Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 27
  1. #1
    Member gottcha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    wisconsin
    Posts
    994

    Does Time Warner cable throttle their internet??



    Does Time Warner cable throttle their internet??

    Here is the plan I have below. My computer crashed and I'm going through re installing all my programs and they all need to be updated.
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    MY HEAT
    I7 4770K @1.2 @4.5
    ASUS A Z97
    H2O swiftech 220 kit with Raystorm XSPC Block
    Corsair Vengeance LP 1600 16gig
    EVGA GTX780 3 gig memory
    Seasonic 660watt -No mods to this
    Samsung 840 pro 256 gig ssd
    Armor case with 250mm side fan
    Win7 Ultimate 64 bit

  2. #2
    Drifto Mexicano Cerberus2k7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Morris, IL
    Posts
    2,222
    Long story short, yes. TWC is, IMO the worst company when it comes to traffic shaping/throttling. Really wish we had J:Com here in the states. 160Mbps for around $70/mo.

    Member of OCdriftingNinjas | You gotta' Fold if you wanna turn up the Heat
    Overclocking: My Anti-Drug. | Overclocking my body...one day at a time... | Black Belt Ubercloxx0r | You are the most ripped yo-yo'er I have ever seen. - Seven
    HTPC | i5 2500k@3.8 | Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3 | 16GB HyperX | GTX 460 1gb@845/1100 | 1.5TB | Silverstone LC10S-M | Corsair 500w

  3. #3
    Member kayson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,061
    I have TWC and I've never been throttled...
    Project Silver
    Intel Core i7-4770k (4.3GHz @ 1.265V)
    Asus Maximus VI Hero
    G.Skill Sniper 2x4GB DDR3-1866
    EVGA nVidia GeForce GTX 760
    Corsair HX850
    Samsung 840 Pro 256GB
    Thermalright Venomous X || 2x 120mm Panaflo || Arctic Silver V
    Lian-Li PC-A77FA || Vantec Nexus Fan Controller
    (Build Journal)
    Heatware

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    789
    I'm leaning towards cerberus's vote. I know for a fact that TWC's 'Turbo' which costs $10 more a month is a scam, ie, they must be throttling everyone. I'm only paying $25 or 30 a month atm and it's better than dsl, has no contract, and requires no deposit. I'd love to pay for a business type acct just to compare the speeds though. Then again I'd like to run fiber optic in house too.
    Intel Northwood @3.06 GHz
    Biostar microatx
    2 GB DDR2 675
    Evga 8400gs
    Samsung 2232GW 2ms 22"
    Altec Lansing 2.1 speakers
    Memorex ext usb burner
    Win7Ult 32bit/Manjaro dualboot
    WD cav blue 320gb
    Samsung F4 2tb
    WD Blue 2tb
    CP850avrlcd ups

  5. #5
    Member

    capttripppp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Anchorage, Alaska
    Posts
    725
    TWC STINKS!!!!!!!!! I hate them, plain and simple! I had Cablevision/Optimum when I lived 15 miles away, but when I moved on the other side of the mountain they only have TWC here. Basically I went from like 55 down and 5-8 up to about what the OP's speeds are. And here's the kicker...... Time Warner is more expensive! I was under the impression that you couldn't have a monopoly in the states, however that doesn't apply to cable companies I think
    "I just picked up some Vaseline and a big syringe. I'm thinking using the syringe will make it easier to put the Vaseline in all the little hard to reach spots. I'm hoping to get to mess with it tonight, if so I'll post some videos" Convicted1

  6. #6
    Glorious Leader I.M.O.G.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Rootstown, OH
    Posts
    25,172
    I haven't had any problems with TWC, I have their roadrunner service here, and I've been on their 30down/5up and 50 down/5up plans. My downloads are always exactly at 30Mbps. I am in the country, not sure if that helps as there isn't much population density.

    I don't use my DD-WRT router any more that logs transfers, however I track it in other ways, and I'm at about 1TB of transfer in about a month.

    That is mostly streaming and transferring HD content, as I don't have cable/satellite TV. I don't do any P2P, except bittorent to help distribute Overclockix, so that probably plays a big part in avoiding any traffic shaping/throttling. I have read they do that, it just hasn't impacted me... Direct downloads however aren't anywhere near as hard on network equipment as hundreds of connections over P2P networks.
    The OC Forums Way
    We are a team. We are a community. We are a fellowship made strong by mutual respect and shared dedication to the task of enriching all who come here.
    The OC Forums Thank You Thread
    Put your computer to work for our OC Forum Teams!
    Try out our POST TEMPLATES, they save you time answering common questions!

    I spend half my money on CPUs, GPUs, and Liquid Nitrogen. The other half I waste.

  7. #7
    Member gottcha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    wisconsin
    Posts
    994


    Here is another speed test and it shows much better speeds. I have not downloaded anything today.
    MY HEAT
    I7 4770K @1.2 @4.5
    ASUS A Z97
    H2O swiftech 220 kit with Raystorm XSPC Block
    Corsair Vengeance LP 1600 16gig
    EVGA GTX780 3 gig memory
    Seasonic 660watt -No mods to this
    Samsung 840 pro 256 gig ssd
    Armor case with 250mm side fan
    Win7 Ultimate 64 bit

  8. #8
    Am I a real member? unijabnx2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    392
    arent they going to start data caps as well?
    i7 950 - X58 SLI3 - GTX 460 - 850W PSU - 12GB DDR3 1600
    i3 2105 - Z68 LGA 1155 - 380W PSU - 8GB DDR3 1066
    Intel G530 - Z68 LGA 1155 - CX600 - 4GB DDR3 1333 - GeForce 8400

  9. #9
    Member


    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,153
    I had TWC 50/5 for 2 years I have downloaded 1+ TB of data non stop at full speed even used rsync between me and friends house for 10+ TB's of data (took forever) and never got throttled.
    Folding User Stats
    CPU: I7 3960X @5000 H2O
    MOBO: ASUS Rampage 4 Extream H20
    RAM: Corsair Dominator 4x2GB 2133 Cl8 (Hypers)
    Video: Evga Titan Tri Sli H20
    Case: Danger Den Custom DoubleWide
    PSU: Silverstone 1500
    LCD: Dell 30" 3007
    SSD: 4x Ocz Vertex 4 120 Raid 0
    H20: Dual D5 Pumps, EK SLi Serial, BP Pump Top, BP Pump Cover, Frozen Q Reservoir, Lamptron FC2, 3x Blackice GTX 480's 2x Blackice GTX 360's

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Honolulu
    Posts
    338
    I haven't had a problem.

    OP - perhaps your neighbors are sucking up bandwidth too.
    Asus MIVE-z
    IB 3570 @ 45x100 1.32v
    Sapphire 7970 1200/1790 EK FC block
    12Gig DDR3
    Switch 810
    5x120 worth of WC.
    XFX 850 PS
    Win 7 ultimate 64bit

  11. #11
    Member gottcha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    wisconsin
    Posts
    994
    I have no idea what was going on robble but i have been noticing this happening lately. I repair some of my friend computers and while downloading the update it slows to a crawl. While re installing windows 7 on mine i had a ton of updates and sp1 along with a bunch of free programs that i use and it just slowed way down and then i took the speed test screen shot after everything was done. The next day around the same time i took the second screen shot and everything seems better. I do use net flicks a lot and have notice near the end of a movie it will pause for a min, and then start again.
    MY HEAT
    I7 4770K @1.2 @4.5
    ASUS A Z97
    H2O swiftech 220 kit with Raystorm XSPC Block
    Corsair Vengeance LP 1600 16gig
    EVGA GTX780 3 gig memory
    Seasonic 660watt -No mods to this
    Samsung 840 pro 256 gig ssd
    Armor case with 250mm side fan
    Win7 Ultimate 64 bit

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    914
    Back when I had Netflix I couldn't stream anything without it buffering forever first, but I didn't have Netflix long so that wasn't too big of a problem. Only other issue I've ever had was horrible ping for 3-4 months while they were doing upgrades.

    One weird thing I noticed is since their upgrade all my speed tests show like 22-28M down even though my plan is only 7M and I never download real files any faster than 7M. It's like they somehow trick the speed test into showing 3-4x the real speed.
    FX-6300 | Gb 970A-UD3P | EVGA GTX 750 Ti | Corsair 8GB 1866 | 120GB Hyper-X 3k | Seasonic G 550w
    Heat

  13. #13
    Member Mpegger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    2,998
    I have the RR Turbo service. It was at 15Mb/768kb (Turbo would net around 20Mb or more for a short time). Just recently they sent a email out stating that the standard speed was being upped to 20Mb/2Mb.



    I'm guessing the "Turbo" is now upping the download to 30Mb for a short time. I don't see any throttling going on either, no matter what is going on with my LAN (multiple HD Netflix streams for example).
    NZXT Switch 810 / ASRock Z97 Extreme4 / i7 4790K @ 4.6 / 32GiB / 780Ti
    ESXi server / i7-3770s / 16GiB / 16TB ZFS-z2
    Dell R710 in the works...

    -----------------------------
    [GB ≠ GiB] [MB ≠ MiB] [kB ≠ kiB]
    "Apparently, Plaintiff believes that he could sue an egg company for fraud for labeling a carton of 12 eggs a “dozen,” because some bakers would view a “dozen” as including 13 items." - Western Digital 2006

    "One World, One Web, One Program" - Microsoft
    "Ein Volk, Ein Reich, Ein Führer" - Hitler

    (Microsucks) Avatar and quote on loan from AntmanMike
    Heatware

  14. #14
    BugFreak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,010
    That is really bad, you might try checking that again at different times of the day and night to see if it traffic but as much as I hate TWC/Roadrunner I have never seen throttling. They do charge crazy rates for the faster stuff but it depends on your distance from one of those green boxes or buildings though. I fought with this for years in my old condo because of distance and older wires but my house has one of their boxes in my front yard so I'm maxed out for my service.

    One thing that hits it hard is how many splitters are in your house so you might check that, also if they are good quality ones. If you have older cable you might consider replacing it because it could be chewed up or something that is killing your speed as well. I would start off by calling them to get a tech out to examine your signal strength from their main. That will at least tell you if you need to go through replacing cables and all that or you are just hosed.
    AMD Phenom 1055T @ 3.4
    ASUS M4A89TD Pro
    Mushkin Redline 996999 PC31600 7,8,7,24 1T
    MSI R290 @ 1000/1250
    Monsta 240, MCP 655, UT60 360, XSPC Rasa, ek R290X Acetel


    "Those who would sacrifice a little freedom for a little order, will lose both, and deserve neither." - Thomas Jefferson

  15. #15
    notJUSTguitar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    MN, USA
    Posts
    570
    Quote Originally Posted by I.M.O.G. View Post
    I haven't had any problems with TWC, I have their roadrunner service here, and I've been on their 30down/5up and 50 down/5up plans. My downloads are always exactly at 30Mbps. I am in the country, not sure if that helps as there isn't much population density.

    I don't use my DD-WRT router any more that logs transfers, however I track it in other ways, and I'm at about 1TB of transfer in about a month.
    Quote Originally Posted by thobel View Post
    I had TWC 50/5 for 2 years I have downloaded 1+ TB of data non stop at full speed even used rsync between me and friends house for 10+ TB's of data (took forever) and never got throttled.
    WOW.
    Lucky

    I'm using charter and the plan I'm on has a 100GB cap, and they do throttle you when you go over. And when they do, you basically have dial up until the next month.

    I always get consistent speeds though.

    And their upload sucks like pretty much everyone...Their plans are
    15/3 (100GB cap)
    30/4 (250GB cap)
    100/5(500GB cap)

    And I'm just out of Comcasts range..and their Xfinity has WAY better upload speeds.
    i7 2600K (56x chip)
    Asus Maximus IV Gene-z/GEN3 Z68
    MSI R7970 Lightning
    8GB G.Skill Sniper 1866Mhz
    Multiple SSDs and TBs of HDDs :)
    OCZ 700W ModXtreme Pro PSU
    Asus VH232H 23" LCD x3 in eyefinity/6036X1080 Resolution
    Retired AMD Rig
    AMD Phenom II 1090T | GIGABYTE GA-MA78GM-US2H (Rev. 1) | XFX Radeon HD6970 | | 4GB Kingston HyperX DDR2 memory running at 1066Mhz | OCZ VERTEX 2 60GB SSD | Multiple SSDs and TBs of HDDs :) | OCZ 700W PSU | HP-Debranded 23" 1080P LCD

  16. #16
    Member ziggo0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    La Porte, Indiana
    Posts
    4,729
    Cable upload speeds make me sick

  17. #17
    Member Bosco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Hagaman, N. Y.
    Posts
    211
    In 11 yrs of using TWC I've yet to be throttled. There are times when traffic is very high and my net speed is affected, as my area is a bit oversaturated with TWC customers.

    The school days (holidays, break periods in school year) that kids have off is an example.
    *no members are necessary at this site

    *Bobnova + Earthdog know it all.

  18. #18
    Member Oroka Sempai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Port Elgin, Canada
    Posts
    1,493
    Dont complain, we get hosed here in Canada for highspeed. 'Up to' 15Mbs for me is $65, and the same companies hose us on our cell phone bills too.
    [Primary][Cooler Master Elite 430 Black][ASUS M4A88TD-M][Phenom II X6 1100T BE][Xigmatek HDT-S1283][4GB Corsair Vengeance LP1600][ASUS 6850 1GB][LG BH10LS30 10X][OCZ Agility 3 90GB & Segate 1TB][Windows 7 Ultimate 64]
    [Server][Thermaltake Armour Jr][ASUS M2A-VA][Athlon X2 7750 BE][POS HSF][4GB Buffalo Select][HIS Radeon X1950 XT 256MB][LG DVD-RW][WD 160GB][Windows 7 Ultimate 64]

  19. #19
    Member Shell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    CYYZ Pearson
    Posts
    2,141
    Quote Originally Posted by Oroka Sempai View Post
    Dont complain, we get hosed here in Canada for highspeed. 'Up to' 15Mbs for me is $65, and the same companies hose us on our cell phone bills too.
    Better be using third-party ISP. TekSavvy is the highest rated in the country, although Acanac/Distributel is cheaper.
    FX-6300@4.5GHz, 7770, 2x4GB DDR3-1600 CL8, PCP&C 400w, 2x1TB
    i5-4690K@4.5GHz, 7850, 2x4GB DDR3-2400 CL10, Seasonic G-550, 2x1TB

  20. #20
    New Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    2
    It's not a monopoly, it's whether or not another cable company wants to overbuild in the same are. It costs a lot more than you can imagine to overbuild that's why some places only have one choice. Be glad you have one, because there are many areas that don't .

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •