Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Overclockix Snake Charming Senior
    Alt OS Content Editor
    Stratus_ss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Ontario Canada
    Posts
    3,868

    Network Alias and multiple networks on 1 NIC

    So I have this laptop which is serving as my local repository. I recently wanted to spin off a network for Virtual Machines (.122.*). Running Centos 6.2 I tried putting these in /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts

    ifcfg-eth0
    Code:
    HWADDR=00:08:74:3E:86:30
    DEVICE=eth0
    TYPE=Ethernet
    BOOTPROTO=none
    IPADDR=192.168.99.247
    PREFIX=24
    GATEWAY=192.168.99.253
    DNS1=192.168.99.253
    DOMAIN=stratus-sphere
    IPV6INIT=no
    ONBOOT=yes
    ifcfg-eth0:1
    Code:
    DEVICE=eth0:1
    BOOTPROTO=static
    IPADDR=192.168.122.247
    PREFIX=24
    GATEWAY=192.168.122.233
    DNS1=192.168.122.233
    DOMAIN=stratus.local
    ONBOOT=yes
    HWADDR=00:08:74:3E:86:30
    No matter what I do, it will only activate one or the other and not both. I have followed the Red Hat docs, as well as online guides and this should be all I need to do with what I have read.

    Anyone have any pointers?
    Last edited by Stratus_ss; 04-24-12 at 07:24 AM.
    HEAT
    Those wishing to contribute to the AltOS section front page please PM me.

    Leviathan41: "Playing with a controller because the mouse and keyboard is too easy is like racing with a bicycle because a car is too fast."

    Chris Fisher "Windows is like Administration with training wheels"

  2. #2
    Member Go3Team's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    157
    The virtual nic should be named ifcfg-eth0:1

    Rename the config file, restart the network, and run ifconfig. The virtual interface should be listed.

  3. #3
    ASCII Moderator
    Overclockers.com Lead Editor

    splat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philly
    Posts
    3,951
    I've used this method before, looks slightly different than what you are doing: http://blog.rackwire.com/2010/05/how...ans-in-centos/
    ______________________________/\/\__________________/\/\_____
    _______/\/\/\/\__/\/\/\/\____/\/\____/\/\/\______/\/\/\/\/\__
    ____/\/\/\/\____/\/\__/\/\__/\/\________/\/\______/\/\_______
    _________/\/\__/\/\/\/\____/\/\____/\/\/\/\______/\/\________
    __/\/\/\/\____/\/\________/\/\/\__/\/\/\/\/\____/\/\/\_______
    _____________/\/\___________
    once you clock you can't go stock
    [RHCSA, RHCE] || articles || folding stats || overclockers last.fm group


  4. Thanks!

    Stratus_ss (04-24-12)

  5. #4
    Overclockix Snake Charming Senior
    Alt OS Content Editor
    Stratus_ss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Ontario Canada
    Posts
    3,868
    Quote Originally Posted by Go3Team View Post
    The virtual nic should be named ifcfg-eth0:1

    Rename the config file, restart the network, and run ifconfig. The virtual interface should be listed.
    I tried this (though that wasn't clear in my first post). This is how it is currently set. It still only activates the one IP

    Splat, Thanks for that I will give that a try!
    HEAT
    Those wishing to contribute to the AltOS section front page please PM me.

    Leviathan41: "Playing with a controller because the mouse and keyboard is too easy is like racing with a bicycle because a car is too fast."

    Chris Fisher "Windows is like Administration with training wheels"

  6. #5
    Overclockix Snake Charming Senior
    Alt OS Content Editor
    Stratus_ss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Ontario Canada
    Posts
    3,868
    The vlan suggestion worked.

    I needed to append
    Code:
    VLAN=yes
    Inside of my eth0.122 and eth0.99. Thanks!
    HEAT
    Those wishing to contribute to the AltOS section front page please PM me.

    Leviathan41: "Playing with a controller because the mouse and keyboard is too easy is like racing with a bicycle because a car is too fast."

    Chris Fisher "Windows is like Administration with training wheels"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •