Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2011

    Post Which Motherboard Should I choose?

    Hi,

    I plan on getting a new motherboard soon as the one I have right now is pretty poor: http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...d=1903&subcat=

    I was thinking the best option would be this as it is the latest AMD motherboard: http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...d=1903&subcat=

    Do you think that this is the right decision or if there are any better boards? The processor I own as of now is the Phenom II 850 @3.30GHz. I want to overclock it.

    Any help is appreciated thanks.

  2. #2
    Researches Meritless
    LIES for the Front
    Page and Super Mutterator

    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Stuck in Maryland...
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Yes,

    I want to know if I should get the new Sapphire motherboard though, sorry.

  4. #4
    Researches Meritless
    LIES for the Front
    Page and Super Mutterator

    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Stuck in Maryland...
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Im sure it will be fine. But I dont know a lot about AMD motherboards, but it looks robust in the power delivery area which is important in overclocking.

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Quote Originally Posted by EarthDog View Post
    Im sure it will be fine. But I dont know a lot about AMD motherboards, but it looks robust in the power delivery area which is important in overclocking.
    Ok, Thanks.

    I believe my CPU has locked multipliers so I will have to overclock using the FSB, correct?

    How much extra horse power can you actually get out of a CPU just using the FSB?

  6. #6
    Researches Meritless
    LIES for the Front
    Page and Super Mutterator

    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Stuck in Maryland...
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    It depends on the board, CPU, cooling etc. But yes, you will need to use the HTT/FSB to overclock if you do not have an unlocked multiplier.

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    South Florida
    I would suggest you get an AsRock 990FX Extreme 4! Awesome board and overclocks lovely.
    Intel i5-2550K @ 4.6Ghz 1.275Vcore
    Asus P8Z68-V Gen 3
    G.Skill RipJawsX 8G 2x4G DDR3 1600Mhz 8-8-8-24
    Evga GTX 560 SC(Non Ti)
    Cooler Master Hyper 212+
    Cooler Masters Haf 912
    Cooler Masters 120MM Sickle Flow Fan x4
    Cooler Masters 120MM 1200RPM Fan x2
    Seagate Barracuda 7200RPM 160G HDD
    Seagate Barracuda 7200RPM 500G HDD
    Asus 48X Sata DVD/RW Drive
    Corsair HX1000 Power Supply

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •