Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    6

    Problem with my custom build

    Hi guys.

    Very new to the custom build scene so im seeking some help if possible. I have noticed my computer is just not running up to par. Every game i run i have to run on the lowest setting and even then its still in bareable to play.
    I read somewhere that bottlenecking could be causeing this problem,i have even turned off every possible windows 7 service and themes to see if that helps and still nothing.

    Here is a link to my cpu-z showing my computer stats.

    Hope i can get some help,thanks.

    http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2342231

  2. #2
    fcomstoc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Tempe, AZ USA
    Posts
    580
    Can you post your system specs. Without them there is not enough information.

    video card, etc
    Last edited by fcomstoc; 04-23-12 at 01:56 PM.
    Work Machine: MacBook Pro Retina 13in (Late 2013) //8GB Ram//250GB SSD//OSX Mavericks
    Phones: iPhone 5 iOS 7 (Home) / iPhone 4s iOS7 (Work)
    Plex Server/Temp Gaming Machine: Dell Optiplex 780 (Intel Core 2 Duo 3.0GHZ, 8GB DDR3, Nvidia GTX 620) Win 7 Pro
    HTPC: MacBook Pro 13in (Early 2011) - Upgraded to 8GB RAM // OSX Mavericks // Xubuntu 12.04
    Folding User Stats
    root@linux# mv /home /dev/null

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    6
    did the link not work for you?

  4. #4
    Member King107s's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,602
    Video card?
    CPU Intel Core i7-2600K @ 4.9 GHz on H2O
    MB ASRock Z77 Extreme9
    RAM G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR3 2133 9-11-10-28
    VC Sapphire Dual-X OC 7970 3GB 1050/1500 (3DMark11 P10551)
    SSD Samsung 840 Pro 256GB
    HDD RAID0 2x1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200.12
    PSU Corsair AX1200
    Case Corsair Carbide Air 540 w/ Aerocool Shark Black ed. fans
    Cooling EK Supreme HF Rev 2 block, Swiftech MCR320-XP eXtreme Performance Triple 120mm Slim Radiator, AFC1212D-PWM Fans, EK D5 X-RES Top 100 Res, Swiftech MCP655-B, Prolimatech PK-1 TIM, PrimoChill Liquid Utopia, 1/2" x 3/4"PrimoFlex PRO LRT Tubing UV Blue

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    6
    Asus M4A78LT-M Socket AM3 AMD SB710 DVI VGA HDMI 8 Channel Audio mATX Motherboard
    AMD Phenom II X4 840 Socket AM3 3.2GHz 2MB Cache Retail Boxed Processor
    G-Skill 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1600Mhz RipjawsX Memory Kit CL9 (9-9-9-24) 1.5V
    XFX HD 6870 1GB GDDR5 Dual DVI HDMI Dual Mini Display Port Out Graphics Card
    Coolermaster CM690 II Lite with Coolermaster GX 650W PSU *Special Offer Bundle*

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    6
    Sorry that cpu is wrong the one i currentley have is AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition Socket AM3 3.2 GHz 6MB L3 Cache.

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    6
    Guess not much help around?

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    545
    Im not the most knowledgeable but I remember when I first built my pc I had the same issue. My problem was thermal paste on the cpu, might want to check that to make sure theres not too much/too little.
    Intel i5-4670k : G. SKill Ares 8gb (2x 4gb 1600mhz) : Gigabyte GA-Z97N-WIFI : EVGA GTX 770 4gb : EVGA Hadron Air / EVGA 500w 80 gold : Samsung 840 Evo 120gb SSD + Seagate Barracuda 3tb HDD

  9. #9
    Wants Old Title Back
    Didn't Get It
    Conumdrum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    14,271
    Any overclock? Old GPU drivers? Wrong mobo drivers? Memory timings wrong? Overtemp problems throttling the CPU or GPU? Lots of AMD don't like 1600 speed ram, you have to drop it down to 1333 work correctly.

    We can't help from 1000's of miles away not knowing much at all, sorry.

    What tests have you run on the PC for load tests? What are the temp results? Have you run 3D Mark 11 and compared your setup to others in the results area?

    Just some ideas, hope it helps you.
    I want my old title back.
    Old beast is torn down.
    Will update later.

    900 watt (1500VA) UPS
    27" ASUS VG 3D/Nvidia V2 3D glasses and 24" Acer H243H

  10. #10
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    6
    I have ran everything i know,cpu-z,memtest everything showed no errors,temp is good on idel it stands at 28-30C under load its about 48-55c,i have my latest drivers for everything.

    Going to try that 3D mark 11,but it sounds similar to msi kombustion( not sure i have spelt that right),it didn't do to great on high settings and on low i just wasn't impressed at all.

    But back to the ram trimmings,i believe this could be my issue,not messed around with my ram,so how would i go about changing that? My NB freq stands at 2000.8 mhz and my dram freq is at 800mhz, is that right?

    here are my 3d mark 11 settings,it says my build is normal but i don't seem right at all.

    http://3dmark.com/3dm11/3268695;jses...kyhqpggce37pzy
    Last edited by Dazzalad; 04-24-12 at 05:30 PM.

  11. #11
    Wants Old Title Back
    Didn't Get It
    Conumdrum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    14,271
    I think combustor is only GPU? Also, might ask in the CPU sub-forum about mem timings. Something I remember reading, no experiance, haven't AMD'ed in many years.
    I want my old title back.
    Old beast is torn down.
    Will update later.

    900 watt (1500VA) UPS
    27" ASUS VG 3D/Nvidia V2 3D glasses and 24" Acer H243H

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •