Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012

    3 monitor set up

    my current cpu

    i7 2600k
    mobo Evga z68 FTW Bios A05
    ZOTAC GeForce GTX 560 Graphics card - 1 GB - GDDR5
    Corsair 16 GB vengence lp ram
    intel 320 120gb ssd
    intel 320 160gb ssd
    WD Caviar Black 1 TBx(2)
    windows home premium 64 bit
    Corsair Professional Series HX1050 PowerSupply

    I plan on using 3x 23' Acers(S232HL) monitors

    and in need of a good graphic card what will fit my playstyle

    I'll mostly be playing wow, diablo 3, sc and few fps shooters.
    Last edited by porkchoppie; 04-24-12 at 05:40 AM.

  2. #2
    Soulcatcher668's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Toronto Canada
    Folding Profile
    The cheapest option would be to drop another 560 in.

    What is your budget?
    CPU/Mobo-2600K / Asus P8Z68 Gen3 Deluxe Laptop-Asus G73S
    GPU-Asus 680 DC ii 4 Gig/EVGA 680 4 Gig SLI goodness
    SSD/HDD-120 OCZ Agility, 256 OCZ Vector / Segate 1T
    Cooler-Custom loop
    Monitors-3x Asus 27" Surround goodness
    Case-Corsair 600T Graphite
    PSU-Corsair HX 850
    Folding User Stats

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    like 500 bones or so but I'm willing to wait a few months or so untill I get a cpu desk I'm playing on the floor since I recently moved.

  4. #4
    fcomstoc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Tempe, AZ USA
    Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    I have a 6950 in Eyefinity for my 3 17s (3840x1024), I get 60FPS on high. I think the 6950 goes for around $300 and it will support up to 4 monitors.
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Work Machine: MacBook Pro Retina 13in (Late 2013) //8GB Ram//250GB SSD//OSX Mavericks
    Phones: iPhone 5 iOS 7 (Home) / iPhone 4s iOS7 (Work)
    Plex Server/Temp Gaming Machine: Dell Optiplex 780 (Intel Core 2 Duo 3.0GHZ, 8GB DDR3, Nvidia GTX 620) Win 7 Pro
    HTPC: MacBook Pro 13in (Early 2011) - Upgraded to 8GB RAM // OSX Mavericks // Xubuntu 12.04
    Folding User Stats
    root@linux# mv /home /dev/null

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Nice did you build that table top yourself, the one holding up the monitors. When you bg how is the lag?

  6. #6
    fcomstoc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Tempe, AZ USA
    Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    I have not really noticed any issues in BG/Raid and I am on one of the most populated servers and there is no lag in Stormwind (most populated city). I think that most of the lag in BG/Raids and citys is caused by slow CPU/Internet speed. But I could be wrong. I am running a 4.5GHZ 2500k and my internet speed is over 30MPS so I have no issues there.

    I did build that riser myself, I wanted some space to put stuff and the 3 monitors take up the whole desk.
    Work Machine: MacBook Pro Retina 13in (Late 2013) //8GB Ram//250GB SSD//OSX Mavericks
    Phones: iPhone 5 iOS 7 (Home) / iPhone 4s iOS7 (Work)
    Plex Server/Temp Gaming Machine: Dell Optiplex 780 (Intel Core 2 Duo 3.0GHZ, 8GB DDR3, Nvidia GTX 620) Win 7 Pro
    HTPC: MacBook Pro 13in (Early 2011) - Upgraded to 8GB RAM // OSX Mavericks // Xubuntu 12.04
    Folding User Stats
    root@linux# mv /home /dev/null

  7. #7
    fcomstoc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Tempe, AZ USA
    Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    In order to have Eyeinfity (one resolution spread between several monitors) you have to have AMD and it can be done with one card, the nVidia equivalent requires 2 or more cards and can be VERY expensive.
    Work Machine: MacBook Pro Retina 13in (Late 2013) //8GB Ram//250GB SSD//OSX Mavericks
    Phones: iPhone 5 iOS 7 (Home) / iPhone 4s iOS7 (Work)
    Plex Server/Temp Gaming Machine: Dell Optiplex 780 (Intel Core 2 Duo 3.0GHZ, 8GB DDR3, Nvidia GTX 620) Win 7 Pro
    HTPC: MacBook Pro 13in (Early 2011) - Upgraded to 8GB RAM // OSX Mavericks // Xubuntu 12.04
    Folding User Stats
    root@linux# mv /home /dev/null

  8. #8
    Soulcatcher668's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Toronto Canada
    Folding Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by fcomstoc View Post
    In order to have Eyeinfity (one resolution spread between several monitors) you have to have AMD and it can be done with one card, the nVidia equivalent requires 2 or more cards and can be VERY expensive.
    He already has a Zotac 560 so adding another will get him much better performance than almost any single AMD. A single 7950 would be about the same but be much more expensive.

