Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2012

    350W PSU Sufficient?

    I am currently running:
    GIGABYTE-H67MA
    Nvidia Geforce 550 TI
    12GB DDR3 RAM
    Intel Core i3-2100 CPU 3.1GHz
    With two monitors, two hdd's and a DVD Drive.

    Am i currently pushing the limits with my 350W PSU?

  2. #2
    manu2b's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Libreville Gabon
    Benching Profile
    Nope, if it's a "real" 350W unit. What's the brand/model?
    550ti TDP:115W
    i3-2100 TDP: 65W
    Main :
    MoBo: Asrock Z97M OC Formula
    CPU: i7 4790K@4.8GHz/1.34v - Raijintek Nemesis
    Memory: 2x4GB Corsair 1866/Cl9
    GPU: 2x Sapphire Dual-X 280x
    SSD: Crucial M4 250GB
    PSU: HiperM 1000W


    HTPC : ASUS A55BM-Plus - AMD A4-4000 - iGPU

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    http://www.huntkeydiy.com/ProductsPa...1be9da103c0010
    That's the model, I'm thinking of upgrading the cpu to this:
    http://ark.intel.com/products/52210
    Could I pull it off with my current PSU?

  4. #4
    Researches Meritless
    LIES for the Front
    Page and Super Mutterator

    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Stuck in Maryland...
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Whoa... well... at stock speeds all around I would say yes..assuming the PSU puts out its rated power. Its 250W RMS, and 350W peak.

    If things get wonky, the PSU is the first place I would look however.

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    And if i overclocked the fudge out of the i5?

  6. #6
    manu2b's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Libreville Gabon
    Benching Profile
    When I said "Nope", I meant: "Nope, you are not pushing the limit".

    Sorry for the (possible) misunderstanding.
    Main :
    MoBo: Asrock Z97M OC Formula
    CPU: i7 4790K@4.8GHz/1.34v - Raijintek Nemesis
    Memory: 2x4GB Corsair 1866/Cl9
    GPU: 2x Sapphire Dual-X 280x
    SSD: Crucial M4 250GB
    PSU: HiperM 1000W


    HTPC : ASUS A55BM-Plus - AMD A4-4000 - iGPU

  7. #7
    Researches Meritless
    LIES for the Front
    Page and Super Mutterator

    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Stuck in Maryland...
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by palmerrulzah View Post
    And if i overclocked the fudge out of the i5?
    You wont be overclocking the fudge out of that chip. You do not have an unlocked multiplier and bclk will be limited to around 105-107. That said, it should still handle it as I would imagine even at 107bclk that CPU will be at stock voltage.

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

  8. #8
    Premium Member #13

    wagex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    newkirk, oklahoma
    Benching Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by palmerrulzah View Post
    And if i overclocked the fudge out of the i5?
    i think what earth dog means is that 2500k you planned on upgrading to will not be able to be overclocked on that motherboard you need a p67 or p68 or z77 mobo to do that.
    if i were you id get a corsair 450 or 500 if you plan the 2500k route, they are well priced, yes they are more expensive than the cheapo ones but they also are quality units and you run more of a risk of the cheap ones going out and burning everything up in the process.

    i dont know how much power one of them 550's pull but i know my 2500k @ 4ghz and 6950 with a mild oc pull a little over 400 from the wall full load with p95 and furmark (monitor and stuff included) i was surprised when my kill-o-watt told me that lol and to think ive been running an 850w psu all this time ;p (had a 6970 and bought the 850 in preperation for a second 6970 but i toasted the first one so i settled for a 6950 to get me back up and goin)
    rig-NZXT source 210 elite --serv-- norco 270 2u-------------------htpc-apex htpc case------lan rig lian-li pc-q07
    2500k 4.5ghz 1.3v------------------ opteron 2419 6-core-------------------i3-2120-------------i5-2400
    p67-ud4 ------------------------------ h8dmi-2 --------------------------- gigabyte h61-----------foxconn h61
    8gb gskill ripjaws 2x4 1600 ------4x4gb samsung ddr2 ECC ------1x2gb ddr3 1600-------2x4gb ddr3 1600 ripjaws
    xfx r9-280x black ----------------- onboard ---------------------------------HD 5450-------------GTX 750TI SC
    corsair hx850-------------------------antec vp-450------------------275w came with case------ corsair 430M
    custom loop --------------------------socket f 2u passive --------------stock intel cooler-------lenovo 1155 hs w 4500rpm pwm delta
    win 7x64------------------------------server 2012 r2 datacenter----------win 7 64 bit-----------win 7 x64
    steam user name : Wagex (you happy bro?) HEAT
    "You can't get magical Harry Potter temps with big overclocks, PHYSICS has a lot to do with it." -conumdrum

  9. Thanks!

    EarthDog (04-24-12)

  10. #9
    Researches Meritless
    LIES for the Front
    Page and Super Mutterator

    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Stuck in Maryland...
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Thanks WageX/manu... off to get my coffee..

    Spot on with your advice.


    Quote Originally Posted by wagex View Post
    i dont know how much power one of them 550's pull but i know my 2500k @ 4ghz and 6950 with a mild oc pull a little over 400 from the wall full load with p95 and furmark (monitor and stuff included) i was surprised when my kill-o-watt told me that lol and to think ive been running an 850w psu all this time ;p (had a 6970 and bought the 850 in preperation for a second 6970 but i toasted the first one so i settled for a 6950 to get me back up and goin)
    One thing to note is that is an incredibly unrealistic load unless you F@H or something of the like.

    With 7870's in CrossfireX using 3DMark11 combined test, GPUs at 1.299v 1200/1375, and 2600k @ 5.2Ghz 1.5v I pulled a bit over 500W at the wall with 90% efficient PSU. With one card at 1300/1450 and the same CPU clocks I hit 322W.
    Last edited by EarthDog; 04-24-12 at 07:56 AM.

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

  11. Thanks!

    manu2b (04-24-12)

  12. #10
    manu2b's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Libreville Gabon
    Benching Profile
    My coffee is loooong gone!
    Main :
    MoBo: Asrock Z97M OC Formula
    CPU: i7 4790K@4.8GHz/1.34v - Raijintek Nemesis
    Memory: 2x4GB Corsair 1866/Cl9
    GPU: 2x Sapphire Dual-X 280x
    SSD: Crucial M4 250GB
    PSU: HiperM 1000W


    HTPC : ASUS A55BM-Plus - AMD A4-4000 - iGPU

  13. #11
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Nvidia does recommend a minimum of 400w and 24 amps on the 12v rail, while yours is only 350w with 19 amps on the 12v. It doesn't sound like its enough.
    AMD FX-6100 @3.9ghz
    Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3 AM3+
    Gigabyte GTX 570
    8GB G. Skill Ripjaws X 1600mhz 8-8-8-24
    Corsair Force 3 90GB SSD
    WD Black 750GB HDD
    CM Hyper 212+
    Asus Xonar D1 7.1
    CM Storm Sniper
    Corsair TX650

  14. #12
    Researches Meritless
    LIES for the Front
    Page and Super Mutterator

    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Stuck in Maryland...
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by Cman12 View Post
    Nvidia does recommend a minimum of 400w and 24 amps on the 12v rail, while yours is only 350w with 19 amps on the 12v. It doesn't sound like its enough.
    Its enough (assuming that PSU can put out its rated wattage).

    Estimates like that always go high as not everyone has a quality PSU. We did the math for the major components so you can clearly see its enough.

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

  15. Thanks!

    manu2b (04-24-12)

  16. #13
    mjw21a's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Australia, Brisbane
    I'd never trust HuntKey units. They're in the same no name/garbage brands as Eagle, Aereon or PowMax.... Good way to kill your system.
    CPU & HSF: AMD FX-8120 & Noctua NH-D14
    Mobo: Asus M5A97-EVO
    RAM: 16GB (4Gx4) DDR3 2133 G.Skill RipjawZ F3-17000CL11Q-16GBZL
    Storage: 1x 120GB OCZ Vertex II SSD, 1x 250GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1x 1.5TB Samsung Silencer Series HDD
    GFX: 4GB Gigabyte ATI R9 270X OC Edition + Yamakasi Catleap Q270 SE 27" IPS LED LCD
    Audio: Asus Xonar DX, Senheiser CX270 earbuds + BM800 Condenser Microphone
    Case & Lighting: Silverstone Temjin TJ04-E w/ Side Window + Red CCFL's
    PSU: 550W Antec EarthWatts Platinum
    My rig piccies & links

    "Under democracy one party always devotes its chief energies to trying to prove that the other party is unfit to rule - and both commonly succeed, and are right." H.L. MENCKEN

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •