• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Need help finding a replacement transformer for console game

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

eobard

Give me a break Senior
I've been sitting on an old Intellivision console for about six months now and as I finally get around to trying to get it working I find that the transformer for it is dead. I've checked online and the consensus is to get a replacement instead of trying to fix the original. The thing is no one in my local area has anything compatible. I've been to surplus stores, electronic component stores, flea markets, etc. and no one has what I need. The transformer I need is wired like this: 120vac on the primary side, the secondary side has two sets of outputs. One is a straight 18vac and the other one is 18.5vac with a centre tap giving 9.25vac between it and either of the ends. I've looked at digikey and a few others but haven't seen anything fitting the specs I need. I'm not even sure what the technical description for what I need would be. Single winding primary, dual winding secondary with center tap? Would that be right? I've checked ebay, no one sells just the transformer and shipping for the entire console is cost prohibitive. Any hints on what I should do next?

What I would do, and this is just me, is crack open the console and see what it does with those voltage inputs.
If it rectifies them into DC immediately you could find a DC power brick or two with something like the correct voltages and wire that up.