bgear Blaster 140 push/pull
    - EK Suprm HF CPU Block - XSPC RezTop on MCP350 pump -Tubed in Black n coiled in RED
    GPU: EVGA GTX680 HydroCopper @1201 GPU / 6110 Mem
    MOBO: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
    MEMORY: Corsair Vengeance 2x4GB DDR3 @ 2133 9-11-10 1.5v
    HD: OCZ Agility3 SATAIII 120gb : 3TB 7200rpm SATAII 64mb cache

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by dtrunk View Post
    the problem is all PC manufactures thought it would be fun to use different terminology... DOH! this is a learning process. yes, jumping up the FSB by about 20 clicks maybe all you need to do; but you need to double check settings in CPUZ, heat in hw monitor and test stability in Prime95

    This means you NEED to read this guide... http://www.overclockers.com/forums/s...d.php?t=596023 you NEED to boot up in to your BIOS and look around, find the settings you can change, see what they're named, and see what affect they have. you NEED to seach OC.com for your mobo and others to see what settings these people have changed. you NEED at least HWmonitor/CPUZ/prime95 for monitoring settings/heat and testing stability. <--- from all this, you should easily be able to find that 10% your stock cooler would allow.
    I Cant boot up BIOS, as I have a acer m3400 mobo, can I still use the SetFBS app ? Would 5% be ok on a stock cooler ?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •