Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    4

    $2-$3K budget,afraid I7 3770K 32gb 1600 will be too slow. Need to order ASAP

    I need to buy a new rig today. Need to stay under $3K.
    Current rig is i5 with 16K, and it is excessively slow. Don't game, but need dual DVI.


    My current application consumes every drop of 16 gigs RAM. Only uses 5-25% of CPU, but everything freezes while app is running …Any ideas on how much SSD cache would help?

    I have heard rumors that that next gen boards like ASUS P8Z77-V Premium might be more efficent with dual 32. Problem is , I need to order today.


    MY APPLICATION:
    MS SQL Calculation intensive (think Google, on a budget),

    Looking for any and all ideas on components, configuration, or general suggestions.
    Last edited by Unverified; 05-06-12 at 08:07 AM. Reason: brevity

  2. #2
    Revolutionary Mule Eldonko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta
    Posts
    1,814
    For that kind of use and budget, I would go with X79 and a 12 thread chip (3930K) with 32GB of memory.
    Motherboard Reviewer at Hardware Canucks
    Team OCX Bench Team
    Always lurking the motherboard section

  3. #3
    Badbonji's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Posts
    3,523
    It doesn't sound like the CPU is the bottleneck, have you tried getting 32GB of RAM for that system? That will be the most beneficial it seems, then you can see if you need a new CPU after without spending that much money (RAM is cheap nowadays).

    Also you should be able to overclock the 2500K to at least 4GHz maintaining very good stability, but at the moment it isn't holding you back judging from the CPU usage. Also how multi-threaded is it? If the program can only use a limited amount of threads then it won't benefit from many cores obviously.

    If the program fits inside of 32GB then I can't imagine it being any quicker except for launching or initially loading the data with an SSD as a primary drive/cache. The cache will work really well for loading it into the RAM if it is always the same data each time, although getting an SSD to store it on rather than act as cache will always mean it is quicker to access.
    i7 3770K 4.5GHz 1.2V | Phanteks PH-TC14PE | 16GB TeamGroup Elite 1600MHz | GIGABYTE G1.Sniper M3 | EVGA GTX680 SC 1254/1500MHz | M4 256GB + 150GB Raptor | Corsair HX+ 850W | Antec 1200
    i7 965 | 8GB OCZ Gold 1600MHz | GIGABYTE Extreme X58 | HD5450 | M4 64GB + 7TB | OCZ 500W
    MacBook Pro 15" | i7 2.3GHz | 8GB 1600MHz

  4. #4
    Revolutionary Mule Eldonko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta
    Posts
    1,814
    Pretty sure the more threads the better for MS SQL Enterprise 64bit but Unverified will have to confirm that..
    Motherboard Reviewer at Hardware Canucks
    Team OCX Bench Team
    Always lurking the motherboard section

  5. #5
    Member BeepBeep2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Barberton, OH
    Posts
    951
    Quote Originally Posted by Unverified View Post
    My current application consumes every drop of 16 gigs RAM. Only uses 5-25% of CPU, but everything freezes while app is running …Any ideas on how much SSD cache would help?
    Quote Originally Posted by Eldonko View Post
    Pretty sure the more threads the better for MS SQL Enterprise 64bit but Unverified will have to confirm that..
    What do you think? 1 thread...

    I think the OP should just get 16GB more ram. His system slows to a crawl because all the ram is being used up.

    @Unverified
    An SSD would help greatly in the event that your system used the page file heavily, something that happens pretty quickly once you are over ~90% ram usage.
    Last edited by BeepBeep2; 05-02-12 at 03:32 PM.
    Overclocking on LN2 @ -196c...

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    122
    3930 $600
    MB $350
    64 GB memory $500
    2 Samsung 830 512 SSD $1400
    Cooler Master 212 Evo $40

    Use you same case, graphics card, and PSU. If your programs take up less than a TB you can go cheaper on the SSD's This is just a rough outline, but it would make for one hell of a rig!

  7. #7
    Member White_Pawn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    3,466
    The LGA2011 platform has mobos with 8 slots of ram. If ram is the problem, you can get a 6 core with 8x8gb = 64gigs of ram. That should do the trick.
    - - M a i n R i g - -
    E2140 @ 375 x 8 = 3ghz w/ 1.3375v
    ^Tuniq Tower 120^
    Gigabyte P35-S3L
    powercolor HD4890 @ 850/975
    OCZ System 1337s 2x1 5-5-5-15 2T @ 450mhz.
    2TB 7200.12+ Seagate
    Silverstone Decathalon 650W Modular

  8. #8
    Glorious Leader I.M.O.G.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Rootstown, OH
    Posts
    25,172
    Quote Originally Posted by White_Pawn View Post
    The LGA2011 platform has mobos with 8 slots of ram. If ram is the problem, you can get a 6 core with 8x8gb = 64gigs of ram. That should do the trick.
    I'd first upgrade the RAM, but if you are going whole hog and replacing the system entirely today, I'd also vote for White_Pawn's advice with going 2011. Hex core with 64GB of RAM and then see where that leaves you.

    The problem I see, is that you know your usage consumed all the ram, but you don't know how much it would top out at. If your new rig also consumes all the ram, you could find yourself in the same situation where the OS effectively slows down to a lock.

    RAM is definitely your problem currently.
    The OC Forums Way
    We are a team. We are a community. We are a fellowship made strong by mutual respect and shared dedication to the task of enriching all who come here.
    The OC Forums Thank You Thread
    Put your computer to work for our OC Forum Teams!
    Try out our POST TEMPLATES, they save you time answering common questions!

    I spend half my money on CPUs, GPUs, and Liquid Nitrogen. The other half I waste.

  9. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    4
    My thanks to Eldonko, for starting things down the 3930 path, Robmoo, for his rig breakdown, BeepBeep2 for the SSD, White_Pawn for the 6 core with 8x8gb suggestion an, I.M.O.G. for his moral support of White_Pawn's 8x8 contribution.
    Last edited by Unverified; 05-05-12 at 07:58 PM. Reason: my prayers were answered ;)

  10. #10
    Member stainlineho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    GA, USA
    Posts
    201
    Great recommendations so far. Sounds like you just need to get a beast CPU, the best Asus motherboard for that CPU, and the max amount of RAM.
    My 1st WC Build Log--->NZXT Switch 810 "White Widow"

  11. #11
    Benching Team Leader
    Grabbed Senior
    Janus67's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Ohio State
    Posts
    12,169
    I suggest just adding more RAM.
    Haswell Benching and Gaming: ASRock Z87 OC Formula : Intel i7 4770k w/ Phanteks PH-TC14 : 8GB 2x4GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-2666 : MSI, XFX, and Sapphire R9 290X
    Other Components: Samsung 840 Evo 500GB SSD : 2TB Hitachi : Silverstone Strider Gold 1250W and Seasonic Platinum 1000W : Auria EQ276W 2560x1440


    Folding User Stats

  12. #12
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    4
    I kind of took White_Pawn's lead and purchased a i7 3930K Processor (6x 3.20GHz/12MB L3 Cache) with an ASUS P9X79 Deluxe - (2x Gb LAN, 4x PCI-E x16, 4x SATA 6Gb/s, 4x USB 3.0, On-Board Bluetooth)
    64 GB [8 GB x8] DDR3-1600 (Corsair)
    240 GB Intel 520 SSD
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 550 dual DVI
    850 Watt Corsair CMPSU-850TXV2
    Corsair Hydro Series H60
    Antec P280 Gaming Case

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •