Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1
    Registered HR4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    North Wales
    Posts
    21

    Gaming in Windowed Mode

    How many play games in windowed mode. I have just tried it out for Arma 2 and it seems o.k, I don’t usually play in windowed mode, but it got me to wondering how many do or how many have tried it out...
    Arma2, gaming pc1:
    AMD Athlon II x4 640 Propus 3.4Ghz (oc)
    Gigabyte tech
    500gb HDD, Quad Core
    Sapphire HD5850 2GB Toxic Limited Edition (oc)
    Arma3 ready, gaming pc2
    Overclocked Intel Six Core i7-3930K 4.6GHz (max)
    ASUS P9X79
    AMD Radeon HD7970 3GB
    120GB SSD, 2TB WD Caviar Black
    Both Windows 7 64 Bit

  2. #2
    Member Pandam00nium's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Up in the mountains~
    Posts
    358
    I always try to play in windowed mode if it's possible. I like the option of being able to multi-task whether it's chatting with friends or looking up specific things.
    Case: CoolerMaster HAF 912
    CPU: AMD Phenom II 1090T @ 3.81GHz
    Mobo: MSI 880G-E45
    RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB
    GPU: MSI 6950 1GB TwinFrozr III
    SSD: OCZ Vertex Plus R2 120GB // HDD: Samsung F3 1TB
    PSU: Corsair VX550

    Heatware
    ŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻ

  3. #3
    Benching Team Leader
    Grabbed Senior
    Janus67's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Ohio State
    Posts
    12,172
    I do for any non-fps
    Haswell Benching and Gaming: ASRock Z87 OC Formula : Intel i7 4770k w/ Phanteks PH-TC14 : 8GB 2x4GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-2666 : MSI, XFX, and Sapphire R9 290X
    Other Components: Samsung 840 Evo 500GB SSD : 2TB Hitachi : Silverstone Strider Gold 1250W and Seasonic Platinum 1000W : Auria EQ276W 2560x1440


    Folding User Stats

  4. #4
    Member SteveLord's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    5,216
    FPS - No way
    Shogun 2 - A must. My dad takes 10-15 minutes to take his turns!
    "There are two kinds of pain. The sort of pain that makes you strong,
    or useless pain. The sort of pain that's only suffering. I have no
    patience for useless things."

    __________________

  5. #5
    Member Pvt.Dancer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Wilsonville, OR
    Posts
    2,418
    Quote Originally Posted by SteveLord View Post
    FPS - No way
    Shogun 2 - A must. My dad takes 10-15 minutes to take his turns!
    LOL!


    I Do windowed on games like Diablo and other RPG's because I'm usually watching something on netflix. though on the occasion I have played in a windowed mode in BF3 so that I could talk to a few friends on steam but that was never permanent
    Main Rig
    Mobo: ASUS Maximus IV Extreme CPU: Intel I7 2600K @ 4.8 GHZ Vcore 1.48 Cooling: Custom water cooling 3x120 rad, EK supreme HF full copper, EK 150 basic res, Koolance PMP-450 High-flow Pump RAM:16GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2300 GFX: ASUS GTX 690 PSU: Corsair HX 850 Case: Corsair 800D

    Server
    CPU: 2x Xeon x5550 Memory: 48GB DDR3 1333 ECC REG 8x QR HDD's: 3x 15k SAS 350GB Raid 5 & 3x 7200 RPM SAS 1TB Raid 5

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Yuma, Arizona
    Posts
    314
    I actually plah WoW in windowed mode, especially when I'm questing and need to check wowhead out.

  7. #7
    BugFreak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,010
    It all depends on the game for me. I play WOW in windows but BF3 is not.
    AMD Phenom 1055T @ 3.4
    ASUS M4A89TD Pro
    Mushkin Redline 996999 PC31600 7,8,7,24 1T
    MSI R290 @ 1000/1250
    Monsta 240, MCP 655, UT60 360, XSPC Rasa, ek R290X Acetel


    "Those who would sacrifice a little freedom for a little order, will lose both, and deserve neither." - Thomas Jefferson

  8. #8
    Member Redstone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    West Coast
    Posts
    1,021
    windowed so I can play on the secondary monitor. MyTV
    CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 925
    HEATSINK: Silenx Ixtrema Pro
    MOBO: MSI NF750-G55
    HARD DRIVES: SanDisk SSD 128GB • Maxtor 160GB Slave
    MEMORY: A-DATA XPG Gaming Series • DDR3-1333 • 8-8-8-24
    POWER: Corsair TX650M
    MONITOR: Acer S231HL
    VIDEOCARD: EVGA GeForce 650GTX
    O/S: MSFT Windows 7 Pro
    CLUBS: Callaway X-14’s King Cobra 440cc Ping Anser 5 KS

  9. #9
    High Speed Senior deathman20's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Where the Cheese Heads Live
    Posts
    14,984
    Depends on my mood, most things is full screen. Though since some how how ever I got it setup I can run video and game full screen on both my monitors it really doesn't affect me too much.

    Window mode is nice if it allows it and still gives me the performance. FPS's though always full screen no question.
    -=The Gamer=-
    MSI Z68A-GD65 (G3) | i5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz | 1.3875V | 28C Idle / 65C Load (LinX)
    8Gig G.Skill Ripjaw PC3-12800 9-9-9-24 @ 1600Mhz w/ 1.5V | TR Ultra eXtreme 120 w/ 2 Fans
    Asus DCUII R9 290 1075/1300 w/ 1.05V GPU | 36C Idle / 75C Load | 128/256GB Crucial M4 SSD's / 512GB Samsung 840 Pro
    BitFenix Shinobi Window Case | SilverStone DA750 | Dell 2405FPW 24" Screen | Oculus Rift DK2 - Incoming
    -=The Server=-
    Synology DS1511+ | Dual Core 1.8Ghz CPU | 30C Idle / 38C Load
    3 Gig PC2-6400 | 4x Samsung F4 2TB Raid5 | 1x Samsung F4 2TB
    Heat

  10. #10
    Member merz.38's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Ohio State
    Posts
    255
    Never tried to do it, the buttons and bars around the window bug me too much.
    Coolermaster Cosmos 1000 case
    Asus P9X79 w/ Intel i7 - 3820
    32GB Corsair Dominator 1866 MHz ram
    EVGA 680 GTX 2GB
    2 x OCZ Vertex 2 60gb running in raid 0
    2 x Seagate Barracuda 1TB running in raid 0
    Corsiar TX-950w
    Custom Watercooling Loop Build Thread:http://www.overclockers.com/forums/s...d.php?t=701267
    Macbook Air running Windows 7 64-bit

  11. #11
    freakdiablo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    4,200
    Full screen on one monitor, chat/movie/whatever on the other. It's easy enough alt-tabbing around that I don't have a reason to play in windowed.
    Main: MOBO: MSI P67A-G45, CPU: i7 2600k w/ VenX (4.4ghz @ 1.33v), RAM: 2x8gb Kingston HyperX Blu Red Series DDR3 1600, GFX: Galaxy GTX670 GC, PSU: OCZ 1250w ZX, CASE: Corsair 500R, HDD: 120gb Samsung 840, WD 4TB Black
    Quick, Cheap, and Dirty NAS: Sempron 140, Hyper 212+ with 800RPM Scythe Slipstreams, 4gb ram, 5x2tb Hitachis in RAID5, Seasonic SSR-360GP, Antec 300, Biostar Tpower motherboard, APC BR700G UPS, Buffalo WZR-HP-AG300H router (Upgrade in the works)
    Laptop: Lenovo Thinkpad X220 HTPC: Zotac ZBOX AD04-U w/ 6GB Samsung 1333mhz, 64GB Adata Premier Pro SP900
    Protobox-1: Raspberry Pi Mod. B Rev. 2, 2.5" LCD, 12v 1A PSU, Aluminum RatShack project box, GPIO breakout board

    Project 1UP || Interested in the performance of the new AMD AM1 socket? Ask me, I'll test it!
    Bored of games? Nothing good on internet radio or youtube? Dont waste your GHz, find them before they find us. SETI

  12. #12
    Member RADIO_ACTIVE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    1,764
    ^ this is what I do, never cared much for windowed mode.
    CPU: i7 960 @ 3.8ghz
    MOBO: EVGA x58 SLI
    RAM: gSkill - 6gigs DDR3 1600
    GPU: GALAXY 2x GTX 480 SLI @ 780/1560/2012
    SSD: OCZ Vertex 2 120gig
    PSU: Kingwin 1000w
    CHASIS: Antec 900 two

  13. #13
    Atomichearse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Wichita, KS
    Posts
    507
    Full Screen on everything unless it's something I'll leave idle for a while like an MMO. For most games, it's not problem to just Alt+Tab out of any situation.
    Intel i5-2500 | HIS Radeon HD 7950 IceQ Turbo
    Seasonic Gold X750 | Corsair H70
    128GB OCZ Vertex 4 | 128GB Samsung 840 Pro
    16GB Corsair Vengeance @ 1648 Mhz 8-8-8-1T| ASUS P8Z68-V LX
    Corsair Obsidian 650D |

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    US
    Posts
    300
    Quote Originally Posted by merz.38 View Post
    Never tried to do it, the buttons and bars around the window bug me too much.
    More games need borderless windowed mode. It's the best of both worlds.
    ECS A785GM-AD3
    Cooler Master GeminII S
    Athlon II X3 450 (3.64ghz@1.5v)
    4gb Kingston HyperX (1516 9-9-9-24)
    ATI HD 5770 (990/1375@1.212v)
    Corsair VX450
    Asus VE228H

  15. #15
    Member tom10167's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Phoenix. YOUR HAIR IS GOOD TO EAT
    Posts
    4,575
    I don't know about every game but on TF2 you can remove the border by just modifying the game startup in steam and adding "-noborder"

    Moving the game up a few pixels works well, too.

    I run every game in windowed mode. It's a lot easier. I do it with dual monitors, too. Some games don't like being tabbed out, and tabbing back in has always been a little slower than I'd like.

  16. #16
    Registered Cheesecraker's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    13
    I like to play general games in windowed mode like Oblivion, Skyrim and pretty much any slower paced games but if its online game or a faster paced game I play fullscreen.

  17. #17

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Mickleton NJ
    Posts
    893
    Only game I play in windowed mode is Everquest, and that's cause i'm 3 boxing. BF3, LOL, and any other game are FS with something up on the second monitor.
    Mobo ASRock z77 Extreem4
    CPU i7-2600k @ 4.2 1.20v
    CPU HS/F Corsair H-100
    RAM Corsair Veng 12gig DDR3-1600
    GPU EVGA 760 SC Acx
    Storage 2tb HDD
    DVD Samsung BD/DVD/CD
    Inputs Logitech G510 and G700
    Sound Sb X-Fi titanium , TB DX12
    Case Haf X Advanced
    PSU TT TR2 RX 750w
    My Heatware

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •