Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2012

    [HELP]Overclocking Suggestions

    Hello everyone. I'm new here.

    I have a good gaming rig so I want to overclock my system.
    I would like someone to assist me trough the BIOS settings.
    Here are my System Specifications:


    P.S. I did some overclocking by myself, but I think that is not enough.

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Water Cooled Moderator
    Overclockers.com Lead Editor
    hokiealumnus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Hello Senton, welcome to OCF! I moved your thread to Intel CPUs so it gets a few more eyes on it.

    I'd recommend checking out the 3 Step Guide To Overclock Your Core i3, i5, or i7 for starters. You are looking good at 4.5GHz, but you're a bit high on the Vcore side of things unless your chip isn't very strong. That said, you probably won't be able to get too much farther for 24/7 use. My chip would only do 4.8GHz and that was ~ 1.36Vcore IIRC.

    Also, any particular reason you're running three sticks of RAM? That's hindering performance by forcing you to run dual channel. I'd pull one of those out so you're running dual channel and taking advantage of that.

    For those that dont want to / can't click the link, he's working with a
    2600K @ 4.5GHz w/ 1.408 Vcore
    ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
    3 x 4GB Corsair RAM (running 1866 / 10-10-10-27

    Enjoy benchmarks? Join the benching team!
    New to water cooling? Read the Beginner's Guide to Water Cooling Your PC.
    I.M.O.G. - "Night benching is the answer. Start sleeping every other day. Other than an occassional narcoleptic episode, its been wor"
    \m/ OverClockers mATX L33T Club \m/ - Join Now! - My mITX Build

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Quote Originally Posted by hokiealumnus View Post
    Hello Senton, welcome to OCF! I moved your thread to Intel CPUs so it gets a few more eyes on it.

    I'd recommend checking out the 3 Step Guide To Overclock Your Core i3, i5, or i7 for starters. You are looking good at 4.5GHz, but you're a bit high on the Vcore side of things unless your chip isn't very strong. That said, you probably won't be able to get too much farther for 24/7 use. My chip would only do 4.8GHz and that was ~ 1.36Vcore IIRC.

    Also, any particular reason you're running three sticks of RAM? That's hindering performance by forcing you to run dual channel. I'd pull one of those out so you're running dual channel and taking advantage of that.

    For those that dont want to / can't click the link, he's working with a
    2600K @ 4.5GHz w/ 1.408 Vcore
    ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
    3 x 4GB Corsair RAM (running 1866 / 10-10-10-27
    Thanks for the help and thread moving. So if I understood right, the voltage can be a problem? And I run 3 RAMs because it was a set of 3 all together. If I remove 1 I will have 8GB only .. So better I will buy 1 more, but is very hard to find individual piece. They sell only 2 pieces and so on.
    I will check that link with the guide you gave me.

    Off-Topic: Btw. I want upgrade my graphics, gtx 670 or 690? 690 is pretty expensive and in Sweden is pretty much not available yet.

  4. #4
    Water Cooled Moderator
    Overclockers.com Lead Editor
    hokiealumnus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    The 690 would be a much larger upgrade of course but it's hardly worth a grand plus IMHO. The 670 is a very strong GPU. I'm working on reviewing an ASUS GTX670 DirectCUII TOP and it is one heck of a card. Cool running, strong and quiet. If you're dissatisfied for some reason, adding another 670 would make your total $840 instead of $1,000.

    Enjoy benchmarks? Join the benching team!
    New to water cooling? Read the Beginner's Guide to Water Cooling Your PC.
    I.M.O.G. - "Night benching is the answer. Start sleeping every other day. Other than an occassional narcoleptic episode, its been wor"
    \m/ OverClockers mATX L33T Club \m/ - Join Now! - My mITX Build

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Quote Originally Posted by Senton View Post
    Off-Topic: Btw. I want upgrade my graphics, gtx 670 or 690? 690 is pretty expensive and in Sweden is pretty much not available yet.
    IMO, the 670. The couple fps you gain from the 690 doesn't justify the extra $400 imho. Others may disagree.

    FYI, I'm running the EVGA 670 superclock and I love it. No problems, but I may take advantage of the recall situation and snag a free FTW upgrade.

  6. #6
    Water Cooled Moderator
    Overclockers.com Lead Editor
    hokiealumnus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    FYI darwin619, the 690 ($1,000) is $600 more than the 670 ($400), not $400.

    Enjoy benchmarks? Join the benching team!
    New to water cooling? Read the Beginner's Guide to Water Cooling Your PC.
    I.M.O.G. - "Night benching is the answer. Start sleeping every other day. Other than an occassional narcoleptic episode, its been wor"
    \m/ OverClockers mATX L33T Club \m/ - Join Now! - My mITX Build

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Quote Originally Posted by hokiealumnus View Post
    FYI darwin619, the 690 ($1,000) is $600 more than the 670 ($400), not $400.
    LOL. Even bigger reason not to upgrade atm.

    Your right, SLI 2x670>>>690 and cheaper.

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Quote Originally Posted by hokiealumnus View Post
    The 690 would be a much larger upgrade of course but it's hardly worth a grand plus IMHO. The 670 is a very strong GPU. I'm working on reviewing an ASUS GTX670 DirectCUII TOP and it is one heck of a card. Cool running, strong and quiet. If you're dissatisfied for some reason, adding another 670 would make your total $840 instead of $1,000.
    ATM I have my GTX580 from ZOTAC. Which is the best producer? Should I buy GTX670 from ASUS? So I have set, or doesn't this matter?

    Quote Originally Posted by darwin619 View Post
    IMO, the 670. The couple fps you gain from the 690 doesn't justify the extra $400 imho. Others may disagree.

    FYI, I'm running the EVGA 670 superclock and I love it. No problems, but I may take advantage of the recall situation and snag a free FTW upgrade.
    I'm really thinking of buy 670 and in the future make a SLI, I would really like to see these 2 in action first.

    And if I SLI GTX580 with GTX670 ... Do I gain anything?

  9. #9
    Senior Member Knufire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Terre Haute, IN
    Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    AFAIK, you can't SLI different cards. If you have a 580, it's almost a waste of money going to anything else. The 670 is a better card, but it's only a small jump in performance and not worth the money at all. If you want to upgrade, you're better off getting another 580 to SLI. You'd want an 800-850W PSU though.

    Sandy Bridge/Z68 is a dual-channel platform, 2 or 4 sticks of RAM is more optimal than 1 or 3, which would force you into single-channel mode.
    i7-920 3.8 Ghz | Venomous-X w/ Panaflo HS | Sapphire Vapor-X 4890
    EVGA X58 SLI LE | 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600 | 500GB Samsung OEM | Rosewill 850w | Thermaltake Armor Series | OCZ Vertex 2 60GB

    Secondary Rig:
    CM Elite 430 | A8-3870K stock | Radeon HD 6670 | 500GB WD Caviar Blue | 4GB G.SKILL DDR3-1333 | ASUS A55


  10. Thanks!

    hokiealumnus (05-20-12)

  11. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Quote Originally Posted by Knufire View Post
    AFAIK, you can't SLI different cards. If you have a 580, it's almost a waste of money going to anything else. The 670 is a better card, but it's only a small jump in performance and not worth the money at all. If you want to upgrade, you're better off getting another 580 to SLI. You'd want an 800-850W PSU though.

    Sandy Bridge/Z68 is a dual-channel platform, 2 or 4 sticks of RAM is more optimal than 1 or 3, which would force you into single-channel mode.
    What it would be the performance with 2 580s in a SLI? Do they need to be the same producer, ZOTAC? Or can I use other models? The RAM issue I will solve it this month, buying an extra one.
    Another question. Does my mobo support SLI technology? My current power box is a 660W. I think upgrade needed.

  12. #11
    If i where you i would just run 2 sticks of ram 8GB is enough for most things, unless you do photoshop or CAD.
    Yes your board supports SLI and you can use other models.
    i5 2500K
    Motherboard Gigabyte Z68A-D3-B3
    G.SKILL RipjawsX X.M.P. 1600MHz
    EVGA SuperClocked GTX 570

  13. #12
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Quote Originally Posted by wingman99 View Post
    If i where you i would just run 2 sticks of ram 8GB is enough for most things, unless you do photoshop or CAD.
    Oh man, you make me smile. Photoshop and graphic designing are my life. And really now, does PS CS6 require that much?

  14. #13
    I would get one more stick of memory that will help allot.
    580 vs 680 LINK: http://www.anandtech.com/show/5699/n...-680-review/13

    PS CS6 you can use as much memory as you can use if it's 64bit PS CS6

    CS4, CS5, 32 bit Windows 32 bit 1.7 GB
    CS4, CS5, 32 bit Windows 64 bit 3.2 GB
    CS4, CS5, 64 bit* Windows 64 bit As much RAM as you can fit in your computer
    Last edited by wingman99; 05-21-12 at 12:50 AM.
    i5 2500K
    Motherboard Gigabyte Z68A-D3-B3
    G.SKILL RipjawsX X.M.P. 1600MHz
    EVGA SuperClocked GTX 570

  15. #14
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Useful info there. Thanks.

  16. #15
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2012
    These are my temperatures, normal use and in-game mode.



  17. #16
    Senior Member Knufire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Terre Haute, IN
    Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by Senton View Post
    Oh man, you make me smile. Photoshop and graphic designing are my life. And really now, does PS CS6 require that much?
    Photoshop/Graphic designing is one of the most RAM intensive things you can do. While 8GB might be overkill for most people, depending on the size of your project, it might not be enough for you. If you're buying a stick soon, better to just leave the 12GB in there. The performance decrease from being forced into single-channel mode is much less than if you actually maxed out your RAM, things would move into the page file and get reaaaaalllllllyyyyy slow.

    Quote Originally Posted by Senton View Post
    What it would be the performance with 2 580s in a SLI? Do they need to be the same producer, ZOTAC? Or can I use other models? The RAM issue I will solve it this month, buying an extra one.
    Another question. Does my mobo support SLI technology? My current power box is a 660W. I think upgrade needed.
    Exactly what card do you have? If it's a reference card, doesn't matter what company it's from. However, if it's a non-reference card like Zotac's AMP! series, you'd want the exact same card. Either way, it's always safer to go with identical cards.

    Your P8Z68 Deluxe is a extremely well designed motherboard and does include SLI technology .

    And yes, you'd want to upgrade that PSU if you wish to go SLI. Unless you like sparks and explosions (which can be fun at times, I'll admit ). A 800-850W PSU from the recommended list in the PSU section of the forums will give you plenty of headroom if you want to OC the hell out of the graphic cards as well.

    If you find a PSU that you think is good, but isn't on the list, find a review from hardwaresecrets.com, jonnyguru.com, or hardforum.com. A lot of PSU reviews are crap and don't mean anything, those are three of the few websites that thoroughtly tests PSUs.
    i7-920 3.8 Ghz | Venomous-X w/ Panaflo HS | Sapphire Vapor-X 4890
    EVGA X58 SLI LE | 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600 | 500GB Samsung OEM | Rosewill 850w | Thermaltake Armor Series | OCZ Vertex 2 60GB

    Secondary Rig:
    CM Elite 430 | A8-3870K stock | Radeon HD 6670 | 500GB WD Caviar Blue | 4GB G.SKILL DDR3-1333 | ASUS A55


  18. Thanks!

    Senton (05-21-12)

  19. #17
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Quote Originally Posted by Knufire View Post
    Photoshop/Graphic designing is one of the most RAM intensive things you can do. While 8GB might be overkill for most people, depending on the size of your project, it might not be enough for you. If you're buying a stick soon, better to just leave the 12GB in there. The performance decrease from being forced into single-channel mode is much less than if you actually maxed out your RAM, things would move into the page file and get reaaaaalllllllyyyyy slow.



    Exactly what card do you have? If it's a reference card, doesn't matter what company it's from. However, if it's a non-reference card like Zotac's AMP! series, you'd want the exact same card. Either way, it's always safer to go with identical cards.

    Your P8Z68 Deluxe is a extremely well designed motherboard and does include SLI technology .

    And yes, you'd want to upgrade that PSU if you wish to go SLI. Unless you like sparks and explosions (which can be fun at times, I'll admit ). A 800-850W PSU from the recommended list in the PSU section of the forums will give you plenty of headroom if you want to OC the hell out of the graphic cards as well.

    If you find a PSU that you think is good, but isn't on the list, find a review from hardwaresecrets.com, jonnyguru.com, or hardforum.com. A lot of PSU reviews are crap and don't mean anything, those are three of the few websites that thoroughtly tests PSUs.
    That was a lot of good info there, I really appreciate your efforts and useful answers. I will do as you said.

    Thanks.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •