Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 23
  1. #1
    Member Davidleebjr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    PA. near Ohio/Wv Border
    Posts
    144

    Drive Image Software??

    Would anyone have a recommendation for Drive Image Software?

    Just clean installed Windows 7 64bit in process of loading up all my softs..

    Liked Acronis True Image Home--- (don't need the stuff it loads extra) not to mention it throws off my PerfectDisk boot defragger for some reason.

    Gave DriveImage Xml a whirl... seems okay... wondering favorites of others here?


    Thanks,

    david
    Asus P8z68 v Pro \Gen 3
    Intel i5 2500k Cpu
    8gb Corsair Vengeance LP Ram
    Nvidia Geforce GTX 550Ti
    Corsair TX750 Psu
    Corsair Carbide 500r Black Case
    Black Ice GT 240 Rad
    XSPC X20 750 Res/Pump
    XSPC Raystorm Cpu Block
    Primochill 3/4" Blue Tube


  2. #2
    Member
    trekky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    1,652
    are you asking for Cd copying or HDD backup?
    if so i use Ghost for HDD backup
    current AGP cards-2 boxes (yes boxes)

    "Sarcasm does not have a TCP/IP protocol, so it didn't get routed to my computer." -thideras

  3. #3
    Member Davidleebjr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    PA. near Ohio/Wv Border
    Posts
    144

    D I Hdd...

    Quote Originally Posted by trekky View Post
    are you asking for Cd copying or HDD backup?
    if so i use Ghost for HDD backup
    Full HDD backup trekky...

    lol I can't remember the last time i pulled out a cd other than to burn one for the stereo in my minivan... lol

    Norton products definitely leave a bad taste with me after having to fix friends pc's over the years. Not saying ghost is at all like Norton anti-virus but just haven't had anyone tell me ghost is an awesome application. I definitely appreciate the recommendation though to look into.
    Asus P8z68 v Pro \Gen 3
    Intel i5 2500k Cpu
    8gb Corsair Vengeance LP Ram
    Nvidia Geforce GTX 550Ti
    Corsair TX750 Psu
    Corsair Carbide 500r Black Case
    Black Ice GT 240 Rad
    XSPC X20 750 Res/Pump
    XSPC Raystorm Cpu Block
    Primochill 3/4" Blue Tube


  4. #4
    Member
    trekky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    1,652
    me and my dad has been using ghost for 8+ years
    its a great program, i still use it today (of course with newer version)
    current AGP cards-2 boxes (yes boxes)

    "Sarcasm does not have a TCP/IP protocol, so it didn't get routed to my computer." -thideras

  5. #5
    Member SteveLord's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    5,214
    Ghost is oldschool. Acronis, Paragon and the opensource/free alternative CloneZilla are what you need to know.
    "There are two kinds of pain. The sort of pain that makes you strong,
    or useless pain. The sort of pain that's only suffering. I have no
    patience for useless things."

    __________________

  6. Thanks!

    Davidleebjr (04-26-12)

  7. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Monroe, LA
    Posts
    143
    I've been using ghost for a very long time. It works very well.
    CPU AMD FX-6100 @ 4.5Ghz 1.51v
    CPU Cooler Cooler Master Hyper 212+
    MOBO ASUS M5A97 AM3+ AMD 970
    Video XFX Radeon HD 6790 1GB
    RAM G.SKILL Sniper Low Voltage Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
    PSU Antec NEO ECO 620C 620W

  8. #7
    Premium Member #24
    hafa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    A tiny dot in the middle of the Pacific
    Posts
    3,224
    +1 for Acronis; powerful, reliable and efficient.
    .
    HTPC: Core i3 540/8GB/300GB Raptor/GTS450-1GB/W7P-64 ~|~ File Server: (Green) AMD 4850E/4GB/6TB RAID/Windows Server 2008 ~|~ Notebook/Workstation: M780 Toshiba Convertible Tablet/i7 M620/8GB/128GB Crucial M4 SSD /7200RPM 750GB/W8 Pro


  9. #8
    Member medo145's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    1,269
    Ghost gets the job done, it's simple, what more do you need. I agree with not liking symantec, but ghost works.
    |ASUS P8Z68 DELUXE/GEN3|i72600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz(100x45)|EVGA GTX670 FTW+ 4GB @ 1006/6008|
    |4x4GB G.Skill DDR3 1600 PC2 12800|LianLi(PC-A70B)|Corsair HX750|ASUS Xonar Essence STX|
    |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB (OS)|3x1TB (WD Black) 0+5 Intel Matrix Raid|

    |Asrock Z97E-ITX/ac|i54670K 3.4GHz @ Stock(...x..)|Corsair H60|
    |2x4GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3 1600 PC2 12800|Corsair(250D)|Corsair CX600M|
    |Samsung 840 Evo 250GB (OS)|3TB (Seagate)|

  10. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    789
    Clonezilla live
    http://clonezilla.org/clonezilla-live.php
    I use an acronis bootdisk myself and therefore it doesn't even need installation to use it. Never tried clone but if I can throw it on a usb I'd give it a whirl. Distrowatch has the iso's
    Last edited by habbajabba; 04-27-12 at 12:49 PM.
    Intel Northwood @3.06 GHz
    Biostar microatx
    2 GB DDR2 675
    Evga 8400gs
    Samsung 2232GW 2ms 22"
    Altec Lansing 2.1 speakers
    Memorex ext usb burner
    Win7Ult 32bit/Manjaro dualboot
    WD cav blue 320gb
    Samsung F4 2tb
    WD Blue 2tb
    CP850avrlcd ups

  11. #10
    Disabled Pinky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Narf City, USA
    Posts
    6,032
    Another Acronis fan (I use their latest Home version to perform weekly backups to an external eSata drive). I've also used Paragon professionally, good stuff. Paragon is expensive though.

    Ghost is, as they said, old school but portable and included on many legit and illegit winPE based tech repair CDs floating around (Hiren's, etc). The benefit to ghost is that their versions all look and feel the same, so the learning curve is small.

    If you have a bootable Acronis version I would say just use that to image with.

  12. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    914
    I use the built in Win7 backup for imaging and gparted for cloning.
    FX-6300 | Gb 970A-UD3P | EVGA GTX 750 Ti | Corsair 8GB 1866 | 120GB Hyper-X 3k | Seasonic G 550w
    Heat

  13. #12
    orion456's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,162
    Win7 backup works great.

    XMLbackup is also great and free.

    The only think I hate about all these backup options, is you can't restore to a smaller drive than the original.
    -- W3570 @ 3.8 P6TD on Swiftech H20-220
    -- QX9650 P5K-E on Swiftech H20-220 water, ATI 3870, G.Skill PC 8500.



    The only thing for sure, is that nothing is for sure!

  14. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    789
    Clueless. The backup softwares copy the data only so the size of the hd does not matter, as long as it fits. I don't use the built-in stuff and never will with windows.
    Intel Northwood @3.06 GHz
    Biostar microatx
    2 GB DDR2 675
    Evga 8400gs
    Samsung 2232GW 2ms 22"
    Altec Lansing 2.1 speakers
    Memorex ext usb burner
    Win7Ult 32bit/Manjaro dualboot
    WD cav blue 320gb
    Samsung F4 2tb
    WD Blue 2tb
    CP850avrlcd ups

  15. #14
    manu2b's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Libreville Gabon
    Posts
    5,357
    One more Acronis adept here!
    Main : P8Z68-v pro/Gen3 - 3770k@4800MHz/1.38v - NH-D14 - 2x8GB GSkill Trident X@2133/8-10-10-24/1.68v (Thanks Woomack!) - 256GB 840 Evo + 1TB Seagate Barracuda - BeQuiet 1000W - Sapphire R9 290(x) unlocked + HIS R9 290x (1100/1350)

    PC#2 : Intel DP67BG - i5 3470 - 2x4GB GSkill - M4 250GB - HiperM 1000W - 2x Sapphire Dual-X 280x
    PC#3 : SaberTooth 990FX R2.0 - FX6300@4.5GHz - Hyper212EVO - 2x4GB Corsair vengeance - Corsair Force90 - Corsair CX600M - Sapphire Dual-x 280x
    HTPC : ASUS A55BM-Plus - AMD A4-4000 - iGPU

  16. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    862
    The only problem with Windows 7 Backup is that it could take hours (10 - 20 hours actually) to reimage your drive. Don't know why. Coughed up for Acronis TIH and have never looked back.
    CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 840
    CPU Cooler: Stock AMD
    MB: Magic-Pro MP-BA500PRO1 (AMD 890GX+SB850)
    Graphic: XFX HD6850 and MSI HD5450
    Ram: ADATA DDR-3 1333 2x4GB
    PSU: Antec NeoECO 520W
    OS: Win 7 x64

  17. #16
    manu2b's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Libreville Gabon
    Posts
    5,357
    One more Acronis adept here!
    Main : P8Z68-v pro/Gen3 - 3770k@4800MHz/1.38v - NH-D14 - 2x8GB GSkill Trident X@2133/8-10-10-24/1.68v (Thanks Woomack!) - 256GB 840 Evo + 1TB Seagate Barracuda - BeQuiet 1000W - Sapphire R9 290(x) unlocked + HIS R9 290x (1100/1350)

    PC#2 : Intel DP67BG - i5 3470 - 2x4GB GSkill - M4 250GB - HiperM 1000W - 2x Sapphire Dual-X 280x
    PC#3 : SaberTooth 990FX R2.0 - FX6300@4.5GHz - Hyper212EVO - 2x4GB Corsair vengeance - Corsair Force90 - Corsair CX600M - Sapphire Dual-x 280x
    HTPC : ASUS A55BM-Plus - AMD A4-4000 - iGPU

  18. #17
    Member m715's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Owego, NY
    Posts
    391
    I've heard good things about Acronis...
    One question using Acronis can you go from say a 500GB HD to a 120GB SSD?
    [EDIT] as long as less than 120GB is used on the 500GB drive
    DESKTOP: THE MONOLITH - [Project Log]
    | i3-3225 @ 3.3GHz w/Thermaltake CLW0217 Water 2.0 | ASRock Z77 Ext4 | 8GB DDR3 | Sapphire 7950 w/120mm Cooler | 120GB HyperX 3k | Corsair HX750 | Corsair 600T | WIN8 PRO | DELL 24" LCDs x2 | Toshibia 40" LCD |
    LAPTOP: | ASUS X202E | 11.6" TS | i3-3217U @ 1.8GHz | 4GB DDR3 | 256GB SSD | WIN8 |

  19. #18
    Captain Random
    Senior Evil Genius

    Arkaine23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Woodlands, Tx
    Posts
    9,105
    I use Acronis mostly. On macs, I use a combination of Carbon Copy Cloner and Winclone.

    Yes, you can drop the image onto a smaller disk as long as the data will fit.
    Folding.for.team.32.as.OC3d!
    i5 3570 @ 4.5 | 8GB | SSD | 5-disk Raid 0 | 660 Ti
    Folding User Stats

  20. #19
    Member nd4spdbh2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Camarillo, CA!
    Posts
    9,213
    another +1 for Acronis, use it at home and work all the time and it always does a great job.

    And truth be told theres no point to any fancy defragging programs... use the built in win 7 one for your mechanical hdds n call it a day.
    #12 in the 4ghz core 2 duo club baby! - 52 inches of CRYSIS! - Black Belt Ubercloxx0r -- Heatware
    Main -- Lian Li V2000b -- i7 2700k -- MSI Z68A-GD80 -- 12gb 1600 -- GTX560Ti --Adata 128gb S510 & 2x500gb -- Seasonic S12 600w -- Dell 2209WA
    HTPC -- Silverstone GD05B -- E7200 @ 3.2ghz -- G41-M7 -- 4GB 800mhz -- g210 passive -- 320gb 2.5in WD -- Antec EA 430w -- 52inch Samsung LCD
    Server -- Antec NSK4480B -- E3300 @ 2.5ghz -- ECS G33T-M2 -- 3gb 667mhz -- Onboard Vid -- 500Gb + 1TB hatachi + 1tb WD -- Zalman 400w
    Netbook - Dell Mini 9 - Atom 1.6ghz - 8GB ssd - 2GB pc6400 - WIN 7 PRO!
    Need 4 Speed - BH

  21. #20

    c(π*199780) Senior Member
    c627627's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    11,321
    I have been testing these for years.

    Easiest to use, with best compression, quickest to restore, and most reliable (it's been around since DOS days):

    http://www.terabyteunlimited.com/image-for-windows.htm
    http://www.terabyteunlimited.com/image-for-dos.htm


    Between Acronis and Ghost, I found Acronis better to use from startup media and Ghost better to use from Windows to image one OS from the other and vice versa. But neither Ghost nor Acronis is better than Terabyte Image.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •