Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    Member blackjackel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    1,265

    ATI card artifacts when computer is cold. Stops when warm...

    Every time I boot my computer I get video artifacting, I have to wait till the graphics card heats up and reboot and the artifacting goes away...

    OR

    I can "push" the card up or down a little and this will also work.


    MY personal opinion is that one of the solder points on the card is loose or something, has anyone experienced this before?

    I'm thinking of doing the "bake it in the oven trick" to try to revive the card, what do you guys think?
    --------------------Hardware Specifications--------------------
    --CPU: Q6600 @ 3.6 GHZ --Mobo: P5K Deluxe --RAM: 8gig --HDD: 256GB SSD +1TB+1.5TB+3TB+500GB+2x150Raptor raid 1 = ~6.4TB --Vidcard: Radeon 4870 --PSU: TT Toughpower 1250W.
    --------------------cooling Specifications--------------------
    --Case: Cooler Master Stacker 830 --Watercooling rig: Corsair H50 (sealed kit) --Fan setup 8 X 120mm fans: 1 on HD's, 5 blowing on mobo, 2push/pull on radiator.
    --------------------Miscelaneous Links--------------------
    My HeatWare, My folding statistics,

  2. #2
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    31,370
    I would agree on solder points, but I would also add a bad heatsink seating to the list, as well. If physical movement fixes the artifacts, it is a physical problem.
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  3. #3
    Member blackjackel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    1,265
    Quote Originally Posted by thideras View Post
    I would agree on solder points, but I would also add a bad heatsink seating to the list, as well. If physical movement fixes the artifacts, it is a physical problem.
    I thought about this so i tightened the heatsink screws and that fixed the problem for 1 boot, after that the same thing happened again.

    Then I took the heatsink completely off, scraped the crap thermal paste off and put new paste on and screwed it back on, again, solved the problem for the next boot...

    The boot after that, I had the problem again!

    So I'm thinking sticking it in the oven will fix it, thing is, this is a nice card and i don't want to ruin it :/
    --------------------Hardware Specifications--------------------
    --CPU: Q6600 @ 3.6 GHZ --Mobo: P5K Deluxe --RAM: 8gig --HDD: 256GB SSD +1TB+1.5TB+3TB+500GB+2x150Raptor raid 1 = ~6.4TB --Vidcard: Radeon 4870 --PSU: TT Toughpower 1250W.
    --------------------cooling Specifications--------------------
    --Case: Cooler Master Stacker 830 --Watercooling rig: Corsair H50 (sealed kit) --Fan setup 8 X 120mm fans: 1 on HD's, 5 blowing on mobo, 2push/pull on radiator.
    --------------------Miscelaneous Links--------------------
    My HeatWare, My folding statistics,

  4. #4
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    31,370
    If it is under warranty, I would just send it in.

    Otherwise, I would do the following:
    *Try another card in this system
    *Try that card in another system
    --*If you can't do either of those, a different power supply
    *Bake it
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  5. #5
    Member corruption's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Halifax, NS
    Posts
    422
    Possible issue with caps not receiving proper charge?
    i5-4670K- Currently Stock
    Gigabyte GA-Z787X-D3H
    8GB PC3 12800 - CORSAIR Vengeance LP 8GB DDR3 1600MHz CL9 Dual Channel Kit
    HIS Radeon R9 270X IceQ X2 Turbo 2GB - Currently Stock
    OCZ Vertex 4 - 256GB
    Western Digital 250GB SATA - Member of RAID 5
    2x Seagate 7200.10 250GB SATA - Member of RAID 5
    Cougar 760W?
    Water cooling - MCP600, Apogee GT, MCW60, Swiftech MicroRes, BIP3

    "Don't start a fight with an idiot. They'll bring you down to their level and then beat you with experience."

  6. #6
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    31,370
    Do you mean like blown caps? Otherwise, I don't understand what you mean.

    I assumed that since it works once it is warmed up that caps wouldn't be the culprit since it wouldn't care about temperatures.
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  7. #7
    Member corruption's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Halifax, NS
    Posts
    422
    I was thinking more about the amount of time that it's been on rather than temperature. Faulty/malfunctioning caps may require more time to reach a full charge. I was thinking in the voltage regulation area....if a cap can't reach a full charge as quickly as it should, any caps following it in series would be affected too. This would result in voltage flutter/fluctuation beyond what design specs permit.

    I've seen a similar phenomenon with motherboards....it would take several reboot attempts before a system would boot/POST. Most of the time it would result in instability. Since artifacting is a symptom of instability, I figured it may be worth mentioning.
    i5-4670K- Currently Stock
    Gigabyte GA-Z787X-D3H
    8GB PC3 12800 - CORSAIR Vengeance LP 8GB DDR3 1600MHz CL9 Dual Channel Kit
    HIS Radeon R9 270X IceQ X2 Turbo 2GB - Currently Stock
    OCZ Vertex 4 - 256GB
    Western Digital 250GB SATA - Member of RAID 5
    2x Seagate 7200.10 250GB SATA - Member of RAID 5
    Cougar 760W?
    Water cooling - MCP600, Apogee GT, MCW60, Swiftech MicroRes, BIP3

    "Don't start a fight with an idiot. They'll bring you down to their level and then beat you with experience."

  8. #8
    Member blackjackel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    1,265
    Well, I havent touched it for a while, ive kept moving it a side a little bit to get it to start up and now it's doing something really strange...

    The video is coming in and cutting out, 2 seconds of video 2 seconds of monitor off, 2 seconds of video... over and over... even when in bios....

    at this point i don't know what to do
    --------------------Hardware Specifications--------------------
    --CPU: Q6600 @ 3.6 GHZ --Mobo: P5K Deluxe --RAM: 8gig --HDD: 256GB SSD +1TB+1.5TB+3TB+500GB+2x150Raptor raid 1 = ~6.4TB --Vidcard: Radeon 4870 --PSU: TT Toughpower 1250W.
    --------------------cooling Specifications--------------------
    --Case: Cooler Master Stacker 830 --Watercooling rig: Corsair H50 (sealed kit) --Fan setup 8 X 120mm fans: 1 on HD's, 5 blowing on mobo, 2push/pull on radiator.
    --------------------Miscelaneous Links--------------------
    My HeatWare, My folding statistics,

  9. #9
    Member blackjackel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    1,265
    I went in through teamviewer and the video is working fine, leading me to think that the on-off-on-off video behavior is caused by my monitor....
    --------------------Hardware Specifications--------------------
    --CPU: Q6600 @ 3.6 GHZ --Mobo: P5K Deluxe --RAM: 8gig --HDD: 256GB SSD +1TB+1.5TB+3TB+500GB+2x150Raptor raid 1 = ~6.4TB --Vidcard: Radeon 4870 --PSU: TT Toughpower 1250W.
    --------------------cooling Specifications--------------------
    --Case: Cooler Master Stacker 830 --Watercooling rig: Corsair H50 (sealed kit) --Fan setup 8 X 120mm fans: 1 on HD's, 5 blowing on mobo, 2push/pull on radiator.
    --------------------Miscelaneous Links--------------------
    My HeatWare, My folding statistics,

  10. #10
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    31,370
    What kind of artifacts are you seeing? If you can record these in a screenshot, it is the video card for sure.
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  11. #11
    Member blackjackel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    1,265
    I found out the problem of the on-off issue, my monitor went bad... Is it possible for a bad video card to take out a monitor with it? I don't think so, and in that case then the two problems were completely unrelated.

    I have a new monitor now, the 27" yamasaki catleap. And yes, the artifacts can be recorded in a screenshot.

    The thing is, its a 4870, and it works fine as long as i do two things:

    1- Wait for it to heat up

    2- Push it "downwards" on the back end of it.


    I'm scared of baking it and having it not work forcing me to buy a new card... :/
    --------------------Hardware Specifications--------------------
    --CPU: Q6600 @ 3.6 GHZ --Mobo: P5K Deluxe --RAM: 8gig --HDD: 256GB SSD +1TB+1.5TB+3TB+500GB+2x150Raptor raid 1 = ~6.4TB --Vidcard: Radeon 4870 --PSU: TT Toughpower 1250W.
    --------------------cooling Specifications--------------------
    --Case: Cooler Master Stacker 830 --Watercooling rig: Corsair H50 (sealed kit) --Fan setup 8 X 120mm fans: 1 on HD's, 5 blowing on mobo, 2push/pull on radiator.
    --------------------Miscelaneous Links--------------------
    My HeatWare, My folding statistics,

  12. #12
    Member Bosco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Hagaman, N. Y.
    Posts
    211
    You have a nice monitor now and a sweet psu, its time to upgrade that video card maybe?

    A Radeon HD6870 is quite a bit faster, they are often about $150 or so online when coupon codes are applied:

    http://www.anandtech.com/bench/Product/513?vs=540
    *no members are necessary at this site

    *Bobnova + Earthdog know it all.

  13. #13
    Member Russia14's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    North America
    Posts
    100
    Just RMA it or purchase a newer card, thatd be your best bet.

  14. #14
    Member blackjackel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    1,265
    Can't RMA, RMA time has expired...

    Buying a video card might not be good since my CPU might bottleneck my card, right? I mean I'm running on a Q6600 overclocked to 3.4, wouldn't this limit my graphics power with a really nice card?
    --------------------Hardware Specifications--------------------
    --CPU: Q6600 @ 3.6 GHZ --Mobo: P5K Deluxe --RAM: 8gig --HDD: 256GB SSD +1TB+1.5TB+3TB+500GB+2x150Raptor raid 1 = ~6.4TB --Vidcard: Radeon 4870 --PSU: TT Toughpower 1250W.
    --------------------cooling Specifications--------------------
    --Case: Cooler Master Stacker 830 --Watercooling rig: Corsair H50 (sealed kit) --Fan setup 8 X 120mm fans: 1 on HD's, 5 blowing on mobo, 2push/pull on radiator.
    --------------------Miscelaneous Links--------------------
    My HeatWare, My folding statistics,

  15. #15
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    31,370
    That is a pretty old processor. Whether it will be a bottleneck depends on the game and the graphics settings you are running.
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    480
    Its an old processor for sure but I used to run a Q6600 at 3.6 with a Radeon 6850 and it did a great job. The Q6600 is still better than what a lot of people out there are running once overclocked.

    I also had a card that was a 4870 that did the same thing you are talking about. Of course that card was in a car accident..... still it had the same symptoms. My guess at the time was that the impact caused something in the card to break loose so I just replaced it.

    I'd buy a good card now and then later if you want you can upgrade your MB/Ram/Processor to something more modern. If your happy with the new card in your old setup though then have a beer on thideras and enjoy.
    Clevo 901C Laptop / Intel Core 2 Extreme at 2.93Ghz / 4 Gigs Ram / Geforce 8800GTX / 2 X 250 Gig HD's in Raid 0
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Rocketfish Full Aluminum Tower / I7 870 at 4Ghz / 8 Gigs DDR3 Ram / EVGA GTX 670 FTW 2GB / 1 TB HD / True Spirit 140

    I blame Earthdog and Muddocktor for helping me pick some truly great parts. Thanks guys, now I'm broke and happy. :)



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •