Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Overclockix Snake Charming Senior
    Alt OS Content Editor
    Stratus_ss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Ontario Canada
    Author Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile

    Network Alias and multiple networks on 1 NIC

    So I have this laptop which is serving as my local repository. I recently wanted to spin off a network for Virtual Machines (.122.*). Running Centos 6.2 I tried putting these in /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts

    ifcfg-eth0
    Code:
    HWADDR=00:08:74:3E:86:30
    DEVICE=eth0
    TYPE=Ethernet
    BOOTPROTO=none
    IPADDR=192.168.99.247
    PREFIX=24
    GATEWAY=192.168.99.253
    DNS1=192.168.99.253
    DOMAIN=stratus-sphere
    IPV6INIT=no
    ONBOOT=yes
    ifcfg-eth0:1
    Code:
    DEVICE=eth0:1
    BOOTPROTO=static
    IPADDR=192.168.122.247
    PREFIX=24
    GATEWAY=192.168.122.233
    DNS1=192.168.122.233
    DOMAIN=stratus.local
    ONBOOT=yes
    HWADDR=00:08:74:3E:86:30
    No matter what I do, it will only activate one or the other and not both. I have followed the Red Hat docs, as well as online guides and this should be all I need to do with what I have read.

    Anyone have any pointers?
    Last edited by Stratus_ss; 04-24-12 at 08:24 AM.
    HEAT
    Those wishing to contribute to the AltOS section front page please PM me.

    Leviathan41: "Playing with a controller because the mouse and keyboard is too easy is like racing with a bicycle because a car is too fast."

    Chris Fisher "Windows is like Administration with training wheels"

  2. #2
    Member Go3Team's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    The virtual nic should be named ifcfg-eth0:1

    Rename the config file, restart the network, and run ifconfig. The virtual interface should be listed.

  3. #3
    ASCII Moderator
    Overclockers.com Lead Editor

    splat's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philly
    Author Profile
    I've used this method before, looks slightly different than what you are doing: http://blog.rackwire.com/2010/05/how...ans-in-centos/
    ______________________________/\/\__________________/\/\_____
    _______/\/\/\/\__/\/\/\/\____/\/\____/\/\/\______/\/\/\/\/\__
    ____/\/\/\/\____/\/\__/\/\__/\/\________/\/\______/\/\_______
    _________/\/\__/\/\/\/\____/\/\____/\/\/\/\______/\/\________
    __/\/\/\/\____/\/\________/\/\/\__/\/\/\/\/\____/\/\/\_______
    _____________/\/\___________
    once you clock you can't go stock
    [RHCSA, RHCE] || articles || folding stats || overclockers last.fm group


  4. Thanks!

    Stratus_ss (04-24-12)

  5. #4
    Overclockix Snake Charming Senior
    Alt OS Content Editor
    Stratus_ss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Ontario Canada
    Author Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by Go3Team View Post
    The virtual nic should be named ifcfg-eth0:1

    Rename the config file, restart the network, and run ifconfig. The virtual interface should be listed.
    I tried this (though that wasn't clear in my first post). This is how it is currently set. It still only activates the one IP

    Splat, Thanks for that I will give that a try!
    HEAT
    Those wishing to contribute to the AltOS section front page please PM me.

    Leviathan41: "Playing with a controller because the mouse and keyboard is too easy is like racing with a bicycle because a car is too fast."

    Chris Fisher "Windows is like Administration with training wheels"

  6. #5
    Overclockix Snake Charming Senior
    Alt OS Content Editor
    Stratus_ss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Ontario Canada
    Author Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    The vlan suggestion worked.

    I needed to append
    Code:
    VLAN=yes
    Inside of my eth0.122 and eth0.99. Thanks!
    HEAT
    Those wishing to contribute to the AltOS section front page please PM me.

    Leviathan41: "Playing with a controller because the mouse and keyboard is too easy is like racing with a bicycle because a car is too fast."

    Chris Fisher "Windows is like Administration with training wheels"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •