Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1

    RAM won't post at advertised settings?

    Feeling like a noob here. First system build in years.

    Asrock Z77 extreme 6 w/ this ram kit:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231501

    Go into bios and set it at DDR3 2133 11-11-11-30 @ 1.6v and it won't post

    Put everything on auto and it boots at DDR 1600?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    First Responders
    -->
    redduc900's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Try enabling the DDR3-2133 XMP profile or bump the DRAM voltage to 1.65V.

  3. Thanks!

    LiquidArrogance (05-04-12)

  4. #3
    Thanks for the reply. In bios I only see two XMP profiles and both are @ 1600?

    I'll try to post pics here when I get a chance. Installing mobo drivers right now.

    There's a good chance I just don't know my way around these new BIOS menus. I just about fainted when I saw I use a mouse while in BIOS . . . lol.

  5. #4
    Senior Member


    Bobnova's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile
    Enable an XMP profile and reboot, then check what it set things to. It doesn't always pop up right when you select the profile.
    "Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe." -- Einstein (maybe)

    Thinking about an Asus motherboard? Think again.

    How to check your PSU with a multimeter.

    17bXw5t51rEBXGavJFMJsC8g7HQgThUGc7

  6. #5
    Could the problem be that there's no such thing as 2133MHz CLK 11 DRAM chips?

    All I could find at Micron was CLK 14 (listed as 1066 MHz): link

    Samsung doesn't list anything faster than 1866 MHz.

  7. #6
    Ok, I finally figured out the XMP profiles and also finally got a motherboard speaker installed so I can hear beeps (Asrock didn't give me one, nor did silverstone with the case, but that's another complaint thread.

    So, there are two XMP profiles and both look identical.

    If I set XMP to "auto" the computer boots fine. If I set it to either other profile and save I get:

    (Black screen, 4 beeps, reset) x four times and then it boots ok


  8. #7
    Senior Member


    Bobnova's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile
    Set the "Load XMP Setting" to either profile, then set "DRAM Frequency" to 1600.
    Reboot.
    Check what voltages you get for DRAM, VTT and VCCSA (might be listed as System Agent).
    Check what timings it is setting in DRAM Configuration.
    "Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe." -- Einstein (maybe)

    Thinking about an Asus motherboard? Think again.

    How to check your PSU with a multimeter.

    17bXw5t51rEBXGavJFMJsC8g7HQgThUGc7

  9. Thanks!

    LiquidArrogance (05-04-12)

  10. #8
    Thanks for the replies. So I what you said and got one blank reboot with no beeps and then it booted fine with these results.


  11. #9
    Benching Team Leader
    Grabbed Senior
    Janus67's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Ohio State
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    What if you just have two sticks installed? The ripjaw"Z" ram its technically made for quad channel socket 2011/x79 boards and not 1155. Maybe that could be the issue?

  12. Thanks!

    LiquidArrogance (05-04-12)

  13. #10
    Damn . . . didn't notice that. Bought it for this board based on the recommendation of a dude on these forums

    Trying a bios update right now and will post back after.

    Thanks for the replies!

  14. #11
    Quote Originally Posted by Janus67 View Post
    What if you just have two sticks installed? The ripjaw"Z" ram its technically made for quad channel socket 2011/x79 boards and not 1155. Maybe that could be the issue?
    Looks like you called it. Two sticks boots fine @ 2133.

    So do I want 8 gigs at 2133 or 16 at 1600 . . . lol.

    Thanks again peeps. Y'all always come through for me when all these newfangled devices make me feel like a noob!

  15. #12
    Senior Member


    Bobnova's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile
    Give VCCSA and VTT a bump. VCCSA to 1v or so, VTT to 1.15v or so.
    That may fix you right up at 2133.
    "Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe." -- Einstein (maybe)

    Thinking about an Asus motherboard? Think again.

    How to check your PSU with a multimeter.

    17bXw5t51rEBXGavJFMJsC8g7HQgThUGc7

  16. Thanks!

    LiquidArrogance (05-05-12)

  17. #13
    Super Moderator
    First Responders
    -->
    redduc900's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Portland, OR
    ... and bump the DRAM voltage to 1.65V w/ all modules installed like I suggested earlier.

  18. Thanks!

    LiquidArrogance (05-05-12)

  19. #14
    Quote Originally Posted by redduc900 View Post
    ... and bump the DRAM voltage to 1.65V w/ all modules installed like I suggested earlier.
    Forgot to report back that I did try that yesterday with the same results. Trying other recommendations now.

  20. #15
    Quote Originally Posted by redduc900 View Post
    ... and bump the DRAM voltage to 1.65V w/ all modules installed like I suggested earlier.
    Still getting the same results with all of the recommendations. Debug code is 55: memory not installed.

  21. #16
    moocow's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Texas State
    Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    MOAR volts

  22. Thanks!

    LiquidArrogance (05-05-12)

  23. #17
    LOL . . . all around or just to the DRAM? When should I start worrying that I'm getting too high?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •