• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New Build for Game Design/3D modeling...

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Phlume

Registered
First post here...
I really only signed up for this one question, but upon further review, this site is pretty kick-***! I may stick around and learn/help a bit... :)

So...Hi. Thanks for having me. I have a small/medium puzzle to solve. Who wants to work through it with me?

I start school in June and I am going to need a decent build. Obviously I am researching now, yet it seems moot with the potential IB release in about 3 days. HOWEVER... With the IB release in mind, and a build expected in about 6-8 weeks... Help me navigate this correctly. Budget for complete system is $1200-$1500.

BACKGROUND:
I am a print/web designer and I also do a lot of 3D modeling and animation work. I start school for my MFA in June and will need to be able to run a 3D modeling application, a game engine and probably a series of adobe product concurrently. And being a game designer (in training) I will also be gaming on the machine. I'm not one to squeak out every ms of refresh rate while gaming (I am usually on the PS3), however, I am concerned about lag while rendering full volume lighting and scene effects in my animations and the workflow in the engine (UDK or Unity) while developing levels.

Currently I've been eyeballing a build with an LGA 1155 Z77 for an i7 Sandy bridge with a the ability to contain 32MB (4x240). As for the other components... later on that. Just MB/Processor for now... And maybe case/fan concerns for cooling/venting.

HOWEVER....