    The resolutions you are running are very low as well. The monitors that the OP posted are 1920X1080 giving a total of 5670 X 1080. You need much more juice to run that than your 3840x1024.

    If you look HERE , you will see that SLI 560's get almost double the FPS of a single 6950.
    Last edited by Soulcatcher668; 04-24-12 at 04:42 PM.
    CPU/Mobo-2600K / Asus P8Z68 Gen3 Deluxe Laptop-Asus G73S
    GPU-Asus 680 DC ii 4 Gig/EVGA 680 4 Gig SLI goodness
    SSD/HDD-120 OCZ Agility, 256 OCZ Vector / Segate 1T
    Cooler-Custom loop
    Monitors-3x Asus 27" Surround goodness
    Case-Corsair 600T Graphite
    PSU-Corsair HX 850
    Folding User Stats

  9. #9
    fcomstoc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Tempe, AZ USA
    Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by Soulcatcher668 View Post
    He already has a Zotac 560 so adding another will get him much better performance than almost any single AMD. A single 7950 would be about the same but be much more expensive.

    The resolutions you are running are very low as well. The monitors that the OP posted are 1920X1080 giving a total of 5670 X 1080. You need much more juice to run that than your 3840x1024.
    I agree with this in this case, get another 560, but for anyone out there that needs a GPU and wants to run Eyeinfinity and doesnt have a nVidia card already going the AMD route is cheaper and potentially as good without the need for 2 cards.
    Work Machine: MacBook Pro Retina 13in (Late 2013) //8GB Ram//250GB SSD//OSX Mavericks
    Phones: iPhone 5 iOS 7 (Home) / iPhone 4s iOS7 (Work)
    Plex Server/Temp Gaming Machine: Dell Optiplex 780 (Intel Core 2 Duo 3.0GHZ, 8GB DDR3, Nvidia GTX 620) Win 7 Pro
    HTPC: MacBook Pro 13in (Early 2011) - Upgraded to 8GB RAM // OSX Mavericks // Xubuntu 12.04
    Folding User Stats
    root@linux# mv /home /dev/null

  10. #10
    Soulcatcher668's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Toronto Canada
    Folding Profile
    That used to be true. The new 6 series cards can run multiple monitors off a single card.

    I still love my 7970 Cu ii though.

    Just for fun..... this is mine

    CPU/Mobo-2600K / Asus P8Z68 Gen3 Deluxe Laptop-Asus G73S
    GPU-Asus 680 DC ii 4 Gig/EVGA 680 4 Gig SLI goodness
    SSD/HDD-120 OCZ Agility, 256 OCZ Vector / Segate 1T
    Cooler-Custom loop
    Monitors-3x Asus 27" Surround goodness
    Case-Corsair 600T Graphite
    PSU-Corsair HX 850
    Folding User Stats

  11. #11
    fcomstoc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Tempe, AZ USA
    Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by Soulcatcher668 View Post
    That used to be true. The new 6 series cards can run multiple monitors off a single card.

    I still love my 7970 Cu ii though.
    This may be idiotic but I have always bought

    ATI GPUs and
    Intel CPUs,

    I have done this for years and has always seemed like the right decision.

    I would love to have the 7970 or 7990 but I just cant afford that upgrade right now.
    Work Machine: MacBook Pro Retina 13in (Late 2013) //8GB Ram//250GB SSD//OSX Mavericks
    Phones: iPhone 5 iOS 7 (Home) / iPhone 4s iOS7 (Work)
    Plex Server/Temp Gaming Machine: Dell Optiplex 780 (Intel Core 2 Duo 3.0GHZ, 8GB DDR3, Nvidia GTX 620) Win 7 Pro
    HTPC: MacBook Pro 13in (Early 2011) - Upgraded to 8GB RAM // OSX Mavericks // Xubuntu 12.04
    Folding User Stats
    root@linux# mv /home /dev/null

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Mickleton NJ
    90% of lag in MMO's is due to net speed. thats alot of info coming trough the lines. Cities ppl are like OMG frame rate is so bad, it's not video lag, it's connection lag. WOW can run easy on a intergrated HD3000 graphic on my i3-2350m laptop.
    Mobo ASRock z77 Extreem4
    CPU i7-2600k @ 4.2 1.20v
    CPU HS/F Corsair H-100
    RAM Corsair Veng 12gig DDR3-1600
    GPU EVGA 760 SC Acx
    Storage 2tb HDD
    DVD Samsung BD/DVD/CD
    Inputs Logitech G510 and G700
    Sound Sb X-Fi titanium , TB DX12
    Case Haf X Advanced
    PSU TT TR2 RX 750w
    My Heatware

  13. #13
    Soulcatcher668's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Toronto Canada
    Folding Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by Metlcub View Post
    90% of lag in MMO's is due to net speed. thats alot of info coming trough the lines. Cities ppl are like OMG frame rate is so bad, it's not video lag, it's connection lag. WOW can run easy on a intergrated HD3000 graphic on my i3-2350m laptop.
    True, but it does not go to the OP's question. I doubt integrated graphics will run 3 X 23" screens
    CPU/Mobo-2600K / Asus P8Z68 Gen3 Deluxe Laptop-Asus G73S
    GPU-Asus 680 DC ii 4 Gig/EVGA 680 4 Gig SLI goodness
    SSD/HDD-120 OCZ Agility, 256 OCZ Vector / Segate 1T
    Cooler-Custom loop
    Monitors-3x Asus 27" Surround goodness
    Case-Corsair 600T Graphite
    PSU-Corsair HX 850
    Folding User Stats

  14. #14
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    thanks guys I think I'll go with the 560 since it's like under 200 bones now and I will have enough to buy a table lol. I'll most likely have it in a month or two with some pictures. Thanks for all the feed back and info, greatly appreciated, cheers.

  15. #15
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Since you went the Nvidia route, buying a second card seems like the best solution. It'll be the most cost effective but I've heard it can be somewhat tricky to configure.

    Offtopic:

    I need to find 3 nice monitors to purchase so I can see how decent my 6870 is when configured for Eyefinity.
    Case: Xigmatek ASGARD II || CPU: i5-2500k (Stock at 3.3GHz) || MoBo: BIOSTAR TZ68A+ || PSU: Antec EarthWatts 430W 80+ BRONZE || GPU: XFX Double D Radeon 6870 1GB || RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666)

  16. #16
    notJUSTguitar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    MN, USA
    Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by fcomstoc View Post
    This may be idiotic but I have always bought

    ATI GPUs and
    Intel CPUs,

    I have done this for years and has always seemed like the right decision.

    I would love to have the 7970 or 7990 but I just cant afford that upgrade right now.
    I used to use AMD gfx card with AMD cpus...but that was mostly because I was poor lol.
    Now I'm running an Intel CPU with an AMD graphics card

    Quote Originally Posted by fcomstoc View Post
    I did build that riser myself, I wanted some space to put stuff and the 3 monitors take up the whole desk.
    Nice riser thing, I like it.
    I have eyefinity and the screens do take up the whole back of the desk.

    Quote Originally Posted by Soulcatcher668 View Post
    The resolutions you are running are very low as well. The monitors that the OP posted are 1920X1080 giving a total of 5670 X 1080. You need much more juice to run that than your 3840x1024.
    Not really, depending on the game.
    I have 3 23" monitors running at 6056X1080 on ONE 6970.
    I can play all my games (Except BF3 & Medal Of Honor) on the highest settings and stay at a constant 60FPS.
    i7 2600K (56x chip)
    Asus Maximus IV Gene-z/GEN3 Z68
    MSI R7970 Lightning
    8GB G.Skill Sniper 1866Mhz
    Multiple SSDs and TBs of HDDs :)
    OCZ 700W ModXtreme Pro PSU
    Asus VH232H 23" LCD x3 in eyefinity/6036X1080 Resolution
    Retired AMD Rig
    AMD Phenom II 1090T | GIGABYTE GA-MA78GM-US2H (Rev. 1) | XFX Radeon HD6970 | | 4GB Kingston HyperX DDR2 memory running at 1066Mhz | OCZ VERTEX 2 60GB SSD | Multiple SSDs and TBs of HDDs :) | OCZ 700W PSU | HP-Debranded 23" 1080P LCD

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •